Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Testing Now

• 05-04-2002 10:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Just tried 10744 H 22 5/6 and all of the channels are there no pics yet just a there is a problem with this chanel type message.

Corm:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Corm

What we have there so far is RTE1, Network2, TnaG, Radio Na Gaeltacht and one blank.Could be TV3 ?.

Corm

Yeap
    They are there alright.
    Just the info bar that says further information not available.

It is obvious though that it is someone in Sky that has put these there as 2fm is called fm2 and TG4 is called t na G 4
    So Sky have started the game and RTE are still reading the manual:P
    mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

Giddy up !!

Well spotted Corm.

The tests are there on my BBC carded box.
    But I suppose at this stage theres no need for encryption as theres nothing to see.
    I hope people in Britain at least get a flavour of RTE and TV3 etc when they are testing next week-that would be nice.
    mm
    Edit:
    A poster on Dig spy is reporting that all radio stations are broadcasting and can be heard on an fta receiver but not on a digibox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭bkehoe

Attached is a screen capture of what the add channels shows for those not at home. :)

Hopefully the blank is TV3. :)

Brendan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

Typical - these tests start and I am in Sweden! But then if I was working back in Athlone instead of here in Linkoping then I wouldn't be able to read this forum as it is blocked there!

The weather's lovely here by the way - pity I am stuck in a an office...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭dmeehan

roll on 5.30. when i get out of here im goin straight to my digibox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

Im all tingly with excitement...

This is where i stand on my soap box..blah blah but i will leave you all have some phun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Stiabhna

A guy on "another forum" has just posted that he can now get all the Irish radio stations using an FTA box.

Do yiz reckon there's any truth to this and, if so, why can't we get them on the dodgybox yet?

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭bkehoe

Digiboxes can be tricked into saying that there is nothing there, e.g. the times ITV2 was unencrypted, but digiboxes still couldn't see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 jishot

well done corm,

as a new digibox subscriber i found this message board and i have to say thanks to all involved, im learning something new everyday.

Keep up the good work and like everyone else bring on the 23rd of april.

jishot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭The Cigarette Smoking Man

Does anyone know if RTE plan to broadcast in widescreen (like all the UK terrestrial channels)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

Originally posted by The Cigarette Smoking Man
    Does anyone know if RTE plan to broadcast in widescreen (like all the UK terrestrial channels)?

As I said elsewhere, the Meteor Irish music awards was shown on BBC CHOC ICE in the UK in full 16:9 anamorphic (although they had to create swirly sidebars for the title sequence) so I hope this is a sign of things to come on Irish TV: I doubt many programmes will be w/s for a while, though. I wonder about the idents. I suppose if they were w/s then digital cable would already have them in that format. We shall see.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,063 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Originally posted by Corm
    What we have there so far is RTE1, Network2, TnaG, Radio Na Gaeltacht and one blank.Could be TV3 ?.

Corm

More likely to be Lyric FM, if all the RTE stations are testing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭seano

WELCOME RTE to Holland..receiving your transponder nicely with 14.3 c/n,and that with a 60cm dish
    On te digibox i have rte1/2/+ TG4 AND R2 +RNAG BUT ON MY NOKIA9800 I ALSO HAVE S4,MUST BE TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Corm, change your handle to "Exclusive Boy/Girl/Other*":)
    I think I'll go home for the weekend :)

And thanks for the wallpaper bkehoe! Summat to look at til midnight :(

Damien.

*delete as appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Tried adding them there and altho the box appears to be searching for a minute, it then comes back with "no signal found" - are they gone or is it just my box? :(

According to Digital Spy, there is nowt there now....

There maybe something tomorrow, or maybe we will have to wait until Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭NorthDown

Tried the frequencies myself on a Sky system between 5,45 and 6,30pm but "No Signal Found" message here too :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭TinMan

I have just noticed RTE Radio 1 on EPG no. 892, has that always been there?:)

For around a year.. yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭TinMan

Shows how often I listen to the Radio!! Too many other channels. Cheers Damo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭CHRISTYG

Nope, I tried myself at 9.20 p.m. but got the "No signal found" message, although as I live in "FORBIDDEN TERRITORY" (AKA Northern Ireland!!!!) I shouldn't be surprised!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭The Cigarette Smoking Man

This was on a thread on digitalspy.co.uk, pics of RTEs new Sky uplink dish:

http://www26.brinkster.com/digidub/rtedigital.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Baz999

It's 10.45pm Friday, I'm using a Nokia FTA box, the transponder is carrying 8 tv channels, all encrypted, the first two are carrying Aertel 1 and 2 on the text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭PacMan

Are you sure that it is 8 tv stations??? Perhaps it should be four tv and four radio.
    I tuned these ID's in this morning, and am lucky they are still in my "Other Channels" option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Kaiser2000
    Tried adding them there and altho the box appears to be searching for a minute, it then comes back with "no signal found" - are they gone or is it just my box? :(

thank god there was a few more getting that. i thought it was odd that it took longer than usual when searching. why is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Funky Phantom

I'm getting a "No Signal" message as well. I've tried 4 times tonight and no joy but I'm in Dublin so there shouldn't be a problem, do these test get switched off ?:(

Anyone else having problems??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭David C

Just to tell you... I have exceeded my bandwidth limit on Brinkster with hundreds of page views from Digital spy tonight...

I uploaded the pics again here:
    http://swirlfm.hypermart.net/rte/rtedigital.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

Dammit !! Missed today's tests ! Must remember not to go for pints after work anymore .....

Did the channel ids change at all ? Any sign of TV3 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭telecinesk

Anyone out this neck of the woods have astra2d reception? I cannot pull it in on a 90cm dish with a 0.5db lnb> Pity.. Think I will cancel my sky subs and get a bbc card as its money going nowehere!
    Help anyone? Is it a case of 1.5m dish???

Regards, Dathai

Hi Dathai, welcome along!

In David C's post above (well done, sir!), that link also includes a map of the footprint of 2D, they area where 2D is available, and whats size dish is needed...... It does not look good.

I'll repost the link here. http://swirlfm.hypermart.net/rte/rtedigital.htm

I would say a 3M dish as a base.
    In S Spain, 3M is the standard and the Pani Reciever, as its the only one that can deal with cross beam interference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭SRB

I think RTE have changed the PIDs to non digibox strandard - the channels are still there, though the TV is encrypted the text isn't. At the moment I'm reading Aertel from RTE 1. They also have the subtitles option as well, though only for english at present. The radio channels RTE 1, 2FM, RnaG and Lyric are also present.

A 3 meter dish is very large and would cost a couple of thousand Euro perhaps-big garden needed, but not practical for an apartment window box:P
    Still if you have a big garden,and don't mind the sight of it! and want a taste of home-it's the equivalent price of building a small garden shed-thats the way I would look at it and presumably there would be some resale value if/when moving back to Ireland.
    mm

Maybe it's just the angle of the picture, but the uplink looks to be at a different position from the smaller dish - I wonder are they hopping via another bird to Betzdorf....If I get a chance this afternoon I'll do a scan of the usual uplink freqs and see if I find anything....takes ages though especially on a Saturday with the various sports feeds...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Baz999

Hi Pacman,
    the reason I said earlier that I thought it was eight TV channels is that the Nokia usually sorts what it has found into separate TV and Radio services. When I tried the RTE transponder, the Nokia box came up with eight services in the TV section, all labelled something similar to P-9601, P-9602 etc, etc.
    But you're right, it could well be four TV and four Radio. It's now Saturday 3pm, and they are all still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Everytime i go to install rte i get no signal found can some one please tell me when they test and whats the frequency, and fec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Posted by Mossy Monk
    thank god there was a few more getting that. i thought it was odd that it took longer than usual when searching. why is that

Saw this explaination on a post on DigitalSpy:

If you go into add channels and it takes more than about 5 seconds then displays no signal this indicates a signal that the digibox cannot recognise - in this case the NID (Network ID) & TID (Transponder ID) are set to 0000.

I cant find anything on that TP with any kind of STB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭thegreek

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!

I caught myself just in time (maybe not)
    I swore I wouldn't get sucked into this but there I was keying 10744 on me 'add channels' menu

lads we have got to get over this and concentrate on the important business of knocking the content on RTE.

......and not forgetting the long battle for equality of service for all sky subscribers.

And lastly, for gods sake Charles (Slane) pints with lads are always more important than RTE test signals.

Going off line to check the channels again, all is lost

Sky's Digibox is designed to work with Sky Digi - if anyone uses paramaters outside the Sky Norm, then the box doesn't or can't pick these channels up. All RTE have to do to hide the tests is change these paramaters - hence non Sky Boxes, which can deal with services all over Europe and their various paramaters, are able to "see" the test (although the TV channels are encrypted), while Sky Boxes at present, can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Culchie Boy

Anyone know if Aertel will be availble when RTE launches on Sky. Also Will it be availble when RTE starts testing on Digiboxs. And anybody Know if Tv3 text will be availble if they launches. Cos i am sick to death of scrambled teletext on terestrial RTE.

Regards Culchie Boy.

Yep, Aertel is there, no TV3 Text though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Corm

Well Guys I'm off to the Costa Del Sol next week for a week so I'm gonna miss a lot of the testing. I will just have to drown me sorrows with a couple of San Miguels. I will have a try of my mates digibox there to see what he can pick up.

Adios

Corm:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 rocket

:):):)

well friday was a great day and a revolution in irish televison, i think RTE should be congratulated for this, Irish TV on satellite surely this is a beginning of a bright era for it.

hopefully the BLANK indicates TV3 though i personnally reckon its Lyric FM, though TV3 on digital would be great, at least people on the North coast and other black spot areas will be able to watch eg champions league football for a change!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭PacMan

Luckily, I was able to tune the stations in yesterday morning. The "Blank" label was for TV, and probally will be for TV3.

Maybe RTE are planning a "top secret" channel. If the Irish stations were run by Sky, we would have DenTV Channel, and starting at six the Network2 Channel.:cheeky:

Originally posted by thegreek
    <snip> . </snip>

Ahhhhh, so yer not an anorak then so? The fact that RTÉ is starting to broadcast TV on satellite for the very first time don't grab you???

Try to contribute something useful next time. The Irish Televison forum here is where you let off steam regarding RTÉ's programming and content.

Best of luck thegreek,

Damien.
    wag.gif

Just to add to why there is nothing there now...

They should be back on Monday morning, all being well, for everyone to add in, if you missed it on Friday. I did too!

Remember, RTE is a wonderful organisation for the hours they work, so there is no point in conducting tests if the engineers have gone home for the weekend!!!

I'm sure, just like the ITV tests before, that they will be on continously 24 hours, maybe not all next week, but certainly in the week leading up to the 23rd.