Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underage Drinking

• 18-01-2003 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

I was just thinking if you are in a pub with some of your friends and everyone is under 18 but 1 person is not drinking and the gaurds come will you get your name taken.

Sorry if its a stupid qusetion but i just dont know

Cheryo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

I very much doubt it. You haven't broken any laws or anything, unless you bought the drink for them.

}:>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭col_nicholson

ok thanks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

1. The gards never come into pubs
    2. The gards couldnt give a f3ck about underage drinkers
    3. Its up to the publican, he gets in trouble if you are underage drinking in his bar.
    4. If all your friends are drinking in a bar you should be too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There may be some law which means minors cannot be in a pub, but I'm not entirely sure.

Most pubs have 'children not allowed in this pub after XX:XX', but I'm not sure if there's a law, or if 'children' relates to all minors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Depends on the cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭col_nicholson

My mate was caught in a pub and it was charged 1000. but a juvenille liason officer was sent to his house, and we dont want that to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

just go into the toilets and pretend to be getting sick in one of the cubicles if they come into the place and youre really worried :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

depends on the guard i'd say ,but most would take your name too i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Way I see it is that any guard who comes into a pub to find underage drinkers is gonna be a right prick anyway so you're fecked should it happen. Or that's my thoughts at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Mewzel

police in my experience are generally ass holes, so yes, they probably would take your name too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

If they catch you drinking underage in a pub it really isn't much of a problem for you, but for the publican it will probably mean a trip to court, a fine and possibly an endorsement on his license (Too many endorsements and the publicans license is gone).

There is the additional problem of a Garda/Liason Officer coming out to your house. A friend of mine was picked up in a sqad car by a local garda after he "Had seen him" outside a local pub with a pint. He was basically told to tell the Judge that he was in the pub" as "thing would be easier on him". (Guard in question was an awful príck tho ... still is)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

It's street drinking which the pigs tend to look out for the most. Since June I've had my name and address taken 5 times for underaged street drinking. I really can't afford to be caught again so I started going into pubs instead. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I turned out okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I would say its rare for gaurds to go into a pub looking for underage drinkers, they'd much rather them in there then outside in fields.

Take Wesley for example, I dont think you'd find anyone over 16 there and there is a garda station 30 feet away.

If he does want you're name blame it on society also I think anyone over 16 can go into a pub, not sure though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭MDR

funny how every Garda is a prick
    until your mugged/raped/attacked etc ... and then they are your bestest friend.

OT I know, but it was bugging me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

aye, I've never liked that attitude either :)

you are doing something illegal, so it's hardly fair to criticise them for wanting to catch you :p

one possible solution is *not* to underage drink..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

The Cops are just doing there job, its just plan unfortunate if ya get caught underage drinking!!! Usually more unfortunate on the actually publican who can have his/her license taken from him/her.

As for my opinion on underage drinkers, everyone does it. I did it myself. once ya look somewhat around 18 the publican will generally serve ya. I was drinking in a pub since I was 15/16, and it wasn't until I turned 18 that I was asked for ID, funny really, but true.

Cops, generally have better things to be doing than catching underages drinkers, so generally don't go into a pub looking to catch people. Its more often than none that people drinking on the streets or in a field, etc are caught. As far as I know, nobody (regardless of age) is allowed, by law, to drink on the streets.

On another level, count yourself lucky that ya ain't in the US, where ya have to be over 21 (in most states) to drink, and they are quite strict about it. Or worst still try live in Saudi where there isn't even a pub in sight (drinking is against the Muslim religion).

I know quite a few guards who are very nice people and make a genuine effort to do a good job.

The guy I mentioned in the above anecdote is genuinely a lazy self centred príck. (I wouldn't even count on him being respected by colleagues)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Originally posted by Mordeth

one possible solution is *not* to underage drink..

Huh! Easy for you to say! :p

i didn't drink till I was 18 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Originally posted by MDR
    until your mugged/raped/attacked etc ... and then they are your bestest friend.

OT I know, but it was bugging me.

Not quite. Myself and my girlfriend were attacked by a group of 8 scumbags armed with bottles just before Christmas. My girlfriend had bruised and dislocated ribs after the assault, and I had a sprained wrist and concussion. It was all caught on security camera and there was witnesses to the whole event - one of who knew the names of some of the attackers. What did those wonderful protectors of justice that we call the gardaí do?

Sweet fuck all.

Sorry to hear about that,
    A similiar incident happened to me.
    It was JC results night and me and my friends were acosted my some ruffians.

Well actually one guy came up and asked me for a quid then hit, since it was JC results night and in Stillorgan a lot of ppl joined in.

In the brawl the gaurds managed to pick me and 2 of my friends out of the crowd and slam us against the garda van the threw us in, funny beacuse they had been watching it all happen and knew we didnt do anything. Well needless to say the place was surrounded by gardas in one minute, with cars driving after knackers running well. They gave us a lift home and about a week later one of the gaurds did a follow up on me, he told what happened to the underages he caught. But the most admirable thing was that if i ever felt unsafe outside I should always go up to a gaurd and just ask them to walk with you to wherever, or even to watch the other guys.

BTW i still have the scar under my eye from the ring, 3 years ago nearly

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

> 1. The gards never come into pubs

Yes they do, but usually only if they are told that a large number of under age people are in the pub

> 2. The gards couldnt give a f3ck about underage drinkers

If they do or don’t, going in to a pub will make it look as if they do

> 3. Its up to the publican, he gets in trouble if you are underage drinking in his bar.

Yes the publican will (should) get in trouble but so will the underage person (sometimes)

> 4. If all your friends are drinking in a bar you should be too.

I won’t even comment on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭MDR

What did those wonderful protectors of justice that we call the gardaí do?

Sweet **** all.

Oh I see the Garda deliberately ignored you ?

If the garda did absolutely nothing as you say, why didn't you go see a soliciter, perhaps take a civil case. Did you follow up the case at the Garda station, did you complain when you felt your case was being dealt with proparily. Was someone arrested, was it the justice system that you down, afterall the Garda aren't responsible for bad judgements in court.

I find it very difficult to believe the Garda ignored a reported assault. I suspect there is prolly alot more going on here than you are letting us know.

If not, fair enough ... but to be honest I have never come across an incident were they Garda 'have just no cared about an attack', I have seen them ignore other stuff ... but not when people are injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

you must sleep well at night :rolleyes:

anyway, i dont know about here in dublin, but growing up in glasgow you never got police coming into pubs unless there was a fight or something happening/happened inside. Atleast not that i ever seen.

Was mostly underage drinking outside they caught people, people hanging around tunnels/back of schools and so forth

I started drinking in pubs when i was 17 due to having a fake NUS card :p, got caught outside a couple of times when drunk when i was 15/16, nothing really ever happened, mostly just a slap on the wrist kind of thing. Not unless you were disorderly anyway, in that case you would just be thrown in the cells for the night (this never happened to me), although i was never the slowest out of all me friends so i tended not to get caught when the police did show up from around a corner :p

in the whole time ive stayed in dublin and all the pubs ive drank in ive never seen a gardai come in once though

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

It is legal for a person over 16 to be in a pub once they do not consume alcohol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

Originally posted by MDR

Not quite as nasty as anyone elses previously reported assualt cases but heres one for your theory of Gardai care when someone gets injured. A couple of years ago a car tried to reverse over me while I was getting onto my bike. I promptly gave him the finger and cycled away. Car driver catches up with me, jumps out of the van and smacks me in the eye.

Anways, I cycled UP Harcourt street i.e. in the wrong direction as it's the quickest way to get to Harcourt Street Station. I approached the cop outside and asked where I should go to make a complaint to be told "You do realise you cycled the wrong way up a one way street".
    Me: "Thats because it's the quickest way to get here and I have just been assaulted. Where do I go to make a complaint?"

What ensued was ten minutes cop telling me that I had broken the law (my eye swelling rapidly) until I told him to shut the f*ck up and tell me where I should go to complain. Gardai concern? My arse.

And look how you turned out ;)

Only if they feel a reason to. Past hassle from pubs makes them targets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭bozzie

if you didnt buy the drinks ur grand

the law was changed last year and now its perfectly leagal for sprogs to be in pubs as late as they like providing they aren't drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

Originally posted by Moonbeam
    It is legal for a person over 16 to be in a pub once they do not consume alcohol

bullsh1t,
    having grown up in a pub and after working in six more besides, i can tell you quite confidently that it is totally illigal for a minor (under the age of 18) to be on the premesis. the only time they are allowed in is if they are accompanied by an adult ie: a person over the age of 18.

didnt you ever see the legal notices that all vitners members are obliged to display inside their doors? its very clearly stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by Oeneus
    ...street drinking........ underaged street drinking...
    OH LAW-DEE-DAH! STREEEEET DRINKING EH?

BACK 'OME WE CALLS IT BUSHIN'

I know it as "bush lushing". Any way...

A lot of "gards" as some of you are calling them don’t give a ****. Four or five weeks back I had to call the Garda to out side a take away, they said they would be down in about five min (it was near the station).

Before the Garda who was called got down to the take away got there another Garda got there first, I try to tell him what happened and he would not even talk to me, he went over to people who it looked like he knew.

The two Garda who arrived in the second car were as help full as they could have being.

bullsh1t,
    having grown up in a pub and after working in six more besides, i can tell you quite confidently that it is totally illigal for a minor (under the age of 18) to be on the premesis. the only time they are allowed in is if they are accompanied by an adult ie: a person over the age of 18.

so if they're in there with some over age mates it's ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Originally posted by MDR

If the garda did absolutely nothing as you say, why didn't you go see a soliciter, perhaps take a civil case. Did you follow up the case at the Garda station, did you complain when you felt your case was being dealt with proparily. Was someone arrested, was it the justice system that you down, afterall the Garda aren't responsible for bad judgements in court.

I find it very difficult to believe the Garda ignored a reported assault. I suspect there is prolly alot more going on here than you are letting us know.

If not, fair enough ... but to be honest I have never come across an incident were they Garda 'have just no cared about an attack', I have seen them ignore other stuff ... but not when people are injured.

I'll detail pretty much exactly what happened:

My girlfriend and I, who were walking to the shop at around 8.30pm, were attacked by 8 scumbags, armed with bottles outside the shop. They threw the first punch. It was all caught on camera, as the shop was attached to a petrol station, and the attack took place on the four courts, which are monitored by cameras. The shop also has large glass windows facing onto the four courts, allowing peolpe inside a full view of them.

Anyway, we eventually managed to run in to the petrol station (but not before they threw my girlfriend against a car and kicked her repeatedly in the ribs). Once there, I went over to the manager and asked if we could use his phone and bathroom. While saying this, two of the attackers ran into the shop after us. Again, they were caught on camera. They ran back out when they seen the manager.

So, while my girlfriend composes herself, I ring the gardaí and my girlfriend's father. A girl in the shop who I vaguelly knew from school tells me that she knows who they are. They were apparently also kicked away from another shop for being rowdy earlier that night.

The father arrives and we go to see if we can find the attackers. We find them hopping a fence, heading in the direction of a bunch of houses. We take down descriptions of them.

Back at my girlfriend's house, the gardaí arrive, a good hour after the crime was reported. They were very nice, friendly, understanding. Statements are taken (pretty much what is written above) and the gardaí take us for a drive to see if we can spot the attackers. No luck.

At this point, the Gardaí say they'll take a look at the video and get back to us.

A week passed, they didn't get back to us. I phoned up - one of the gardaí explained that they had looked at the video and that there was nothing on it.

Thinking that was a bit strange, I rang the petrol station and asked if I could see the video. They agreed. I also asked if the gardaí had seen it, he said that they hadn't.

I watched the video, and there was plenty on it. You could clearly see the attackers.

I rang up the gardaí again, told them about this, they promised they'd get back to us.

They didn't. Subsequent calls either found them not on duty or, again, "they'd get back to us".

They never did.

In hindsight, I probably should have called a solicitor. But then, why should I have to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

Cops dont do **** , its true , i wont get into that .

Anyway if you are under 18 in a pub then you will more likley get kicked out but thats only in popular pubs . Mostly in town .

Dont drink until your 18 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Bullshit.
    Don't drink until you want to.
    Don't feel you have to drink, but don't be scared away from enjoying a pint with a few mates.

If people only respected drink a bit more we wouldn't be such a country of gobshítes.

Sorry to hear it nakey :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

There are some really nice gardai and some horrible ones.
    There are some who i have been stopped by and searched by folowing a friend of mine passing round something they shouldnt have and unfortunate timing, who was quite possibly the friendliest garda i've ever come across, who was cordial and polite (except for one ickle little bit when another friend said something they shouldnt have). on the other hand, there are some guards who are right pricks, and when asked for directions tell you to **** off and hop in a car and drive off before you can get their badge number.

Gardaí will only head into smaller local pubs really, and only every now and then if they get word of a lot of underage people there. The Rathmines Inn for instance kicked me and a few others out because they knew that they had a reputation and were on their final warning (they're finally changing their ways....there goes another Friday night spot).

It does depend on what area you're in. Town Gardai are for the most part ****, but out where i live in Rathfarnham they're really quite good. one time that we got broken into by some junkie and my brother was still in the house they surrounded the place in 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Guys if you wan't to carry on this discussion about Gardai and there doings/wrong doings can you make a thread in...ehh Humanities I suppose. There seems to be a lot of current involved with Garda actions. And now it seems that Gardai are not untouchable as this link may shed light on in some way - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&postid=720495#post720495

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Chief---
    2. The gards couldnt give a f3ck about underage drinkers
    3. Its up to the publican, he gets in trouble if you are underage drinking in his bar.
    4. If all your friends are drinking in a bar you should be too.

1. Rubbish.
    2. Untrue.
    3. True, although he may not be the only one to get in trouble, it's his responsibility to see that you are not buying or consuming alcohol on his premises.
    4. Complete and utter bollocks. Whether a person drinks or not has nothing to do with their peers - it's a personal choice.

Originally posted by Bard
    1. Rubbish.
    2. Untrue.
    3. True, although he may not be the only one to get in trouble, it's his responsibility to see that you are not buying or consuming alcohol on his premises.
    4. Complete and utter bollocks. Whether a person drinks or not has nothing to do with their peers - it's a personal choice.

I suppose if anybody would know about Gardai/pubs, You would.

Getting personal will get you nowhere.

I've worked in bars before and on occasion have had to call the gardaí to break up rows that happened in the bar or to remove people who refused to leave.

I've a fair understanding of the bar trade and have dealt with the gardaí concerning problems in bars before. Simple as that.

Did not mean to be offensive, sorry. ffs i tried to stop the gards arresting you.

Ohh an by the way, I have worked in bars/clubs too and if a fight breaks out the only thing you dont do is call the gards. Not very good for a pubs image to have a garda car outside with flashing lights.
    Mind you i did work for a landlord who if you served a pint of guinness in a stacker glass he would throw it over you.
    "Tulip boy, only tulip glasses in this pub!!!"

Did not mean to be offensive, sorry. ffs i tried to stop the gards arresting you.

I know, but there was no need to bring that up. No offense taken.

Ohh an by the way, I have worked in bars/clubs too and if a fight breaks out the only thing you dont do is call the gards. Not very good for a pubs image to have a garda car outside with flashing lights.

Not very good for custom to have a bunch of scumbags inside causing fights. Choose the lesser of the two "evils".

Mind you i did work for a landlord who if you served a pint of guinness in a stacker glass he would throw it over you.
    "Tulip boy, only tulip glasses in this pub!!!"

He's damn right too! Guinness should only ever be served in a tulip glass - preferably a Guinness branded one.

Originally posted by Bard

You don't honestly believe that do you? It may have been the case for you but look around at this drink culture and you will see everyone is affected by their peers. A whole nation does not suddenly make the personal choice to become a bunch of drunks

Originally posted by Sangre

You don't honestly believe that do you? It may have been the case for you but look around at this drink culture and you will see everyone is affected by their peers.

Generalisations are bad, you know...

No, not EVERYONE is affected by their peers when it comes to deciding whether to drink or not - or how much to drink. Clearly, gullible and easily influenced people ARE... but that's not EVERYONE.

A whole nation does not suddenly make the personal choice to become a bunch of drunks

Quite correct... and the whole nations HASN'T made such a choice.

I'm 19, I did not drink until after 17.5 (in my 18th year as one might say) and two of my close frends did not drink until they were 18, (most of them started much early).

Its true that its very hard not to drink, mainly because people asking are you not drinking all the time, however not drinking in a pub/club can be very easily covered up, by buying a soft drink look a like or says there is whisky in the coke etc...

Also I have to back up everything bard has said so far, just because you and your friends are/were drinking does not mean every one your age at the time is also drinking

When I was younger nearly every one who was underage drinking was shocked any time I told them I wasn’t, so I tried to avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

so if they're in there with some over age mates it's ok?

so long as their not drinking, yes. although thats during a certain period only, (i think its before 9pm) after that its up to the owner whether they allow accompanied minors on the premisis or not. most don't, my daddy do!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭domeara01

this stuff will get you drunk, remember father jack.
    toilduck.jpg

I wouldn't even risk posting something like the above. Theres always some fool who will try it.