Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Drinkies

• 17-03-2002 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭

With the postponement of Romm101, and Kayos' iminent return I put it to the peoples of Galweh to decide a date for alkihol fueled jabbering and talk of "sheasells-on-the-sheasore" :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

hrm, well the easter hol ee dayz for the NUI are up soon enough, but I imagine I can pop up for a night of alcahol and gay pr0n, if any of the lads are willing to pose.

/me looks at kharn thoughtfully

actually syx, you recently turned 18... need a bit of extra cash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Anytime other than when I'm in London...

Which is April 27th, for those that don't know.

i don't know

oh wait.. i do.. i mean,.. no, i don.. i mean.. no..ARGH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Right, would around the 2nd/3rd April be ok?

Perfectly grand, g'wan meee son!

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,600 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

Just bring it...

You know I can take on all those bloody Bulmer Bottles...
    P.S. Make sure someone gives me a reminder about this - I have a habbit of "Forgetting" things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Dont worry ropey we'll send the bouncer around to bang on the door and treathed to call the law :)

kayos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

I should be able to devote a night out to my cyber comrades, especially with the drink, and the other elements that encapsulate good times.

Kealan it will be good ta see ya mate.

Alastair, try and make it down also, I will be able to explain to you in person why I am so low on the radar.

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

would around the 2nd/3rd April be ok?

Bah, project bench demo on three days arterwards.

My official FY project presentaton is on the week of the 8th April. I will be coding like a ba$tard over the Easter. Everyone knows that when you take on a project you have the best intentions of starting and planning straight away. But in reality you spend the year off your head, and do something about it 2-3 weeks before the due date. Actually I've got to write my thesis also. But I did that in a week last year so I am guessing the same this year.

Good luck to anyone doing project demos in the coming weeks, but we will find you, if you try and blag your way out of a Galway drinkies session. ;)

;-phobos-)

Right, so we have 6 or sevn people, class :)
    Drake and Jp can come out too, one of ems nearly 18 ;)
    Dav should eb back by then, might drag out Robbo too, we'll need a big venue too mind, any suggestions

Originally posted by SyxPak
    Right, so we have 6 or sevn people, class :)
    Drake and Jp can come out too, one of ems nearly 18 ;)
    Dav should eb back by then, might drag out Robbo too, we'll need a big venue too mind, any suggestions

Blue Note again?

I like that place.
    It's like the official Galway Boards pisserupper at this stage.

yeah, blue note rocks

Cool, Blue Note it is so :)

Kenneth, if you're around txt me on 0877948745
    I might be around tonighhyt for an hour or so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Well im going out this evening for a many many many beers to celebrate the finishing of a poo databasing exam and also to celebrate my bday which was on monday! if anyof ye are going out tonight gimme a shout on me phone, most of ye have the number.Ill either be in munroes or the Blue Note or god knows where!

So in short Beer=goood
    Databasing exams = bad

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I am there...

Any of those nights are good for me.

Does anyone have a recent linux distro on CD. I am looking for something along the lines of Mandrake 8.1, but would settle for something similar.

If you do have it, will you let me know. You could either bring it along to the drinks session, and I make a copy of it. Or you make a copy of it, and I re-emberse you with a blank CD-R on the night. Either way I will get yez a pint too if you're good. ;)

Cheers, I would really appreciate that :)

;-phobos-)

I've Mandrake 8.2 ISOs burnt last week. 3CDs, worth it though.
    I'll make a copy.

I'll have the 3 blanks for you on the night, and a serious beverage for you to contend with. How does that suit you?

;-phobos-)
    PS: When exactly are we having this little get together?, I need to plan ahead.

How does April 2nd, 8pm, Blue Note suit people?
    Kayos 'n Dav, ye going to be home by then?

Completely grand!

Tuesday the 2nd suits me fine :cool:

;-phobos-)

i think I can make this, are we going to a club afterwards?

boo radley's is always good, we can get free passes in the red square *hint hint*

I'm not sure i should go out (although i know i will) cos the SmurfLan in wicklow is on the 3rd and & 4th, and apparently I am needed there cos they want to watch my copy of akira on dvd :p

but I'm sure I will manage.

so I, Mordeth, officialy confirm that I will be at the galway drinkies thingie..
    actually, does anyone want to come over to my gaff beforehand? it's in corrib village, very near to town. wer can drink a few cans, maybe some wine/whiskey or something, watch a vid/divx and then head to the pub...

I always enjoy a few cans. If we can get a few more raised hands, I think I just might take you up on that offer :)

;-phobos-)

Confirmed! April 2nd in the Blue Note at 20:00hrs.

and the cans ol' kharn ol' boy?

cmahn, it'll be fun

really

we can watch akira :p

/me hugs his new dvd

/all bow in reverence to the great CLOUD WARRIOR, Deliver of Manga, maintainer of Boards and Doctor-to-be

yeah, drinkies sound good :)

This Tuesday coming so :)

http://www.pghgeeks.org/

Why don't we have our own drinkies web site :(

If I had spotted this earlier in the night I might have done something about it. :cool:

And the muppets are starting at 5pm. We're bloody well starting @ 8. Well I'll show them.

Psssst......guzzle..guzzle..guzzle. Oh good it's nearly 7am, I've wasted my life (!=) :rolleyes:

;-phobos-)

/all bow in reverence to the great CLOUD WARRIOR, Deliver of Manga, maintainer of Boards and Doctor-to-be

ere! i feckin bought that akira.

credit given where credit is d00.. my buying sk1llz 0wnz j00.

watched it last night.. weird flick.. excellent though :)

so are we on for my gaff or what?.. oooh
    oh****
    i don't think I'll be able to make the damned thing at all..

i'll keep yes posted

{edit}
    CRAP! the 4th of april (thursday) I'll be at the Smurflan down in wicklow, damn damn damn damn damn!

*grumbles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

What? When? Where?

What's going on here then? Almost missed this!

Luckily I took a coupla days off work next week - cyiz there!
    Dont worry ropey we'll send the bouncer around to bang on the door and treathed to call the law

roflmayo :)

Weston - cool! Hope you're out.

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

There's no chance we could have this on April 27th? No?

*sigh*

Thought not...

Al.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Booze good, Hitler bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Sounds like someones trying to organise a pissup in a brewery :D

Get ready for some well organised crazyness!

Count me in
    Maybe. D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Originally posted by Trojan

*sigh*

Thought not...

Al.

I heartily endorse that idea! I wont be in agwlay again till monday week as im currently lying up in Roscommon with the most amazing flu in years :( Having a temp of 103 and not being able to have a pint on easter weekeend is pissing me off!

Looks like a decent turn out this time. I am in the mood for a proper session, so Dav please don't bugger off early this time. The last drinks session fell apart before I had a chance to finish my first pint :mad:

Al, really looking forward to a chat :)

OK In attendance will be
    1. SyxPak
    2. Mordeth (We know that you'll bugger off to that LAN, but your name is down, so you're coming) :p
    3. AngelWhore
    4. RopeDrink
    5. Kharn
    6. Trojan
    7. Phobos (Jesus Christ I nearly forgot myself :rolleyes: )
    8. Robbo
    9. DRakE (Dude I thought you were like 16 or 17 years old. Correct me if I'm wrong)

All we need to do now is synchronize watches, and we're ready to fight crime :D (My cape is in the wash but it will be ready in time, honest).

;-phobos-)

Mordeth (We know that you'll bugger off to that LAN, but your name is down, so you're coming)

heh, i am not buggering off to any lan now :) decided that beer and boards is more important so I will be there

and once again, the invitation for cans and animé (akira) is open.

Originally posted by Mordeth

heh, i am not buggering off to any lan now :) decided that beer and boards is more important so I will be there

and once again, the invitation for cans and animé (akira) is open.

Ah ya see, this is a prime example of the manipulative powers of alcohol, over the youth of today. Bloody shame :D

Good stuff!!

;-phobos-)

Originally posted by phobos
    [*]DRakE (Dude I thought you were like 16 or 17 years old. Correct me if I'm wrong)

I'm 18. D:

Originally posted by Trojan

*sigh*

Thought not...

Al.

Well, seeing as I'll be in London... YES! Because everyone knows that if I was in the country, I'd be there. And of course, nobody wants me near them.

So, we're still on for the 2nd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Depending on how my project work is going I might even pop in for a couple (famous last words).

<TRANSLATION>
    Now to anyone who knows me well this means:
    • Firstly, I will probably get fúck all of my project done between now and then. (for example, since friday I've been on IRC, did up my .muttrc, Did a bit of posting and slept late.)
    • Secondly, I am the type of person who always sems to end up in the pub just before (3 days in this case) major project due dates.
    </TRANSLATION>

So all this means that I'll probably get now work done go on the piss for the night. ;)

Originally posted by DRakE

I'm 18. D:
    .....and is exactly the same age as me. He doesn't yet realise just how fortunate he is to share a birthday with one so great.....but he will learn, in time ;)

right, there may be a slight problem with akira

i am at the moment locked out of apt. and bedroom
    so not only can I not get itno my flat , *even worse*, I can't get to my bloody computer!

i am going to try to get into galway as early as possible and head into reception for a spare key if I can get one, but I'm not sure I can.

0876979198 is my number, Cillian (or mordeth if you prefer.. i know I do :p) is the name, ring/sms me to get my addy tomorrow earlyish (wanna start watchin around 5, half 5?.. so it'll be over at 7, then we can head in to blue note), or if you can't ring me ask Syxpak here, pm or whatever :)

so basically akira at my gaff is still GO! unless you hear otherwise hehe

lord, the confusion.
    oh, and bring yer own beer :) and *cough* "tobacco" *endcough* if you want

Syxpack will you please remember to bring a copy of Mandrake 8.2 with you, and I will bring the blanks with me (3 if I remember correctly).

Akira: http://www.geocities.com/Area51/shadowlands/7332/akira.html

I dunno is that my kind of thing, I think I might give it a skip, and simply join ye @ 8pm in the pub.

;-phobos-)

heh, it's a great film :)

No I'm sure it is, and the whole *classic* element has me curious, but TBH the only animated movies I tend to watch are ones such as Toy Story 2, Ice Age...

;-phobos-)

hehe

i wonder how many people, if any, are going to turn up at my gaf..

i don't care, im going to be watchin it anyway :)

Originally posted by SyxPak

.....and is exactly the same age as me. He doesn't yet realise just how fortunate he is to share a birthday with one so great.....but he will learn, in time ;)

I'm sure I'll realise it someday ... :rolleyes:

Are we all set so kids?

In attendance are:
    Me, Kayos, Trojan, SyxPak, AngelWhore, Ronan|Raven, Mordeth, Drake, Robbo.

Good stuff, a right dangerous sounding crew and the night shall be good.

I have us booked in Angels for 23:00, so no dilly dallying! Make sure you've all got your money this time!

I think it's cloud's birthday today too.

Phobos, I have those CDRs for you mate

Mordeth has his ke, Akira is on, if ye meet us around the G+L at about 5ish we'll all head over with munchies

If I can grab a floppy I'll put Flashback and the amiga emulator on it for you Ropeh

Cheers John

And once again, Dav forgets to include me in the "in attendance will be" list. Am I supposed to take it as a hint, you muppet ;)

See yez in about an hour (or so).

;-phobos-)