Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin Ferris and his Health Card

• 09-12-2002 7:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Jesus! You'd think he'd have the wit to have got rid of it and whatsmore issued a press statement complete with photo of said card being handed back to local health office, instead he spent Liveline defending himself and agreeing he really should have got shot of it asap. I wonder how many politicans local and national are picking up such state-freebies at our expense.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well at least there is one major positive from this Sinn Fein will have to be very careful if they bring up the issue of the Health Service from now onwards as it will probably blow up in their faces.

The only word I can find to describe what I think of Mr. Ferris especially given Sinn Fein market themselves as a party of the Working man (among other things!!) is pathetic.

Someone this stupid should not really be in politics but then alas I look at quite a few of the inhabitents of Leinster House and I see he is in good company. I wonder when the Irish public will wake up and get rid of all these freeloaders and muppets from Dail Eireann.

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Classic ...

Heaps a lot of embarassment on a party who are at present trying to be seen as a serious political option.

An incredibly stupid thing for him to do, and all for a measley €35. The foriegn funding must really be drying up if a Shinner has to do that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Have to admit it really was a bit of a boo-boo. Hasn't reflected to well on his party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

This incident has given me *almost* as much pleasure as Dick Springs speech at the Kerry North count centre last summer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Suppose it was newsworthy to see a political half-scandal involving anyone other than FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Originally posted by gandalf
    Someone this stupid should not really be in politics but then alas I look at quite a few of the inhabitents of Leinster House and I see he is in good company. I wonder when the Irish public will wake up and get rid of all these freeloaders and muppets from Dail Eireann.

Gandalf.

I don't think we ever will..... We just returned Kermit to taoiseach, Miss Piggy to tanaiste and Gonzo to Minister for Finance !! :)

I never voted for them !!!

Oh and don't forget Beaker to the Dept of Juctice :rolleyes:

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

. . and Fozzy Bear to Foreign affairs !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I think that he should have chopped up his medical card on election.

What salary is he on?

I think when people on modest income cannot get a medical card & see a TD with one - Is it not time for reform in this area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tds sallary is €72,000 pa plus expences (I think).

Today a caller to Liveline reminded Joe Duffy and, I suspect the rest of us, that the Cavan/Monaghan TD Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin ran up over €12,000 of publicly funded benefits before he got found out and is now paying the dept of scoial welfare back!

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin is the SF speaker on....social welfare!

Satire is dead, you can't make this stuff up.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Originally posted by mike65
    Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin is the SF speaker on....social welfare!

Let me guess.... "I've seen the error of my ways, and am now uniquely qualified to say why social welfare is so important....."

Dear oh dear. That's priceless.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭rien_du_tout

I'm a sinn féin supporter. I didnt see the program in question but from what ye've said I'm disgusted. How was he legally allowed to keep his medical card, or was he?? It's so hypocritical it makes me sick.

seán

Originally posted by rien_du_tout
    I'm a sinn féin supporter. I didnt see the program in question but from what ye've said I'm disgusted. How was he legally allowed to keep his medical card, or was he?? It's so hypocritical it makes me sick.

seán

Amazingly Ferris would be technically allowed to keep his card for up to two years longer, but the local health board said they'd would have reviewed Mr Ferris' case next Febuary. Some ppl on todays Liveline phoned to say they thought Ferris should have kept the card for as long as poss as it was his entitlement!

I'll be called a Brit again but methinks those who work to undermine the state by gunrunning should have fewer entitilements...

One guy said if he had 300 grand in the bank, and he lost his job he'd be down the dole office tomorrow, which says it all really.

One thought occured to me, namely as a socialist should he give up his card and take out private health cover (which he said was his plan)? After all VHI and BUPA is not very republican is it!?

Mike.

In any other proper democracy he would have and should have resigned, but not in "jockey Bollix" neck Ireland.

Obviously Sinn Fein have taken all the good example from FF and others to heart. So much for them been the voice of Workers of Ireland. Another pack of chancers to add to rest already in there.

Gandalf.

In any other proper democracy he would have and should have resigned, but not in "jockey Bollix" neck Ireland.

Obviously Sinn Fein have taken all the good example from FF and others to heart. So much for them been the voice of Workers of Ireland. Another pack of chancers to add to rest already in there.

Gandalf.

Oh - Don't be so clylical.

What we need is reform in this area but If the government brought in reform -

RTE would run a story -
    Miss Y had a medical card & was long term unemployed.
    Reurned to work
    & medical card was taken off her.

She has no incentive to return to work.

RTE loves doing these leftie teer-jerker fluff pieces.

Sinn Fein have far more serious questions to answer at the moment. Such as the Columbia 3 and Why the IRA don't fully disarm.

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin ran up over €12,000 of publicly funded benefits before he got found out and is now paying the dept of scoial welfare back!

Are they swapping notes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭MDR

He is ripping the state off ... wow .. quel suprise !

Prolly taking his lead from Gerry, who by all accounts has been doing it for years in the North. If that is the only skeleton in his cupboard I will be very suprised. Sortof shows up the hypocracy in Sinn Fein, 'we represent the poor, we represent the working man' ... meanwhile I will claim for my flu jab off the state taking food out of the poor peoples mouths ... makes me sick !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭aine

he's probably saving for a trip to Columbia!

Originally posted by Cork
    RTE would run a story -
    Miss Y had a medical card & was long term unemployed.
    Reurned to work
    & medical card was taken off her.

She has no incentive to return to work.

RTE loves doing these leftie teer-jerker fluff pieces.

Come on, have you not got a compassionate bone in your body. I know sometimes the news seems to think, "ah we better get some sort of human interest story" pack it in and dont give it another mention. However they went back to the schools in the west with awful conditions after a year to see surprise surprise, no improvement. No funding reached those schools, and its PDs/FF fault.
    Sinn Fein have far more serious questions to answer at the moment. Such as the Columbia 3 and Why the IRA don't fully disarm.

Why should the IRA fully disarm at this time?? I wouldnt think its exactly the right moment when the loyalist paramilitaries arent even on ceasefire. They are murdering many up there and nothing seems to be said about it. Granted, the IRA is a much more organised and deadly organisation when up and running but why should 1 side disarm when the other hasnt even given up the fight?
    The IRA pulled out of the decomissioning body after the institutions were dissolved. I personally think this was a big mistake as this body is the way forward, towards IRA disbandment. I've gone a bit off topic so I think I might start a new tread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,575 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Cork
    What we need is reform in this area but If the government brought in reform - RTE would run a story - Miss Y had a medical card & was long term unemployed. Reurned to work & medical card was taken off her. She has no incentive to return to work. RTE loves doing these leftie teer-jerker fluff pieces.
    The difference here is that Ferris is in a well paid job, not scraping minimum wage. Cork is there any chance you can take an objective look when you comment on things?

However they went back to the schools in the west with awful conditions after a year to see surprise surprise, no improvement. No funding reached those schools, and its PDs/FF fault.

Perhaps, but you can argue the toss against the PD's/FF et al, all you like, but Ferris has proven yet again that SF has no social mandate, and furthermore that SF aren't a credible alternative. However bad the govt. we have is, Ireland would be a akin to a taliban regime under SF.
    Why should the IRA fully disarm at this time??

The reasons are many fold,

1. They have a diplomatic means to achieve their objectives should they wish to engage with it.

2. The loyalist paramilitaries have been far to busy killing each other for quite some time, haven't been attacking Nationlists for some time ... anyway is it not the job of the police to sort that kind of thing out ...

3. its not nice to kill people, political parties who belive in a credible democratic process don't maintain little armies, just in case they don't get their way ... the reasons are endless.

but Ferris has proven yet again that SF has no social mandate, and furthermore that SF aren't a credible alternative. However bad the govt. we have is, Ireland would be a akin to a taliban regime under SF.

I agree.
    is there any chance you can take an objective look when you comment on things

Martin Ferris did however not break the law. He availed of what he was entitled to.

The government needs to take a look at the whole medical card system.

It needs reform big time but there will be resistance to change.

RTE will probably out do themselves with tear jerker stories. They'd be on Liveline for weeks cribbing about it. SF & other "socialists" would make be making hay.

Martin Ferris should be the cataylist to such reform.

Originally posted by MDR, in response to IRA disarming comment...

The reasons are many fold,

<snip>
    and none of them are relevant to this thread. If someone wants to go on a general SF-bashing spree, or on a whole tangential IRA discussion, then take it to another thread.

jc

Ah, he only takes home the average industrial wage and the rest goes to fund something or other. Makes slightly more sense now although really if he needs to visit the docter he should take money from the fund instead of taxpayers money. It was reported in the sunday independent that he wasnt entitled to the medical card but I think that's misinformation.

I have to say I really admire the taking home of the average industrial wage though.

seán

Ah, he only takes home the average industrial wage and the rest goes to fund something or other.

Sinn Fein, historically have made gestures like this, appealing to working man's values, however I think its gonna be very hard to check out stuff like this. Are the parties books open for inspection etc ? Have I mentioned I give half my wages to fund the filling of potholes in South Meath .... :D , if indeed as I suspect the parties books aren't open to inspection, they really could be doing anything, and the public has no reason, given their history, to trust em.

if he _should_ have taken the money out of the fund why didn't he ?, the subtle difference between having a medical card (wopps I fogot to cancel it and actually using it to claim for a flu jab ... he deliberately abused the medical card system to his own benefit.

he only takes home the average industrial wage and the rest goes to fund something or other.

This is of no relevence. He earns say over €70000. He pays PAYE on this. And If he gives money to Sinn Fein that is his choice.

I think tht the medical card scheme needs reform big time. That a family on very modest wages cannot et one and then you have the likes of Mr. Ferris.

I think he is now taking out VHI.

I think tht the medical card scheme needs reform big time

The medical system from start to finish needs reform ... problem is that the unions are so resistant to it ... example, why do we need five health boards ?

I agree 100%

I think electiong hospital canidates while understandable is a backward step. We are lucky that the government does not need their support as they would have the government over a barrell looking to prioritise health services in their area.

I have problems with independent canditates in general, Jackie Healy Rae for example will be first against the wall, when my revolution comes.

Managed to keep the price of a pint up all by himself, got very upset when the govt. suggested deregulating pubs, and threatened to colapse the coalition, hardily suprising when you consider he owns two pubs.

We need strong govt in times such as these, I won't argue it has it flaws but thank god it lost the independents after the last elections ...

but thank god it lost the independents after the last elections ...

Getting an idendent TD elected & holding the balance of power was akin to winning the lotto.

But getting back to the topic. I think Martin Ferris & Sinn Fein need to get a reality check.

We have a party that still believes about nationalising the banks and we have Martin Ferris taking out VHI.

Originally posted by MDR
    The medical system from start to finish needs reform ... problem is that the unions are so resistant to it ... example, why do we need five health boards ?
    We don't have 5, we have 9 Health Boards (together with independent service providers), one Health Authority, the Office for Health Management and The Health Boards Exceutive and the Department of Health. These have separate functions by area or speciality. If it was all one organisation, it would probably employ close to 100,000 people which is too big. At least with some delegation, some responsibility can be taken. Would you prefer all 100,000 to go on strike together?

Southern HB
    Mid Western HB
    Western HB
    North Western HB
    Midlands HB
    South Eastern HB
    North Eastern HB

and under the Eastern Regional Heath Authority, we have
    East Coast Area HB
    Northern Area HB
    South Western Area HB
    http://www.erha.ie/view_categories.php?nCatId=3&catFlag=1

Originally posted by Victor
    These have separate functions by area or speciality. If it was all one organisation, it would probably employ close to 100,000 people which is too big.

Why? Last time I checked, we didnt have 9 police forces broken down by area or specialty. Nor did we have 9 power-supply companies.

Look at larger nations, or indeed just multinational companies. 100,000 is a perfectly manageable number, as long as you have an appropriate structure in place. I do not consider 9 pretty-much-autonomous bodies to be "proper structure" incidentally.

And is that figure of 100,000 even accurate? At a rough guess, thats about 5% of our entire workforce. Surely one in 20 employed people doesnt work for the health board?

jc

Victor I personally think that 9 Health Boards is 8 too many.

Firstly we are duplicating admin and IT over all these organisations. If we rationlise them then we can divert those funds to areas of the health service that should get them.

Also we have a centralised area for people health records so for example if I have a accident in Donegal they can gain access to my records easily something that I believe they cannot do at the moment.

I'd prefer to have Cancer treatment centres in 9 different locations than 9 different admisitration headquarters wouldn't you.

Gandalf.

Just to get this thread back on topic, Martin Ferris looks like coming under presure not to take out private health insurance, the Sinn Fein top brass are getting twitchy about thier working class cred being undermined. I posted earlier that you could'nt be a republican socialist and have VHI cover and it seems Gerry and the lads agree!

Mike.

What they're going to use BUPA (sorry couldn't resist!).

To be honest thats a pathetic stance, if they guy is getting €70000 plus as a TD why can't he get VHI. He shouldn't get or use a Medical Card on those wages thats for sure anyway.

Gandalf.

Not wishing to go off topic, but O_o, /me is being challenged. Do you want to split the topic?
    Originally posted by bonkey
    Why? Last time I checked, we didnt have 9 police forces broken down by area or specialty.
    There are only about 11,700 Gardaí (Jun 2002), which just happen to be broken into a number of regions and sub-regions http://www.garda.ie/angarda/orgchart.htmlAnd how many police forces are there in Switzerland?[EDIT]But we have a separate Courts Service and Prison Services and Department of Justice and see the other 17 agencies at http://www.justice.ie/802569AD005A6D62/vWeb/wpJWOD4RYJYS and not counting the Courts, Coroner and Registrar / Sherriff services provided by local authorities.[/EDIT]
    Nor did we have 9 power-supply companies.
    Bord Gáis, ESB, Eirgrid (National Grid), Bord na Mona, Eirtricity, Energia, Viridian and all the other icckle and not so icckle ones (Aughinish Alumina, BGÉ Transmission, Bord Gáis Energy Supply, Enterprise Energy Ireland, ESB, Flogas, Innogy, Marathon, Ramco, Statoil, Viridian are all involved in the gas trade alone)? See http://www.cer.ie/ The Competition Authority are working on further expanding this and breaking up the ESB's dominance in the electricity market.
    Look at larger nations
    You mean like Germany, where health / social services are delivered by individual communities (not cities nor States nor Federal government). Or the UK where you have IIRC individual hospitals under individual NHS trusts under the NHS under the DHSS. Now let me guess in Switzerland, it is the cantons & communities that are responsible for such services?
    or indeed just multinational companies.
    Which have 2 or 3 subsidiaries in each country? Where directors or general managers has ultimate responsibility for that unit? and where staff are employed by a separate company to the parent and to the company holding the fixed assets? and where many staff are contracted in.
    And is that figure of 100,000 even accurate? At a rough guess, thats about 5% of our entire workforce. Surely one in 20 employed people doesnt work for the health board?
    At December 2001 there were 93,000 public sector health employees (not including admin staff in the Dept of Health, but including the state-financed voluntary sector). It is estimated that this rose by 14,000 (not sure if this was restricted to health only, but I am under that impression) before the election. It would not include GPs, a portion of specialists or "private" hospitals. http://www.cso.ie/publications/distrib/psempearn.pdf

Victor I personally think that 9 Health Boards is 8 too many.
    I disagree.
    Firstly we are duplicating admin and IT over all these organisations. If we rationlise them then we can divert those funds to areas of the health service that should get them.
    Let us say there are 500 buildings. Are you suggesting 499 receptionists in one building and none in the other 499? There are reasons to be local as well as national – would you put all the internet on one computer? Or have one phone company in charge of all the phones [damn they did that]? Would you put one politician in charge of the whole health system? Local needs can be better responded to by local organisations.
    Also we have a centralised area for people health records so for example if I have a accident in Donegal they can gain access to my records easily something that I believe they cannot do at the moment.
    (1) How often are you outside your own HB area?

(2) How often have you been ill or had an accident outside your HB area?

Yes, it should be a long term objective, but it is not a priority.
    I'd prefer to have Cancer treatment centres in 9 different locations than 9 different admisitration headquarters wouldn't you.
    But if one mother of all buildings in the middle of Dublin costs more (per usable square metre) than say a local office in Bray or Naas, then that central admin building is drawing funds away from your cancer care.

Originally posted by Victor
    I disagree.Let us say there are 500 buildings. Are you suggesting 499 receptionists in one building and none in the other 499? There are reasons to be local as well as national – would you put all the internet on one computer? Or have one phone company in charge of all the phones [damn they did that]? Would you put one politician in charge of the whole health system? Local needs can be better responded to by local organisations.

Lol Victor your gettin heat up by all this. Obviously I have not gone into fine details here. Receptionist would be safe they are needed in every location that deals with the public. However for example IT Dept x 9 = 9 times the staff which definately can be rationalised, canned, downsized, fired (obviously the factor they are downsized by depends on the demands of the new superboards needs). Same goes for accounts and general admin people. Just because the 9 Health Boards employ 100,000 does not mean 1 will in the same positions as before. What this will do is free up valuable resources for positions like Speech Therapists for example of which we have bugger all in the Republic.
    (1) How often are you outside your own HB area?

Anytime I leave Dublin, your point ?
    (2) How often have you been ill or had an accident outside your HB area?

Never thank god, but if I did I would expect our NATIONAL health service to have the ability to get my records instantly.
    Yes, it should be a long term objective, but it is not a priority.But if one mother of all buildings in the middle of Dublin costs more (per usable square metre) than say a local office in Bray or Naas, then that central admin building is drawing funds away from your cancer care. [/B]

Except I didn't say I'd base it in Dublin. Actually I'd base it right in the middle of the country lets say in Tipparery for example, eventhough I live in Dublin Victor old chum I don't see the country revolving around it.

These are just some ideas I've been throwing around my head for a little while now. (Go easy on me Victor!)

Gandalf.

All I'm saying is Health Boards were being knocked without any suggestion of how to do things better.

I imagine there won't be a huge saving in the number of wages clerks if there was a centralised system. What you would have is a system where everyone would be just a number (cue discussion on civil service telephone waiting systems).

The reason the Dept of Health, the Office for Health Management, The Health Boards Executive and the Eastern Regional Heath Authority, exist is to provide core services (e.g. strategic planning, information campaigns, construction management) that need not be repeated / duplicated everywhere.

However the risk with putting everything in one place is that peripheral (from whereever the centre is) areas are forgotten.

All I just remember reading in the times that Notingham's health board in England looks after a population the same size as Ireland. One health board for 4 million people as against our 9, ultimately when it comes to health I am not a 'Tory', I don't believe that you can indefintely squeeze more productivity out of the same investment.

In Ireland however, I see a health service that is being asked to care for at best 40% of population and receives roughily between a quater and a third of our budget, and is still having trouble coping.

I haven't seen rationisation in the health service ... well ... ever ... not in my memory. People are poking the Gardai with sticks, saying 'you have never reformed since conception', me thinks a much better place to start is the Health Service. From what I understand their is huge duplication of work in the health sector.

Originally posted by MDR
    All I just remember reading in the times that Notingham's health board in England looks after a population the same size as Ireland.
    But what is the geographical size of the Nottingham board and how many service providers does it cover?
    Originally posted by MDR
    In Ireland however, I see a health service that is being asked to care for at best 40% of population and receives roughily between a quater and a third of our budget, and is still having trouble coping.
    Would that be the ill forty per cent? The expenditure is 21.99% (25.39% of current, 7.70% of capital) of the budget and covers everyone in the population (even if you have to contribute something yourself through the Health Levy, VHI / BUPA or through user charges).
    Originally posted by MDR
    I haven't seen ration[al]isation in the health service ... well ... ever ... not in my memory.
    Then why are they currently looking for 1,400 redundancies? Have you not heard of hospital closures (Barringtons, Adelaide, Meath, National Children's Hospital, Temple Street Children's), the amalgamation of A&E departments ....
    Originally posted by MDR
    People are poking the Gardai with sticks, saying 'you have never reformed since conception'
    Makes for a change from Gardaí poking the citizenry with sticks. ;) And rightly so, it was an organistion that stumbled from disaster to disaster because of inbreeding / nepotism and a lack of an adequate officer corp. But thats a different days (or thread's) argument.
    Originally posted by MDR
    me thinks a much better place to start is the Health Service. From what I understand their is huge duplication of work in the health sector.
    I think you are overstating this, there might be some duplication in paperwork, however patient privacy is important.

But what is the geographical size of the Nottingham board and how many service providers does it cover?

I amn't so sure that Ireland is such a huge place that there is a geographical reason for having 9 health boards. Lets face it we are bloody tiny ! ...
    Have you not heard of hospital closures (Barringtons, Adelaide, Meath, National Children's Hospital, Temple Street Children's), the amalgamation of A&E departments ....

Melodrama ? Yes, I have also heard that there is fifteen thousand more people working in the health service now than in 1999. Yes these hospitals closed, but did no open a few new ones ? Tallaght, extenstions to the Mater and Blanchardstown etc. I don't see these recent redundacies as contibuting to is reform, I think its fudamental problem is the underlying culture of the service.
    And rightly so, it was an organistion that stumbled from disaster to disaster because of inbreeding / nepotism and a lack of an adequate officer corp.

Fighting Words, Inbreeding ? Didn't know my mum was a garda too :D As for nepotism, a better description would be GAA'ism (ie to get ahead you need to be in the GAA) or from the country or even better both. I degress even further ...

Although the Garda may have had training/support etc problems, they are not the black hole for cash the Health Service has become. I just don't see value for money in the service and haven't for a long time, and certainly haven't since I start spending time in hospitals.
    I think you are overstating this, there might be some duplication in paperwork, however patient privacy is important.

Nine Health Boards, Nine Heads of these health boards, with nine large salaries, with nine large cars, with nine secertaries ...

Take this outside!

Mike.

Originally posted by MDR
    Nine Health Boards, Nine Heads of these health boards, with nine large salaries, with nine large cars, with nine secertaries ...
    The alternative is nine middle manager on similar salaries (it would after all be a much bigger organisaiton) filling out TPS reports instead of managing and directing.

I think that you have much duplication between health boards.
    You have so many committes - Savings could be made.

I think, our population is not too big. We can't continue to justify the wastage of resources in our health system.

Has anyone specifically identifed any particular wastage here?

Down with rhetoric! ;)

Bloody Hell Cork can you expand ever on what your saying.

I mean you fire up the same little soundbites without ever teasing them out for once can you post with a decent breakdown of where you see the problems and what you believe the solutions are ?

Gandalf.

It is hard to be specific. I must admit that having worked in this sector:

The Freedom Of Information Act absoluely gobbles up resources.

People have to sift thru files & put older files into storage.

I feel that we maybe we have too many hospitals and too few centres of excellence.

I also feel that too much is being spend on needless courses while some nurses are not been kept up to date with medical developments.

You also have people in hospitals who cannot keep within their budgets and use any excuse to justify cost over-runs. (I know many don't have a financial background).

I am not an expert - but when you increase a health budget by 130% in 5 years - you would expect a big improvement.

I know that there is inflation but still it should have got better/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 poneill

I am glad ye all went off topic so fast and left poor Martin alone.

He's on a well deserved fraternal trip to South Africa now .

Happy Christmas Martin

Why is he in South Africia?