Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

which darth??

• 29-05-2002 11:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭

which darth do you prefer??

which darth do you prefer?? 32 votes

Darth Maul
    0% 0 votes
    Darth Sidious / Palpatine
    75% 24 votes
    Darth Tyranus / Count Dooku
    12% 4 votes
    Darth Vader / Anakin Skywalker
    12% 4 votes

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Darth Vader, of course.
    There is no equal.
    And I mean the "real" Darth Vader, not that whiney youth Anakin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Darth Maul is a bit psychedelic looking so I'm voting for him. Why is there no Darth Jaguar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

Or Darth Homer for that matter ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Vader has got quiet a fashionable head piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

i think darth maul is pretty cool with all his cool moves and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

yeah, maul was pretty cool, the only good thing about the phantom shltter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

What do you mean Darth Sidious / Palpatine, aren't they two different people?
    :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Vader. The history, the story, the image. Darth Maul was alright, but he didn't have the same impact. Darth Sidious is probably the best, but we haven't seen him in duel-action, so I'll still have to say Vader.

GreenHell, don't suppose you need a co-mod? ;)
    There's not enough chixor mods in this damn place.

Vader all the way baybee! Add the Vader skin to your Jedi Knight II. Very cool.

Not up to me, my god ya, I should really edit that pole since Palpatine is only hanging around with the sith, because they look cool in black ;P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭BJJ

The phantom menace, Darth Maul is a bad @ss & would kick Vader's geriatric @ss any day!

Also the Pod race was cool, and the end fight with Qui-gon and Darth Maul.

Aslo I liked the cool space ships, ( like Formula 1 cars ) , planets and droids much better than storm troopers and the crummy death star.

Attack of the clones: No good jokes like the original Star Wars, Wee Anakin can not act, I laughed out loud at Yoda he was like a cross between an Ewok and Kermit the frog on Xtc. the story and scrpit were dire.

Darth Maul would kick their @ss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 JarJar bink

Meesa liked da Dark Annie king , him ya very good, have good supa acting skill and very bad scary too. Anaine king skywalker was sa biggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Oh for gods sake, Darth Vader has the voice, the gear, and the cape. The rest are just jumped up pansies. Ooooo look at Maul with his evil makeup! Oooooo I R TEH SCARED!

Vader is the eviliest cos you can't see his face, and when he talks the bass invades your very soul. His merest gesture can cause his subordinates to choke.

Sure the aul lads like the Emperor and whoever Christopher Lee was playing have the magic lightening hands trick but none of them have the sheer intimidating terror that is Vader. Well the Emperor was close. He's pretty damn evil, but sure at the end of the day didn't Vader chuck him off to his death?

So case closed. Shut down the poll and stop talking bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

100% agreement with Amp.

Vader is the embodiment of the dark side, everyone else would be categorised as "I can't believe it's not Vader" or - "Utterly Vaderly" or "DairyVader" or, hell, even "Vaderine".

Vader is the butter in the fridge, cool as a cucumber - bad for your heart as lard. All other Darths are jumped up E numbers available to sit on the kitchen counter for years without going runny and mouldy - held in a constant state of genetic paralysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Vader is the white man who talks like a black man with some bass, says it all really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

Vader was some seniale elderly fart who was much like Mr.Burns out of the simpsons, he tried to be bad but he was just pathetic.

Vader was lucky the Empire didn't take away his bus pass and pension, he's also lucky the Empire didn't support euthanasia.

I disagree with Darth Space inVader Ampy
    And when he took of his mask in that Empire/Ewoks film. Ha ha.

Turns out Vader was just some confused fat overweight whitey.

And don't get me started on little Anakin in Episode 1.

Darth Maul is much better, or if not him at least Darth Ge@rge Buush.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

I voted Maul, I mean Vader...

...starts out as a pussy whipped kid, becomes Uber-Evil. Joins the dark side in the process. Kills his original master. Chases and threatens his kids, trys to make them evil too. Then goes all softy, saves his kids by killing his true master for several years and then kills himself so he can see his son with "his own eyes".

Pffft, reeks of cliché.

Maul had heart, he wanted to kill the Jedi. Didnt lie about it like Sidious, or hide behind masks like Vader. And wasnt as pathetic as Tyranus getting beaten up by a trumped up muppet ;)

And he is pretty much the only one who took on 2 jedi simultaneously and killed one of them, his 2 bladed red light saber is awesome too.

Ivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    Vader is the white man who talks like a black man with some bass, says it all really.

"I always assumed you had sex with your bathers. I know I do (dirty grin)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

Gotta go along with Darth Maul

True, when I was a kid and I first saw Vader, you only had to look at him to know he was baaadd - but I reckon Maul was just a natural born mean killer - just what a sith should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

Darth Helmet was the greatest.
    For me there will only be one Darth,For niegh on twelve years there was only one,sure in retrospect he was not as spectacular or atheletic as maul.But at the time he was the most sinister villan on the planet.matched for sci fi badness only by the daleks. he was the measure by which all others are judged.

Vader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 ProtoN

MauL is my favourite Sith lord... He was only a padawan learner and still so powerful :) Imagine what would happen if he completed his training :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭Clinical Waste

Originally posted by JarJar bink
    Meesa liked da Dark Annie king , him ya very good, have good supa acting skill and very bad scary too. Anaine king skywalker was sa biggest.

BTW JarJar was (IS) possibly the most annoying character ever in the history of SciFi.
    What a twat whoever thought that one up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

Maul gets my vote

Vader was some seniale elderly fart who was much like Mr.Burns out of the simpsons, he tried to be bad but he was just pathetic.

Vader was lucky the Empire didn't take away his bus pass and pension, he's also lucky the Empire didn't support euthanasia.

I disagree with Darth Space inVader Ampy

And when he took of his mask in that Empire/Ewoks film. Ha ha.
    Turns out Vader was just some confused fat overweight whitey.
    And don't get me started on little Anakin in Episode1 with whiney youth Anakin.

Darth Maul is much better, or if not him at least Darth Ge@rge Buush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Rick Moranis... Dark Helmet.

--

Oh okay,... Vader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I dont have a clue. Each one is great in there own way: Maul for his great fighting and Vader for his giant helmet.. and that great hat he wears :D

Dark Atari Jaguar for me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭pauldeehan

So hard to choose....

Darth Maul?
    Darth Vader?

Hmmmmm.

Darth Vader.

Darth Sidious is more powerful than all of them, imagine having to face that decaying lump! If luke got within five feet he would have said "HOLY CRAP" and beaten the force outa him,

MMhhmm the ugliness is strong in you Palpatine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

In descending order of greatness:

Vader
    Dooku
    Maul
    Palpatine

No way Vader was useless, that old fart couldn't even control Luke, Jaba, Chewie, or Fett.

Vader was the Emperor's puppet and Pete Cushings puppet

Darth Maul would've kicked Vader's wrinkley ol @ss, Vader needs a walking frame not a light sabre.

Peter Cushing and Chris Lee would have owned them all.

Vader and Maul were both Palpatines puppets.

Maul had a double light sabre, why win he could only use one half at a time, but he can spin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Oooooo I R TEH SCARED!

Damn straight. as would anyone who ran into VADER.
    He is the original and best
    Maul didnt have teh same sorta....pizzaz as Vader did. by that I mean that Vader just oozed with Fear. and what was really scare was that this embodyment of Evil was once Human and annoying...stupid 8yr old...
    Maul had too much make-up. It wasnt really a Fear from the Heart with Maul more of a "Mommy!" type fear which wears off with experience.

Hey...there loadsa Sith lords not mentioned.
    Cant yee not have picked from some of the sith lords from the various Games?

Darth Helmet!
    So funny. Remember the scene where he was playing with all the little action figures. Making them kiss and so on. Ah, classic :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Dooku / Tyranus. The highlight of Episode 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Ah you still don't get it.

Darth Vader is a badass mofo in a least 3 films. He leads armies, no doubt commits genocide and torture on a number of occasions

Darth Maul lasts one film. Sends bots in to a village cos he's scared. Has to use a double sword. Fight's like a ballet dancer with the runs.

Maul is nothing more than a bit part, played by a stuntman rather than an actor.

Vader is also played by a non speaking part, but his voice is James Earl Jones and he is revealed to be Marlon Brando in Epsisode 6.

Just give it up, you know I'm right.

Obi-Wan kicked Darth Maul's ass in no time, and he wasn't even a Jedi Knight at the time really, just an apprentice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

Marlon Brando ???? Are you on drugs ???

That wasnt Marlon Brando it was an actor by the name of Sebastian Shaw

Marlon Brando ...pffff .....ahahaaaaahahaha

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Pfff Vader, he got owned by Luke ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Look.. Obi-wan kicked Darth Mauls ass.. all the spining and kicks did him nothing when he fell in two pieces down thebig hole!

Obi-Wan got a can of whupass off Vader... so who is the best? Vader!!! Though i think Dukoo had an amazing presence about him even more so than Vader... he just looks cooler. Vader was also very strong but a lot of that was machinery and not actual strength.

Darth Maul was just a British Martial arts dude having a laugh in makeup!

But at the end of the day, Darth Siddious.. the Emporor was the most powerful of the lot.. the only reason he was killed was his own apprentice Vader changed his alliegence.. something.. the only thing in fact he had not forseen and her was taken off guard as he was thrown down another big hole like Darth Maul! Though he killed Vader in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

yes i have to agree with amp (*barf*) Vader is by far the greatest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

What happens if Chris Lee dies before episode 3, who will replace him cos the guy is 81 at the moment and episode 3 hasnt even started filming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

oh man, i cant believe so many ppl voted for darth maul - he was so ****in weak its unreal

vader is definately the best darth, that voice, the gear, the force grip - amazing...although the guy in the new film is pretty shiny as well, finally a worthy successor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

despite the ****yness of ep:1 i really liked darth maul and his double bladed lightsaber [pity he had to die]:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Vader Wins hands down. Who the feck voted for Maul??
    Originally posted by Clinical Waste
    BTW JarJar was (IS) possibly the most annoying character ever in the history of SciFi.
    What a twat whoever thought that one up.

I think they were trying to recreate Harrison Ford's classic sarcastic comic relief, but failed miserably. Personally I think amp in a monkey suit would have been far better suited. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    What happens if Chris Lee dies before episode 3, who will replace him cos the guy is 81 at the moment and episode 3 hasnt even started filming.

It would harldy matter as according to the IMDB Chistopher Lee isn't even confirmed to be in Ep3 yet.

http://us.imdb.com/Credits?0121766

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

just watched A New Hope after seeing Phantom Menace again a few days ago and Darth Maul clearly owns Vader.

Poll closed, thread unstuck.

Dancing and double light sabres are pants.

Black helmets, strong in the force they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

Originally posted by Bard
    Rick Moranis... Dark Helmet.

oh ffs. why didnt i put that into the poll??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Bob the Unlucky Octopus

Vader easily- he just has that subtle menace about him- the way he slaughters those who fail him almost unerringly gives him 3 dimensions. Next is Tyrannus, he has a real presence on screen, the evil is more palpable. Darth Maul was a stuntman with makeup, a cardboard cutout. He was the martial arts version of Jar-Jar Binks in other words, except without the inane chatter. The characters are equally shallow, they add little to the film, Maul's shortcomings as a character are somewhat glossed over by the fact that he is the villain and therefore in the audience's mind is more important than he really is. And he gets owned by the oldest trick in the book, not very convincing. Vader comes out triumphant in every film, twice as Vader, and once as Anakin again. Tyrannus thus far has not only survived 2 jedi peons, but beaten them comfortably and with well-acted character, giving us something to look forward to. Unlike Maul who lies in two melted lumps at the bottom of a CGI pit on a CGI planet.

Just my opinion, if of course, you like kung-fu fighting, then perhaps Star Wars isn't for you :P

Occy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

If you were to put vader into the same room as maul, just like a pre-bout in a boxing match, vader would own maul just by his presance and malice about him. Never mind if they were to go head to head.

Maul would run off to his mommy, suck on his twin sabers and cry like a likkle gurly so much, his lovely red makeup would run down his wee cheeks.

Maul may do kung-fu and twiddle his saber about a bit, but vader is a master of the force. And this is what were talking about after all, the dark side, the force and who is the daddie of the darkside eh?