Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you ever needed proof of what a backwards country this is...

• 18-01-2003 12:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

I'm sure you'll all have your own little stories to add to this.

But I was in Dunnes Yesterday, getting food. I like to get a nice bag of tortilla chips now and again, and seeing as I just got a few DVDs cheap in the sales, I thought I'd never have a better excuse to big out, with some crap cider by my side. Now, they recently gave dunnes a make-over and changed everything around, so I had to go and ask where a lot of stuff was.

So I went up and asked this bloke, probably about my age 'You got any Tortilla Chips?'
    'Tortilo? Huh?'

I was promptly taken down to the frozen foods section to get a 'bag of chips'!? >_<
    How mind numbingly stupid can someone get?!!?!

I had to explain then what I was looking for. That I was looking for something akin to Doritos. A lovely blank stare is all I got. You'd think with all the ads on TV and everything, someone who's about my age, probably lives not to far from me, would have some kind of a ****ing clue!? So I told him they were something like crisps, so where are the crisps? He took me half-way down the store, and WALKED RIGHT PAST THE ****INg CRISPS?!

I told him that they were right here. He said he was going down to customer service to check for me. I said no! They're right here. Of course, they weren't there at all. But thankfully I got rid of him. Yes! **** off, you thick bastard!

So, having a look around the crisp section, I found many things, but no, no tortilla chips. All I wanted was regular, plain, average, middle of the road tortilla chips that you can get in any gas station, xtravision, of country brothel around the country. Is that TOO MUCH to ask!? My mind was about to crack!

But oh yes! I found them! A nice big stack of them, in fact!
    In the fecking wines section!?

My god, I was preplexed at the sheer idiocy and ignorance shown! But oh my, the worst thing of the whole day was being stared at like I've got two ****ing heads trying to tongue wrestle each other, while picking seeds from a grape... For asking for something as simple as tortilla chips!?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

*hug*

there there, the pain is over

now.. the healing can being

and did you remember to get some dip for them chips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

next time you'll know better than to ask a member of dunnes stores staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Nope, not a fan of dip.
    Usually just get the chilli flavoured chips.

dunnes stores staff have feelings too

let us all join hands and sing a song for dunnes stores

the time is now people

let the love enter your hearts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

You had a bad experience with one underpaid over-worked staff member of Dunnes and you think the country is backwards. Go look up over-reaction in a dictionary.

Seems to be it shows how spoiled people are that they can't go and look around the store themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Maybe the person was ultra uber healthy so if you asked for dried chick peas or organic macadamia nuts or even topostigmalocciparsic fungus - the person would have been at the right section in a flash. As opposed to watching **** ads on telly every fecking day forcing you to buy Doritos and coke and milk "it's good for you".

Maybe it was the blank stare of an level 11 vegan? (doesn't ingest any form of energy from planet earth, including cathode ray energy beams from d'telly)

But I wouldn't know as I don't go to that dump Dunnes anymore, their staff are dopey as ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Pure genius on the part of the employee if you ask me!

By giving you absolutely no useful assistance (and in fact wasting your time) he has conditioned you to probably never ask any employee of Dunnes for help in future. If the process exerted on you is extened to everyone who goes in there then he and his co-workers will eventually find themselves not being bothered by people asking 'wheres my tortilla chips?' and hense will have a much easier job on their hands.

BTW, shops deliberately move their displays around in order to disorient you, making you walk round staring at stuff you wouldn't normally look at leading to impulse purchases along with what you intended to get. If you the customer were to be told exactly where the item you are looking for is then there would have been no point moving everything around in the first place, would there?

There's a 1,000 indicators out there to how crap, deluded and backward this country is ... but unhelpful employees in a shop isn't high on the list.

Originally posted by yellum
    You had a bad experience with one underpaid over-worked staff member of Dunnes and you think the country is backwards. Go look up over-reaction in a dictionary.

http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=sarcasm
    http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=over-statement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    He should have taken you out the back and kicked the fuk out of you.

In my opinion.

Your head is filled with asbestos.

In my opinion.

I'm enjoying my lunch.

In my opinion.

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    He should have taken you out the back and kicked the fuk out of you.
    Good call :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Shoulda asked for nachos, he might have known what they were

Ok, I hate to do this... But, you've left me no choice...

You want an ACTUAL reason that Ireland is backwards!?
    I'll give it to you...
    I'll give you more of a reason than you can handle.
    You want a reason?
    You cant handle the reason!
    No reason handler are you...

Here's your ****ing reason:

Shirley%20on%20camera.jpg

You gits asked for it!

Ahh jeez AW that's sick man, really sick. I have finished my lunch and now I'm going to see it again, well thanks a frickin bundle.

ooh
    she's hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Originally posted by Mordeth
    ooh
    she's hot

She?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Originally posted by AngelWhore

I'll give it to you...
    You want a reason?

You gits asked for it!

Is she another one of the weird ugly girls you seem to fancy?

.logic.

rofl! Checkmate. wped angelwh0re and LOL at the fact that he got u a bag of frozen chips :). Bless 'im.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

You gits asked for it!

ah jeez, ahh, ughhh .... ah man... that was low

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'm sure you'll all have your own little stories to add to this.

But I was in Dunnes Yesterday, getting food. I like to get a nice bag of tortilla chips now and again, and seeing as I just got a few DVDs cheap in the sales, I thought I'd never have a better excuse to big out, with some crap cider by my side. Now, they recently gave dunnes a make-over and changed everything around, so I had to go and ask where a lot of stuff was.

So I went up and asked this bloke, probably about my age 'You got any Tortilla Chips?'
    'Tortilo? Huh?'
    Now ya see, here's your problem... You'd probably be best off asking someone who works there instead of pouncing on some unwitting young fella helping his mammy with the shopping. He was probably so scared you were going to bite his neck that he went along with your silly demands.
    I was promptly taken down to the frozen foods section to get a 'bag of chips'!? >_<
    How mind numbingly stupid can someone get?!!?!

I had to explain then what I was looking for. That I was looking for something akin to Doritos. A lovely blank stare is all I got. You'd think with all the ads on TV and everything, someone who's about my age, probably lives not to far from me, would have some kind of a ****ing clue!? So I told him they were something like crisps, so where are the crisps? He took me half-way down the store, and WALKED RIGHT PAST THE ****INg CRISPS?!

I told him that they were right here. He said he was going down to customer service to check for me. I said no! They're right here. Of course, they weren't there at all. But thankfully I got rid of him. Yes! **** off, you thick bastard!

So, having a look around the crisp section, I found many things, but no, no tortilla chips. All I wanted was regular, plain, average, middle of the road tortilla chips that you can get in any gas station, xtravision, of country brothel around the country. Is that TOO MUCH to ask!? My mind was about to crack!

But oh yes! I found them! A nice big stack of them, in fact!
    In the fecking wines section!?

My god, I was preplexed at the sheer idiocy and ignorance shown! But oh my, the worst thing of the whole day was being stared at like I've got two ****ing heads trying to tongue wrestle each other, while picking seeds from a grape... For asking for something as simple as tortilla chips!?
    Also in my experience working for Dunnes, you'll do anything to pass the mind-numbingly boring time working there. Deliberately sending customers off to the wrong corner of the shop was a favourite past-time of mine.

Angelwhore, we all believe your story is true and we all believe that this stupid shop-assistant you mention existed also. As such photographic evidence of him really wasn't neccessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Telling customers that you'd go have a look for whatever it is that they're looking for in the stock room and never returning was also a fun pastime back when I worked in Dunnes... 4 years ago now. Hated the place :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Good work Angelwhore! Luring all the people who work/worked in Dunnes into posting about it so that they can be picked off and the gene pool can be somewhat cleansed!

Somebody promote that man.

Yeah, fecking lazy bastards!

Bunch of ****ing skangers working in dunnes, the lot of ye!

Thankfully, I never stooped as low as to try my hand working there. Working in a video store watching films all day, or working in a games store, playing games all day, and listening to the Chillies.

Man, those were the days.
    The security guards used to come about, and we'd play for ****ing hours at Tekken.
    I pwnd those poxy security bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Catch_22

He took me half-way down the store, and WALKED RIGHT PAST THE ****INg CRISPS?!

So basically the guy hasnt heard of what your asking for is going to customer service to try and help you, and you told him to **** off.

But oh my, the worst thing of the whole day was being stared at like I've got two ****ing heads trying to tongue wrestle each other, while picking seeds from a grape.

Given that its angelwhore am I the only one who can completly understand this reaction ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

tescos is the win tbh.

oooh look, new sig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

In my experience of Dunnes, the staff are only there for effects. Its DIY my friend, all the way. I've got a theory that if you follow the trail of 'staff' in Dunnes, it'll either lead you to the exit or to the 'customer service' desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Originally posted by yellum

Seems to be it shows how spoiled people are that they can't go and look around the store themselves.

My thoughts exactly. I was looking for this response down through the thread...

Backwards country my bum. Cop on to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

I'll give it to you...
    You want a reason?

You gits asked for it!

Again nothing to do with the country being backwards...This guy needs psychiatric help. The person that approved him being on TV is a fool. TBH when I see him on the telly i turn if off instantly in disgust.

Saying that Ireland is backwards because of the state of our communications / our healthcare system would be fine. Saying that Ireland is backwards because of a couple of individuals is just silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Originally posted by Panda
    tescos is the win tbh.

oooh look, new sig.

Did you know Tescos was actually set up by a guy called John Tesco, and Curly Watts from coronation street opened the tesco in greystones some years back. BEAT THAT WITH YOUR RHYTHM STICKS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Originally posted by Pigman II
    Pure genius on the part of the employee if you ask me!

By giving you absolutely no useful assistance (and in fact wasting your time) he has conditioned you to probably never ask any employee of Dunnes for help in future. If the process exerted on you is extened to everyone who goes in there then he and his co-workers will eventually find themselves not being bothered by people asking 'wheres my tortilla chips?' and hense will have a much easier job on their hands.

I worked in supervalu once, and I have to say that he is a genius. Nevertheless I was a model employee.:D :D
    Originally posted by Pigman II BTW, shops deliberately move their displays around in order to disorient you, making you walk round staring at stuff you wouldn't normally look at leading to impulse purchases along with what you intended to get. If you the customer were to be told exactly where the item you are looking for is then there would have been no point moving everything around in the first place, would there?

You'd think people would cop that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Shirley Temple Bar is marginally more attractive than the mingers that Angelwhore was flaming the Christina Aguilera thread(or was it the other one about women)with.
    I mean.........what the fcuk were those things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

i worked in the same dunnes for years and never knew where anything was, usually i'd point in a random direction and say 4 lanes that way :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Hey, I used to work in Dunnes!

Actually, that's a lie. I was employed by Dunnes. "Working" is really stretching the definition a bit too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Originally posted by l3rian
    i worked in the same dunnes for years and never knew where anything was, usually i'd point in a random direction and say 4 lanes that way :p

I could picture you alright. An auld one comes up to you looking for the beans and you sending her into the beer and wine and the beans are right behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

Franky says

RELAX

You'll give youself a heart condition with all that stress and all those tortilla chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

note always ask the mom with 4-12 kids where somthn is they always know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Good call my man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

You are dead right, this tread shows us exactly what is wrong with the country. People who are too F*cking lazy to go and look for the crisps section. Expect everyone else to do everything for them.

Working in dunnes was the best "Job" i ever had. 6 hours of fun every night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

this country backwards???? yes indeed, this is exactly a prime example, u know why??? because ITS JUST ****ING CHIPS!!!!!
    Who cares if you had an experience with a stupid **** who didnt know where the god damn chips were!!! Good for him if hes lazy, thick, a genius, whatever, is it worth writing and thereby wasting our time with????
    If i had took the time to write a post that large on a matter like this id already know the answer to that very question, infact i have just wasted five minutes of my life reading and replyin to this thread!
    we are all very, very sad people :p:D:p

I've another tale of rancid debouchary to add to this sordid soon-to-be collection...

Backwards fecking country!
    I was in town today, looking to by myself a nice light lttle denim jacket. Nothing fancy, just a plain black denim jacket, with no frills, spills, or lime cordail... Something I could pick up anywhere, right? Wrong!

I went to about 50 different ****ing shops today looking for one...
    Army Navy Store
    Dunnes
    Pennys
    Roches
    Topman
    River Island
    Carpenter
    Twist
    Deelys
    Ryans
    Geraties (Sp?)
    Zinc
    Mexx
    Stalls in Eyre Square
    And god knows how many other places...

OH MY!
    Couldn't get it in any of 'em!
    And dont anybody bother to suggest anywhere, as I've most likely looked there.

I mean, ****ing hell!
    You'd think you'd be able to get just a plain black denim jacket ANYWHERE!?!?!?!?

****ing backwards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭*NemesiS*

thx for sharing that with us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭jd

You'd think you'd be able to get just a plain black denim jacket ANYWHERE!?!?!?!?

Try 1987..

and what did you give that poor girl..

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I mean, ****ing hell!

LOL - buy a blue one and tye die it black!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I mean, ****ing hell!

****ing backwards!

Where are ye? Galway?

Well then, there's your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

man u live in galway shops there are crap for everything ( apart from hippy stuff and irish music )

dare i say it cork has better shops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Snowball

Now, they recently gave dunnes a make-over and changed everything around, so I had to go and ask where a lot of stuff was.
    I found this out from my sis (who used to work there) and an cousin (or somthing like that that is high up in Dunnes)... They change everything around every so often to that you have to search for things and that you will pass all the stuff you did not want to buy but end up doing so in the end. **** or what?

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    Where are ye? Galway?

Well then, there's your problem.

See?
    My point exactly!

Backwards! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Mistakill

I was on the bus the last day sitting down in one of the seats that are WAY too small for somebody of my hieght and a guy standing beside me takes of his glasses and starts clean/wiping them in his jocks. He just reached in there and pulled out a nice baby blue pair of jocks.

That might teach me to stop using the buses in galway