Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transformers

• 29-04-2002 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭

Whatever happened to the transformers?? i mean did they just dissapear???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Spiffing

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

no way man, they'll live forever man, transfomers the movie 1 and 2 recently came out on dvd. i nearly bought them:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭banbutcher

movie!!! tell me more!!!! i think they (being the forces who can) should make a film of transformers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

yep the dvd of the movie is on sale down in the childrens section of hmv, i got it last month
    transfomers the movie 1 and 2 recently came out on dvd

nope, theres no second movie im afraid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭pauldeehan

Transformers. Can hardly even remember them now...
    I still think the baddies should have one. I mean, they became sonic jets and tanks and guns. What did the goodies become?

Trucks, Volkswagen Beetles? em...right.

too true, but we know that volkswagon beetles are one of the most reliable cars in the world!!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Well .. transformers are making a MASSIVE tour-de-force come back (in the comic-book world at least).

And the toys are slowly becoming available again (albeit not in their former glory .... yet)

And the DVD's are being released.

We have the Movie, the original series DVD 1 & 2, and that god-awful "generation two" dvd /me shudders at the sacrilage

generation 2?????

generation 2 if i remember was when they started messing around with CGI in transformers. It was horrible, ugly looking stuff...... But the movie, now that was a piece of art. Im still perplexed today how they managed to get the likes of Orson Welles and Leonard Nimoy on board

wicked, im gonna have to download it some where!!

Originally posted by banbutcher
    generation 2?????

Don't ask ... its the original series "with jazzed up" stuff (read: f*cking annoying "hi-tech" borders n'stuff which just distract from the cartoon)

dose ne one know where i might per chance download it?? i aint into buying stuff

ah go on, buy it
    its not that expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

if you mad enough to spend more than £11.99 on a phone bill you can download a 444mb divx copy off kazaa.

whose to say im not!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Get Kazaa Lite and do a serch for Transformers and you'll find loads of audio clips and cartoon episodes from the series that used to be on tv.

ye know, i think i might actually have some of the original toys at home..

[edit]
    ARRRGH NOO!!! i remember i gave them to my neighbours kid about 6 years ago. oh what a waste of that priceless memorabilia! :( [/edit]

hehe, i stole the movie from my local video rental when i was 6. then i moved house and left it behind.:mad: im pretty sure i saw a transformers 2 dvd in hmv, maybe not:confused: . the only scene i remember form the film is the big battle at the start, it ruled!!!!:D

[what was the leader of the good guys called again, the big articulated truck???]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Transformers: Robots in disguise!

Eh. You can get the DVD...i dont know why it stopped. One of the best shows i have ever seen...although its been a while since i last saw them :D

Originally posted by Jimeatsmenu
    im pretty sure i saw a transformers 2 dvd in hmv, maybe not:confused:

Transformers: Generation 2

ie. the original series with some god-f*cking-awful cgi tacked on needlessly.

Personally, who ever thought up that drivel, and whomever approved it should have their genitalia removed with a spoon whilst having caustic soda poured over the wounds :mad:

. the only scene i remember form the film is the big battle at the start, it ruled!!!!:D

Indeed it did (and does) rock. Serious amount of slaughter on both sides.

what was the leader of the good guys called again, the big articulated truck???

That would be "Optimus Prime".

Followed by Ultra Magnus (the movie)
    followed by "Rodimus Prime" (formerly "Hot Rod" - the movie)
    Followed by Optimus Prime (later cartoon double-episode that rocked :D)
    Followed by PowerMaster (optimus) Prime (can't remember his name)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭viking

There was a mention of Transformers on /. today, here's the link.

Also have a look at the official Transformers site.
    This fall, Hasbro will introduce a new segment called TRANSFORMERS ARMADA. In addition to change and combination, TRANSFORMERS ARMADA features a new play pattern for the TRANSFORMERS brand -- integration. The line and television show will feature a new breed of TRANSFORMERS robots called MINI-CON TRANSFORMERS. These MINI-CON TRANSFORMERS robots "plug" into larger TRANSFORMERS robots from the different assortments to enhance battle features and unlock hidden features, bringing more exciting elements of play and discovery for kids and collectors.

Ahhh, the memories.... Now what did I do with my beloved Metroplex???

viking

that transformers site, if possiable sucks and blows at the same time!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

was in Smyths recently , and they are selling Transformers for like 12EUR. Bought the Movie off Amazon, also nabbed an episode of the web. altough HMV is selling them for like 10EUR on VHS.! they should be brought back onto TV for repeats. savage show!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Lemming
    And the toys are slowly becoming available again (albeit not in their former glory .... yet)/me shudders at the sacrilage

Oh man those were brilliant! I still have most ive my transformers although most are not in excellent nick due to over use but man i think i played with them for 3/4 years none stop. Folks didnt have any trouble finding me bday and crimbo pressies :) That ofcourse is before i lost my imagination.

I have the theme tune too :)

P.S. Sorry for the rambling im on a nostalga(sp?) buzz atm :D

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie

Oh man those were brilliant! I still have most ive my transformers although most are not in excellent nick due to over use but man i think i played with them for 3/4 years none stop. Folks didnt have any trouble finding me bday and crimbo pressies :) That ofcourse is before i lost my imagination.

Apparently, Hasbro are contemplating re-releasing the ORIGINAL toy-line.

Ohboysohoboysohboy!! :D

Nostalgia-central (and creditcard-max-out) here I come!! :D

I've still got a rake of my old transformers including the PowerMaster Optimus Prime, and "JetFire". Anyone remember him?? :) That HUGGGEEEEE metal autobot fighter-jet (same design as the Robotech cartoon series' veritech fighters)

(I am such a child sometimes!! .. god the coolness of being 10, 11, 12 again and in the throes of transformer-mania :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

The orignal series is out on DVD (saw it in Amazon) the first series is on fox kids in Amreica and is doing quiet well thats why the toys are been released again there as popular now as they were in the mid 80's in America

Let's all emigrate to the US and partake of the wholesome goodness of Transformer-nostalgia

I'm half-crazy enough to do it too ;)

my favourite one was the leader of the bad guys' right hand robot. the jet with the really annoying voice, [ i think he got shot down at the start of the movie]. cant remeber his name, but he, as did they all, rock!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

I've still got a rake of my old transformers including the PowerMaster Optimus Prime, and "JetFire". Anyone remember him?? :) That HUGGGEEEEE metal autobot fighter-jet [/i]
    Hmm i cant remember exactly what ones i have ill have to go find em which ill do tomorrow :) ill get back to you on it. Nostalgia here i come(better then study thats what i say:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by banbutcher
    Whatever happened to the transformers?? i mean did they just dissapear???

They are robots in disguise. For all you know your car is one of them :D

I have the toy of Optimus Prime, the version where he has the big car carrier trailer on the back and he merges with it and gets a new head. I cant remember the name of it though.
    Can you get the film in HMV Grafton St.? I might just make a trip in there tomorrow, it being pay day and all. May just have to buy some of the episodes too.
    Ah, I remember the days, I used to get up and set the vcr to tape them on Sky or TCC (cant remember which one). I just wish I still had them on video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

Can you get the film in HMV Grafton St?

Saw them in Blanch HMV, so you should be able to get them in Grafton st. as its a way bigger store.

my favourite one was the leader of the bad guys' right hand robot. the jet with the really annoying voice, [ i think he got shot down at the start of the movie]. cant remeber his name, but he, as did they all, rock!!!

That would be "StarScream" - and yes, he gets wasted about a third of the way through the Movie by Galvatron (formerly Megatron)

Originally posted by Makaveli

They are robots in disguise. For all you know your car is one of them :D

/me runs out to daddy's car and starts talking to it :D

I have the toy of Optimus Prime, the version where he has the big car carrier trailer on the back and he merges with it and gets a new head. I cant remember the name of it though.

That would be the PowerMaster Prime version - I've got that one too.

Can you get the film in HMV Grafton St.?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭schrodinger

They are certainly not dead. There is a new comic book series out at the moment adn its cool. The first issue had three cover editions, a autobot one, a decepticon one and a holographic/foil cover. I nearly bought the GEN 2 Optimus Prime with the black trailer but it got sold before i could get it. I'm getting a poster and a t-shirt with Optimus Prime standing on the Autobot logo saying "Transform and Roll Out!" The Transformers have sertainly not died. Just go to any comic book store and see. Just dont get any of the new toys because they are an abomination!!!! They are not the toys u had as a child dont delude yourself into thinking that they are. They have destroyed them. Optimus Prime is now a fire truck and Grimlock is now a digger and the constructicons are now autobots.

i used to have one of those supertransformers, it split up to make about 5 normal ones, i only have the legs left in my attic though:( . i hope they do release all the toys again!!

[btw, i think this is the best thread ever started:D ]

To follow up on what
    schrodinger said, there is indeed a new comic book series just released by dreamwave studios, and the artwork is outstanding :)

I also have a preview of a SECOND comic series due to start, which has been mentioned earlier in the thread, but in relation to the toys, and that is "Armada". Looks VERRRRRy funky :D

Btw . .. there's a new comic store behind the Foggy Dew in Temple Bar that has the toy of "Fortress Maximus" (y'know, that ultra-rare 2ft toy??). I tried to buy the thing with my credit card only to be told it had already been sold for an "undisclosed, but absurd" amount of money ... feck :(

I've only ever seen that thing once before, and that was when I was about 12, sitting int he window of "Toy Master" on Talbot St. It was the prize for a competition. My dad had to beat me off the window-glass :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

Has anyone seen the Transformers original series DVDs in town?

Originally posted by DrunkLeprachaun
    Has anyone seen the Transformers original series DVDs in town?

Yes. I've seen one of the DVD's in Forbidden Planet.

Alternatively, just order the boxed set from play.com or something (region 1 only min dyou)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

Forbidden Planet has DVDs? Since when?

Went into HMV today. Movie was sold out so I ordered it instead. Got the series only to find out when I got home that it was Gen2. :mad: It's ok though, if you dont pay attention to the stupid computer bits cutting up the cartoon it's grand. At least it's the original cartoon in there (somewhere).
    2 weeks 'til I get my dvd and counting :D .

I was in there last saturday.

So either they have DVD's or else I was hallucinating ...... badly ..... :D

Originally posted by Makaveli
    Got the series only to find out when I got home that it was Gen2. :mad: It's ok though, if you dont pay attention to the stupid computer bits cutting up the cartoon it's grand. At least it's the original cartoon in there (somewhere).

That Generation2 is an abomination. It's sacrilage and who ever had the "bright" idea of coming up with it should be hung, drawn, tarred, feathered, subjected to electro-torture, made to listen to daniel o'donnell for 24 hours, and then quartered.

I hate it so much that I wont watch the damn thing. I've ordered the entire original series in a boxed set from play.com (region 1) :D yum yum

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

They've been selling DVD's for ages now. they are on the left hand side as you go in.

Well Gen2 will have to do for now because I have to wait about 2 weeks before I can get the movie as it's sold out.
    Anyway, having not seen Transformers in ages it was good enough for me. I actually got really giddy when watching it and spent all my time after watching it with a big smile on my face.
    I'm such a 10 year old.

btw lemming i think u know WAAYYY to much about transformers, ur makin then rest of us look bad.:p

Welll ..... I DO try y'know ;) hehe

But seriously though, I suppose the reason why I remember so much about transformers is probably that it was, for me, THE defining following of the 1980s and, consequently, my early/mid childhood.

Imean, I remember watching THE very first episode one fateful sat. morning that would change my childhood forever :D

I had (still do??) most of the orignial comics too, and quite a few of the toys. Even managed to pester my older sister into taking me to see the movie in the "Ormonde" cinema in stillorgan :D

Whislt I think that Robotech was the greatest cartoon series I ever saw in terms of scope/depth/etc, the most defining (for me) was and always will be, Transformers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Volvagia

Followed by Optimus Prime (later cartoon double-episode that rocked :D)

Optimus comes back??
    Why was i not imformed!!!

I have the movie on divx and it fookin rox! i have it on video years ago with all the toys but foolishly i gave them all away to my smaller relations!! (however i plotting a scheme to retrieve them in the next few weeks!)

Anyone remember that annoying bastard StarScreem! the plane decepticon dude who always tried to take over from megatron. what a bastard! at least he was beaten by Galvatron!

Actually Starscream was kinda cool in the fact that any chance he got he would try to take over the Decepticons.
    Megatron trips over a rock.
    Starscream: Megatron is weak, I am now your leader.
    What a chancer.

Actually I saw the movie in the Ormonde too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Humm. I think this has gone too far, Its getting to the point of spooking me :confused:

Optimus comes back??

That double episode where he comes back is called, suprise,suprise - "Return of Optimus Prime". ive got it on my comp. The Autobots/'Cons contract a disease which induces hate and makes every transformer fight each other. Someone eventually rebuilds Prime and he sets about using the power of the Matrix to yada yada yada. The End. Towards the end of that episode i think they introduced a whole load of new transformers i.e. bumblebee becomes Goldbug.

It was Quality stuff really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭dysfunct

Any Transformers fans should check out this site:

www.dreamwaveprod.com

For my favourite Transformer images on the site and soon to be yours,
    CLICK HERE

Theres a huge one of Predaking, its 243k, but its damn cool.

Enjoy!!!

Originally posted by SofaKing

That double episode where he comes back is called, suprise,suprise - "Return of Optimus Prime". ive got it on my comp. The Autobots/'Cons contract a disease which induces hate and makes every transformer fight each other. Someone eventually rebuilds Prime and he sets about using the power of the Matrix to yada yada yada. The End. Towards the end of that episode i think they introduced a whole load of new transformers i.e. bumblebee becomes Goldbug.

It was Quality stuff really

he's not dead as far as I can remember. Isn't he resurrected. They accidentally discover his tomb, and discover its empty and he's been resurrected??

But I can remember watching the entire thing and going OMG this Rocks!! :D

Now .. onto more important things .. you HAVE this on your pc?? :D *hint hint*