Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stupidiest or Most annoying adds on the telly!

• 18-12-2002 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭

Well after seeing that Sky mix add so many times now, i'm so fed up with it. it is the stupidiest most pointless add ever!! I mean whats the story!! Who, when leaving to go home, takes off there shirt, climbs out the window and starts climbing over the rooftops!! Such a feckin stupid add!!

And for the most annoying add, its the new Yes! Car credit adds!! jesus, they r the most annoying thing ever!! "so ur tellin me i could drive away with a car 2day" "yes u can", feckin annoying add!!

So everybody else post up the adds that u think r The Stupidiest or Most annoying adds on the telly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by suppafly
    Who, when leaving to go home, takes off there shirt, climbs out the window and starts climbing over the rooftops!!

The bloke who starred in the ad for teh BBC that this sky ad is based on does :)

The original featured a man gracefully leaping across roofs and sliding down drainpipes to get home to watch the beeb. If you havent seen the BBC ad (which is genius btw ) the sky one probably doesnt make a whole lot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Drunk pirate

Concern ads. Make you all up set.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Well Number One goes to Vodafone for their uber-sh1te adverts.

Close behind is those finance and those "no win, no fee" Claims-Direct clones on Sky.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

That ad for benelins cought bottle(not 100% sure) were she goes into the doctors waiting room with a neck support thing on, then everyone starts coughing and they leave the waiting room once a guy begins talking about benelin.

Its so fukn annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

the BUDWISER x-mas add. The one that has being around for years. going on on on on on ON! .... who ever came up with that is worse then bin liner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Any ad that involves tampons !

Or strictly, any ad that features really BAAAAAAD dubbing, kinder etc.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Yeah tampon ads are a kunt,pardon the pun;) I mean,when Im eating my dinner with the family around me I dont want to hear about the new range of ultra absorbant panty liners.They advertise toilet roll but they dont need to, mention that it is suitable for cleaning the sh1te of your arse.
    One ad which really annoys me is the one for radox I think which ends with some fat woman singing in the bath.Bugs the head of me.
    And these ads for some sort of CD with people doing impressions doesnt make alot of sense either.I hate ads that dont actually mention what product is being sold.

But the gayest ad on tv has to be the Gap one were all these women are singing.Fair enough one or two of them are fairly good looking,but what annoys me is that it is so uber-trendy American kind of thing.Its hard to explain but in the ad you have all these people singing(with that longtime staple of American ads and television aimed at the MTV Generation,the token black person among about 10 white people along with a bird who looks a bit butch lesbianish).It is just such a ****ing annoying ad aimed at American teenagers who for some reason think MTV is the pinnacle of trendiness,or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Any ads that make men look stupid, compared to women. There are loads, but the one that gets my goat is the Super Valu ad where the bloke is cooking dinner for the missus, in no more than a apron, and the missus and the mother-in-law arrive. The Dairygold ad where the missus thinks of what it would be like if her bloke was pregnant isnt much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ozpass

I utterly loathe that cack-roll advert where the sickly-sweet, twee little kid is trying to figure out what the bog roll is. (dubbed) "Is it a hat?" etc. etc.

"NO!!!!! IT'S A F**KING S**T ROLL, YOU DENSE LITTLE B*STARD! AAAAAAARGH!"

Or the sweets ad. with S-Club Allstarz (or whatever they're called) where the kid pronounces "Tutti Frutti's" like "Toodee Froodee's" Grrrrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

heh

I hate the ad where the family start singing and dancing with faked glee. Have numbed myself to it so I cant remember what it is. It could be - Chicken tonight, like chicken tonight but I'd rather not waste my brain space thinking about it!

That or those cheap life insurance ads with some old guy walking slowly up to the camera and saying how it can only be for 60 - 90 year olds. *yawn* I feel like a feckin 90 year old when he speaks tbh. Sometimes aul carol Vordemann gets in on the act too.

Oh, hahahaaaa, I just remembered the silliest ad with "It cleans because - it's steam" where some guy walks into a window because it is sooo clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

That fecking cinema ad where the two bints are fighting over the personal ad from Jesus. :rolleyes: Can't ****ing stand that!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Originally posted by Gordon
    heh

I hate the ad where the family start singing and dancing with faked glee. Have numbed myself to it so I cant remember what it is. It could be - Chicken tonight, like chicken tonight but I'd rather not waste my brain space thinking about it!

Was it Denny perchance? I remember Denny doing one of those kind of adverts for tinned pies or something about 2 years ago. God was it awful! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

All of them singin and dacing adds r pure annoying!! Also all of those "buy this tupid cd collection" adds r really dumb too!! Does anybody actually buy them!

Sometimes aul carol Vordemann gets in on the act too.

Is it just me or does she get more sexually arousing with age. Even though she's old enough to be my mother, i'd certainly ride her rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

That poxy 'Roto-Moto' advert - "Play, play... i wanna play some game' or something. Gawd that goes through my head.

And whats with that feckin' Aero ad that always sponsors the movies on RTE? You're watching a quiet movie at night, tv volume turned up and then that bloody saxophone blasts out. F*ck off like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Well after seeing that Sky mix add so many times now, i'm so fed up with it. it is the stupidiest most pointless add ever!! I mean whats the story!! Who, when leaving to go home, takes off there shirt, climbs out the window and starts climbing over the rooftops!! Such a feckin stupid add!!

Ill assume you havent seen the BBC add because that Sky is actually quite good and made me laugh out loud the first time i saw it.

I HATE those nescafe ads...'one thing leads to another'

WTF has that got to do with coffeee or anything, just some inane maxim being spouted to sell instant coffee.AHHHHHHH!!!:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Originally posted by Sangre

I HATE those nescafe ads...'one thing leads to another'

I think theyre quite clever actually. The Mexican wave one is a good execution and the dog biting the blokes crotch makes me laugh every time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

Who, when leaving to go home, takes off there shirt, climbs out the window and starts climbing over the rooftops!! Such a feckin stupid add!!

that ad makes me laugh every time, especially when he hurts his foot. :D

all the other ads really annoy me tho, especially that little stupid fnuk that thinks the bog roll is a fnuking teddy.
    fcking retarded ad.
    i pity that child, if anyone ever found that out he would never live it down.

the concern ads arnt really stupid or annoying tho, more depressing than anything. :(
    saw the river blindness one last night and its still in my head.

dustins ad for his new vid gets on meh tits alright.....
    theres something so sad about a turkey puppet making a video and including louis walsh.

Originally posted by Panda
    dustins ad for his new vid gets on meh tits alright.....
    theres something so sad about a turkey puppet making a video and including louis walsh.

Never seen the ad but you mentioning him including Louis Wlash brought the Simpsons Burger King to my head.I have nothing against Burger King(in fact I love it:) )but does anyone else agree that the Simpsons is now doing what they had always satirised-selling out to big business advertisers.They ripped the piss out of celebritites by having the likes of Pele and Mark Hamill using their public appearences to plug various products.They even had a whole episode on it where Krusty faced a dilemma after ad execs approached him to do advertisements in his act despite the fact he was tired of being a sell out.
    But now the simpsons has done the same plugging everything from Burger King to Kellogs Cereals and Doritos.Soon Krusty Burger will probably be taken over by BK in the show,leading to more ads(well,OK maybe not).
    But does anybody else think that the simpsons has now sold out despite criticising it in the past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Oh that ad with the people in the lift drinking coffee makes my want to rip my eyes out with a toothpick or any other sharp object.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Johnny Gomez

The ad with the two women fighting over the personal ads and it ends up being about Jesus Christ is just appaling!I saw it when I went to see a film and it seemed like the whole screen groaned together.

For those perplexed by the Sky One Mix trailer, you have to appreciate it against this, the original BBC ONE "Rush Hour" promo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Anything Time-Life: That awful ad for the 50's CD is a prime example

Originally posted by The Gopher

But now the simpsons has done the same plugging everything from Burger King to Kellogs Cereals and Doritos.Soon Krusty Burger will probably be taken over by BK in the show,leading to more ads(well,OK maybe not).
    But does anybody else think that the simpsons has now sold out despite criticising it in the past?

Err, Despite the ENOURMOUS marketing push from Day One (T-shirts, bart dolls, Dont Have A Cow bumper stickers), about 3 "albums", endless franchising of anything to do with the simpsons and selling the ad slots within the show for huge amounts, your only noticing this now??

Fair play to you Sherlock

Originally posted by DMC
    For those perplexed by the Sky One Mix trailer, you have to appreciate it against this, the original BBC ONE "Rush Hour" promo

ARGH, anyone have a non-real player version of this ?:(

i loved this promo

I'd say its very hard to. Any of the TV logo websites that get updates regularily like TV Ark and The TV Room really only do Real media files, and thats because when these sites started, RM was the standard. Sorry Dusty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

also
    any ads promoting the viewing of telly bingo.

and those ads for "chat and date" phonelines, they're all LIES!!!! YOU ONLY GET TO CHAT!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

Maxwell House

"Live every day...... down to the last drop"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

There's no contest! The most annoying ad out there has to be the one for Lemsip with the two gelled haired corporate pussys fighting over who has the biggest balls.

'Hey pal the bumfcuk account was about to go down the drain'

'Actually PAL it wasn't!

'Use Lemsip MaxStrength .... it's sorts the men from the boys.'

Oooh er, as if either of you two greasball fcuking pencil-necked white collar 80's stereotype fa.ggots would even know what a real man is! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Krusty Burger will probably be taken over by BK in the show
    Hey that's a great idea if you turn it around. I would love to sink my teeth into a good old Krusty burger. Has this been done yet? If so why did no-one tell me about it :(

Dusty Claus-I know that the Simpsons has been selling its own brand products for years now but that isnt what I am referring to.It is hardly selling out if you sell your own product is it.But when you go and sell somebody elses product for money reasons then you are doing what the Simpsons has lampooned for years.I mean,nobody would mind if Pele appeared in ads for sports companies,as it is his department.But those woeful Viagra ads he stars in on late night satellite tv?Ah be jaysus!
    Speaking of sport companies alot of the ads by the likes of Nike annoy me,mainly because they continually brown nose man united.I dunno why but it just irritates me to see Man U and individual players(i.e David Beckham)appaering in every ad under the sun these days.And what is with that Marks and Spencers ad with the celebrities?Beckham,Graham Norton and one or two of the others are actually famous-me and the family agreed that 80% of them were Z list.
    Maybe I would recognise more of them if I watched the likes of Celebrity Big Brother,tthe celeb survivor show,that celebrity fat camp and other shows filled with minor celebs who are desperate to regain the title of B list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Ryo Hazuki

That maxwll house ad is very very very very very very very very annoying.

Those road saftey ads just annoy me now.

I was watching sponge bob square pants on either nickelodeon/fox or some other kids channel and i seen this ad for a new doll aimed at young girls, its a baby boy doll with a two inch moveable plastic penis that actually pizzez. Surely this kind of thing is wrong, especially when its aimed at young children. Down with this sort of advertisement i say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

What about that one with the girls who have all that extra energy for heading out to the cinema when they 'look after their digestion', by eating some yoghurt or other. Has to be the lamest ad I've seen for a long time....

And what is with that Marks and Spencers ad with the celebrities?Beckham,Graham Norton and one or two of the others are actually famous-me and the family agreed that 80% of them were Z list.

Well i recognised Cat Deeley and Denise Van Outen cos, er, well im a bloke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

And what is with that Marks and Spencers ad with the celebrities?Beckham,Graham Norton and one or two of the others are actually famous-me and the family agreed that 80% of them were Z list.

Ronnie Barker's on that one, hardly Z list.
    As for annoying ads, any of those trapped wind/constipation etc etc. remedy ads make me cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

those add with toys for 10-12 yr old, like that diary add "its great gril-tech know girls"!!! feckin annoying add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 passthesalt

That ad for the hearing aids with an english guy talking on it. Its SOOOOOO badly dubbed, i mean honestly, the guys is saying "if i cant see to read, i wear my glasses" and his mouth just looks like he's chewing something and then doing a little burp. I swear, they did it on purpose to convince you that you actually ARE deaf so you buy one of those big wired ear lumps...

feckin eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

for me it'd have to be that "how to make the perfect cheeseboard" ad.
    it's not like they'd even use a ****ing cheesboard when making mass ammounts of cheese...

don't know why but that ad always makes me change channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Sean Bean and Joan Collins/Liz Taylor (always get them mixed up) are the other two people in the ad. I think it's Joan Collins.

As for lame ads, that George Forman one where he is advertising his new grill/cooker dealy is pretty annoying.
    Oh and all tampon ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

the alantic homecare ad with the lads sitting in the dressing room is back on. shockingly bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    Is it just me or does she get more sexually arousing with age. Even though she's old enough to be my mother, i'd certainly ride her rotten.

here here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ACE OwNz J0oO!!

The most annoying add on the tele has to be " 50 OF THE BEST TEAR JERKERS!!!!!!" Its just so bad its scarey + i Think the person was taking the piss and was talking about **** at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

OOHH Danone Hate those effing ads...."fortified with L Casei Immunitas", or the shampoo ones "pro vitamin B5 recontuer blah blah blah". I bet thats just some boll*x the ad exec made up,"we'll baffle them with scientific or french sounding words lads":D
    The ad with the two women fighting over the personal ads and it ends up being about Jesus Christ is just appaling!I saw it when I went to see a film and it seemed like the whole screen groaned together.
    Just saw ST Nemesis 2nite and saw this ad for the first time. Like you said, everyone groaned including me. I leaned over to me mate and said "Atheists of the world unite!". Must have said it a bit loud though cause everyone in a 10 seat radius broke their sh*t laughing!:D

On the subject of the Sky-BBC pisstake ads:

Have you seen the one taking the piss of the BBC version with the 2 lads doing brazilian kickboxing on the roof. You know where they do the series of synchronised roundhouses'? The Sky version has 2 fat f*cks doing it and falling all over the shop:D

Class!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

For me after the Lemsip max strength adds already mentioned that constipation remedy one.

You know where you're wan takes it and then first thing the next morning she's in an Autumnal landscape dancing with leaves flowing around her. This is a metaphor for taking a dump? **** sake. Then at the end when she's walking out the door and turns around and blows some autumn leaves at you, all I can think is hope you washed your hands love.

They should've had a man doing it, included some appropriate bowl rattling noises and had the tag line "Woohoo I can poo!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Those Nico stop smoking ads...

Originally posted by Calibos
    Have you seen the one taking the piss of the BBC version with the 2 lads doing brazilian kickboxing on the roof. You know where they do the series of synchronised roundhouses'? The Sky version has 2 fat f*cks doing it and falling all over the shop:D

E4 also do some písstakes of the BBC ONE idents.

Which means that Lorraine Heggessey probably thinks that they have caught the public imagination, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery etc.

Face it. They're all ****e. Bring back the balloon/globe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭poobags

Ah yes the Nico add.
    I had already rang my local pharmacy to order some of the perfume beofre that devastating climax to ad where the bum-vader reveals himself as a bad bad man.

That left me upset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Those national lottery ads, 'rollin rollin rollin'
    Grrrr :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    That fecking cinema ad where the two bints are fighting over the personal ad from Jesus. :rolleyes: Can't ****ing stand that!

i love that ad its hilarious...

anyway my most hated ad is one for like benelin cough mixture or something, where loads of people are sitting in a doctors waiting room and some wan walks in and everyone starts coughing and the narrator says blah blah blah benelin is good and they all run out its ****ing stupid