Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Confirmed: EsatBt to offer 256K ADSL for E50 before Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭BoneCollector

one thing that may have passed most people..
    will we still have to pay our line rental on top of this 40-50 pm??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Yes, yes you will. Eircon still own the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Esat will not charge rental in addition.

Eircon are GONE from your life if you choose ESAT DSL, thats what local loop unbundling means.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭David C

Originally posted by Muck

You mean Eircom?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭JTMan

Eircon are GONE from your life if you choose ESAT DSL, thats what local loop unbundling means.

M

That is great news. That will mean a saving of about €22 a month on line rental (?) . This makes the product a hell of a lot cheaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭captainpat

€ircon make sure they always bill in arrears so they only have to deal with the widdly dithery ODTR, the one who allowed €ircon to start milking the porn dialler bizniss in the last few weeks.

The last Eircom bill I paid was dated 6 September. Under Recurring Charges, they show "Equipment 10 Sep 02 to 9 Nov 02". This is the ADSL Solo rental, and is clearly in advance.

Incidentally, the two-month rental is shown as €184.04 before VAT. I thought it was €89.00 per month they had quoted.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭captainpat

€ircon make sure they always bill in arrears so they only have to deal with the widdly dithery ODTR, the one who allowed €ircon to start milking the porn dialler bizniss in the last few weeks.

The last Eircom bill I paid was dated 6 September. Under Recurring Charges, they show "Equipment 10 Sep 02 to 9 Nov 02". This is the ADSL Solo rental, and is clearly in advance.

Incidentally, the two-month rental is shown as €184.04 before VAT. I thought it was €89.00 per month they had quoted.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭DC

That is great news. That will mean a saving of about €22 a month on line rental (?) . This makes the product a hell of a lot cheaper.

My understanding is ...... There are 2 options, LS and ULMP (Unbundled Local Metallic Path). LS - line share - means you still have to pay line rental to eircom to make phone calls on the same line as your DSL. The other option means its exclusive between your house and the Esat DSLAM, no calls, therefore no Eircom. But you still need a second line for making/receiving calls. And I'm not convinced there isn't a line rental charge.....

I've signed up for LS, so I'll still have 2 bills.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

M

Oh right, didn't realise you had to up for Esats whole telephony package.
    Originally posted by DC
    My understanding is ...... There are 2 options, LS and ULMP (Unbundled Local Metallic Path). LS - line share - means you still have to pay line rental to eircom to make phone calls on the same line as your DSL. The other option means its exclusive between your house and the Esat DSLAM, no calls, therefore no Eircom. But you still need a second line for making/receiving calls. And I'm not convinced there isn't a line rental charge.....

I've signed up for LS, so I'll still have 2 bills.

Er... DSL lets you make and recieve calls on the same line at the same time as using the Internet. Why would you need a second line?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Oh right, didn't realise you had to up for Esats whole telephony package.

You don't.

Er... DSL lets you make and recieve calls on the same line at the same time as using the Internet. Why would you need a second line?

I presume he meant that the voice and data channels are separate. They're different "lines" in the same way that ISDN lines are different. Even though they're not. But they are. heh

Let me put it this way: Esat don't currently unbundle the voice channel, so if you use it, you have to deal with Eircom to some degree.

adam

• Registered Users Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Let me put it this way: Esat don't currently unbundle the voice channel, so if you use it, you have to deal with Eircom to some degree.

adam [/B]

Unless you do what we and several (many) friends are doing - do away with the land line and ONLY use mobiles.
    It's becoming more and more popular in the States, the UK and now here. It's also great for controlling telephone addict teens :)

A Q!

The only number portability at present is for postpaid mobile users who can jump from voodoofone or ohPoo or Muteor to t'other with the same (ish) number and with a 6 month or 1 year free message saying /me is here now..thats pretty fair.

as geographic numbers cannot be ported currently I trust that if you sign up for an ESAT DSL line you must take an ESAT number and abandon the Eircon one ....anyone able to shed a light on this situation?

(you could set up exchange based call forwarding but must pay line rental and local call rates for the forward to Eircon if calls hit the eircon number and are forwarded)

M

A Q!

The only number portability at present is for postpaid mobile users who can jump from voodoofone or ohPoo or Muteor to t'other with the same (ish) number and with a 6 month or 1 year free message saying /me is here now..thats pretty fair.

From Jan 1, you should be able to take the number and prefix with you and it will apply to post and pre paid customers.

as geographic numbers cannot be ported currently

They can be ported but only to another premises inside your own exchange

I trust that if you sign up for an ESAT DSL line you must take an ESAT number and abandon the Eircon one ....anyone able to shed a light on this situation?

My Bet would be that you can keep your old Eircon number ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭De Rebel

Originally posted by Fungus
    From Jan 1, you should be able to take the number and prefix with you and it will apply to post and pre paid customers.

Has anyone had recent confirmation of this? I know that full number portability for mobiles is a technical nightmare but I for one can't wait.

However as it is the major hold which Vodaf**kers and the rest have over their business customers I'd be surprised if they yield easily.

There has been no mention of full number portability recently, not even a tinsey-weensie likkie Press Release from the ODTR.

That your job BRIAN ??

As u said
    They can be ported but only to another premises inside your own exchange

and ESAT are the only other carrier (at present) who would have equipment inside that exchange.... mmmmmmmmmm

not that I am attached to my €ircon number, I can change no problem .

bye bye €ircon

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Stonemason

If esat took into account the €22 line rental from eircon and deducted it for the service :)Anyway i still think that 256k digital is better than 56k anal-og and its always on, as someone else pointed out once you have the service then its time to pushing for better pricing and bandwidth.If it comes out my way ill be on like a TD on a brown envolope.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭MrAbc

Does anyone know where/when I can register my interest in this 256K EsatBT connection? I would worry that my local exchange(East Cork) might not be among the chosen 40 by Lennonmas...

I'm spending EUR€60/month on access charges alone and I was just about to go for the flat-rate dial-up offerings but now I guess I have to wait some more to see whether this new thing pans out...
    ...still, EUR€60+/month AND installing more equipment is very pricey !!

So anyway... whose ass do I have to kick/lick !? :-D

Cheers, MrAbc.

NB Ideally, I'd like fibre-optic signals to my front-door... but perhaps I won't hold my breath on that one... ;) Lmao
    Maybe if we all chip in a few euros per week for 10 years or so, we might get a couple of acres in D4 future-proofed... it'd be good for a thousand years or more at the rate things are going!!

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭DC

MrAbc,

The 40 exchanges have already been decided. 10 are definitely done, the rest are either in progress or will be very soon.

If esat don't return your calls, then its likely your area won't be covered for a while (maybe 18 months or more).

But, do register the interest..... when they put the web pages up there. And get all your friends and family in the area to do the same.

• Moderators Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭LFCFan

I was on to EsatBT there firstly to the Residential people and they put me through to the Technical Department who could only tell me that there was a service coming out in the region of €49.95 a month before Xmas. She then got me to ring Internet Sales. Yer man basically said the whole thing was very sudden and that they had been given no training on it yet. I threw some stuff at him, like is it ADSL or SDSL. He had no idea what I was on about. He said the 40 exchanges had been picked already and there would be a website available in the next week where you can find out if you're eligible or not. He said from what he as heard the price would be €49.95 including VAT but he didn't know if there was gonna be line sharing or unblundling of the loop. I don't think he understood what that meant anyway. I'm not giving out about yer man or Esat as he was friendly and tried his best but it does look like this was all very sudden and a lot of training needs to be done to get the sales people up to date. Hope he was right about the website and we may find out soon what exchanges are gonna be enabled. Bet mine won't though as it's a very new exchange.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭shinzon

Esat BT to launch €49.50 a month DSL service to domestic consumers
    before Christmas

Esat BT is to launch a new DSL service aimed at consumers before Christmas, the company's chief executive officer, Bill Murphy, announced today (24 October 2002). The new service will cost €49.50 plus VAT (€59.90 incl. VAT).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭De Rebel

Christmas is coming and the rat is getting shat (upon)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Scruff

just got word back from Esat that my local exchange (living in Blackrock, co. dublin) wont be upgraded for another 6 months so nuts to that.:mad:

only hope now is irishbroadband and they don't look like they be covering blackrock for a few months either.

:mad: :mad: :mad: and :mad:

€60 PM is still damn expensive IMO.

Anyway, i rang them today and was transfered about 6 times and left on hold almost as long as NTL to be told ..
    The details of this product are not final and that it won't launch till AFTER christmas. They are doing a line test for me tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

The details of this product are not final and that it won't launch till AFTER christmas.

Esat BT to launch €49.50 a month DSL service to domestic consumers before Christmas

That is taken directly from their website. Article/release is well worth a read :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭shinzon

this whole esatbt broadband 60 pm thing has me a bit concerned, how are they going to accomplish this feat before christmas with so few exchanges alreday up and running, never mind the 40 their planning to have before XMAS, i wonder is this just a ploy and thetyll just put this domestic bb in the exchanges already up and running and leave the rest till roll out time

TRI

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭DonegalMan

Spoke to Esat businees sales today and guy had full list of 40 locations. I asked about locations where we have shops - Letterkenny, Castleblayney, Castlebar and Mullingar (didn't bother mentioning Donegal Town as I can't even get ISDN there :()

Only one on list is Mullingar, they're testing my line tomorrow. Ah well, I guess one "maybe" out of 5 potential is just about typical of the whole Internet fiasco in this country :(.

He hadn't a clue about what other locations will become available or when, said he wished he knew as people keep asking him.

We were 'chewing the fat' about potential uptake, I asked him if he had heard of IrelandOffline and he chuckled and said he certainly had :)

As an aside, I asked him if the new package will have static IP adress available, he said yes.

Martin Harran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭BoneCollector

his whole esatbt broadband 60 pm thing has me a bit concerned, how are they going to accomplish this feat before christmas with so few exchanges alreday up and running, never mind the 40 their planning to have before XMAS, i wonder is this just a ploy

anyone rememberThis!?

And this..

And we start all over again..( or do we...!?)
    Also.. i seem to remember this starting off at €40 pm now where suddenly upto €60... wounder if we will reach the big €100 before its finaly released?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

Originally posted by triacus98
    this whole esatbt broadband 60 pm thing has me a bit concerned, how are they going to accomplish this feat before christmas with so few exchanges alreday up and running, never mind the 40 their planning to have before XMAS, i wonder is this just a ploy

Do I think it'll be available by Christmas? Not likely, but possible..
    Is it a ploy? Well again, it's possible but is it likely? I mean it'd be a fairly stupid plan on their part there'll be some seriously pissed off people if it doesn't appear in some shape or form by Christmas. I fail to see how they'd be doing themselves any favours that way. Then again, in this crazy Island, anything is possible...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Vuk

Just a note on the kind of service that Esatbt offer. I ordered adsl 7 weeks ago(line sharing) and I had various technical questions(alarm monitoring etc). The rep was polite and what he could not answer himself he was able to get within minutes. After 5.5 weeks I got a call to ask if would be ok to come and install the modem the following day(like I'd say no after years of waiting for a dsl service, hell,my own granny would get the denny sausage treatment just to get it done). Anway the installation was delayed by a day(technical fault).On d-day, I even recieved 2 calls to make sure that the installation guy had contacted me and that he would be there by 1pm, if there was a no-show again, I was to call back immediately.
    By 1:30, I was setup(minor cabling,connection testing, my monitor kicking the bucket), there were some hiccups, it seems that the modem had the wrong presets installed and €ircom had enabled line-sharing on the wrong line(didn't matter to me). A few days later I recieved another call from the rep to see how things went and what I thought of the service, AFIK, this call wasn't part of the Esatbt service, but a very nice touch all the same.
    While all this might sound like an Esatbt promo, I am honestly impressed by the quality of service and I did get connected sooner than 6 weeks, as quoted to me.
    Anyway thats my few cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭shabbyroad

I called them today but unfortunately my area isn't available yet (I'm in Castleknock) - and apparently this applies to the whole of Dublin.

Bah humbug...