Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long did it take you to get home today? (Thurs 14th)

• 14-11-2002 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭

Journey from hell from Fairview to Ashtown

Left work at 4pm.

From work Fairview to Dorset St. - 1hr 45mins

Turned back into town, let the car rest for a while in the multi-storey car pack and went shopping in the rain.
    Tried it again at 7:30pm, no way of getting up to Phibsboro, turned back into Fairview at Quinn's in Drumconrath down Conliffe Rd, up the Malahide Road, turned off to the left at Donnycarney, then the M1 (very quiet), then the M50 to Blanch, seeing lots of strewn and abandoned cars and the queue northbound to get onto the N2.

Crawled at 15 mph to Blanch exit, then home at 8:30.

Any 'mares, especially on the busses? I heard they were horrendous tonight....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

2 hours home on the 37
    The 1st hour nicely spent on dame st/the quays :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

Took my sister 3 hours to get home college today. From tallagh to leixlip :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭spaczed

yeh , from school to home (6 country miles) 45 odd minutes of partially flooded roads. from the stop to my house another 10 maybe a little longer- i had to wade through 2ft of water to get to my house to save myself a lot of time and a bit of backtracking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Took me an hour, but seems that the journey usually takes 30 mins with traffic, it was annoying. Not to mention the hour I spent waiting for the bus in the p!ssing rain! because it was late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Still in work. Still waiting for a taxi to become available :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

left town at 8:15.. took hour and a half to get to n4/m50 roundabout... all because cops were stopping traffic at bow lane (road that goes from thomas st to military lane/johns road).. as soon as we passed them the road was free all the way back to celbridge.

unbelivable lack of management and co-ordination on their behalf... plus the n4 inbound (johns road again) was backed up to chapelizoid.. full of trucks for the 10:00pm norse merchant sailing (booking-in time is 8pm)... was there any gardai at the n4/m50 roundabout urging them to go up the m50 and come down to dublin port via the n1? my arse there was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

left college at 5pm got in at 10pm kevin street to lucan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

It took me 3 hrs to get home from work, it normally takes 6 minutes !
    Reason...all the roads from blanchardstown to finglas(anywhere in this general direction) were closed/flooded, hence the likes of me and many others coming out of the industrial parks in blanchardstown had to head for the M50/navan road junction...hence causing tailbacks for everyone else !!
    Great infrastructure me arse !

Now in the morning i will be on the M50 expecting delay because the idiots in council/corpo dont know how to do proper drainage/traffic management.

Dublin/whole country should be called the bath-tub as well as an e-tub !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

and there was me giving out about the 2 and a half hours it takes me every day. half 3 to 6 approx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

2 and a half hours... not including waiting for busses (yes plural)
    dcu to knocklyon, most of the ballymun road was flooded,
    apparently.
    All character building I say! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Heh, it took me about 45 minutes. Carlow IT to my parents' house in Kilkenny (~30 miles), on my bike.

Take it dublin people :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I've got you all beat... in a way.

I was going from just outside Tallaght village to Donabate.

When I left work at about 4.45pm, there were reports on the radio saying that the M50 was impassable after the toll-bridge and that you could not get from there to the airport. That coupled with the MD ringing me from his car yelling "FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DO NOT TAKE THE MOTORWAY! DRIVE HOME THROUGH A BUILT UP AREA! AT LEAST THERE'S DRAINS THERE!" made me drive home through town.

Well I don't know the south side of the city all that well and I took a wrong turn and ended up (eventually) on Clonbrassil Street, which I sat on stock-still for about an hour. It was a little surreal. People were passing around cigarettes and telling jokes between the cars. Once I got to Patrick Street, things sped up a bit - zipped across the river, turned and went up Jervis Street, off Parnell Street and directly out the Swords Road through Drumcondra. Drumcondra was a bit of a delay spot as there was a 20 - 30 foot wide and 1 foot deep puddle right at the bridge (between Kennedy's and St. Patrick's - at the Volvo place). A load of people were standing on the bridge with umbrellas looking over the parapet at something... wondered what it was... drove on.

Eventually I got to the Omni Centre in Santry at 8.20, where I stopped in for McDonalds. I was there for 15 mins or so. Finally got in my front door at 9.20pm.

So... after all that... nearly FIVE BLOODY HOURS on the road to get from Tallaght to Donabate. Obviously part of the reason for this is my lack of knowledge of the south side ... but the route I took through town was still fairly direct...

Seriously, the Gardaí were doing an OK job of managing the situation, but it was plainly obvious yesterday that Dublin is ill equipped for such wild weather conditions. You'd think, with this being one of the most rained-on countries in the world, that we'd have some sort of sufficient emergency plan in place to deal with such eventualities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

Citywest to Clontarf 4 freakin hours.

Only took 20 mins to get outta town from the four courts. The problem seemed to be getting into town, and getting onto the Red Cow roundabout..

The into town bit caused by the top of the keys on the northside being closed to all but trucks, buses, jeeps and vans.

Left citywest at 19:30 got in the door at 23:35

its only just over 10 miles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

From Finglas to Carpenterstown last night, an hour and 15, did the reverse this morning (by a differnet route) in 20mins

took the flatmate 4 hours to get home from City West, I think he's 'telecommuting' today.

Still only about half the the people in work today (we start at 8:30) noone from the southside yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭nosmo

From outside Trinity to Rathfarnham, following 30 minutes in the rain: 1 hour 30 mins, on 15B bus.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

From Maynooth to rathfarnham on the dreaded n4 and then into town (quays).

Departed Maynooth 4pm
    Arrival Halpenny Bridge 9:30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Originally posted by Bard
    .... and directly out the Swords Road through Drumcondra. Drumcondra was a bit of a delay spot as there was a 20 - 30 foot wide and 1 foot deep puddle right at the bridge (between Kennedy's and St. Patrick's - at the Volvo place). A load of people were standing on the bridge with umbrellas looking over the parapet at something... wondered what it was... drove on.

I guess it was the Tolka lapping at their feet. It burst its banks further down. There was a high tide at 8pm yesterday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

10 mins from UCC to Carrigaline

not that ye would care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

HeHe,

/me sits all snug in his house and puts on the kettle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Originally posted by DMC
    I guess it was the Tolka lapping at their feet. It burst its banks further down. There was a high tide at 8pm yesterday too.

Alot of the onlookers where people forced out of their own homes
    cause of about a foot of water in their living rooms :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭roar_ie

Only took 2hrs to get home last night. Normanally takes about 1hr 30 mins to get home. Tried getting a bus and gave up and got the dart instead.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Walk-bus-train-walk, 1h 45m in total, work - home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Took me 4 hrs to bus from Tallaght to Ballymun.

It was crazy!

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

took me 2 hours 30 mins from dame st to santry, which normally takes 25 mins :mad:

although seeing all those wheelie bins float away in the talka kept me ammused :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ahahahahaha!! 10 o clock last night, through the city centre. The radio tells people to avaoid town and exepct delays of up to 2 hours through it.

Donnybrook to Lucan - 45 mins.

Dealy == 15 mins.

Ahhahahaha! Take it car drivers. Bikes 0wn joor ass :D:p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by seamus
    Ahhahahaha! Take it car drivers. Bikes 0wn joor ass :D:p

lol - so truuuuue :D
    I got home in 7 mins on my bike = 1 min delay :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Took my sister about 6 hours to get from Galway to Leixlip. She left around 4ish, arrived home at 10ish. Her boyfriend left Galway at 6 on a different bus and was home for 9.

Today: same journey ventured.

Even with part of Fairview Strand blocked and no way up Ballybough and Conliffe Road, it only took 40 mins. Normally 25 mins. :rolleyes:

Now to get to Kells! :D:D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

30 minutes from UCD to Dundrum. But it was 30 minutes of walking head into a river going down the road and footpaths, so by the time i got home i had puddles in my shoes. Not to mention my clothes being stuck to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Amazing is'nt it, a few drops of rain and Dublin comes to a halt, all that planning corruption is coming home to roost again...

Here in the sunny south east it has'nt rained for more than a few mins since Wednesday :D

Mike.

I hate you! :D

And so we wait in anticipation of the snow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭The Cigarette Smoking Man

It only took me an unbelievable 45mins from Blanchardstown to Sutton, but I left at 9.00. All the people that left at 4.00 spent about 3 hours in the car.

This is what the N3 at Blanch looks like this morning, it was only covering half the road at 9.00 last night....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by The Cigarette Smoking Man

This is what the N3 at Blanch looks like this morning, it was only covering half the road at 9.00 last night....

More than a few drops of rain then....

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by mike65

More than a few drops of rain then....

Mike.

Eh, yes, a wee bit more...

According to Met Éireann, Dublin had it's ENTIRE monthly average rainfall for November over the space of the last two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

/me points all the losers ( apart from Samba and Stephen ) to a bicycle shop and a waterproof overall :D suckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I used to cycle before i got car.
    There are 4 possible routes to work, 3 were impassable to walk through no mind cycle and the 4th was M50 which afaik do not allow bicycles :D

Excellent pic cigarrette man, is that the one at the bridge coming from ballycoolin to the shopping centre ?

It is. That's the 38 stuck on the bridge with the lights that ONLY GO GREEN FOR 10 SECONDS :mad: then take 3 mins to cycle through all options before you move another five feet closer to the junction. I worked out that I spend nearly a day sitting on that bleedin bridge ever year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Camden Street - Donnybrook 30 minutes.

Get sum ski||z :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

10mins - Dame St. to Church St. :D

Unfortunately I got caught in the heaviest downpour of the day, had to physically ring out my clothes they were so wet.

It's a wonder I don't have pneumonia tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

Door of my office to home (14miles) 15 mins by car 25 mins by train 40 mins by bus . but then Iam in Scotland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

Same as usual, 30 minutes from Town to Dunlaoire :)

I cycle everywhere, which involves playing with the buses, dodging the taxis, laughing at the traffic jams... and get damm wet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Originally posted by Corega
    /me points all the losers ( apart from Samba and Stephen ) to a bicycle shop and a waterproof overall :D suckers.

Bicycle me bollix, motorbike baby :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

is that a whirlpool in the second pic ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Originally posted by Chief---
    is that a whirlpool in the second pic ??

Dead cool that one! I wonder how many cars went down that baby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

MVC-004F.JPG

This one is worthy of a caption competition.

Just got emailed this... Classic :)

Flood Picture (the REAL story)

pict4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by PH01
    MVC-004F.JPG

The biologists were delighted to glimpse such rare specimens of automobilus aqueous swimming freely about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Is this the canal or the river?

http://72ndstreet.com/floods/MVC-008F.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by PH01
    http://72ndstreet.com/floods/MVC-004F.JPG

City Engineers ban Boards Beer-"Pipes cannot take sustained pressure"