Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should Croke Park be used for "other" games.

• 17-04-2002 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭

Right after that disgrace of a match tonight vs the USA on the Landsdowne skating rink I think the Government or the next one should tell the GAA no more grants unless you allow Soccer and Rugby Internationals access to your stadium.

I for one don't want my tax euros been spent on people who live in the past.

Gandalf.

Should Croke Park be used for "other" games? 52 votes

Yes of course it should
    0% 0 votes
    No its traditionally for our own Gaelic games
    88% 46 votes
    I have no Opinion
    11% 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Its a shame isn't it, trouble with the GAA is that it most go to a vote which happens once a year! Wouldn't a professionally run organisation be nice for our national game. Anyway i believe it went to a vote at the last agm and didn't get passed because of some counties holding onto the past prolly the same ones that wouldn't get rid of the rule to ban on members of the british army playing GAA.

The GAA will more than likely have to let other sports play there given popularily for other sports to Hurling of football.

This sort of turtle like movement is on every level of the GAA, needs a major kick in the ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The GAA should end rule 42 regardless of whether "other" sports are played there. Anyway other sports have been played, its an anti Brit thing nothing less.

I still think the FAI should have thier own home mind...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

From what i see international matches would easily fit in at croker. In the last 2 friendlies an element of the crowd was booing ex-ranger players.

this is not on, in its present location.

if internationals where moved to croke park it would be more acceptable to allow this behavior

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

er Bullman sectartian abuse is'nt on anywhere...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Being Irish and all that, the two things that make me proud for this is an all-ireland final ('93 derry won) and Rep of Ireland playing matches........

I think everyone is being hard on the gaa, because why should they allow Croke park, a ground that the people of gaa funded, now its the greatest stadium in Ireland, and everyone wants to be part of it..... if u know what I mean.

I can see lots of advantages why the gaa should allow it for example: more money for the development of the game, more money for travelling expenses for gaa players, the development of clubs gaa grounds...etc
    Disadvantages: the gaa getting fatter heads than they have already, i.e more money for the people at the top.

If they do allow it, I think that Croke Park, should be the only ground to be allowed to hold other games....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

it's a disgrace. how much public money has the GAA received in grants from the government. Bertie, or whoever wins the election, should be demanding this because it will save a fortune when the Bertie Dome wouldn't have to be built. bollocks to the GAA and their old fashioned ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Johnny_the_fox

I think everyone is being hard on the gaa, because why should they allow Croke park, a ground that the people of gaa funded, now its the greatest stadium in Ireland, and everyone wants to be part of it..... if u know what I mean.

No, they may have funded the initial stages but they have been given a LOT of taxpayers money recently which they didnt refuse. Yes, its the best stadium in Ireland but the people who paid for it dont only play GAA.

Mike is totally right, This is a sectarian matter. There has been plenty of other sports played at Croke Park, just not any english ones.

The GAA are so arrogant and shortsighted they insist on running the country into debt (which could happen if the government insist on going ahead with Stadium Ireland) rather than give us ONE MATCH A YEAR in croke park (in soccer terms that is - Can you honestly see us playing against latvia in Croker? no, it would just be for the big games).

They have no interest in seeing Ireland being put on a world stage which is the oppurtunity we have with hosting the European Championships.

I have no respect for these overblown culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

I think its a disgrace that the GAA received so much of the taxpayers money and they only allow their own sports played there with the odd exception of american football.

As a football and rugby supporter I am probably one of the few people in Ireland who doesnt give a toss about GAA, even the Limerick hurling team who look as if they might do something this year.:p

I was down in Oz two years ago and was amazed at the number of top class stadiums in Sydney and Melbourne for a country with a population of just over 14 million.

IMO there should be a national stadium(Bertie bowl), all GAA grounds should be opened up to other sports and both the FAI and IRFU should start spending some of the cash they have on redeveloping Landsdowne Road and other grounds around the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Flemmish Flame

think everyone is being hard on the gaa, because why should they allow Croke park, a ground that the people of gaa funded, now its the greatest stadium in Ireland, and everyone wants to be part of it....

Look I totally agree with this. The first thing I saw when I arrived her 3 years ago was this massive beautifull stadium where IRISH sports where played.... Cool spot on !
    Don't get me wrong I love soccer and rugby but the thing is that maybe their Associations can build something of there own! Sponsorship deals in Rugby and Football are generally a wee bit more then in Gaelic Sports and then there is this Bernie Bowl coming so let them play there !!! or build there own!

ps
    small question because I don't know this for sure: where GAA and Hurling allowed to play on Landsdown ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I don't think the GAA have asked to use Landsdowne Road if they did I'm sure they would be accomodiated.

THe basic fact is they have gotten tax payers funds to help build the stadium, therefore they should allow popular sports as supported by taxpayers in this country to be played there. Also from a practical point of view it costs a hell of a lot to run a stadium a few Irish Soccer & Rugby Internationals bringing funds in would make good business sense.

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I thini it other sports should definetly be allowed to play in croke. As gandalf said that would amke business sense and also don't ireland need to use that stadium for soccer if they are going to be going in for the bid to hold the euro 2004 with scotland so they will need if they are to be succesful in getting it. I don't know why the GAA are so stingy in letting other sports use theirs grounds, IMO i think its stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Bollocks to the whole thing.
    The shoddy shambles of an organisation that is the FAI have to go cap in hand to the IRFU at present. You can bet that if that was changed, and they had to go cap in hand to the GAA, the GAA would charge a hell of a lot more for the use of Croker. So the FAI are no better off. The GAA are a very clever organisation, amke no mistake. They will not let football be played in Croker until the FAI beg them. This day will come in a few years when FIFA enact a ban on temporary seating for competitive internationals. The prospest of the GAA "selling out" to allow football to be played at Croker is worrying from the point of view that the FAI will just get lazy again as they will have no incentive to build their own stadium.
    For the longterm good of Irish soccer, we need the GAA to stay tough, and when the IRFU show no interest in building seats on the North and South terraces, the FAI (**** all interest) will realise that they have to put money back into Irish football that they have been taking out of it over the years. **** them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Originally posted by Johnny_the_fox

what a load of codswhallop

my tax money went into it.
    my money from the lotto went into it.
    ive never been there.
    ive never supported gaa or hurling.
    why should my money be used on this and i get nothing back?

get out of the dark ages and see the light.
    it really a nice view from up here.

No No No Bateman, my point is that if an organisation like the GAA accept taxpayers money then they should be expected (it should have been made a condition of receiveing tax money) to allow games that the majority of Irish Taxpayers support including soccer, rugby.

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Bateman, you just happilly ignore the fact that taxpayer money bulilt Croker.

That the grassroots that play Gaelic, and watch Gaelic, also play and watch other sports.

But the power in the GAA, is concentrated in the few hands at the top, who of out of touch with reality.

The powerful few prevent the enjoyment of the many, despite it not being there money that built Croker Park, and the other GAA grounds!

They also ignore the sound business sense to allow Croke park to bring in more revenue, because they wish to subisdese croke park, when this money could be diverted back into the funding of grasroots GAA, if Croke park were generating enough revenue to support itself.

You conviently ignore the fact the FAI has to pay professional players wages, and interantional travel and expenses, and that the football league in this country is not generating any income whatsoever, becuase of player wages etc.

Perhaps you might care to take these points into consideration in your balanced considered opinion!

X

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Flemmish Flame

You conviently ignore the fact the FAI has to pay professional players wages, and interantional travel and expenses, and that the football league in this country is not generating any income whatsoever, becuase of player wages etc

Yep you have a point there the FAI has to pay wages although not for its players believe, they pay bonusses which can add up aswell, the thing that makes me curious about the FAI is that Ireland in the past has qualified for : EC Germany ( '88) WC Italy( '90 famous quater final) '94 WC USA ( out against Holland) and now Japan/Korea again and taking into account that landsdownroad is most of the time capacity crowd ( 40.000) then I wonder were all the revenues went or what the FIA did with this because after Italy(1990) Ireland suddenly became interesting to sponser in the USA ( where so many Irish influences are) they must have made some money out of that and the major Sponsers now Eircom and Carlsberg are not getting it for free.... So maybe the FIA is just to lazy or maybe even to corrupt to arrange a decent accomodation.
    but sorry we are getting of track
    Gandolf I actually see your point purely commercially it would make sense.
    Although I disagree with the point of view of that is it my tax money and it should come available to my personal needs a suggested by somebody up there because in that case I want my own private road !:)

True the FAI and IRFU are both lazy. The IRFU are loaded and the land in Landsdowne Road is worth an absolute fortune. If they sold all this they could afford to build a huge state of the art stadium somewhere with a lot better accessability and have a nice wad in their pockets.

I agree with WWM for taxpayers like us who have no interest in gaa, we might as well be throwing our money. For the amount of taxpayers money given to them they should be ordered to play rugby and football there and also a certain number of other events there every year. Otherwise dont give them another penny and put the money in Bertie bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Its high time the GAA opened up Croke Park, this load of old stubborn asses refusing to let the "Foriegn Games" be played on the pitch should be kindly shown the nearest exit. The stadium has recieved numerous amounts of Tax Payers money to complete the building of it, along with numerous lotto grants etc.

Its about time in this day and age that all this resentment against soccer being played in their precious grounds was got over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

I think ye should all chill out. "Foreign games" will be in Croke Park sooner rather than later. This will be necessary to pay for the high cost of running such a stadium. But the GAA will do it in their own time, and rightly so. Afterall its their property

All this taxpayers money rubbish which some people have put up, is quite moronic.

In these peoples heads, should you recieve funding to say build an extension on your house, the entire population of the country would then have access to it!

????

Originally posted by manonthemoon

All this taxpayers money rubbish which some people have put up, is quite moronic.

Bullsh!t I didn't ask for my money to be wasted on a sectarian organisation. I would prefer it to be spent on the roads, hospitals or even a stadium where no one can dictate that types of sports been played because of their outdated ideology.

Gandalf.

As I said, bollocks to the whole thing. The idea of Ireland hosting a mahor tournament is laughable and should not be taken into account in this. I agree that the tax arguments are quite moronic really, you dont ****ing decide what your tax gets spent on, you elect people who will decide for you.
    Someone said that the FAI dont get anything out of the eircom League. This is correct, the main reason being because they dont put anythign in. The facilities are underrated but generally poor. The standard of football is underrated but generally poor. However, the support which our highest domestic league has from the people who claim to be the grassroots of Irish soccer is appalling. These things are linked, folks.
    And although Croke Park has been heavily and unfairly state funded, its also been financed nicely by some very convenient replay matches which came along at crucial times for the GAA. More gams, back doors, etc etc the GAA are already starting to sell their sectarian soul, but does anyone want to buy it.
    I say its unfair because the GAA received these huge amounts of tax money in the first place. I dont agree with the amount they have been getting in comparison to domestic soccer, but I am not going to tell them now that they have all this money they dont deserve to build all these luxury facilities, that they should let everyone have a piece. A little naieve, I think.
    As someone else said earlier on, the FAI have been through a European Championships, and two world Cups. What do we have to show for it? A healthy IRFU back account.
    Get real fholks. If the GAA open up CP for football, its the end of any motivation the FAi may have for getting up off their arses and actually DOING SOMETHING. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

I think ye should all chill out. "Foreign games" will be in Croke Park sooner rather than later. This will be necessary to pay for the high cost of running such a stadium. But the GAA will do it in their own time, and rightly so. Afterall its their property

In these peoples heads, should you recieve funding to say build an extension on your house, the entire population of the country would then have access to it!

????

I agrre thast they will hae to se sense, but in the meantime Irelands image and reputation suffers internationally.

Oh yea, i see you managed to refute jst one of the reasons given with your innacurate analogy, why noty try to answer the others, or do you agree with the other agruments?

X

"Bullsh!t I didn't ask for my money to be wasted on a sectarian organisation. I would prefer it to be spent on the roads, hospitals or even a stadium where no one can dictate that types of sports been played because of their outdated ideology. "

Gandalf.

Well Gandalf,
    Its private property. The law of the country says you cant come in unless you have permission from the owners. And, you aint got no permission.

should you recieve funding to say build an extension on your house, the entire population of the country would then have access to it!
    That has to be the most ridiculous "analogy" I have ever heard. And no, I'm not splitting hairs, but why the fu(k would anyone receive state funding for a house extension?

Say if that someone was a badminton Club.

The goverment would say , "Ok ye can get the money to get an extension, but the soccer club, well, they have kind of squandered away all their money, so the you have to allow them in to use your club as well. Thats fair isnt it?"

Anology - Smallogy

I'm with you that the FAI dont deserve to be accomodated, I was just having a go at the analology:D
    But other than that, yes I agree about the badminton club analogy. Thats better.

Well Gandalf,
    Its private property. The law of the country says you cant come in unless you have permission from the owners. And, you aint got no permission.

Well I realise that but as I have said they have benefitted from Taxpayers money to help build up this stadium therefore they should be willing to share this facility with other sports. Remember they won't be loosing out either they will be making money from it as well.

I think the way forward on this is the Government (whatever flavour comes out of this election) with-hold any more funding to the GAA until they decide to play ball :)

Gandalf.

therefore they should be willing
    And what if they're not (cos they obviously aren't)? Are you still saying that the government should "force" them?
    FF and the GAA in a public row. I can just see it now...

Yes the government should with-hold funds from them.

Gandalf.

Well its a bit late for that now really, isn' t it?
    The idea of FF playing hardball with the GAA over the poor oul FAI who have no money is a bit unrealistic.

FFS this is not just about the FAI, its about watching rugby and soccer in a stadium that meets the demand of fans.

Take the Holland game for example I am positive they would fill Croke Park to its 80,000 capacity (when its finished) for a game of this type in future. How about next years 6 nations vs England that again would be a sellout and allow ordinary non- corporate fans a better chance of seeing the game than in Landsdowne Road.

As for playing hardball, these people got Taxpayers funds they should be expected to give something in return for them. Allowing 4 or 5 games a year is not alot to ask and they WILL make money from them as well.

Gandalf.

FFS this is not just about the FAI, its about watching rugby and soccer in a stadium that meets the demand of fans.
    Well this is probably where we differ.
    I think it comes down to pride to a certain degree, and accountability of the FAI (none at present).
    Rugby would not want to play at CP, they have Landsdowne, they have THEIR OWN TRADITION, that is what I want for the Irish soccer. The GAA also have it, the legend of playing at Croker etc etc. We have nothing like that for soccer, and going to the GAA to hire will not buy us a soul, when the GAA sell theirs it just goes, no-one gets it. You can't buy tradition, but you can built it.
    And the demands of the fans; don't make me laugh. In EVERY country bar Ireland, the demands of the fans are the demands of the fans who watch their club (not foreign) every weekend, and pay into domestic football regularly. The fact that the great majority of Irish international football fans don't attend domestic soccer means they have a cheek asking for a cash-strapped FAI to "meet their demands".

Originally posted by Bateman

Well this is probably where we differ.
    I think it comes down to pride to a certain degree, and accountability of the FAI (none at present).
    Rugby would not want to play at CP, they have Landsdowne, they have THEIR OWN TRADITION,

Have they come out and openly said this ? Whast the capacity of Landsdowne 39000 if they can double this I'm sure tradition goes out the window, its called basic economics.
    that is what I want for the Irish soccer. The GAA also have it, the legend of playing at Croker etc etc. We have nothing like that for soccer, and going to the GAA to hire will not buy us a soul, when the GAA sell theirs it just goes, no-one gets it. You can't buy tradition, but you can built it.

Thats all very nice and cuddley but we're talking real world here. If youare saying Stadium Ireland is the answer forget it, this present Government can't even build a swimming pool without a scandal. The practical solution is use Croke Park for the events that will attract a large crowd.
    And the demands of the fans; don't make me laugh. In EVERY country bar Ireland, the demands of the fans are the demands of the fans who watch their club (not foreign) every weekend, and pay into domestic football regularly. The fact that the great majority of Irish international football fans don't attend domestic soccer means they have a cheek asking for a cash-strapped FAI to "meet their demands".

Oh I'm sorry so your saying that people who want to pay €20-€30 a ticket to see the international team are not important. 1 international match probably generates more revenue than a whole month of League of Ireland matches.

Gandalf.

1 international match probably generates more revenue than a whole month of League of Ireland matches.
    Why? Cos everyone would rather give money to English clubs than support the FAI, and then when the FAI have to charge €30 for a friendly international, complain.
    Stadium Ireland is a pipdream, a joke, **** retractable rooves, why can't the FAI deliver on a 30,000 all seater stadium? Because they are corrupt bastards.

And check your facts. The IRFU get 50,000 for 6 nations games, whereas the capacity is 29,000 with temporary seating. The IRFU will have no desire to build seats (altough there have been some rumours) on the North and South terraces, and it would be difficult to get planning permission to build higher at the South end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Id say my family (myself, dad, brother) have easily contributed 1000's to going to International matches buying shirts etc. Were obviously not important in the least as we dont goto watch the league of ireland matches :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

As are numerous other people I know who regularly attend International Gmaes travelling great distances to do so etc.
    whereas the capacity is 29,000 with temporary seating.

Its actually 35,000

And in the "real world" you love reffering to, people all around Europe go by foot, car, bus or train to see their team, not to the pub, and as far as I know, those who do are not treated liek social lepers like in Ireland.

Id say my family (myself, dad, brother) have easily contributed 1000's to going to International matches buying shirts etc
    Heroes all. I am not out to draw a differential between international and domestic Irish fans, none really exists, we just have to change some attitudes, thats all.

Originally posted by Bateman

Heroes all. I am not out to draw a differential between international and domestic Irish fans, none really exists, we just have to change some attitudes, thats all.

Yes you are . You have clearly stated the difference
    The fact that the great majority of Irish international football fans don't attend domestic soccer means they have a cheek asking for a cash-strapped FAI to "meet their demands".

So what exactly are you saying :)

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

I voted against Croke Park being used (for now) for other games.

- "£40 million in public money went to the construction of some of the Croke Park, therefore we all want to use it". This is not a valid reason. You can get a grant to build anything (a home-owners grants, for example), but it does not mean you lose the right to ownership of the property. Yes, your tax money built some of my gaff. No, that does not mean you can come in.
    - The biggest reason to disallow other sports has nothing to do with sectarianism. It's a simple business decision - the Gah want to protect their interests. Hurling and Gaelic are dying in a lot of urban areas in Ireland. Soccer is winning over most of the kids. You wouldn't expect any business to hand over their facilities to a competing company. That's why they played American Football in Croker, because it's not in competition with the GAA.

From Gandalf's original post:
    Right after that disgrace of a match tonight vs the USA on the Landsdowne skating rink I think the Government or the next one should tell the GAA no more grants unless you allow Soccer and Rugby Internationals access to your stadium.
    Typical soccer-head response. Blaming everyone else but themselves and the FAI. If more irish soccer fans got off their arses and supported Irish soccer (instead of the British game), they might have built a modern stadium by now.

Nevertheless, I wouldn't mind too much to see other sports being played there - but it should be the GAA's decision and nobody elses. And if they decide against it next year, well what can you say to the FAI/soccer-heads?

Oh I know...

Quit your moaning, stop blaming the Gah, build your own stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Ciaran

The perfect solution would be for the GAA to disappear out of existance. Then football, rugby and whatever else could be played in Croke Park without funding the Grab All Association. As that's not likely to happen, the last thing I want to see is money from football being used to fund the GAA. Lansdowne Road should be upgraded to a 60,000 seater stadium and the GAA should **** off to some bog where I won't have to listen to them or their sports.

In an ideal world, the FAI would have their own stadium, as it stands they are the only ones who don't. Thats their fault and no-one elses. It would take a lot of planning permission wrangles to build Landsdowne much higher, and even if they did, it will never belong to the FAI, so its far from ideal.

I doubt very much if the local residents would allow a 60,000 seater stadium to be built. They complain when there is more than one concert there during the summer.

Association Football in Ireland (all of which is controlled by the FAI), has produced athletes such as Roy Keane, Robbie Keane, Damien Duff who are worth MILLIONS upon MILLIONS of pounds.
    Association Football is the most popular in the land. Has the most number of clubs. Has most number of players. Its structures produce 100's of new professional players every year. It has competed i,n the last 12 years , in 2 world cups which were huge money spinners for the association.

Yet they have no stadium of their own. (By the way either does French football, but hey lets spend a billion on a stadium anyway)

Yet, so called soccer supporters have then have a go at an amateur association for maybe actually having their affairs in order.

Croke Park is owned by the GAA. Who they allow in there is entirely their own business. The fact the government money has nothing to do with it. We all recieve government money in some way. Are people/ organisations expected to be indebted to carry out favours to the government until their loans are paid off?

Is the government a loan shark

The FAI should get their own house in order and ,as so-called supporteres

"STOP WHINGING, Man"

Outrageously croker allowed another foreign game to take place in Croke a few years ago if anyone remembers the tacky american football game between the fighting irish and whoever else???time for a few compromises i think with regds to the gaa decision. 1, not one cent be given to the GAA until we can fund at least 1 national stadium. 2,No more development should be allowed for croke park until Semple, Pairc ui chaoimh, clones, lansdowne, and a few of the soccer grounds are developed. 1 point i will make about the building of stadiums in Ireland.....im largely in favour of Decentralisation and this obsession with dublin will have to stop. In a perfect world Ireland would have four smashing soccer stadiums.as many state of the art gaa parks as possible and 2 or more fantastic rugby stadiums and all this bickering would be over. For the time being i think the gaa should acknowledge that they have no right to it all their own way. Funnily enough if you had seen the All-ireland hurling breaking ball magazine special there was a picture in one of the articles of low and behold Galway playing Down in Wembely in the fifties and sixties..

Yet, so called soccer supporters have then have a go at an amateur association for maybe actually having their affairs in order.

I wonder could they have afforded to rebuild Croke Park without the c.£60 million they received in taxpayers money.

If the government gave the IRFU or FAI £60 million Im sure they would be more than willing to build their own stadium.

Lansdowne Road should be upgraded to a 60,000 seater stadium and the GAA should **** off to some bog where I won't have to listen to them or their sports.

Another typical Dublin soccer-head response - just cannot cope with the fact that GAA (an amateur organisation) can get it's act together and build a real stadium. There's nothing stopping the FAI doing the same.

But guess what, you don't actually have to listen to the GAA at any time. You can lock yourself into a pub, get pissed, and watch British Soccer like the rest of the mindless Sky Sports zombies in Dublin. Luckily, the rest of down the bog/outside Dublin can do both - we can watch Birtish soccer on the TV and we can go and watch sports for real in the Gaelic Grounds (GAA), Thomond Park (Rugby), Jackman Park (Soccer)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Ciaran

Originally posted by ReefBreak

You can lock yourself into a pub, get pissed, and watch British Soccer like the rest of the mindless Sky Sports zombies in Dublin. Luckily, the rest of down the bog/outside Dublin can do both - we can watch Birtish soccer on the TV and we can go and watch sports for real in the Gaelic Grounds (GAA), Thomond Park (Rugby), Jackman Park (Soccer)...

Shows how much you know. As usual it is assumed that if someone doesn't like the GAA that they must be a West-Brit, Premiership loving idiot. I have gone to 34 club football matches this year all over the country (Derry, Cork, Galway, Longford, Dundalk: every Premier Division ground), most of the international friendlies as well as most of Leinster's home games in the Celtic League and European Cup so don't give me lectures about sitting on my a$$ watching sport in a pub.

The point is that I don't want my money that I pay in to football games to go to an organisation that until very recently wouldn't allow members of the police force up North play their games and have historically done their best to destroy football in this country.

Im with you Ciaran,

I play with a junior football team and also manage a junior team and I am secretary for the club. Also I have seen all Munsters games this season bar the quarter final in Paris plus I hold a season ticket at Celtic Park which I use as often as possible after everything else.

I wouldnt cross the road to watch a GAA match much less give them the admission fee and for them to keep their doors closed to other sports after receiving so much in grants is a disgrace.

I dont want my taxes to go to areas which i have no interset

Therefore no money for roads in Ulstar or Connact. (Except to main road to Galway city which i may travel to for a weekend.
    I dont play or care for Badminton, water polo, tennis, lacrosse, showjumping, greyhounds or swimming in pools. So no money for those.

I dont like people on the dole so they shouldnt get any money. Oh yeah, sick people, bloody wasting my hard earned taxes. Get up off the bed or get dieing.

Oh yeah, teachers and gardas, dont get me started on that..............................................

I wouldnt cross the road to watch a GAA match much less give them the admission fee and for them to keep their doors closed to other sports after receiving so much in grants is a disgrace.
    Are you using the whole "grants" thing as a convenient stick to hit the GAA with? Or will you not walk through the doors of any organisation that builds anything with a grant. It's ridiculous, the IDA have been giving out grants to businesses for years, yet nobody seems to be demanding that all those companies allow the use of their facilities to their competitors. Incidentally, the Gaelic Grounds (from one Limerickman to another) never received a single red cent from the Government prior to it's current renovation - what was your opinion on soccer not being played there during that time?

It's strange, I wouldn't mind soccer being played in Croker - it'll bring in plenty of money for the GAA to build up the game in urban areas. But when you get people that have no connection to the GAA and no knowledge of Hurling or Football demanding this and that for Croke Park, I suddenly get the urge to tell them go fúck themselves.