Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joyriders: Should they be shot.

• 13-05-2002 11:27pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok im after getting in from work, Just about!!! Waiting at the lights at the junction of ballinteer rd and grange rd thinking "its 12am will i break the lights??"
    Before i new it a bmw 318i went past the lights at a speed of about 100mph, slammed on the brakes did a couple of hand brakers and flew down the road again. As it passed me the second time i could see 3 or 4 teenagers in it, the car also had no lights on.

Now as far as joyriders go i think they are scum of the earth. Not giving a damn about other peoples cars/livelyhoods/lives. As can be seen from the death of two gardai on our roads last month and the injuring of three gardai in westmeath only a few days ago.

On the radio today i heard suggestions that the gards are looking to re-enforce they're cars with rolls bars and side impact protection systems. I think thats the wrong approach.

If a call comes in that Joyriders are spotted the Army or ARU (armed responce unit) should me mobilised and the Joyriders shot on site. I know there was outrage in the north when the army opened fire killing a few joyriders when they drove through a checkpoint without stopping. But which would you rather have, 4 dead joyriders or a dead Girlfriend ?, a dead Mother ? or yourself confined to a wheelchair for the rest of your life ??.

3 people in the last month have been killed by Joyriders in this country. A joyrider is like a landmine. Before you know it your are going along with your everyday honest business to be taken out by something that has absolutely no value, scum of the earth.

I had to get this off my chest because i really ****in hate the ****s.

Chief.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Hear, hear.

I am in total agreement.
    It always delights me when I hear news reports of "joyriders" being killed.
    I would be in favour of anything that would stamp out this fucking blight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Well said !!

Totally agree 100% !!
    It goes on nightly in an area near me, myself as well as my mother have personally experienced shocking near misses with these scum in the least few years.:mad:
    Its about time the gov woke up that these low-lifes are killing innocent people.
    It seems a bit odd that so-called 'joyriding' dont exist on the continent, our laws need updating to combat these parasites.

btw whatever happened to the garda use of the stingers ?
    They use to use them years ago to catch them.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

They should deal with it like they deal with stolen cars on COPS... get the choppers out with searchlights and follow them to the ends of the earth... then send them down for a looong time.

I can hear people moaning about resources... but why doesn't the government ditch their plans for the new srynge on O'Connell St. and one of the many stupid sports stadiums, and channel those funds where they're truly needed?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I was standing on a path in Cabra one night not so long back when one tore past me and took a T junction with no care as to what might be comming, they really have a death wish, or is it that they are so young they are under the misguided conception that they will live forever... either way, I agree, the army would be a good idea and if they are shot I certainly wouldn't care, why would I? they certainly don't! and one more time, where the hell are their parents???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

"Joyriders" - I use the term loosely, are scum. They don't give a **** about anyone on the roads, until it's too late.

However, nobody deserves to be shot on site. That's just plain silly to say "lets shoot people on site who break the law"...why not shoot shoplifters, TV licence dodgers and illegal dumpers? None of these are as serious offense as steaking a car and racing round the streets - but no matter what the crime, everyone is entitled to a fair trial.

It might make more sense to increase the places in prisons/detention centres for these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I like the idea of explosive GPS tracking devices... if they go anywhere near a car.. boom... or if they try and take it off! Some movies have good ideas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Lets take it a step further.

We could implant a small explosive device in the cranium of every child.
    And we could could programme it to explode whenver they try to break the law.

So next time you try to steal your bro's cookie (or his BWM) .. POOF ..
    If we make the explosive device small enough, it wouldnt even damage the cookie! (or set off the Alarm).

Oh hang on, maybe I'm over reacting.

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

ROTF

Me likes that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

If your car is in danger of being knicked by joyriders you have a choice, hook your car up to the mains. You could pulse the power going through the car so they don't die or anything like that, but why bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

As good as the idea sounds about shooting them on the spot, the army have a strict law about the shooting of someone.They are under civilian law all the time and they must have just cause to shoot someone other wise they can be charged with murder or man slaughter!if there is just cause and they carried out everything in the document below then its up to the army to get them off the charge!!! there is a document called the GOD6 or the GOC6 which sets out the rules to shoot someone!!! But your right they are the scum of the earth and heavier sentences should be imposed because its getting put of hand

Personally.. why waste the bullet? They're not really worth the cost. Just sell them to some african county as slaves. Maybe that way Ireland will become Debt Free :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I wonder how long it will take Ireland to implement Britain's -It's all the parents' fault law.

Joyriders? - Joyparents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

Its the parents fault to a large extent, yes, but then it was their parents fault for them... and so on. **** it, people can be responsible for themselves. You're in a cycle of poverty, well it sure as hell doesn't help if you keep stealing. Your circumstances in life have been crap? Very few of us have it very good anyway - we've all gotta try. People should be made responsible for their own actions, rather than blaming it on their environment - that way people will take their own actions more seriously.

"why not shoot shoplifters, TV licence dodgers and illegal dumpers?" Apart from the illegal dumpers, who might be poisoning the rivers, none of these people are a direct risk to others. Joyriders are contemptously committing potential manslaughter every time they take a handbrake turn, every wild move they do. They are well aware of the risk they are putting other people in so they are, similar to mental patients, killers and whatnot, a danger to society - society locks such people up to protect themselves. Forget the morality of it all, society's morals change all the time as needed to protect itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

The only problem i would have with shooting them would be if the car went out of control with no driver and caused more damage but that being said, definately shoot them. I wouldn't hesitate pulling the trigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Skippy

Any one thats caught should be tie to a car which is driven down the motorway. The car shouldnt be driven too quick. they must suffer before they die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Xterminator

If we make the explosive device small enough, it wouldnt even damage the cookie! (or set off the Alarm).

X

Bitchin'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Aspro

Joyriders: Should they be shot?

Can we include Bertie's election team with that?
    95mph wasn't it?

can we also include thos people who drive sooo slow that they're a danger to everyone? Usually old people, who have trouble looking over the steering wheel... Just blow them up if they ever sit in the driver seat

Muhahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Are we all vented now? Any hope of some intelligent debate at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

amp, read the threadline again....intelligent debate?!!!!

Okay if you insist...those convicted of "joyriding" should be
    sentenced to wheeling around/tiding up after/whatever else needs doing for car crash victims in hosptial for a month or two.
    I suspect that would change thier ways.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

[old man rant] i tell ya now you wouldn't get this kinda carry on if this was in the motors thread so you would'nt [/old man rant]

Joyriders' parents should have their cars taken from them. That might stop them.

Oh and Chief---, next time you need to verbally diarohea, do it elsewhere.

Ok?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I don't know about shooting them, but tbh, most of those idiots are just going to do it to themselves anyway. We need some kind of harsh action to try and curb this trend. Blaming it on the parents is fine, but alot of the time the parents either can't or won't dicipline thier child. Observe the use of the word child, because this is what these ppl are, there are many recorded cases of them being given suspended sentences for joyriding or minor crimes, and them going out and killing someone thru joyriding a few ngts later. (Was on Prime Time a while back methinks).

We need to cut this off at the source and try and apprehend these kids earlier and try to change their ways, or failing that keep them away from the public they endanger.

Then again it could be easier to just shoot them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Theyre showing about as much regard for human life as somebody firing an automatic rifle into a crowd - So treat em as such and shoot them imo. However such course of action has proven unpopular in the past, as Private (since been promoted) Lee Clegg can testify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

How about, and I know this is going to be revolutionary to some of you, but how about the government pays a lot of money to set up some alternative activities for these kids to do.

Now I know what youre thinking, youre thinking "Whoa!! This is some pretty ****ed up idea." but bear with me, lets not forget it was just one post ago we were talking about killing them.

Right so, I come from Ladyswell meself and the amount of joyriding that goes on there is scary, and there was a time when 2 lads from my area died while joyriding (please dont come on and say fcuk them they deserved it, if thats how you feel keep it to yourself). Now this was quite upsetting to the whole community, personally i wondered why, everyone knew they were at it, night after night, and I knew it was just a time bomb just something waiting to happen, I wasn't shocked in the least, a little saddened maybe because I had been in their class for years.

Coming from Ladyswell I happen to know all the activities and events that one can get up to there, and this was about 6 years ago, so if theres **** all now, there was even less then. There is a new community centre built there just this year (well last year technically, but I dont think its opened yet) and while this may help things, its too little far too late because there are about 1000 new homes being right beside what is quite a small community centre, and thats all there is in the area of Ladyswell, now sure they could go down to the blanchardstown centre only 30 minutes walk away, but there is nothing to do down there for free, apart from the library (and while that would fascinate me, its not everybodies idea of fun). So there is frankly nothing for these kids to do.

When asked why they joyride, joyriders usually answer "for deh buzz like" but if you persist you usually get down to "durs bleedin nuttin else ta do". Now this means simply that they are bored, and while this isnt a great excuse to go out and risk lives (is there a good reason?) neither is it a good reason to shoot them on site.

So before we go wasting resources chasing joyriders down and then shooting them, why not build resources and things to do so that these kids never get so bored as to say yes when they are asked to get into a stolen car.

Baz_

<mumble>shoot people, I sometimes wonder about you people</mumble>

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Originally posted by amp
    Oh and Chief---, next time you need to verbally diarohea, do it elsewhere.

Ok?

Cheers.

Ehh amp i dont know you and dont particularly want to know you, but whats exactly is your trip ??

I submitted a post on boards giving my views on a particular subject, alot of people replied with relavant posts and gave some very good points..

Have you a problem with that or what ???

(cant believe im wasting my time posting this)

Chief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Biffa Bacon

If you want to spend money on resources to give these kids something to do so then do so on its own merit, not as a "bribe" to stop them joyriding. There is no substitute for proportional judicial punishment as a solution to criminal activity. Anyone who joyrides should be automatically disqualified from driving or owning a car for at least ten years and should also be put to work for the State for a period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by Biffa Bacon
    If you want to spend money on resources to give these kids something to do so then do so on its own merit, not as a "bribe" to stop them joyriding. There is no substitute for proportional judicial punishment as a solution to criminal activity. Anyone who joyrides should be automatically disqualified from driving or owning a car for at least ten years and should also be put to work for the State for a period of time.

How about nailing this guy? http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/ireland/2002/0504/1919128778HMSPEED.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Kopf

Originally posted by Xterminator

X

thank you for taking the piss out of this bull**** before i had a chance. I can't believe that there are people who agree with this fvcking lunacy.

"Joyriders should be shot", it's something a fvcking ten-year-old moron would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Biffa Bacon

Originally posted by Victor

How about nailing this guy? http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/ireland/2002/0504/1919128778HMSPEED.html
    Definitely.

"Let justice be done though the heavens fall" etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Jambo

Looks like someone is starting to treat large number's of joyriders round mulhuddart to free knee caping's

Good on them.. Can somebody see if they can order this service for the sounthside ??
    Thats why as you travel north in this country you see less and less cases of joyriders killing people...

Taken from the Irish times....

The problem is there isn't enough of them," says another pensioner in Poleglass. "Punishment attacks might be a rough form of justice but if we were to rely on the police, there would be no justice at all," says his son.

"Joyriders have plagued this community for years. They have killed women and children."

While opposed to "punishment" attacks, former IRA prisoner Anthony McIntyre admits they are popular in the community.

Many of the victims of IRA punishments are joyriders. The police are reluctant to respond to reports of stolen vehicles for fear of IRA ambushes and booby trap bombs. The IRA steps into this vacuum and takes action against joyriders under the guise of 'reluctantly responding to community pressure.' In this way the IRA takes credit for clearing up a mess which it has largely contributed to creating in the first place!

Once again though we must look not at the IRA’s targets so much as it s reasons for attacking them. The IRA’s main reason for carrying out punishments is to reinforce its rule over the territory it controls. People are encouraged to contact the 'Republican movement' if they are concerned about crime, rather than calling the police (or doing something about it themselves). The less the RUC enters the Catholic ghettos, the better the IRA likes it, since it gives their members greater freedom to go about their activities. Anyone who, even inadvertently, fouls up an IRA operation by calling the police into a Catholic area instantly turns themselves into an informer and faces the ultimate penalty: death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Ah yes. Lovely to see that when the system fails, you always have good ol' reliable vigilante-ism to rely on.

Why seek to improve the situation, when we can simply encourage more violence?

Nice to see how sacred life is really considered. Its not OK for a joyrider to kill someone, but it is ok for someone to kill a joyrider.

jc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Humm. You can use my Garand if you wish. I think you should use a headshot for it.... make it messy :D

Originally posted by bonkey

Its not OK for a joyrider to kill someone, but it is ok for someone to kill a joyrider.

jc

Yup fine by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I thought this would have been locked ages ago :D (no offence Si).

The penalties overall for driving offences in this country are too lenient. There should only be 3 trivial motoring offences and they are parking offences, minor speed infringments, and careless driving (driving without due care and attention). If I have missed one, please remind me.

All other offences should carry stiff penalties.
    No insurance, DUI - Lifetime ban, confiscation of vehicle + stiff fine.
    Death by dangerous driving - min. 5 years, regardless of how many previous convictions.

All others, eg. gross speeding, dangerous driving, road rage, should carry a minimum of 6 months driving ban, a licence endorsment for 5 years, and a small fine.

Crap drivers/Joyriders/Scumbags get away with way too much in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Culchie Boy

All joyriders should not be treated the same. if a joyrider is caught and nobody is hurt they should get life imprisionment,. but if they kill somebody or leave them in a wheelchair they should be hanged not shot shooting them is too quick. I also think it is a disgrace that the death penalty is not in Ireland i would feel safer if it was. just say for instance if i killed somebody i would get life imprisionment, i would be kept in 5 star prisions and be released after about 15 years what sort of justice is that ?. The death penalty is the only job for em.

Originally posted by seamus
    I thought this would have been locked ages ago :D (no offence Si).

It's been very close to getting locked seamus, but some people are actually making relevant and indeed interesting points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by amp

It's been very close to getting locked seamus, but some people are actually making relevant and indeed interesting points.

/me likes to point out the 3-4 relevant posts :D:D

The Irish justice system has a history of being lenient to areas such as this. For some reason, Irish people ("The Public") seem to think that if teenagers get drunk (or drugged off their faces), go out steal a car, and then kill someone, well, thats ok. They're kids and as such should be let off because they'll grow up. What a load of crap.

If Ireland must take the lenient way, (not that i believe they should, but this IS an alternative) why not go the hacker way? America has promoted their way of dealing with child hackers, crackers, and phreakers. Ban then from computers. Ireland can do similiar. Look we can all admit that living in Ireland without a car, is hell, especially if you live outside a city, so ban them from cars for the next 30 years. They go near a car, then they're liable for higher punishment. At least this way, the irish courts will feel, that they've been somewhat lenient towards young offenders.

We can kill them anytime, might as well make their lives as uncormfortable as possible. Death is an easy release for scum like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by klaz
    Look we can all admit that living in Ireland without a car, is hell, especially if you live outside a city, so ban them from cars for the next 30 years. They go near a car, then they're liable for higher punishment.

I think you'll find that plenty of them already have substantial driving bans imposed, but it's very difficult to police. Someone came out with a figure recently that 1 in 5 people drive uninsured, yet they're not getting caught. The only way someone with a driving ban is going to get caught is if they're stopped. I have never been stopped (except at a checkpoint). It should also be madatory to carry a licence, and gardai should set up random checkpoints to check drivers are carrying it. No licence on you? Get out of your car and walk, then reclaim your car from the impound when you present your licence.

I already said it, but I'll say it again, traffic laws in this country are far too lenient.

--- I already said it, but I'll say it again, traffic laws in this country are far too lenient ---

so cut off their hands, like they respond to stealing in the Arab nations. Hardly humane but effective.

lNo. I dont really see it happening. Nothing will change in this country until a number of politicans or rich businessmen loose family due to joyriders. We all know nothing will change. Ireland/Europe loves the "soft" approach to everything crime related..

I dont agree with the death sentence, because i dont really think its a punishment. I don't fear dying. So they probably dont either.

But, Hey, maybe ireland will have a tribunal to figure out the way to stop this... :rolleyes: (which will take 5 yrs, and 1.5 mill euros, and still decide on nothing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Originally posted by angel_of_death
    Looks like someone is starting to treat large number's of joyriders round mulhuddart to free knee caping's

Really?

First I heard about it (then again I am in Germany at the moment) but it does sound promising, a step in the right direction ;)