Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro a Star

• 10-02-2003 9:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭

Why are the votes on this programme not up a website or scoreboard?

Louis Walsh went on last night on how the Dubs were voting - Does he have access to this information??

I saw the programme last night - I think that the judges are dire. It is an entry to Eurovision they are picking - In all fairness talent does not come into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Why on earth did those twins get through? In all honesty they should have been out two weeks ago. No question. It's a disgrace that McFadden went out when they get through. Anyone who heard them murder Extreme - More Than Words will know what I'm talking bout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Originally posted by anthonymcg
    Anyone who heard them murder Extreme - More Than Words will know what I'm talking bout.

Agreed , that was torture to listen to!

They're doing a sh*t load of PR in Cork , big posters up all over the place and calling around to schools to.

That's the only thing that's getting them through:(

Seriously, they're muck. It should be about talent and not about PR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

The twins were by far the worst last night. I was as shocked as they were to see them go through!

Lisa Bresnan or Mickey Harte is going to win it.

- Dave.

Originally posted by anthonymcg
    Seriously, they're muck. It should be about talent and not about PR.

maybe it's all a plan to make sure Ireland don't win the Eurovision :D

"my lovely horse running through the field...!! " :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I have nasty thoughts of the twins licking my ball bag tbh

You're a very bad man, Baz.

(But I like your style!)

Seriously, the twins should have been gone weeks ago.

- Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

maybe it`s the prospect of visting my cheese factory that keeps them going :o

Lisa Bresnan is very good alright.
    Best of the lads is Brian Ormond or Mickey Harte, don't like that Simon Casey bloke - he looks too polished plus he had to fake his messing up for the VT.

Might see if I can get an interview with the twins before next weeks show. Hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Simons messing wasnt faked.

The twins are bloody awful, just another crime that Cork will be made to pay for in the long run. How they got thru at the expense of the mcfadden wan is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I think the twins would be the best for Eurovision, Sure some of the others are better singers - but a pair of twins respresenting Ireland would make a very good Eurovision entry.

Originally posted by Cork
    I think the twins would be the best for Eurovision, Sure some of the others are better singers - but a pair of twins respresenting Ireland would make a very good Eurovision entry.

WHAT?! Why exactly?

1 problem though... they can't sing

The Eurovision was never about singing. It was about song writing & presentation.

Miost of the singers on this programme should go down to Charleville as their songs are pretty cheesy.

Barry Mallinlows "Mandy"?

The twins would give our song a lift presentation wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Originally posted by bazH
    I have nasty thoughts of the twins licking my ball bag tbh

LOL:D :D

They mightnt be the best singers but if theyre voted off I wont be arsed watching the show.I have this feeling that there is an army of lads between 10 and 20 hacking the system in order to ensure they stay on the show.
    OK some better singers have been voted off in their place but dey be damn fine!
    I was very suprised at yer one being voted off last week-she had been one of the favourites to win the contest.
    IIRC I actually started a rant thread a while back,when this show had just been announced, complaining of yet more pop idolish people being launched on the Irish airwaves much to my annoyance.
    And yet for more than a month I have been tuning in every Sunday,and sometimes even the weekday repeat,in order to catch a glimpse of some of the highly fine girls who have been on the show.:( :)

And is it just me or does the person who gets the most glowing review of the night from the judges get voted off more often?Whereas those,like the twins,who get bad judgements do reasonably well?

Lads, they're not all that great. I've seen better in fairness. I'd take Lisa over the twins though.

Christ. They cant sing.

Full stop. A bunch of idiots voted them into the finals, and a bunch of idiots are keeping them there (most probably cork idiots, proving my well trotted out point).

If people like cork bothered to watch the eurovision, they might realise that the irish people who have won in the past have had first rate singing voices, thereby destroying whatever point they might be making.

Susan McFadden was probably the best of the lot. Good voice, looked great and a very engaging personality.

The way this is going theres only going to be one winner. Yer man Mickey Harte. The guy has a good voice, but he has 0.0 range. Every week he picks a crowd pleasing uptempo rock song because he knows it will garner votes. Has noone else noticed his lack of range? To a lesser extent, Lisa and Brian suffer from this too. Simon Casey is probably the best bet eurovision-wise.

[popbitch]
    Which recently ejected contestant dumped a longtime spouse to make beautiful music with a fellow hopeful
    [/popbitch]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I have't watched a moment of this wretched series but I have heard some of the regular fall-out from it on RTE Radio Ones' LiveLine, today the view from some was that the Twins are being kept in by an e-mail/text messaging conpiriacy. ie school kids and third level students are voting to make sure they win and then embarrass Ireland in the Eurovison!

It sounds plausible to me...

Mike.

Originally posted by mike65
    the view from some was that the Twins are being kept in by an e-mail/text messaging conpiriacy. ie school kids and third level students are voting to make sure they win and then embarrass Ireland in the Eurovison!

It sounds plausible to me...

Ive heard this mentioned a few times, but i dont buy it. Why havent any of us got the text/email? In previous cases - Ronnie O Brien (juve/time) and The Wolfe Tones, EVERYONE got word of it. Hell, i even got an email to vote for Fat Rick in pop idol in england. This twins campaign cant be too widespread.

Its far more likely that the incredible amount of legwork they are putting in (they are covering more ground than canvassing politicians) is paying off.

The twins are probably 10 years yonger than some of the other contestants.

Eurovision will love this.

They are also Twins.

Eurovision will also love this.

With a good somg - they could win the Eurovision.

The twins are probably 10 years yonger than some of the other contestants.

Eurovision will love this.

They are also Twins.

Eurovision will also love this.

With a good somg - they could win the Eurovision.

They still can't sing.

The Eurovision would not love this

Cork are you tone deaf or something?? Did you not hear them last sunday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Just flicking through the channels on sunday i caught me on that girl Lisa Bresnan...her voice and looks have enchanted me!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

The twins are sh!te.

There must be something seriously wrong with the voting considering that the pair have managed to slip in once again having been grilled by the judges for 2 weeks running.

In my opinion the only reason they are getting thru is cos they are school girls, and the whole f**king school is voting for them. This isn't about talent and who can sing or not, its all about the number of fans and supporters ya have. Very bad system if ya ask me.

The twins must go, no further comment!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

Cork,

It doesn't matter if they have a good song. They've had good songs for the past few weeks and they've ruined them because they can't sing . They also dance like a fifth rate Mel & Kim, and their looks aren't up to too much either. If we're going to take the piss out of the Eurovision we shoud do it properly and send the headcase from Ballyfermot with the yellow hair.

BTW: Why after weeks of doing harmonies on songs that didn't work, did they not bother when they finally had a song which lends itself to a harmony.

Originally posted by Occidental

BTW: Why after weeks of doing harmonies on songs that didn't work, did they not bother when they finally had a song which lends itself to a harmony.

Yeh, was just saying that to a mate. Talk about missing the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

Im voting 4 the twins as i did last week. (Even though they were brutal last week). Usually they put on a great performance. Oh and i want them to win to piss of Louis and that phat bloke with the glasses and that boring rambling fart:D

They really piss me off when they slam my beloved twins week in week out.
    They keep going on about how young and inexperienced they are.
    Ehhhhhhhh, how old (or young should I say) was Dana when she performed in front of tems of millions all those years ago.

Louis walsh can stick that mic up his...............

Rant over!

Originally posted by pugwall
    Im voting 4 the twins as i did last week. (Even though they were brutal last week). Usually they put on a great performance. Oh and i want them to win to piss of Louis and that phat bloke with the glasses and that boring rambling fart:D

They really piss me off when they slam my beloved twins week in week out.
    They keep going on about how young and inexperienced they are.
    Ehhhhhhhh, how old (or young should I say) was Dana when she performed in front of tems of millions all those years ago.

Louis walsh can stick that mic up his...............

Rant over!

Now I see. It's muppets like this that are voting them in. Dana has a decent voice - they don't. End of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

He has got a point.It would be great to see Walsh pissed off-after all he has been pissing me off for years with the sh1te he brings to the radio anytime I switch on.Lets return the favour :D

Anyway there is a chance they would win the Eurovision.All the mainlanders who vote in it seem to be a camp kitsch lot who like a bit of novelty-after all a transexual from Israel,which is technically in Asia,won the contest.And does anybody remember when some sort of insane crap German guy nearly won the contest and became somewhat of a national hero back home?I cant remember what was odd about him but it was something......

I mean honestly,they arent half as bad as some of the sh1t Louis Walsh has presided over the years.Those who do not believe me obviously are lucky enough to have forgotten about a short lived group called Bewitched-while they were around incidents of people mutilating their own ears skyrocketed.

As for chain emails/texts I have never once got sent a chain email asking me to do this/that and vote for her/him.
    Then again I practically never use email.None of my friends use it as a way of keeping in touch and so neither do I.I have only ever got the very odd chain text(only one I can remember was the pranksters sending the 10 euro top up thingy where you donated money to concern).

"The twins are bloody awful, just another crime that Cork will be made to pay for in the long run"(Dustaz)

Calm down Adolf,its a song contest and a bit of fun for chrisakes:)

But if I could be arsed voting,which I cant,I would keep voting for the twins,primarily so as to get a viewing of them each week:)

Anyway,maybe its about time we got less serious about Eurovision and let Ardal O Hanlon and somebody else enter with My Lovely Horse:D There would be deffo 12 points from the Brits:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

The twins have been crap for bout 3 weeks now!! they know they suck!!! which kinda takes the p*ss!! the look on there face when they got through the last 3 times has been priceless!! also i think lisa bresnin(spellin) sux!! shes got the come to bed eyes but thats all!! that had to be the single worst version of "this years love" ive ever heard!! she talks with a hum rather than sing!!

I hope that micky harte wins - imagine a song like teenage kicks on eurovision!!! it'll be between micky and simon who wins anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Those twons shouldn't have gotten through the final level of the competition but with judges like Kerry Katona and Louis Walsh what can we expect!!
    Mickey Harte is the best performer of the lot, but he won't win because he hasn't got the boy-band look that Simon Casey has. However the exposure might get Harte a record contract and some good publicity.

Originally posted by Kalina
    Those twons shouldn't have gotten through the final level of the competition but with judges like Kerry Katona and Louis Walsh what can we expect!!

The public voted them into the final actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Gunn4r

Lisa rocks, she should win, The twins are gimps and are surely going to go next week.

I think that the judges did vote the twins to the final 8 of a permilinary round.

I too will be voting for the twins. We have Louis Walsh - slating them.

Is this the man behind Six?
    Did he not bring out a compilation album - "Louis Walshs History Of Irish Pop" - Filled with Boyzone, Samanta Mumba & the Carter Twins?

If you want to check out great music - The Frank and Walters are to headline the Rollercoaster Tour 2003, along with Woodstar and Turn.

TG4's Hector O'hEochagain will MC the gigs and the Tour will also feature the 2002 Found @ Thirst DJ of the Year, Alan Kelly.

For Details -
    Link

But - He make a point : Vote - The Twins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

Cant wait to see woodstar and the frank & walters. I suppose turn might be interesting:D

g'wan the (funky) cork twins!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think that the judges did vote the twins to the final 8 of a permilinary round.

Yes, but i would bet that the standard of that particular heat was appaling. It was people like you that inflicted them upon us for so long by voting them into the finals.

OH LOL LETS VOTE FOR THE CRAP GIRLS TO PISS LOUIS OFF!!
    Hint: He doesnt care, They are **** and people are just setting them up for a bigger fall than they are already going to take.

these 2 girls can sing.

How dare these "judges" belittle these 16 year olds.

They are probably 10 years younger than some of the others.

It was the judges who turned it into a regional contest.

You should have heard some of the cheesy songs of the other contestants.

What is Phil Coulters musical output?
    Louis Walsh's contribution?

Yet they can sit in judgemant?

The Twins can sing. They have obvious talent. Don't really be said by these judges.

Tonight it isn't going to matter.... 2 contestants are being eliminated, and the twins are going to be one of them - they've been consistently 2nd last or 3rd last for weeks now.

I think that their may be a groundswell of support behind the twins. Brenden O Connor even has written a good article in todays newspaper endoursing the twims.

These Twins have to win. Ignore these judges. The twins probably have a better track record than most of these judges.

Vote For The Twins!

Twice as good as the others!

these 2 girls can sing.

No they cant, stop trolling.
    How dare these "judges" belittle these 16 year olds.

Thats their "job" in the "television show"
    Stop trolling
    They are probably 10 years younger than some of the others.

And your point is?
    It was the judges who turned it into a regional contest.

If your talking about the fact there was auditions in different regions, then no, it was the producers.
    You should have heard some of the cheesy songs of the other contestants.
    I have, 2 wrongs dont make a right
    stop trolling
    What is Phil Coulters musical output?

Phil Coulter is one of Ireland most succesful songwriters. He is the only non-american to have written a hit for Elvis. His output is acknowledged.

Stop trolling cork.
    Yet they can sit in judgemant?
    Its thier job as "judges".
    The Twins can sing. They have obvious talent. Don't really be said by these judges.
    Stop trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

these 2 girls can sing.

No they can't. One of them can kind of sing. The other appears to be tone deaf.

(watched it tonight just so I could see what everyone was complaining about)

Don't be dissing Phil Coulter btw. Not necessarily my kind of music but the guy has written some great songs (and he can play the peenanno too). Some of them have even done well in the Eurovision so he has something of a pedigree of experience.

The results were on this morning.... (In spoilers for those who want to watch the repeat tomorrow night)
    The twins are finally gone (thank god) and so is Brian Ormond.

I think you'll have to live under a rock for the next 2 days not to hear the results, though..... G'wan Lisa and Mickey!

- Dave.

I saw the programme last night & the twins really shone. I voted for them for the first time last night. They were easily the best last night. They had a theme and the Indigo Gils song was dead on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

Awww, its a shame
    the twins have gone.....they had nice......boots.
    Thank Christ that
    Ormande
    bloke is gone too, his eyebrows where really beginning to upset me in unimaginable ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

I saw the programme last night & the twins really shone. I voted for them for the first time last night. They were easily the best last night. They had a theme and the Indigo Gils song was dead on.

Anybody who thinks that the twins were the best musicians on view last night must be tone deaf or in a tribal frenzy. They were awful and deserved to be put out of tehir misery.

Phil Coulter has always said that they will be a completely different proposition in a few years....I agree. They WILL improve. At the moment they are very young and immature, as distinct from talentless.

Ormond has improved a lot and was one of the best 2 acts there last night, IMO . He has cracked TV at last.....he played it safe for a while at the beginning but has changed from someone who wants to survive to someone who wants to entertain. Failr play.

That Limerick woman and her lounge lizard quarter way across the atlantic smarming should have been dealt with earlier....as in 1 week after the twins. On consistency alone she is in the top 4 or 5 but she is very limited and irritating. Piano lounge stuff, yuk.

M

The girls are gone.... thank god for that.....I for one am glad to see em gone..... they were crap.... not a note between em.

However, Brian Ormond disserved to stay on, he really improved over the last 2 weeks. last night was the best I'd seen him yet in my opinion.

Thank the Lord. The twins are gone.

However, Brian Ormond's departure was a shocker and I don't think he deserved to go at all. All the pictures in the papers show the pure look of shock on his face. I reckon he'll get some sort of record deal.

I still believe that the twins were brillant last night. I toght the Indigo Girls song really suited them.

They could sing. But I think they were perhaps too young.

Although a young age is a plus on the Eurovision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

I still believe that the twins were brillant last night.

phew :confused:

I still believe that the twins were brillant last night. I toght the Indigo Girls song really suited them.

They could sing. But I think they were perhaps too young.

Although a young age is a plus on the Eurovision.

Cork, just get over it, there gone....... and no they can't sing.

They only thing attractive, Eurovision wise, was the fact that they were twins, noting else. They haven't a note between them. They sounded like a cats chorus last night!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭aine

However, Brian Ormond's departure was a shocker and I don't think he deserved to go at all. All the pictures in the papers show the pure look of shock on his face. I reckon he'll get some sort of record deal.

but he is just soooooooooooooooo cheesey! I mean he wants 'it' far too much and it shows! he is just dying for the fame and fortune etc! he acts as though hes already got it in the way that he is just so calm and controled in his interviews, making sure not to make any slip ups! but all the while there is jsut something about him that SCREAMS wannabe! hes just lacking that special something!