Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who is from louth?

• 15-08-2002 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭

Hmmm.... I know at least one other person who is from Louth or is living in the environment, is there anyone else?

/me is living a wee bit outside Drogheda (however not for long - college awaits)

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

congrats on the old LC results fio,

I`m at the college in Dundalk, you heading there yourself, or further afield.

For some reason i was under the impression you were from Dub or Galweh, well thats online persona`s for you.

There`s a few people on boards here from louth, i know of some from dundalk - DJB, Spaceman, Bullman, babyeater.

But they`re mainly game/tech related posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭BabyEater

As bazH has pointed out I'm from Louth I live between Dundalk and Carlingford

You back in the country babyeater, there`s a LAN party on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

For the purposes of boards.ie ONLY, I will claim dual nationality (Louth & Meath), being from meath side of drogheda; go to school in louth, play my GAA in meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

I am from the magnificent kipp that is Dundalk. And I love it.

So much that I live in Dublin now and retract any claims I may have made that I come from Dundalk.

Although Louth is cool.

With the exceptions of Drogheda and Dundalk. And Ardee for that matter.

Although it does seem to have a pulling effect on me the odd weekend however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Originally posted by BabyEater
    As bazH has pointed out I'm from Louth I live between Dundalk and Carlingford

Me too........well, originally (Gyles Quay). I moved into the big city (Dundlak) a few years ago with the ball and chain.

End of life story.

Good to see some users from Louth, any more in the closet

I'm back in the country now bazH
    Dre i live beside Martins Pub just up the road from the Quay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 staring elf

hey babyeater and dre, what's your real names if you don't mind me asking? i may know you, i'm in the dundalk-carlingford region too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Hey babyeater, elf; what about the Cooley v's Pats match sounds like a right laugh :D, not into bog ball at all, infact I detest it.

I remember at school it would be the topic of conversation all the time, shouts of "up cooley" or "up the pats", sad. And then I go and read the argus and realise that these people are still at it :rolleyes:

Babyeater, around "martins" I know the mcdondald's, begleys, kearneys, and when keenans owned "martins" I actually used to hang around with them. Do you actually remember it when it WAS Martins, 'cos I am of an age where I do, vividly !!! :(

I do remember when Martin's was owned by Martin's altho i wasn't old enough to drink in it at the time as I'm only 21.
    Oh me real name is Crónán Mc Donald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I lived in Louth for 8 years and my parents still do, I can safely say Louth is the armpit of Ireland! I hate the place :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Leaving the country soon but still from the wee county!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Kurdt

i'm from dublin but i go to the IT in dundalk so i'll be moving up in about 2 weeks...hurrah for the town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

i see that both the pats and cooley got 6 month bans each for the recent fighting. Worth thinking about really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 loveheartsandnicotine

I'm a Mouth from Louth.....love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭flangeman

Here whats all this oul schtuff about Louth? huh

I'll not ave an-e-thin bad sed abut da place.

Der is just sommthin abut da plaice dat I luv, mae b its da warum people, da rolin hills, da boutiful villages were da CIE buses dont rhun.

Ium frum Ardee(Áth Fherdia) mesalf bud I gat out, bit a thyme in Gundalk, den Dublin an now Ium in Lundun(Great spot heh).

I mess da place, an shure I'll ave a fuw points da week-en when Ium homme.

Ane udder lad's ur lasses frum da towin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Was from Dublin, Meath and now accross the Boyne and a born again Drog. Love the place except for the bloody traffic but the bye pass is open next month. Yippee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 loveheartsandnicotine

Originally posted by The Clown Man
    I am from the magnificent kipp that is Dundalk. And I love it.

With the exceptions of Drogheda and Dundalk. And Ardee for that matter.

Although it does seem to have a pulling effect on me the odd weekend however.

I LOVE ardee...well i would.all the sexy louth people live there...me included......
    huh whatya mean? humility?.phff...thats for Dubs:P lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭hells angels

cavan but i go to college in Dundalk

Pointless information but sure who care's....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

i live in dundalk.. but i'm from dublin.
    why, i hear you ask?
    dundalk IT.
    the worlds 4th ugliest college.

love-ly.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by kirn
    i live in dundalk.. but i'm from dublin.
    why, i hear you ask?
    dundalk IT.
    the worlds 4th ugliest college.

love-ly.
    True... but that little blonde one in first year is something else isn't she. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    True... but that little blonde one in first year is something else isn't she. :D
    **** yea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭hells angels

I think there is some unbeliveibly fit women in DKIT...IMO

No need for that... - Pornapster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

I'm from Dundalk but I go to Carlow IT!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Topcat.

Hey the cats from Fundalk too, it's not all as bad as it seems, beers cheaper than in Dublin, and hey if ya kno JC then ye can practically stagger in legless to Rideleys no hassels,

keep the revs up, Topcat!

ps
    check out http://www.clubrallying.netfirms.com
    and let me kno what yez think of it
    please be gentle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Im from sunny Ardee. Its a lovely oul spot.

Ardee - Home of the Jumping Church, the edge of The Pale, a huge Lunatic Asylum and a Beatles themed restaurant (called Hard Days Night, incidentally).

And people scoff!!! Bah!! The fools!!

Theres a lovely Castle too!!!!!

And over a dozen pubs!!!!!

Don't know about that though, hardly call it a 'great spot' unless you like the idea of the slow Muldoon takeover of the town.

If you mean by over a Dozen you mean 13(including the Golf Club and closed Liscoe's, which apparently still have a licence and opens one day a year to keep it).

Dunno, nice going home, greeting people in pubs, havin the craic, but whenever I go home its just pure hard drinkin all the time, nothin else to do. Not that I'm complaining or anything!!

Dunno, you go home much Miss Kitty EMBEE

I do be in Ardee a good bit, purely cos I hate Dublin so much.
    I count 14 pubs - Endas, the Castle, the Ferdia Arms, the Railway, the Auberge, the Arches, Farrells, Tenantys, the Harp, Mickey McCreanors, the Clove, Bar Indigo, Brians and Benny Andersons. All ****holes but they still count.
    Its a pain going out in Ardee though - its the same old faces looking at you with beady eyes cos you have "fancy notions" about urself since you moved to "Godless Dublin".
    So, flangeman.... you from the town itself or out the countryside?

I'm from the town alright, originally a Eastside boy North of the River, now however I'm a Southsider(just about!).

Got out though, a year in Gun-dalk(Scum-dalk), a few year in the Big Smoke and now with haste I'm taking the Queens pound over here in Lundin(as they say a-tome).

There isn't a dacent place to drink nowadays, unless you like kiddie hip-hop(Shambles, Front Bar Muldoons), Guns and Roses(in bar Indigo and/or Arches etc.. , poor soul behind the bar in 'Bar Indigo' told me they had to get rid of 'Copperhead Road' and 'American Pie' off the video jukebox for the sake of sanity), or 'Spinnin Finnin'(the Singing Dancing Whistling Town Commisioner) mixing the decks at various places throughout the town. As I once heard him say

'and the next song is TAKE ME TO THE RIVER, but heh dont fall in'

Funny thing is though, there not that bad of a bunch, I think we are all really snearing fecks anyway(the water from the hill of Salle). But every now and again, well everytime I'm home, a little thing reminds you of why you left

e.g.

(1) watching somebody pull over a car at 03:25 and post the remains of a curry through the An Post letter box

(2) told for the 3rd time who's preg'ers and who ran off with who

(3) finding out that every woman you meet still in the town has pretty much been with all your mates(3rd hand women)

(4) the endless 'crusing for chicks' that some of my male brotheren seem to do in their cars, up and down the town, every hour, turning at Bennys and back up again

And sometimes your shocked at how interested they are in how your getting on(well as long as you have a witty story to put with it).

But one thing I have noticed the price of drink has gone up so much(not in ratio to local pay) that they are more and more unable to leave the town coz the social life costs way to much.

One thing I see a lot of recently is people pished off with the same 'craic n drinkin' and just mad for a conversation with somebody outside the usual, and these I enjoy.

Am I spot on or what Miss Kitty?

Pretty much hit the nail on the head there flange.
    I am from Ardees exotic Southside myself - Cherrybrook to be precise.
    I agree about the lack of a really good watering hole with the exception of Bennys. There is something so completely wrong about that place..... and yet so right.
    That Finnan fella is a right fooker.... I could write a book.
    I wont though.
    It does really bother me the way ppl in ardee gossip and yap aboot other folk.
    About the post boxes - my dad is the "lucky" one that gets to empty that.....
    when I was a kid we used to catch mice and birds and put em into the post box..... curry doesnt seem so bad in comparison.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Dundalk Here...

ex-dkiter

aha a Cherrybrooker, bejasis.

Well my jasis a wee woman from the home sod thats fond of Bennys. Well wonders will never cease. I tell ya I love the place, although I don't get in there near enough, and you know what, Benny hasn't got many years left in him, when he's gone they will all be sorry. There will be a sell off by his distant family who will inherit and that will be one part of Ardee history thrown out into the past memories of those in the town, never to return.

Another problem now I see is that Ardee appears to be the new Carrick, car's and mini-buses coming in from all sorts to hit the bars etc.. Benny can't be able to cope with a couple of midlands fupheads fallin outta taxis looking for cheap drink before Shambles. Although I think the loyal couple of heads in there should keep things in order. Sure when I was home the weekend before last I couldn't recognise most in Shambles at all(Yup I love to give the Muldoons cash!!).

I see a wee cord has been pulled regarding the Finnan man huh? whats happened there?

Owh and you forgot 'The Fair Green' in your wee list there and surely the Arches and Farrells is the same place lets not get into widening the grasp to hunterstone and Duffys cross.

Here listen, pvt me for the cheap laugh and I'll drop you my msn, you talk sense my town sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 upfor_it

From the good old town of Gundalk, :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

I'm from Ardee.........also from Cherrybrook and I like Ardee.

Living in Dublin is shít unless you have a good lot of cash.

What number are you from in Cherrybrook, whoever said that.

From down the front row, thats all you need to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

ok fair enuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KK

ah sorry lads sure i'm only after seeing this now, but isn't the taaaaaaaaaan deadly? come.on.you.lilywhitescomeonyoulilywhitescomeonyouwhitescomeonyoulilywhites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

Originally posted by Dr. Dre
    Me too........well, originally (Gyles Quay). I moved into the big city (Dundlak) a few years ago with the ball and chain.

End of life story.

And me too. Although it would have been more accurate to have called myself Rockmarshalduffman or bellurganduffman or jenkinstownduffman. Sorry now that I didn't take FitzpatricksDuffman and have done with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Edge of Dundalk, Red Barns Rd sorta.

Originally posted by KK
    ah sorry lads sure i'm only after seeing this now, but isn't the taaaaaaaaaan deadly? come.on.you.lilywhitescomeonyoulilywhitescomeonyouwhitescomeonyoulilywhites.

Lily whites in trouble. What about TA, do you rate him or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Topcat.

Hey Cats,

Could also be a newbie to louth, been here for 8yrs now , gettingn to like the old kip fundalk now, we even have a cinemna now, how cool is that. Live on long avenue, behind lady well, had all the God bother'ers over the wall last week prayin til 1am, hgow annoying is that?

Dundalk used to be a bit of a kip I will admit. There is nothing wrong with the town anymore. The town centre is looking very well, the new retail park and new shopping centre will make a massive difference.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Dundalk used to be a bit of a kip I will admit. There is nothing wrong with the town anymore. The town centre is looking very well, the new retail park and new shopping centre will make a massive difference.
    Its still beside Muirhevnamor though.

Ah granted, its the same with all council estates in every town. The town really has turned itself around in the last 10 years or so.

Originally posted by Topcat.
    Hey Cats,

Could also be a newbie to louth, been here for 8yrs now , gettingn to like the old kip fundalk now, we even have a cinemna now, how cool is that. Live on long avenue, behind lady well, had all the God bother'ers over the wall last week prayin til 1am, hgow annoying is that?

Bloodie scary. I got out of a taxi at Waterville entrance off Tom Bellew avenue that night after having several pints in the town and almost soiled myself. Not good hearing choir singing following 10 pints, though I was finding God. I found my curry the following day where I had dropped it in my haste to get inside my house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 chunga_monster

Ardee here,
    its a love/hate relationship. Bennys is the BEST pub in town!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Louth Emigrant

The Twenties in Drogheda is my (former) stomping ground. Me mam is from Dowdallshill in Dundalk & me dad from Drogheda. I went to Dundalk RTC (1989-1991) and then returned for my Diploma (97-98). Went to Scotland in September 1998 to do my degree & have been here ever since!

I just got back to Dublin today after a weekend up in Ardee.
    Good GOD the amount of houses theyve built there!!!!
    The whole of Dublin must be about to up sticks and move to Boggerland....
    Lovely houses near the Community School.... Imagine Ardee in 10 years though....... full to bursting with bleedin Dubs :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭The Reaper

ive just moved to Dundalk