Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phobias

• 04-09-2002 8:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what you're all afraid of.

I have a phobia of spiders.. I know it's stupid but I just can't stand them. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Bees and wasps, hate the buggers, i get all itchy if I know there's one in the room. If there's one in the car I'm just not driving. Especially this time of year, the little feckers'll sting anything in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

slight case of closterphobia - only in real tight situations where i coudlnt mode or something

dunno if you would call this agriphobia but i feel a bit uneasy near lots and lots water like walking over a bridge ofer a really wide river etc ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Hmmm... I'm afraid of really big spiders.... not afraid, just i dont like them.

I love the feeling of the fear in your stomach over height, it's exhilerating... its such a great rush.

I should be afraid of wasps, cause i'm allergic to them, but i'm not, odd :)

Being angry, i'm really afraid of being truely angry (happened 5 times, ever.)

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

i dislike having my face in water...its quite odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'm terrified of heights, though not as bad as i used to buy.

Medium Clusterphobia.

Mild Arachnophobia.

thats about it. Fio: can you spell adrenaline Junkie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Sandi

Like most of the population I'm terrified of spiders more than 1 inch in diameter. I was sittin' here yesterday and this huge black motherfkr legged it across the floor. He was leggin' it round like nobody's business and I couldn't catch him. Ended up losing him...I'm sittin' here again today wondering if he's still in the room. I'm all nervous and really jumpy. It's awful! When I was in Zimbabwe about to get into a car, and in the back was a brown spider the size of my hand! *shiver*
    I'm also not too keen on fire. Very afraid of being burned/burned to death.
    Oh yeah, and blue-bottles...hate the feckers. Give me the shivers big-time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by Sandi
    Like most of the population I'm terrified of spiders more than 1 inch in diameter. I was sittin' here yesterday and this huge black motherfkr legged it across the floor. He was leggin' it round like nobody's business and I couldn't catch him. Ended up losing him...I'm sittin' here again today wondering if he's still in the room. I'm all nervous and really jumpy. It's awful! When I was in Zimbabwe about to get into a car, and in the back was a brown spider the size of my hand! *shiver*
    I'm also not too keen on fire. Very afraid of being burned/burned to death.
    Oh yeah, and blue-bottles...hate the feckers. Give me the shivers big-time.

I'd say that's mild arachnaphobia. I have sever arachnaphobia.... if I saw a spider the sixe of my hand I'd quite probably go insane. Or just collapse.
    The little house spiders I can now handle although there was a time I couldn't, but if they're big then I won't touch them, won't even try to catch them, I'll have to get someone else to do it.

I freak if I see them on TV, so watching that "I'm a celeb get me out of here!" often gave me a jolt of fear! Not nice. Hairy bástards. The spiders that is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

i dislike having my face in water...its quite odd.

So that's why you're such a filthy unwashed bastard then :)

I'm afraid of spiders. Hate the bloody things - not to the point of falling over or collapsing, but enough that when I was home last time and a hunting spider fell on my bed from the ceiling and I couldn't find it, I slept on the floor... And didn't get much sleep, either.

That said, I get double the value out of movies like Arachnophobia and Eight Legged Freaks. They scare the bloody bejesus out of me. Love 'em :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Human illnesses and stuff. It only seems to happen under certain circumstances but if someone talks about blood for example i go white, sweat profusely and feel very nauseus.

When I went to go and see the film Outbreak in the cinema I had to walk out of the film as I felt incredibly ill. Same happened during certain parts of first aid classes :/

Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds
    Human illnesses and stuff. It only seems to happen under certain circumstances but if someone talks about blood for example i go white, sweat profusely and feel very nauseus.

When I went to go and see the film Outbreak in the cinema I had to walk out of the film as I felt incredibly ill. Same happened during certain parts of first aid classes :/

You sound like a mate of mine. When he was giving blood he fainted before the needle went in.
    So a few months later he went again, and fainted again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Friend of mines arachnophobia is so bad that he actually sends someone in to check his house before he will go in.Stems from when he worked in a printers who imported their paper from South America and a spider the size of an orange jumped out of a box onto his hand.Just as well it wasnt poisonous.
    He still has the thing preserved at home.

Originally posted by Hellrazer
    He still has the thing preserved at home.

The spider!! :eek:
    Then he's not that bad, cos I'd be freakin with that in my gaff... what like sellotaped to the wall or somethin!?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Yep preserved in alcohol at home(Wierdo)
    Some sort of Bird eating spider I think.Apparently they jump to catch their prey and when the box of paper was opened it jumped out.Huge Fu<ker!!!
    Theyve also caught scorpions and other insects in the deliveries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

Hate big spiders, dont mind the small ones but if they go over 2cm in diameter i freak.

Hate unsecure heights, was up the effile tower and i was grand, was on Vertigo and was a little scared cause of the small % of error in theme parks, but if i'm rock climbing free hand it scares the **** out of me, same for absailing, no matter how safe i'm still scared.

I'm also have Belonephobia(Aichmophobia).

Hate the bloody things, nearly decked a dentist one day when he pulled one on me, but i caught his wrist and nearly stabbed him with it, he advised i get gas instead :)

http://www.phobialist.com/ - Great site to get the propernames of the phobias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

Pretty much anything with more than 4 legs i dont like ..... not really afraid , just wouldnt want them to touch me and i would have to get rid of it if one was in my bedroom

Yep preserved in alcohol at home(Wierdo)
    Some sort of Bird eating spider I think.Apparently they jump to catch their prey and when the box of paper was opened it jumped out.Huge Fu<ker!!!
    Theyve also caught scorpions and other insects in the deliveries.

I don't think he's a real arachnaphobe then... just a mild fear. Cos there's no way I'd have a spider the size of an orange anywhere near me. Dead or alive!
    Other insects don't scare me, just spiders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Dazzer

ANY creepy crawly, I go fecking mental when they come near me. It used to be so bad that if I knew a dragonfly, spider or even an ordinary house fly etc was in my room I wouldnt go in or sleep in it. Im not too bad now, learning to catch the feckers but I make sure none of my skin is exposed when doing so :/

Im also terrified of heights altho I love flying and hope one day to take flying lessons tis strange.

Oh and bridges, I hate bridges. When I was young my dad used to dangle me over the side the bloody moron :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

Some people really are strange ..:rolleyes:

Porphyrophobia- Fear of the color purple.
    Arithmophobia- Fear of numbers.
    Dipsophobia- Fear of drinking. (does that include beer ????)
    Ideophobia- Fear of ideas.

and the best one ....

Proctophobia- Fear of rectum. Ahahahahahah
    Aargghhh -- my ass is going to get me !!!!

No Loon hes definately a severe arachnophobe-wont walk into a room if he can see a spider on a wall wheras if he knows its dead he can cope with it then.
    He actually starts soaking with sweat and panicing if he sees a spider but if someone stamps on it its like a someone turning off a switch-back to normal in an instant.
    You see I think its because this thing "landed" on him whereby before it did he used to find these things on regular occasions in a box "dead" which never bothered him before.

Jesus, I wouldn't be able to do his job.

Suppose you could call it a fear of live spiders.BTW he in a nice safe office job now.

My own personal fear is dentists.Usually when I have an appointment I go in an hour before hand to take a valium so I can relax during the appointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

cóckroaches.

i squim if i see them on tele.

cant give blood. dont mind injections, but if they take stuff out, i faint.

water on face too., if i swim i have to rub water off as soon as my head is above the water line. when i shower i cant stick my face under the water.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I don't have any phobias that I know of. Mild dislike of creepy crawlies, but then who doesn't.

Scooping up the the dog shit in the backgarden so I can cut the grass is probably the closest i have to a phobia, makes my stomach churn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I have a terrible fear of heights. I crawled up to have a peek over the Cliffs of Mohar (spelling?) and had to be dragged away cos I couldn't move and have collapsed into a shaking mass of pathetic fear when trying to climb hills that could best be described as bumps. Embarrasing to say the least.

I got quite a bad bite from a jumping spider when I lived in Africa. Those little fúckers are crazy they don't crawl they bounce quite high while moving along at a fair clip. Didn't result in Arachnaphobia though which is nice cos my fear of heights is enough to be getting on with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Defo Heights,the palms on my hands get all sweaty even just looking at someone up high on t.v.

Not to bad with spiders although i love to stomp them into the ground,but hey who doesnt :)

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,600 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

-Mild dislike of insects,
    Great fear of terminal illness (As in coming down with something extremely vile),
    Slight fear of dying,
    Mild dislike for swimming and drowning,
    I get extremely edgy and aggitated when in a situation where I can't move (Like crowds - I go absolutely nuts when your trying to get to somewhere and the only obstacle between you and it is an annoying ****ing crowd of people that seem to get in your way at every opportunity).

Other than that, I don't have much of a problem with anything.
    No real phobia's, just annoyances.

Originally posted by RopeDrink
    [BI get extremely edgy and aggitated when in a situation where I can't move (Like crowds - I go absolutely nuts when your trying to get to somewhere and the only obstacle between you and it is an annoying ****ing crowd of people that seem to get in your way at every opportunity).
    [/B]

Grafton street probably upsets you so. It really písses me off.

As for jumping spiders I'd like to pretend they don't exist, and I'm going to avoid Africa, Australia and South America mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Don't like spiders but amn't afraid of them. Am afraid of heights, well on a bridge kinda heights, and only if they are over a road (very specific eh).

Partner has an odd one, she is damn scared of "The incredible Hulk", whenever it's on she will leave the room, she was nearly crying when the trailer of the film came on TV a couple of days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭thedrowner

i have a phobia of all insects, in particular earwigs, if i see one, i freeze, and cant move.
    it stems from watching one of the star trek films when i was about 3 or 4, and seeing these creatures go into 2 peoples ears and take them over
    i cant sleep unless the covers are over my ears now
    *shudder*
    cockroaches too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ACE OwNz J0oO!!

I hate creepy thingies ,Even in some games the spiders freak me out :o) like thief2. Just last week i was sittin on the loo and i looked into the bath beside me and this great big bloody spider was in it, I nearly **** myself .for the next 10 minutes i couldnt take my eyes off him, My dog takes care of the spiders on the ground tho. My dad hates woodlice ,I was sitting watching the tv and I heard "JEESUS!!!" and he whipped off his shoe and hammered it into the ground. :D thats about it 8)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by ACE OwNz J0oO!!
    I nearly **** myself

Just as well you were on the crapper so. :D

The Wrath of Kharn was that one with the things in the ear wasn't it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    As for jumping spiders I'd like to pretend they don't exist, and I'm going to avoid Africa, Australia and South America mainly.
    Don't let creepy-crawlies stop you from going to Africa, it's the most beautiful place on Earth. Just don't walk around barefoot like I always did. The most poisonous ones don't jump either. It's the snakes you really have to look out for. But they're pretty cool.

Funniest story I ever heard about a snake in Africa:
    This guy was driving around a game reserve in a jeep when he saw a puff adder (vicious poisonous aggressive bastard) moving across the track in front of him. He gunned the engine and went to run it down.
    He hit it, the wheels caught it, spun it into the air and deposited it nicely on his lap. He managed to throw it away without getting fatally bitten, though I'd say he got a snake phobia for his troubles.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

fear of flying things that sting...of spiders...and the fear of getting lost, and being late for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I've a phobia of something., but tbh tbh, I can't remember what it is right now.
    I'll get back to ye on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    Partner has an odd one, she is damn scared of "The incredible Hulk", whenever it's on she will leave the room, she was nearly crying when the trailer of the film came on TV a couple of days ago.

Hehe, kind of similar to my fear of the honeymonster as a child. Anyone remember the ad when the kid was in his pyjamas, got the monster munch from the cupboard then turned into the honeymonster, or something like that :)

I couldn't watch it, first time I saw it I ran out of the room crying my eyes out. (I was 5 or 6 at this time btw!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Chowmein

Cockroaches, Spiders and Deap water.

Cant even think about being underwater in the sea, i freeze up completly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

Heh, this one is VERY weird. When I was small, I had a fear of the Irish National Anthem :)

Remember about ten years ago on RTE when it always closed down at like midnight, and they played the national anthem to a video of all these happy nature scenes? That drove me absolutely berserk, I only saw it a few times because I was normally in bed... but whenever I did see it I'd get very uneasy and would have to be comforted by my parents. I was talking about it with my Dad recently actually, we both put it down to the very sudden loud 'snowballs' noise that came on afterwards when the station shut down for the night :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MaZ

spiders... well

I honestly dont like them
    i can tolerate them tho, as i live in a particularly spidery place...

I used to have a huge phobia of wasps, couldnt do anything if a wasp was around, would run away from it @ all times

But that phobia has gone now, i aint scared of one or two wasps anymore cuz i ran thru a wasp nest 2 yrs ago and got stung 26 times by a swarm.... a single animal doesnt seem so bad now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

I fvckin hate daddylonglegs spiders...

There.... its out....

Oh yea, I hate moths aswell, kinda freak me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Hmmm,

Well I love water and I quite like spiders. Does it not seem strange to anyone else that so many people have a phobia or dislike spiders?

They kill flies - that can only be a good thing. I even tend to go out of my way to look after spiders I find about the place.

One thing I cannot stand though is Wasps. They sting they do not die and I do not trust them - generally if one is around I will go out of my way to kill it - which made for some interesting times in beer gardens over the summer ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Massive tarantula like spiders freak me out, goes back to when i stayed at my mates house years back and i woke up covered in 3 gigantic near 10 inch bastards. The feeling of their furry legs on my face and back was enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Claustrophobia (SP?)

In extreme cases. Its more a thing to do with being confined in a space with the slightest thought of not being able to escape, or dieing. Such as, when I was young, my brother would mess around and throw a pillow over my head, or wrap me in a blanket, and give each other digs, etc., etc. All fun and games untill I could feel the warm air, and the thought entered my mind: What if I was smothered to death by accident? Impossible, but the thought would make me scream like a little girl. ;) And what made it worse is I always though my brother couldn't hear me, or anyone else. So even when he let go of me, I'd still be screaming for ages. The same goes for being locked in a cupboard, or burried alive (though I'm sure we'd all hate that. Cremation for meh plz! :D).

On a topic note: I've been a herpathologist (person who studies reptiles. FYI.) for over ten years now, though I started off with arachnids (Spiders, scorpians, any insectiod that has eight 'true' legs). When the HSI was still up (Herpalogical Society of Ireland), I was one of the 6 or so head-members, and basically what I did was be a Junior Liason Officer (get young people interested in reptiles. Hook 'em while they're young!), but another thing I helped with was help people with phobias of certain animals (Not all phobias are perminent. Not all phobias are even true phobias.) So if anyone has a phobia of an animal; tarantula, snake, lizard, insect, amphibian, crocidilian, and are interested in getting over this phobia, don't hesitate to contact me , and we'll see what we can do.

And to people who have no phobias' of these animals, and are quite interested in such animals, then try a visit to the only Reptile Specialist in Dublin, the Reptile Haven on Fishamberling St (SP?). Go to the top of Dame St., towards Christ Church, and when you reach the top, just before Christ Church, take a right towards the liffey, you'll head down a hill. It's quite near DnC TB, literally around the corner, so you could always pop in there and ask around for direction, .. and play a game of <insert desired game> while yer at it. (Blatant Plug. :D). Ben Lyons is the name of the man who runs it. A down to earth and sound guy. We are we called a Reptile Specialist and not a Petshop you ask? Well simply for the reason we specialise in reptiles (duh), and thus, we end up selling reptiles cheaper, because we're more of a small Zoo and a supplier to herpathologists rather then a Petshop, which most petshops are in it for money. If you look at large petshop brands, even small ones, who specialise in demestic animals, start trying to sell reptiles for arms and legs, most of the reptiles are wild caught, or in very bad shape, and aren't kept in the right enviroment (like, spiders in desert terrians.. Ooh, pretty looking.. But tarantula's CRUCIALLY need moisture.) So.. now you know. ;)

-Dark-Angel-

P.S: If you read all of that, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

I don't like Wasps but it's not really a phobia just fear of being stung because i never have been so i dont know if im allergic. As for a proper fear I'd have to say

"Scelerophobia" Which is a fear of burglars. I have a SERIOUS case of it :/ Due to knightmares I had every night from the age of 3-5. After that and ever since I have what are known as Lucid Dreams where you know you are in the dream and can therefore control anything that happens in it and can wake yourself up etc. It's great. I sometimes think it's compensation for the knightmares i'd have every night without fail as a child. They were always the same things. I called them "Frights" and they used to come in through the back door of my house. My bedroom was at the back of the house on the bottom floor so i was far away from everyone else in the house. Guess thats why. Anyways there's my two cent.

Ry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Kairo

I'm afraid of spiders in computer games. Never seem to bother me that much before I squish them, in real life.

Freak outs: Thief 1+2, System Shock, Eye Of The Beholder. Spiderman (when Peter Parker sprouts 2 extra pairs of arms :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭deimos

As strange and stupid as this may sound, I have a fear of moths.
    I am not afraid of spiders or anything else like that. I was always told when I was a child that moths eat anything, I am well aware today that they are not going to eat me but I still cant stand them. I can not sleep if the window is open in case one gets it, I beleive its my only fear besides being buried alive.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Don't think I have any phobias.
    I dont have any problem with spiders. In fact I pick them up and put them on people, sometimes I throw them at people too. (Well not really throw them, just kind of lob them at them.) I do the same thing with worms.
    I dont like earwigs though, or those other yokes silverfish I think they are called. Kill 'em both on sight.
    Oh, I dont understand why people kill spiders tbh. I mean, they dont actually harm you and as already said they kill flies. The only bad thing about spiders is walking into a web I bloody hate that. I heard it's bad luck to kill spiders.
    Oh, I'm not too fond of rats. Not afriad of them, just dont like them.

[edit]wild rats that is, not domesticated ones[/edit]

Originally posted by Makaveli
    In fact I pick them up and put them on people, sometimes I throw them at people too. (Well not really throw them, just kind of lob them at them.)

I hate it when people do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I bloody HATE wasps. I think it's something to do with being stung by a bunch of them in the 1 day as a kid.

I also fear injections. Sharp metal things do NOT belong in my arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Originally posted by Makaveli
    In fact I pick them up and put them on people, sometimes I throw them at people too. (Well not really throw them, just kind of lob them at them.) I do the same thing with worms.
    I dont like earwigs though, or those other yokes silverfish I think they are called. Kill 'em both on sight.
    Oh, I dont understand why people kill spiders tbh. I mean, they dont actually harm you and as already said they kill flies. The only bad thing about spiders is walking into a web I bloody hate that. I heard it's bad luck to kill spiders.
    Oh, I'm not too fond of rats. Not afriad of them, just dont like them.

[edit]wild rats that is, not domesticated ones[/edit]

If you threw a spider at me, I'd smack the sh1t out of ye. That's the stupidest thing I've ever heard!!!

As for not understanding why people kill spiders... they've got a phobia. These are serious things, which can really mess people up. You don't throw someone into a swimming pool who can't swim or has a fear of spiders, so don't throw spiders at people.

I went nuts at a friend of mine for leaving a dead spider on my bed. He's lucky I didn't hit him.