Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fatcs About Ireland You Probably Ever Knew

• 09-02-2003 1:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭

Well,I thought it was interesting anyway:) But I had a few pints earlier on so what do I know...........enjoy:)

1) - The average height of Irish men is 5' 7".

2) - The average height of Irish women is 5'5".

3) - 90% of Irish nationals are Catholic but only 30% ever attend church.

4) - The average Irish adult spends $3,500 a year on alcohol.

5) - The most popular Irish Radio station is RTE, attracting 1.5 Million listeners every weekday.

6) - The Irish report the lowest annual number of UFO sightings in Europe.

7) - The Irish eat 12 million cream eggs between New Years Day and Easter.

8) - 70% of married Irish women would consider having an affair while n a foreign holiday without their spouse or children.

9) - 90% of all Irish men would do the same.

10) - The Irish buy 20 million cigarettes a day.

11) - Experts believe that the average price of a 3-bedroom house in Dublin will rise to 250,000 by 2005.

12) - The most popular cars in Ireland are the Ford Fiesta & Focus, the Toyota Yaris and the 3 series BMW.

13) - The average Irish household has three TV's and two video recorders.

14) - The average Irish married couple has sex one and a halftimes a week.

15) - The average Irish single couple has sex four times a week.

16) - The average unattached Irish male only has sex once every six months.

17) - 76% of all Irish nine-year-olds have tried alcohol and cigarettes.

18) - 63% of all Irish people think that corrupt politicians should be made bankrupt and then imprisoned.

19) - 73% of Americans are unable to locate Ireland on a map bereft of country names.(presumably the only Americans who have heard of Ireland are the 40 odd million who seem more proud of this windy wet Atlantic rock than we do)

20) - Bra sales in Ireland increased by 4million between 1998 and 1999.

21) - Raymond O'Brien is the shortest person in Irish history. The midget, who died in 1795, was one foot eleven inches tall.

22) - The actress who played seventies Irish advertising icon, Sally O'Brien, was in fact English.

23) - Less than two percent of the Irish population have been bitten by poisonous snakes.(less than 2 percent?Where the feck in Ireland are there poisonous snakes apart from the zoo?)

24) - The Irish drink four million pints of tea a day.

25) - The average Irish farmer receives 40,000 in EC subsidies every year.

26) - Ireland has one of the lowest rates of crime against tourists in the western world.

27) - Dublin is the Gay capital of Ireland with over ninety percent of the indigenous gay population residing there.(its dem fookin culchies makin up tha shoyte statistic bud.Deyre jus pissed off cos we know well wha dey do wit dem sheep)

28) - The average Irish family is made up of two parents and three point nine children.

29) - Irish women believe that thirty is the best age to get married and begin a family.

30) - Irish men believe that thirty-five is early enough to settle down.

31) - Only 9% of the Irish population are natural red heads.

32) - May is generally the driest month of the year in Ireland.

33) - Galway is the Hash capital of Ireland.

34) - Dublin is the Smack capital of Ireland.

35) - RTE's "The Late Late Show" is the world's longest running Talk Show, initially hosted by Gay Byrne, Pat Kenny now hosts the show.

36) - 57% of Irish people wear glasses or contact lenses.

37) - In 1907, Bernard Murphy legally swapped his daughter for three cows and a sheep at a Donegal market.

38) - Cat's now out number dogs by two to one as Ireland's most popular pet.

39) - Almost 100% of Irish Catholic children take a pledge to stay away from alcohol until they are eighteen. Only 2% of them actually stick to it.

40) - 58% of practicing Catholics see the church as outdated and in need of major overhaul.

41) - Dublin boasts one pub for every 100 head of population.

42) - Tourists cite the severe lack of Dublin taxi's on weekend nights as the main reason they would not recommend the city as a short break destination to their friends.

43) - Only 1/8 of Irish people under the age of 24 are married.

44) - Irish marriages last an average of thirteen years although the majority do not end in divorce. Irish couples prefer to separate and live in sin with their new partners rather than go through costly legal proceedings.

45) - An album only needs to sell 5,000 copies to top the Irish music charts.(makes me wonder how many records the guys down at number 20 have sold.Then again I always wondered why the likes of Eminem was still at a good position in the charts with an album which came out in summer-it seems that if he is selling a handful a week he can still manage a good chart appearence).

46) - A book only needs to sell 3,000 copies to top the Irish best seller's list.

47) - The Canary Islands are the most popular sunshine holiday destination with retired Irish citizens.

48) - 89% percent of the population are in favour of permanently separating Northern Ireland from the Republic.

49) - The fattest Irish person on record was Aine Gowan. At the time of her death she weighed over thirty stone.

50) - The busiest Irish ezine in the history of the Internet is www.bowsie.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

1) Dublin's O'Connell Bridge was originally made of rope and could only carry one man and a donkey at a time. It was replaced with a wooden structure in 1801. The current concrete bridge was built in 1863 and was first called "Carlisle Bridge".

2) O'Connell Bridge is the only traffic bridge in Europe which is wider than it is long and Dublin's second O'Connell Bridge is across the pond in Stephen's Green.

3) Dublin Corporation planted 43,765 deciduous trees in the Greater Dublin area in 1998.

4) Dublin's oldest workhouse closed its doors for the last time in July 1969. Based in Smithfield, the premises housed 10,037 orphan children during the one hundred and seventy years it operated.

5) Dublin was originally called Dubh Linn meaning Black Pool. The pool to which the name referred is the oldest known natural treacle lake in Northern Europe and currently forms the centerpiece of the penguin enclosure in Dublin Zoo.

6) There are over 1,000 prostitutes operating in the Dublin area on any given night. Most are women from outside Dublin.

7) The average Dubliner earns £19,000 per annum, giving twelve pounds to charity and a hundred and sixty two pounds in tips. The most important consideration when a man is deciding whether or not to give a barmaid a tip is the amount of her body that he can see. A quarter of all tips go to taxi drivers even though they earn, on average, four times the average wage in the city, higher than ninety six percent of their clients.

8) None of the so-called Dublin Mountains is high enough to meet the criteria required to claim mountain status. The Sugarloaf is the tallest 'Dublin Mountain' yet measures a mere 1389 feet above sea level.

9) The headquarters of the national broadcaster RTE in Montrose was originally built for use as an abattoir.

10) Dublin's oldest traffic light is situated beside the Renault garage in Clontarf. The light, which is still in full working order, was installed in 1893 outside the home of Fergus Mitchell who was the owner of the first car in Ireland.

11) The Temple Bar area is so called because it housed the first Jewish temple built in Ireland. The word 'bar' refers to the refusal of Catholics to allow the Jewish community to enter any of the adjoining commercial premises.

12) Tiny Coliemore Harbour beside the Dalkey Island Hotel was the main harbour for Dublin from the fifteenth to the seventeenth century.

13) Dublin is the IT Call Centre capital of Europe with over 100,000 people employed in the industry.

14) In 1761 a family of itinerants from Navan were refused entry to Dublin.The family settled on the outskirts of the city and created the town of Rush. Two hundred and fifty years later, almost the entire population of Rush can still trace their roots back to this one family.

15) Ireland's longest running Internet publication www.bowsie.com was established in Dublin in 1994.

16) Dubliners drink a total of 9800 pints an hour between the hours of 5.30pm on a Friday and 3.00am the following Monday.

17) Women from Dublin are the least likely to become pregnant through casual sex. Women from Meath are the most likely.(I get the feeling alot of people will be suprised by that one)

18) Dublin is Europe's most popular destination with travelling stag and hen parties. There are an estimated six hundred 'pre wedding sessions' every weekend in the capital.

19) Harold's Cross got it's name because a tribe called the Harolds lived in the Wickow Mountains and the Archbiship of Dublin would not let them come any nearer to the city than that point.

20) Leopardstown was once known as Leperstown.

21) The average 25-year-old Dubliner still lives with his/her parents preferring to spend their money on fast cars and clothes rather than a mortgage.

22) Dublin vets charge up to fifteen times more for animal health services than their counterparts outside the capital.

23) Two radio stations attract over 90% of all listeners in the Dublin area.

24) There are twelve Dublins in the United States and six in Australia.

25) Buck Whaley was an extremely wealthy gambler who lived in Dublin in the seventeen hundreds. Due to inheritances, he had an income of seven thousand pounds per year (not far off seven million a year at today's prices). He lived in a huge house near Stephen's Green which is now the Catholic University of Ireland. He went broke and he had to leave
    Ireland due to gambling debts. He swore he'd be buried on Irish soil but is in fact buried in the Isle of Man in a shipload of Irish soil which he imported for the purpose.

26) The Burke Brothers were Dublin's 1960's equivalent of the Kray twins. They weren't actually brothers but second cousins.

27) The converted Ford Transit used for the Pope's visit in 1976 was upholstered using the most expensive carpet ever made in Dublin. The carpet was a silk and Teflon weave and rumoured to have cost over £950.00 per square meter.

28) There was once a large statue of Queen Victoria in the Garden outside Leinster House. It was taken away when the Republic of Ireland became independent and in 1988 was given as a present to the city of Sydney, Australia to mark that city's 200th anniversary.

29) The largest cake ever baked in Dublin weighed a whopping 190lb's and was made to celebrate the 1988 city millennium. The cake stood untouched in the Mansion House until 1991 when it was thrown out.

30) A pint of Guinness in Dublin can cost as much as £2.75 or as little as £2.10p depending on where you drink.

31) Dubliners are more likely to buy a stranger a drink than locals from any other area of the country are.

32) The Radisson St Helens Hotel in Stillorgan sells the dearest pint in Ireland.

33) There are forty six rivers in Dublin city. The river flowing through Rathmines is called the River Swan (beside the Swan Centre). The Poddle was once known as the ''Tiber' and was also known as the River Salach (dirty river), which is the origin of the children's song "Down by the river Saile". It is also the river whose peaty, mountain water causes the Black Pool mentioned above.

34) Saint Valentine was martyred in Rome on February 28th eighteen centuries ago. He was the Bishop of Terni. His remains are in a cask in White Friar Street Church, Dublin. He is no longer recognised as a Saint by the Vatican.

35) The statue in Dublin's O'Connell Street is commonly known as the 'Floozy in the Jacuzzi' while the one at the bottom of Grafton Street is best known as the 'Tart with the Cart'. The women at the Ha'Penny bridge are the"Hags with the bags", James Joyce's statue is called the "Dick with the stick" and the Chimney Stack with the new lift in Smithfield Village is now called the "Flue with the View". As for the Spike Monument in O'Connell Street ( Which nobody wants and is a big waste of money ! ), the commonly known name for that is not printable !

36) There is a fountain in College Green with some ghastly statues of angels. This stands on the spot where there was once a statue of King Billy on a horse. It was blown up six times before being completely destroyed bya bomb in 1946. The wreck was taken to a corporation yard and the horses huge lead testicles were melted down and used to repair a
    pipe.

37) Montgomery Street was once the biggest red-light district in Europe with an estimated 1600 prostitutes. It was known locally as the "Monto" and this is the origin of the song "Take me up to Monto"

38) Dublin boasts more homosexuals per capita than San Francisco.(bullshoyte-itsa culchie conspiracy bud!Now fook off before I rape yah up da hole)

39) Henry Moore, Earl of Drogheda lived in Dublin in the eighteenth century. His job was naming streets. He called several after himself. Henry Street, Moore Street, Earl Street, Drogheda Street. Drogheda Street later became Sackville Street and is now O'Connell Street. He didn't like to see the 'of' from his name left out so when he was naming a small lane (off O'Connell Street) he called it "Of Lane" (it's gone now).

40) Nelson's Pillar was blown up in 1966 to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the 1916 rising. It now lies in a heap in a valley in County Wicklow. The stupid metal spike (referred to above) is being installed where Nelsons Pillar once stood.

41) Leinster House in Dublin was originally built as a private home for the Duke of Leinster. At that time, the most fashionable part of Dublin was the North Side and he was asked why he was building on the South Side. He said "Where I go, fashion follows me" .....and to this day the most fashionable part of Dublin is the South Side.

42) Tallaght is one of the oldest placenames in Ireland and it means "The Plague Cemetery"

43) There are five areas in Dublin whose names end in the letter 'O'. Fewer than one Dubliner in 20,000 can name them off by heart.They are...... Rialto, Marino, Portobello, Phibsboro and Pimlico.(I managed 3-where the fook is Pimlico?)

44) Kevin Street Garda Station was once the Palace of the Archbishop of Dublin.

45) The original name of Trinity College was "Trinity College Near Dublin". The capital was a lot smaller then.:) :)

By the way excuse the atrocious spelling at the title of the thread-I really shouldnt engage in drunken posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

89% percent of the population are in favour of permanently separating Northern Ireland from the Republic.

I find that one somewhat hard to believe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Unless these come directly from the CSO they're bollox. 1 pub for 100 people means theres 10,000 pubs in dublin !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

Here's another one I heard:
    It is illegal to fly the irish tricolour in darkness.

}:>

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Theres a lot more things about the flag than that. Your not supposed to deface it either like what Guinness did for their world cup campaign. Your also supposed to keep it clean and your not allowed burn it.
    11) - Experts believe that the average price of a 3-bedroom house in Dublin will rise to 250,000 by 2005.

Well they got that wrong whenever they wrote that, thats already the price of the ave 3 bed in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

10) Dublin's oldest traffic light is situated beside the Renault garage in Clontarf. The light, which is still in full working order, was installed in 1893 outside the home of Fergus Mitchell who was the owner of the first car in Ireland.

The nearest traffic lights to this garage cant be more than 10 (guess) years old. Junction of Alfie Byrne Road and Clontarf Road. The Alfie byrne Road was built on reclaimed land about this long ago. Feck I rememember te time before that road was there and I'm only 25.

Just goes to show that 95% of all statistics are all amde up. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Some great stats there, love stats. As said though, I'm sure some of them are way off. eg:
    Originally posted by The Gopher

Unless you got your source from an American which, in that case may account for the Irish in America, and hey, even around the world. But 20 million cigarettes a day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

One in four people smoking 20 fags a day (incuding nippers and bairns), nah.. likewise a pint of tea for every man, woman and chisler on the island is stretching the fabric of the truth a tad.

A natural treacle lake? wtf??

Just a hunch - any chance you got these from bowsie.com? :)
    Ireland's oldest e-zine being a whopping eight-and-a-half years old just seems a little out of context there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

originally posted byThe Gopher

17) - 76% of all Irish nine-year-olds have tried alcohol and cigarettes.

i feel deprived:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

1) - The average height of Irish men is 5' 7".

i 6ft5 or 6 so feel my wrath you leprechauns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    i 6ft5 or 6 so feel my wrath you leprechauns

But you'll never catch me lucky charms

but when i do catch up with you, you'll be receiving a kick from my nice unpolished size 14's up your tiny ass for making me run

That sounds like a wager to me...

Btw you couldnt catch a cold, even at that altitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Who the fook drinks pints of tea?

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger

An alcoholic with an empty glass and 50 miles from the nearest off license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

Galway is the Hash capital of Ireland

WOOHOO!

[Hands in the air]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭EL_Diablo

Originally posted by Blade
    Theres a lot more things about the flag than that. Your not supposed to deface it either like what Guinness did for their world cup campaign. Your also supposed to keep it clean and your not allowed burn it.

Except if it touches the ground. Then you're supposed to burn it. And when folding it you're not meant to let the green and the orange touch.

43) There are five areas in Dublin whose names end in the letter 'O'. Fewer than one Dubliner in 20,000 can name them off by heart.They are...... Rialto, Marino, Portobello, Phibsboro and Pimlico.(I managed 3-where the fook is Pimlico?)

Pimlico is right beside the coombe.(The area not the hospital) That new road they built bypasses it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

7) - The Irish eat 12 million cream eggs between New Years Day and Easter.

I can believe that. I've eaten about a box since they've come out. That's nearly 50.

32) The Radisson St Helens Hotel in Stillorgan sells the dearest pint in Ireland.

Dunno about that one, it is expensive, but most expensive in Ireland, I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

Who the fook drinks pints of tea

You underestimate the number of housewives who drink tea constantly - My ma for instance drinks 20-25 mugs of tea a day.

It's an addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

by The Gopher

14) - The average Irish married couple has sex one and a halftimes a week.

Did I miss something ??:confused:
    One and a halftimes.......a halftimes.what?

gogo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,575 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by gogo

One and a halftimes x a couple
    = 1.5 x 2
    = 3
    :. 2 people needed to have sex
    => someone is getting it on the side ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

The average height of Irish men is 5' 7

6ft5 or 6 so feel my wrath you leprechauns

Actually that's complete BS, cos I'm 5'7 and there's no way that half the adult male population is shorter or equal.

And btw I'm a 5' wide front row player Caesar, I'll feel your wrath as you feel my headbutt - height is not the only measurement of size ;)

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I don't know Al

To me nearly everyone looks the same height.

PS You call that a headbutt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger

My flat mate drinks at least 6 mugs of tea a day.

2 of my aunties seems to perpetually drink tea, whenever you are in the house they either have the kettle on, or have tea already made.

If you think about it: 1 mug in the morning (breakie), 1 at lunch, 1 at dinner, 1 at night.... it could easily happen.

I however don't drink tea at all :)

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

As for the height thing?

The average guy is 5'10" (up 1 inch from 30 year ago)
    The average woman is 5'4" (think all the midget grannys - also up an inch)

<< Fio >>

5.03bn cigarettes sold last year = 13m per day :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by gogo

That'll be the "self-play" option.

Or when the bloke falls asleep during the act. Easy to do.

Or halfway through when the woman/man suddenly shouts "get off me you dirty pervert"

Or the more obvious mathematical average thingie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

There's no way the Yaris and Fiesta are outselling the Golf, so surely the Golf should be in that list.
    Unless the Focus is outselling the Golf so it doesnt make it on, but I reckon the Polo and the 206 both outsell the Yaris too.
    And Fiestas dont seem that popular anymore at all.
    Of course outside Dublin it may be a different thing, but I reckon for every Yaris on the road in Dublin there's about 4 Golfs.

And btw I'm a 5' wide front row player Caesar, I'll feel your wrath as you feel my headbutt - height is not the only measurement of size

Admittedly i'm a lanky stream of piss at the moment but i was once a rugger bugger until i fukd up leg in a pretty dodgy tackle but that bastard got his comeuppance.

That 5ft7 fact smells a bit iffy, as all you leprechauns look the same to me, its kind of hard to distinguish between a leprechaun and a dwarf. People tend to think i'm american when i go abroad which doesnt exactly bode well in some parts of the world, namely north korea and iraq.

What is it with the bloody irish and tea? If i go to someones house, "hello caesar what do you take tea or coffe?" "No i'm fine thanks, i dont drink tea nor coffe" the room goes so quite thinking to themselves i'm a freak because i declined tea. They say we have a problem with drink in our society, i reckon its bllody tea, everyone must have a cup of tea/coffee before they do something, why?

Just ask if they have anything stronger ;)

So, a 7 foot bloke called Caesar (who may or may not have an afro) comes lumbering in and it's all hunky-dory till the truth comes out that he doesn't like tea? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

) - The Irish eat 12 million cream eggs between New Years Day and Easter.

That's Kharn for ya...

So, a 7 foot bloke called Caesar (who may or may not have an afro) comes lumbering in and it's all hunky-dory till the truth comes out that he doesn't like tea?

I actually had a fro going on till i got bored, well more so to do with the annoyance of washing and drying it every 2nd day and people telling me to get a haircut because i'm not black, thats prejudice for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Auburn

19) - 73% of Americans are unable to locate Ireland on a map bereft of country names.(presumably the only Americans who have heard of Ireland are the 40 odd million who seem more proud of this windy wet Atlantic rock than we do)

Now why isn't that surprising? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

45) The original name of Trinity College was "Trinity College Near Dublin". The capital was a lot smaller then.:) :)

The original name was (and I think it might still be the official name) "The Holy and Undivided Trinity of Queen Elizabeth near Dublin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭davelerave

41) - Dublin boasts one pub for every 100 head of population.

nowayhose man you should get a job working for george bush make a few presentations to the sec council he needs people who can come up with stuff like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

I am mailing that to every american film producer i can find!!!

If you ask me, its still too much. Ginger offense intended:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by smiles
    As for the height thing?

The average guy is 5'10" (up 1 inch from 30 year ago)
    The average woman is 5'4" (think all the midget grannys - also up an inch)

<< Fio >>
    yeah i hear that too, certainly more realistic than that 5'7" junk :rolleyes:

women only 5'4" find that hard to believe! surely its more like 5'6" O_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

somoeone said something about it being illegal to fly the ticolour at night,

the cop shop in castlebar was flying theirs at half mast the other night :)

does that mean somethin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭irishguy

a flag is flown at half mast for satule a fallen comrade [or someone the state has respect for] also the flag in every barracks in the country is taken down at 8pm every night and must be folded in the correct manner,not leaving the orange touch the green or leaving it touch the ground if it does it has to be burned [this never happens, the flag been burned i mean] this has something got to do with the british occupation of ireland green representing ireland , orange representing the north and white representing the peace between then. Also it is against the law to take a piss in a public place but it is not agains the law to take a ****e as holding in a ****e could kill you [dont know if that true or not and i wouldnt like to try and prove it in a court]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

taking a ****e in public is legal and if a garda is present he she has to hold their hat underneath you to capture youre waste, by law.... Taking a piss is illegal in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

lol nice stats...afaik we eat the most chocolate per person or somthan ?:) could be wrong

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Tusky
    lol nice stats...afaik we eat the most chocolate per person or somthan ?:) could be wrong

I think that was on the radio they were saying it was a fact.
    Originally posted by imp
    Here's another one I heard:
    It is illegal to fly the irish tricolour in darkness.

}:>

No countries national flag should be up at night, this is (or should be) a well known fact as it is thought as disrespectful to do so.
    If you ask me, its still too much. Ginger offense intended:eek:

What is intended? Did you mean to say, “If you ask me, it’s still too much. Ginger offence intended:eek:” :rolleyes:

**** off and learn to spell before you try to insult intelligent people. :D

what exactly in my aforementioned quote is misspelled?
    offense(us) and offence(brit) are both acceptable, its just so happens i tend to read more americanised literature, hence culminating in myself incorporating the american spelling rather than the british.

obviously you are one of the many malignant, fiery tempered red heads who are unable to digest a slight bit of negative criticism. Go dye your hair and do everyone a favour:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Lennoxschips

O'Connell Bridge is the only traffic bridge in Europe which is wider than it is long

There's no way I'm going to believe that one. Just down the road from me here in Holland a three lane motorway crosses a small canal. I'm sure there are hundreds of more examples.

what exactly in my aforementioned quote is misspelled?
    offense(us) and offence(brit) are both acceptable, its just so happens i tend to read more americanised literature, hence culminating in myself incorporating the american spelling rather than the british.

obviously you are one of the many malignant, fiery tempered red heads who are unable to digest a slight bit of negative criticism. Go dye your hair and do everyone a favour:D

Shouldn't that be "Americanized" then? :D

yeah but saying that many english writers use the "ized" too, instead of the "ised" and vice versa with americans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Ginger offense intended:eek: [/B]
    CB, they don't mind the insults. They've accepted by now that they are genetically inferior and should be sterilised for the good of mankind.