Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rock/Metal bands you just can't stand

• 31-10-2002 12:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

This is Syd_Vicious speaking...

What rock/metal bands can you stand stand to listen to?

Mine are

Slipknot
    Queens of the Stone Age
    Pitchshifter
    Cradle of Filth
    Opeth
    Iron Maiden (don't hate me)
    Hundred Reasons
    Ash
    Blink 182
    Boxcar Racer

What are urs?

This has been Syd_Vicious speaking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Syd_Vicious

Sorry that's meant to be what rock/metal bands can you not stand to listen to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

limp biscuit.

Tho i like some of the bands you listed ..LOL

Kdja

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Eye

i dunno if they really count as rock.... but i would say the strokes, cannot stand the lead singers voice at all, and well the music is just crap
    how they ever made it onto kerrang! tv i'll never know, that's about the only time i change off that channel though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

metallica. i love their song one, but i hate just about every other song ive heard by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

pretty much any band that was formed after 1990 :)

OLD SKOOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

nickleback :jesus
    blink 182
    stereophonics

most of the pop rock **** on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Pep

JJ72 his voice is so annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Pep
    I agree its very irritating.

I also cant stand anything that Angelwhore likes on principle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

All Blink 182 clones, but especially Bowling for Soup - that stupid girl all the bad guys want drives me mad. Him and his whiny voice. Wonder when puberty will hit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Linkin park
    Limp chocolate biscuit
    all kiddie punk bands (blink 182, sum41, bowling for soup etc)

Too many to list tho, so i wont go any farther.... and im too damn lazy to think of them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

Originally posted by Pep

Thank God for that, I thought I was the only one that found yer mans voice quite disturbing. (By the look of things the bassist from JJ72 has a deeper voice than he does! :p )

If he's trying to achieve the high pitched effort (a la Brian Johnson from AC\DC) then it just ain't working.

Now if he was to set up a Bee-Gees tribute band, then maybe, just maybe........

Personally, I think Muse suck a fat one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭deco

The man sounds like he's been chemically castrated...

But come on Sid....Queens of the Stone Age, Pitchshifter, Opeth, Iron Maiden, Hundred Reasons, Ash are really good bands...

Agree with you on slipknot though... they suck SO much it hurts.

And as for me, has to be Papa Roach. No ifs, buts or maybes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by Syd_Vicious
    Cradle of Filth
    Opeth

Too late, I hate you. :p
    Admitedly CoF have gone to the dogs in the last couple of years, but they were a brilliant band. But putting Iron Maiden in your list? That's just asking for a slap! And you can't stand Opeth? Care to give some reasons? I'd like to have a rant with you.
    Originally posted by Mr.Applepie
    I also cant stand anything that Angelwhore likes on principle

OI! Get your mop, and get back to work, buddy!

As for what I can't stand? Basically anything that gets overplayed. You know the kind of songs that no matter where you go, pub/club/shop/friends house/outside you fecking hear it!? Those kinda things.

Seriously, over-playing killed the Chillies for me when Califonication came out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Pep

Slipknot are also complete hypocrites with all their talk of hatred and that, one of them is married with a kid so he cant really hate everything and all the rest of the crap they go on with, their music is also abissmal

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Anything nu that these little spider baby's listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

My vote goes to Slipknot too. Terrible noise, silly songs, stupid image, no integrity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

uhm

blink 182
    bowling for soup
    korn
    static x - sorry just cant stand em
    twisted sister - good lord
    motley crew - ugh
    bon jovi - sigh
    metallica - post "metallica" album
    sepultura - post Cavelera's departure
    marilyn manson - what is he "classed" as, besides crap :)
    limp bizkit - the horror, the horror
    and the rest of you nu "i listened to iron maiden growing up" metal bands :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

RHCP - i just dont see why everyone likes this band
    Foo Fighters - same as above
    Ash -
    Muse - i cant stand the singers voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 vasquez

Originally posted by Pep

i agree...and the music is so overrated...an average band with not a lot to say crap guitar player, average drumer and a girl who is more of a bad sex symbol than a bass player.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

S L I P K N O T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

too many to list but Limp ****skit, Nickelback, JJ72, Alien Ant Farm, Blink 182 and all those lame bands similar to them get my vote. also just for being espiecally crap, "A" are my no.1 rock/metal band i cant stand to listen to :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Ok... I'm gonna get a lotta people annoyed at me with this but:

Cannibal Corpse. I dled a bit of one of their songs <cause their art was just sooo good> and stopped a minute through, deleted the file and screamed in rage.
    Rage Against The Machine too... but I guess that's more that I think they're irritatingly overrated.

Oh and of course almost all nu stuff, and pop-punk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

Originally posted by Ph3n0m

twisted sister - good lord

Ah now! Do not be dissing the Sister!

As for me...

Blink 182
    Jimmy Eat World
    and... N I R V A N A! I like the Foo Fighters, though!:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Originally posted by Oeneus
    Ah now! Do not be dissing the Sister!

Dead right Im just listening to Love is For Suckers at the minute.
    How very Ghey!!!!!!!!!

All this Nu-metal is ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by ThenComesDudley
    How dare you!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Yes, how can you hate the Foo's? They rock.
    I particularly hate Cradle of Filth. Their music isn't so much what annoys me, it's Dani Filth, he's an annoying little prick with an incredibly irritating voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Anything nu that these little spider baby's listen to.

spider babys?????

how comes yer calling em spider babys????

i thought me and my mates were the only ones that called em that....unless yer a friend of a friend....from cavan as far as i remember, arent ya??

anyhoo...i only thought it was a term used here in dundalk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Originally posted by Syd_Vicious

What rock/metal bands can you stand stand to listen to?

Mine are

Slipknot
    Queens of the Stone Age
    Pitchshifter
    Cradle of Filth
    Opeth
    Hundred Reasons
    Ash
    Blink 182
    Boxcar Racer

What are urs?

come on angelwhore how can you let a bitching session like this go on?
    it's gonna turn nasty i tells ya

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

hmmmmmmmm........

Many of the bands I were going to say are there: Lots of nu-metal and pop-punk along the lines of Linkin Park, Bowling for Soup, Sum 41 etc.

I'll add the following:
    • Aerosmith (dear jesus I would love to murder you all you rubbish old bastards, but thank you Steven Tyler for your daughter)
    • Bon Jovi (see above re murder and old bastards)
    • Nikleback I loathe with a particular hatred (cheap immation of Bush anbd Pearl Jam)
    • Puddle of W@nk the same (Summer Lovin, had me a blast...)
    • Greenday for their "It's great kids, but we're keeping the receipts!" comment made many moons ago.

Slipknot I do like and when a man like Kerry King thanks them for doing what they do, you've got to question the instant "it's nu-metal, it's shite" labels they tend to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Marry Me!

Although I'm not a fan or anything I really dont mind hearing the likes of blink 182\ feeder etc on the radio its better than britney spears and co

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Originally posted by Kharn
    Slipknot I do like and when a man like Kerry King thanks them for doing what they do, you've got to question the instant "it's nu-metal, it's shite" labels they tend to get.
    I kinda like em aswell, its amasing how many people hate them and have never heard their music........ (they all just think of it as mindless screaming....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Slipknot are just laughable.Music designed purely for the junior skangers.I mean,does anybody over the age of 12 actually listen to them?
    BTW I know som1 who can do a class slipknot impression:D Feckin flawless

the funny thing is that so many people dislike 'nu' metal bands because they are popular.

in the old days, the more obscure a band was the cooler.
    now, if a band has a top 10 single (like post metallica black album material- ho ho ho) then it becomes popular cultcher and instantly its rubbished because its too commercial.

yeah, im in a rock band because i want 3 long haired kids and dog at my concerts.
    i think not....

anyway, i thank the bands i dont like, they make me appreciate the music i do like a lot more.

anyway, im going back to listen to (insert obscure cult black satanic flute music here) and write up my expenses for the month

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    insert ....flute ....here) and write up my expenses for the month

message edited just so I can poke fun at WWM :)

ST! ST! ST! ST! ST!

Hahaha... Thank you Phenom, I've not laughed so hard at anything in days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Treebeard

Pretty much any rock or metal band formed after 1990

Originally posted by Ph3n0m

There's nothing I like more than having a huge cóck in my mouth

ST! ST! ST! ST! ST!

and right back at ya!

touché WWM.

but getting back to the topic in hand. I have one question that relates to this subject matter - why do some people instantly class something as "crap". Fair enough they themselves may not like the music, but who are they to judge what is crap and what is not. If we all shared the same tastes in music, the world would be one hell of a boring place IMO

because its trendy to think so.....

i hate all boy and girl bands!

why?

because their music is crap!

ive seen you sing along to robbie williams?

well hes ok. but the rest are crap!

why?

because its music for teenage girls!

ahh, so you dont like it because you dont like teenage girls?

no i like teenage girls!

so whats your point? why do you not like boy/girl bands?

coz, er, they dont form to my opinion of what music is?

so you dont like them because you only listen to (insert musical taste here) and they dont have heavy guitar solos, panpipe interludes etc etc etc

yeah, thats right.

so they arent really crap, they just dont have what you look for in music

yeah!!!!!!!

so youve changed your stance from hating a band because its trendy to saying that you arent a fan of that type of music because it doesnt fulfil your musical criteria

um, i suppose so.

youre a complete wánker who cant think for themselves and is unable to develope an appreciation for anything outside of your comfort zone genre because you feel threatened that other influences may indeed make you seem untrendy in your peers eyes?

HUH?

oh, howls of derisive laughter.

thew nice thing is that when you get older, you lose the inhabitions that tend to stem your appreciation for these things, music, food, cars, whatever, and you tend to get a more rounded experience of things.

so instead of saying 'i heard one song by limp biskitt and the fúckin suck man' you tend to do things like say 'i heard that single by limp biskitt and i didnt really like it. i didnt like they way they put their songs together or i didnt like this or that'. but you wont hate the band because your best mate does.
    /me shrugs

or maybe oim completely wrong*

*never going to happen :)

or maybe oim completely wrong*

*never going to happen :)

be careful, it may happen one day - a pretender to the throne may come along and usurp you and take your maiden for his own (I'm looking at Angelwhore or Pornapster at this point :) )

I'd be questioning WWMan's throne, and whether or not I'd really want it. I mean, is it a nice throne? Or is it made out of tin cans? Is his fair maiden really fair? These would be the questions I'd ask my self before trying to usurp anything.

But I dont try and pretend to any throne, to be honest. Most of the bands I listen are, unashemedly, formed after 1990, or near to that. I'd never blab 'Oh yeah, I was into slayer since I was 6, maaan!' I don't even like Slayer. Metallica is as probably far back as I go... Still have Master Of Puppets on tape, nearly ****ing worn out! But I never really got into music in a big way until I started hearing the early 90's English bands like Anathema, My Dying Bride, Cradle of Filth, Paradise Lost...

that is fair enough, but have you ever, or heard of other people belittling someone else because they listen to a band that they like but you/other people dispise/dont like

I have heard this, and I do privately ridicule people for listen to what I consider "crap", but I dont say it to their face, as I believe it is one opinion of mine best kept to myself

for example, I do listen to Slipknot, does that mean I have bad taste in music, does that mean I am, as someone on this topic called them, a "junior skanger", am I musically ignorant - no, I just like what I find pleasing to myself.

We all had this huge discussion where it was finally agreed (after many interesting/boring/insulting posts) that music is a personal thing. Just because someone listens to nu metal bands, does not mean they have no musical taste, it doesnt mean they are part of the MTV generation. And on the flipside nor does it give someone who listens to the Beatles, whether 30 years ago or today, the right to belittle someone, because their style of music differs from their own preference*

*except for dance music......lol ;)

Sure, just look at my reply to this thread.

Generally I hate stuff that gets over-played, because that put me off RHCP.

But of course, people are going to belittle each other for everything, no matter what, and I dont see that changing any time soon. We'd basically have slagging matches at each other about bands in the pub, it's great fun.

But long story short, yes, you are a junior skanger.
    Live with it. :p

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    But long story short, yes, you are a junior skanger.
    Live with it. :p

who are you calling "junior" sunshine - if I want to feel young (or perverted) I'll start hanging out outside colleges. this old man is going home.....night all :)

whether or not i have a throne and whether or not i'd even like to sit in it is another matter....

however, i rarely think that anyone will find anything 'crap' if they have listened to it.

hell, i cant stand REM for example, however, i think that everybody hurts and losing my religion are two of the finest songs of the 90's.

well there you go, so they arent crap. i like some i loathe some.

i think you just learn to appreciate different things as you get older.
    hell, 10 years ago i was al about long hair, a black t-shirt with the most horrid image i could find on it with a band name, and listening to carcass, or obiutary or whatever. anything that was in the top 40 was instant crap due to it being popular. thats all it took. if it was popular, i hated it.

and then i discovered classical music, and every little bit of musical taste i had, happily, went out the window :)

it tought me that you have to get over what over people think, and learn to actually make up your own mind about music. if someone wants to listen to some bloke sing like his vocal cords are rupturing ala death metal, then cool, please dont play it near me! but you work away. who the hell am i to say they are crap, dont listen.

although, i have noticed a sudden decrease in the number of people declaring that slipknot are crap since this took a more serious turn :)

and maybe someday, if you listen to enough music, and you know what you like, then you can say with some authority what is good and what is not, but lets face it, youre always going to find someone who hates what you like.
    in those cases, i stick em in the eye with a cigarette, and make em listen to some good old fashion iron maiden!

by the way, i got my old maiden albums out the other day
    fantastic!

and what about ST! ST! ST! ST! ST! ST! ST! ST!

and then i discovered classical music, and every little bit of musical taste i had, happily, went out the window :)

On a personal taste level, this is something I simply cannot relate to in any way, shape or form. Sure there was the odd little thing I'd pick up then get bored of, like Korn, all those years ago. But to have a whole range of musial taste fly out the window because you discovered something new? I really cannot understand that.

There's plenty, and I mean PLENTY of new stuff that I've discovered over the years, and while it has definetly broadened my horizons, nothing has ever really been thrown in the bin. Best example I can give is the old 'Dance Music' one. You know the old 'Oh, it's all fake, it's not real music' rubbish?

Few years ago I discovered some really, really brilliant stuff, clubbing in London. EBM mostly. But it was all really great! VNV Nation, Front 242, Mesh, Skinny Puppy, Apoptygma Berzerk, Switchblade Symphony, Die Krupps, Assemblage 23, Icon Of Coil... And so on, and so on. But the fact is that a lot of this stuff isn't too far gone from Techno, and such. Just listen to the song 'Electronic Warfare' by Apoptygma Berzerk or 'You Didn't Want Me' by Mesh. Downright brilliant stuff. I should also be heading to Dublin later on in the month to see some sets from Goteki, Katscan and the like. Should be great.

But all this opened my eyes.
    The fact that there's electronic music out there that isn't music for mobile phone theives, or pill-popping e-heads kinda shocked me. But none of it made me throw out my old CDs.

Anyway, enough of my waffle.
    Have a listen to this: http://www.tweaker.net/mp3/01-linoleum(featuringdavidsylvian).mp3
    You'd probably think I'd never listen to anything of the sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

quote:

Marry Me!

Although I'm not a fan or anything I really dont mind hearing the likes of blink 182\ feeder etc on the radio its better than britney spears and co

Errrr i'll only Marry a rich woman! orr any woman.
    S.T. S.T. S.T. S.T.

oh another band i cant stand is THE CALLING
    i thought Ronan Keeting shhh his S was band the singer is nearly his voice clone

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    Anyway, enough of my waffle.
    Have a listen to this: http://www.tweaker.net/mp3/01-linoleum(featuringdavidsylvian).mp3
    You'd probably think I'd never listen to anything of the sort.

Bah... That link didn't come out right at all!
    Just copy&paste the whole thing into your browser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭cr1spy

Nightwish

They're a Finnish power metal band, and they're crap!
    The music sounds like the sound track to a bad fantasy movie, all keyboards and badly sung lyrics about "elven paths" and "mighty heroes".
    It really is brutal.

The lead singer can't even pronounce her words properly. I've been subjected to it non-stop a friends LAN party on 200w speakers. I nearly committed suicide. Never again.

If anyone out there actually likes them, you should be ashamed.

Only S Club Juniors come close to this level of badness.