Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic

• 22-04-2002 9:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭

Can someone explain to me why i am expected to support Celtic, just because I'm Irish.

If you are you Irish (and Catholic - cant have any huns), you are expected to support some Scottish club in a piss poor league. Why? dont see the connection?

On another point. Shouldnt the old firm derbies be fixed later than 12.00

It really must be very awkward for all the supporters when Sunday Mass is usually on at this time.

I suppose they must catch the earlier services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

lol, true, and scottish football sucks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

the games are on early so the supporters dont have a chance to drink that much b4 them to be honest..

Celtic was founded by an Irish Monk in the east part of Glasgow in 1888 to give the irish ppl something to do, somehting to be a part of..

http://www.celticfc.net/ifyouknow/history.htm

No one is forcing you to support Celtic. Lots of Irish people support Celtic, and lots Scotish Celtic supporters support Ireland. At the same time lots of Irish ppl support Man U or Liverpool etc

Support who you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

It does seam strange to get slaged and beaten up for not being nationalistic enough to support a scottish team in an english sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Fu<king hell, here we go again - PAGING WHITEWASHMAN TO THIS THREAD, WHITEWASHMAN TO THIS THREAD STAT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

No-one is forcing you indeed. I have plenty of mates, and can't really say any of them are huge Celtic fans, more like they'd cheer them on if they caugh the match on tv. Why should they prefer them to Rangers? I dunno, the whole anti-Catholic signing policy of Rangers which was around until recently doesn't reflect well on the club, aswell as the aforementioned Irish links. And Derek D, I don't know where you live, but presumably if you're getting beaten up for not supporting Celtic you're in glasgow. Or else you live on a nacker estate here, where not supporting Celtic is just an excuse. That or you have a punchable looking head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

So why dont the mongos (Oops sorry - Celtic supporters) support Hibernians. Their history is just as Irish as Celtic

Would it be acceptable to wear a Hibs jersey at an Ireland game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

yea, nothing wrong with hibs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

In fairness, Hibs call their ground Easter Park after the rising.
    Celtic have many, many fans, who are active republicans, there is a definite link, fair enough. however, the barinless Brits Out Brigade who have no connection to Republicanism are sad bastards indeed, they think that by knowing the chorus of the Fields of Athenry and wearing a Celtic shirt that they are tru Republicans. Supporting English clubs is blatantly supporting a foreign team, and their fans dont have any pretence to be supporting an "Irish team based in Scotland" or some such bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Pigman

I'm Irish and I follow football and don't support Celtic. Despite the fact that I don't really consider them Irish their supports are bigots and I wouldn't want to have anything to do with such people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

It's a 'thing' that makes you 'Irish'. In any social group there's always a common ground, something shared that becomes part of your identity. Every guy I know supports Celtic and some Premiership team. Nobody says you have to give a rat's ass about Celtic - just buy a shirt every few years :)

Of course there's an anti-hun, anti-prodestant, anti-english side to it, but nobody I know really gives a toss. We all shout out IRA while singing the Fields of Athenry, but none of us is going to go out and actually join the IRA. It's simply a part of our culture to sing these songs. It's something we do together; like supporting (hypocritically) the British Lions.

And sure - what's wrong with Celtic? Martin O' Neil's doing a great job and you rarely see them play with less then their whole heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

I don't support Celtic. But I'm not bothered by Irish people following Celtic any more than I'd be bothered by them supporting any other British club. But what pisses me off is when Irish people use their Celtic-supporting credentials to prove their Irishness, yet don't know anything about Irish sports (be it hurling, rugby, soccer, whatever). Granted - this is not the case with all Irish Celtic fans, but there are a few (in Dublin particularly). Plus, I'll never support Celtic while that whole republican thing exists under the surface (pro-IRA chanting). It's sickening.

Blitzkrieger

"Of course there's an anti-hun, anti-prodestant, anti-english side to it, but nobody I know really gives a toss. We all shout out IRA while singing the Fields of Athenry, but none of us is going to go out and actually join the IRA. It's simply a part of our culture to sing these songs. It's something we do together"

Ah sure tis all great craic.

And all de boyis were having a laugh.

**** the huns, PPOP, Prod bastards, Up the Ra, C'mon Cetic.
    Oh Ah up the Ra. F***** hun C***s.

Ah sher tis great craic. Me with all the lads and there were couple of english lads.

Tan Bastards. He's a Prod. bastard

A but sher its great craic.

Hey Blitzkrieger,
    Next time you are watching Celtic with the boyes, give me a bell. Sounds great. Afterall,

"It's something we do together"

Yeah Blitzkrieg's attitude sums it up really. Anti-Protestantism is not something thats in my culture, that my mates and I do together, half of the pish of your argument is that you think its normal to support a team in such a pathetic way. If it wasn't so genuinely damaging to Irish sports, it would even be funny.
    But sure its great craic, buy the jersey every few years and probably walk down the road wearing it until someone asks you " Did you see Agathe's goal today", to which you stare blankly.

It isn't fair to tar all Celtic supporters with the same brush, and the same applies to Rangers fans.

I get the distinct feeling that a few people who have posted here get the feeling that Pro-IRA chants and so on are to be heard clearly in Celtic park, when the opposite is true. The club has cracked down hard on that sort of behaviour, and lately it has been the away games that has featured that sort of behaviour. To be fair, the club has tried to rid itself of sectarianism, and if some of the fans don't attempt to do the same to themselves, it's their problem, and the club shouldn't be criticised for it.

I don't like the mock-republican sympathies exuded by many 'fans' either, and I certainly do not chant 'IRA' under any circumstances. Neither do I like people who start blathering on about how they don't support celtic and they're irish. What do you want? A medal? The funny thing is they're absolutely no different to the people they're whining about. Each man to his own, and stop rubbishing other peoples interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Bugler, I agree with you. I would love to know how many of the posters here have actually been to games in England or Scotland not to mind Celtic Park.

As is in a lot of grounds in the UK you have you small minority of bigots, racists or fascists. Thousands of Irish travel over every week and would not even dream of singing any pro-IRA songs. Admittedly there are those who do and there are those who believe in it.

Personally I couldnt give a p1ss about the IRA but to to be told be some idiot that its wrong for me to support Celtic because I am Irish and a few supporters sing republican songs is absolute crap.

>I don't like the mock-republican sympathies exuded by many 'fans' either

I don't know about anyone else but the point I was making was that there are actually active republicans who support Celtic and did so when they were ****e and didn't sell shirts by the moxyload in Dublin and other places. The PLC has cracked down on IRISH songs, sectarian songs is another issue. For every active republican supporting Celtic, however, there are 200 plastic paddies, who follow because of success and perceived Irishness. Its these that give Celtic fans a bad name. If they just got on with supporting their team instead of indulging the "Irish" and "up the RA" crap, they would have a better reputation.

bugler & Bucks73,

The two above reckon that its is only "some Celtic fans" who chant pro-RA songs.

C'mon fellas who are ye trying to kid?

have ye ever been in a pub after a Celtic match, Wolfe Tones blaring

"Oh Ah up the Ra".

But only a small minority sing that bit, Oh no, us real supporters never would chant such things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 umdie

Nobody wants you as a Celtic supporter anyway you stupid fu<k
    Just because you are a Celtic supporter doesn't mean you are a devout catholic. Football is football and you support whoever your club is and not the league.

Originally posted by Bateman
    Yeah Blitzkrieg's attitude sums it up really.

You have to use the -er people :) BlitzKrieg is another user.

I probably expressed myself badly. I didn't convey the sense of shared community - or that the negative aspects are much less than heart-felt. Hmmm - that's still not phrased right.

I'm sort of half-way between a hardcore Celtic fan and somebody who just buys the jersey to fit in. My interest in soccer ebbs and flows and when it's at a high point I watch 5-6 matches a week, supporting United and Celtic. At a low point I'd watch a match a fornight and wouldn't have a clue how Celtic are getting on. It's something that's pretty common.

Irvine Welsh says 'you can always tell the guys who aren't getting any by their interest in the fitba'.
    Originally posted by Bateman
    If it wasn't so genuinely damaging to Irish sports

I have no interest in Irish sports (apart from rugby) and that sort of attitude is what manonthemoon is arguing against.

And turn down the sarcasm manonthemoon :) It's the difference between hitting Bill Gates with a custard pie and taking a chainsaw to him.

Sarcometer on FULL POWER

Umbie quotes
    "Nobody wants you as a Celtic supporter anyway you stupid fu<k
    Just because you are a Celtic supporter doesn't mean you are a devout catholic. Football is football and you support whoever your club is and not the league."

Let me clear my throat - Cough!

Point 1 - I have been approached by numerous Celtic Supporters clubs, and Celtic Football club to join as a supporter. I have been offered cash incentives, cars, jewellery, women and the complete Wolfe Tones back catalogue. As of yet, I have declined

Point 2 - "Just because you are a Celtic supporter doesn't mean you are a devout catholic."

No ****

Point 3 - Rangers for the Cup

Like I say, I can't answer for the majority of Celtic fans. I've been in many pubs after games, and have sat with many Celtic fans where there was no chanting of anything relating to the IRA. If you brush the chip off your shoulder and take deep breaths next time you see some Celtic fans, who presumably are demanding that because you're Irish you should put on a hooped jersey, you might find that your anal fixation passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah

okay back to the question asked.......

you are not expected to support celtic just beause you are irish - it just so happen's that there are strong links between ireland and Glasgow celtic football club

you are free to support any club / team / organisation you wish...

and i would like to know who it is exactly that expects you to support Cetic???

Ah, I'm bored now

watch 5-6 matches a week,

I assume that Blitzkrieg<er> (got it this time) means he watches 5-6 football matches on TV per week. Anyway, for reasons probably best known to himself he seems to equate his time spent watching football (on TV of course) to "how much he is getting".

BTW Irvine Welsh has a Hibs season ticket but rarely uses it. Funny that.

actually that was a joke..........and a hint at 'there's more to life than football'.

>'there's more to life than football'.

That phrase has always been lost on me. The only time there is more to life than football is after the game is over. For around a day or two after your team has lost. And youv'e been at the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

My sentiments exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah

hell yeah eat , drink and sleep football!!!!!!

Put it this way - if you had the choice of playing a game of soccer or having a shag - which would you choose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 dicey_reilly

k fellas im a gurl

and a devout celtic fan

but thats d way iv bn raised

and i think u lot are a pack of plonkers actin like this!!

"oh boo celtic fans for the way dey act"
    "boo cos they r anti-british protestant etc"

u really sound pathetic""!!!!!
    i bet u all r goin out shoutn and roarn at d celtic games and fn and blindin bout d english d ira etc!!!

ur all 2faced and losers !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

you sound cool dicey, can i hang around with you?

ur msg box is full!!!
    pm me

its tru though these fellas r pathetic!
    just cos they dont like wot sumbody else is doin diesnt mean they have to dis it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Originally posted by dicey_reilly
    its tru though these fellas r pathetic!
    just cos they dont like wot sumbody else is doin diesnt mean they have to dis it!

u kno u don look kewl typin like dis, in fact u sound like a phukin wankah :rolleyes:

>>just cos they dont like wot sumbody else is doin diesnt mean they have to dis it!

Eh, ye t dus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭CHRISTYG

Did you know that Kenny Dalglish, Celtic's greatest player in the modern era (possibly ever, but certainly in my lifetime-I'm 35) is a Protestant???? By the way, I'm NOT biased either way, being (for my sins a Kilmarnock fan!) but, although I was brought up a Rangers fan, when a Celtic game is on TV, I actually join in with the Celtic fans singing "The Fields of Athenry" but only because I love that song!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Who said dicey the spammer was allowed to post

Anyway here`s someting constructive:

Celtic fans are a bunch of D i c k s right...

And Rangers fans are all C u n t s ... right

Put them together and you get a right f u c k i n g pair..

hehehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Jake

Personally I gotta wonder if many of you who are posting have ever actually been to Parkhead?
    Apart from oldfirm day there is no secterian chanting within the ground.
    Fair enough there is plenty of republican imagery in the pubs and around the stadium but I dont know of many grounds around england where ye cant buy BNP literature or hear obscene chanting ............
    There has never been a secterian signing policy within Celtic FC and many prodestants have played for the club, indeed the present Chairman (Mcleaod) is a prodestant, so to suggest other wise is wrong.
    There are also strong link between the club and Ireland, it has an Irish manager, was formed by Irish immagrants, the major shareholders are all irish apart from the financial institutions and indeed the club themselves openly say that "it is a scottish club with proud Irish roots" , plus the majority of those who attend games are either Irish born or of an Irish backround. It might also be worth noting, for what its worth, that the three flags that always fly over the stadium on match day are the club flag, a saltire (green and white, NOT blue) to represent the scots/irish nature of the club and the Irish Tricolour.

I agrree that the quality of football on show in scotland is crap but then again if we all followed football purely for the technical aspects of the game then everyone on the planet would be wearing Real Madrid shirts so there has got to be more to football than that!

If ye choose not to support Celtic fc, fine, but please know the facts before you start judging and dont believe everything the D4 media tell ye

Cheers
    Jake

There was article by Hugh Linehan on this very issue in the Irish Times magazine on Saturday. He was commenting on the very narrow-minded Nationalism that's been flourishing in the Republic in recent years and how it's reflected in Ireland by the increasing numbers of visible Celtic shirt-wearers. He noted that at the recent 1916 Easter Commemoration at the GPO (addressed by Gerry Adams), there were Celtic shirts everywhere you looked. He also noted that there are now far more Celtic shirts at Irish International soccer games than ever before and it's this Celtic element that has been responsible for the sectarian booing.

I agree with him - it's the Celtic element that have been responsible for giving all Irish soccer fans a bad reputation over the last two months. Curiously, why are they wearing the colours of a British team (albeit with Irish roots - but a British team nevertheless) to a Republic of Ireland soccer match.

I do agree with Jake - everyone has a right to support Celtic without getting unnecessary stick from those who don't. But I wish those who do would refrain from using it as a way to prove their Irishness/Nationalism or as proof of their support for the Irish team. Face it: Celtic are Scottish/British - not Irish.

C'mon Munster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

The people who wear a celtic jersey to an irish game are stupid. I once wore a pats jersey to a match and was asked by a celtic fan who the jersey was of and why i wasnt wearing a ireland or celtic jersey to support the team. wearing a cectic jersey to a game is about as stupid as wearing a boca juniors or panitionikas jersey

Yeah, this is probably the centre of the issue. If people just supported Celtic and got on with it, then they would not have a bad reputation. However, its the people who think that supporting Celtic automatically MAKES them a Republican , that make you sick.
    They use supportnig Celtic as a front, to demonstrate something it clearly doesn't; that they are trure republicans. However, its plainly trying too hard. And the shirt has no hoops, only horizontal stripes. :)

Originally posted by ReefBreak
    He also noted that there are now far more Celtic shirts at Irish International soccer games than ever before and it's this Celtic element that has been responsible for the sectarian booing.

/B] [/B]

Again another false statement regarding Celitc!
    And if ye dont believe me cheack back on some old fotage of Ireland games leading upto the Euro 88 campaign, and indeed at those finals!
    I can even remember a comment by Packie Bonner stating how glade he was to see so many fans wearing Celtic jerseys at the games.
    The truth is that alot of fans wore celtic jerseys to games up until the 1990 world cup finals when it became fashionable to be an Ireland fan and the rent a fan mob started attending games.
    Maybe Mr. Lenihan was out of the country during this period?

Altough I must say it is what Iv come to expect with the Irish media regarding things Celtic!
    Another "soccer" corospondent was recently questioning why Healy wasnt getting a game at Celtic after his performance against Russia, it was questioned (very sarcastically) if Celtic really have so many good players in that centrel midfield area that there is no place for Healy........

If he/she knew anything about the club he would have been aware that Neil Lennon plays that role for the club along with Paul Lambert (x champions league winner) and manys peoples choice for player of the year in Scotland, along with Slitian Petrov who is regarded as probably being the young player of the year and already captain of Bulgaria at the age of 22.

Im not saying some people who wear the hoops dont bring shame on the club, I was particularly embarrased by those who booed Lovenkrands.........
    As they didnt even know who he was and booed the wrong bloody player!
    Muppets
    But wheather you like it or not celtic fc and Ireland have a connection. Was it not one of the founders of the GAA who layed the centre sod, brought over from Donegal to officially open the stadium?
    And I for one always have (I attended my first Ireland international in 1975, if my memory serves me correctly) wore the hoops to Ireland internationals, along with ALL my pals who used to get into the games using the famous schoolboy tickets, and I always will.

Jake
    http://www.koteka.net/
    Please sing the online petition

Jake

Your "soccer correspondent was right. If Healy cant get in the Celtic team he shouldnt go to the world cup. I'll give you that Lambert is a good player. (Amaruso won the Player of the year)

Neil lennon was an average premiership player. Why he went to Celtic i dont know. He wont get any better playing in scotland. Indeed , he hasnt!. Your attitude to Lennon is typical of Celtic supporters. You justified Lambert being a good player, he did as you say win a Champions League medal.

As for lennon

"would have been aware that Neil Lennon plays that role for the club "

So F****** what!

But he is Neil Lennon. Is he a good player because he is NI Catholic. Oh, and he has red hair. Must be a good player!

Celtic are as Irish as Glasgow Rangers. Should we wear Rangers jerseys at Irelands game. Oh no, couldnt have that

Celtic are a British team.

Now I understand people who support the Monarchy. Love of Queen and country and all that.

But really wearing a jersey of a british club at an Irish game is a bit sad. Saying that "Jaysus I was wearing it for years" is rubbish. It was silly then, it is silly now.

As for this nonsense that "we had a famous Paddy come over in the year dot to turn great sod"

Are you trying to tell me that the only club where Irish peopkle were involved in setting up was Celtic!

Irish immigrants MUST have worked in every club in Britain

This Rubbish about being Irish and Celtic supporter is Paddy whackery at its worst.

Listen mate Wear your jersey, sing your rebel songs, drink your pints of portar, shake your shelalagh but keep your bigotry out of OUR Ireland games.

Dont tar us with your green and white brush

Originally posted by ReefBreak
    He also noted that there are now far more Celtic shirts at Irish International soccer games than ever before and it's this Celtic element that has been responsible for the sectarian booing.

/B] [/B]

Again another false statement regarding Celitc!
    What was false about it? There are more Celtic shirts at Ireland games nowadays and it was the Celtic fans that were booing.

The current home shirt has no hoops on it.
    For every genuine Celtic fan, there are 10 pricks who shame themselves, not anyone else. I would be suprised if 1/10 of the people who own a Celtic shirt have ever been at Parkhead, and if they were, they probably wouldn't go back, because the atmosphere is **** due to once a year people who dont know any songs.

Also, to the Pats fan, the much quoted story about Boca Juniors colours is great but untrue. They adopted blue and yellow after the nationality of the first ship to sail in to the harbour when they were setting up the club. It was Swedish. Panathanaikos have the shamrock for good luck, nothing Irish.
    A simple question: instead of wearing a Celtic shirt to an Irland game, why not wear an Irish shirt? If you really feel the need to wear a jersey that is.

Hmmmmm, its starting to become clear now.......
    As far as I can see there are some people on this thread with some personal vendettas to air!

Manonthemoon, I have made no references to anything of a religious or secterian nature on this thread,unless of course you consider being Irish in itself to be secterian?

You however have brought the religious aspect to the thread!
    I said nothing about Lennon being a catholic from the north, dont think anyone else has on this thread either, why did you feel the need to bring it up?
    Also I made no reference to rebel songs and dont drink (havnt done for years) so how can you come to such conclusions about me?

Reefbreak.... replica jerseys are now far more common than they were ten-twenty years ago (I presume we can agree on that?) so its only natural that you are gonna notice them more but the fact of the matter is that lots of Ireland fans DID weare Celtic tops before the 1990 world cups finals so why are you saying that Im lying when this clearly is not true?
    I find this all very weird!
    Does the truth not suite your own agenda?

As blinkered as some celtic fans most definitaly are I feel there are several posting on this thread who are equally as blinkered, sad very sad......................

http://www.koteka.net/
    Please sign the online petition

>>>As blinkered as some celtic fans most definitaly are

Lets substitute "some" for "most", and wrap it up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Jake, your absolutely right.

Its become trendy to be 'anti celtic' and youll always find the badnwagoneers spouting their ill informed crap.
    Lets substitute "some" for "most", and wrap it up now.

Well, Bateman, can you back that statement up with fact?
    Of course not.

I guess that just re-enforces Jakes point, that your personal blinkers are still on firmly, and regardless of evidence or sense I'm sure theyll continiue that way.

X

...a trend that was brought on by the Celtic fans themselves. The "riot" on O'Connell St after Celtic won the league last lear, (and especially) the booing at Lansdowne Road this year.

Personally, I prefer to support a real Irish team - Munster! And Limerick hurling.

:cool:
    Think I'll keep the blinkers on, its a lot less fun without them.
    OK then, if I wanted to back up my assertion that most Celtic fans are blinkered, I would have to assume first that everyone in Celtic shirt can be considered a fan. This is ludicrous, but we'll take it as a given. Then simply go into the bar at the top of O Connell St and listen as they all sing the rebel songs, or at least the chorus anyway. Now obviously I am not suggesting that everybody who wears the Celtic shirt should be an active Republican, but if they are not, why do they pretend to be? Celtic is an identity these days, its a fake Irish identity. Celtic are the most supported team in North America, all because of the Irish connection. If it was harsh to say most Celtic fans are blinkered, then fine. However, when Celtic were ****e, a few years back, where were all these people? Success has brought this big increase in the proliferation of Celtic shirts, and failure will take it away again. At least Man Utd fans will admit to you they started supporting them because they always win. With many Celtic fans, its that plus the excuse for a bit of old Proddie bashing, which is pathetic. The pretence is what makes it blinkered. They are blinkered, they think they are supporting an Irish team, but they are paying money to the British treasury everytime they visit Celtic Park. This might be a pedantic point, but to put it shorter, if some people think that by wearing a Celtic shirt they are supporting an Irish entity, when they are not, they are only demonstrating a sense of Irish inferiority; "...sure all real irish clubs are **** so lets jump on the chance to have an Oirish success story..."