Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin - Northside or Southside?

• 13-03-2002 11:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭

Don't know where else to put this, so here it is.
    Simple enough, where do you live in Dublin, Northside or Southside, or do you live outside The Pale? :) If so, I'm sorry.

<edit> Bóllox, I meant to make this a poll!! Ah well :( </edit>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

lived on both sides and outside for many years
    thats many years in each part.
    each had their merits, except outside, which sucks.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'm just getting my post count up here but anyhoo...

I don't really care for either. G`wan East Cavan! (The west of Cavan sucks)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Up the South!
    The best place to live :cool:
    seriously :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Can a mod not make this into a poll?
    With the options;
    1) Northside - what area?
    2) Southside - what area?
    3) Outside The Pale or different country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by OJ
    Up the South!
    The best place to live :cool:
    seriously :)

100% correct :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Originally posted by Makaveli

Yea that way you can be complete scum or else work for Daddy:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

North Side - Glasnevin

BomB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Did a 2.5 year tour of duty in Phibsboro but escaped backed to the southside intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Terminator

I've lived all over the shop. Usually move close to work so I don't have to commute :D

Northside :
    Baldoyle
    Ballymun
    Glasnevin
    Phibsboro
    Artane

Southside :
    Rathfarnham

If I had a choice I'd live on the Northside - probably sutton, glasnevin or clontarf

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I've lived all over the shop..

Blanchardstown
    Wicklow
    Knocklyon
    Firhouse
    Harolds Cross

But from outside the pale... hopfully heading back that
    way soon.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭frankly

Northside Rules
    Originally posted by Terminator I've lived all over the shop. Usually move close to work so I don't have to commute Northside :
    Baldoyle
    Ballymun
    Glasnevin
    Phibsboro
    Artane

Southside :
    Rathfarnham
    Your name would'nt be Ward or McDonagh? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

quote:

100% correct
    Ranger loves the South Side, He thinks it the best place to live......

Would not be able to live in the North side, I have nothing against Northsiders, well...thats another story.....

I think the south side is a better place, all to do with where you were born and raised....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

FFS look assorted tit's the world doesn't revolve around dublin :p

North Kilkenny meself :)

Originally posted by azezil

That's where you're wrong. Where is Kilkenny? You either live in The Pale or you're from another country :p

"A small dank pit in the lower recesses of the human mind" - that's where you live, or some people like to say Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Glasnevin then city centre for several moons

ah the old stomping grounds :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

yeah glasnevin is great

bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    "A small dank pit in the lower recesses of the human mind" -

Hehe Azezil were neighbours :)

I live on the northside meself malahide to be a little more precise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Ive lived both North and Southside.

I prefer the northside. Less pretensious. You meet more real people.

X

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie
    Hehe Azezil were neighbours :)
    ah that'd explain the drop in property value then :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Glasnevin, the premier place to live in Ireland.

Take it Bog-men.

(Ta me ag Trollail).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Irish_Ranger_IR

Who is Kenny and why did you kill him?

FGS yes Ireland revolves around Dublin, north or south side... anyway its an internal matter, Let the dubs fight it out!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Khynareth

Northside. Glasnevin!

Oh my God! Your from Kilkenny! .... You bastard! :D

I'm from East Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

ah that'd explain the drop in property value then :p

Yeah you moved in. I've been living here a lot longer then you my good man

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I'm from East Cavan.
    don't you mean Caaaaaavan

No... thats West and Central Cavan only I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Northside pah, Southside pah. Co. Dublin thats the place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally from Limerick, living in North County Dublin (well outside the Pale) in Donabate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

The southside smells slightly less strongly of puke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Terminator

Originally posted by Shinji

Yaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwws, and slightly stronger of erm, other things

Originally posted by Shinji

Depends where on the Southside, if you're close enought to the city, there's puke all over the shop.
    I've never seen a pool of razz on the Northside, and as Xterminator says it's more real :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

personally i prefer when less that 90% of the population are wearing shell tracksuits. unfortunatly that rules out dublin and every major urban area in the country. but i also hate having no street lights and a reasonable late night bus service. and that people is the dilema which i face every day of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Ringsend - Southside

There seems to be alot more of you Southside wusses on here than Northsiders! What's goin' on? Or are most of you from outside the Pale and students? Alot of students live on the Southside, that's why most students speak that way.... ya you know? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭G

Originally posted by amp
    Did a 2.5 year tour of duty in Phibsboro but escaped backed to the southside intact.

lmfao :D

spent my first 8 years in Raheny, kip.

moved to dun laoire from there when the ol' fla changed job. if I hadn't moved I'd be a fully qualified scobe by now :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Well I'm sure that all of us non dus agree we dont actually care about your nothside southside muck - your all the same pack of wasters.

Originally posted by EvilGeorge
    Well I'm sure that all of us non dus agree we dont actually care about your nothside southside muck - your all the same pack of wasters.
    you left out:
    skangers
    scum bags
    itinerants
    gob shíts
    morons
    w@nkers
    lower lifeform scum
    filth
    degenerate's
    pervert's
    well the list is endless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

I was trying not to be too savage but hey you hit it on the nose :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

I am a happy out-side-of-the-pale citizen :)

(near) Drogheda, Co. Louth (for ye people who never heard of places outside Dublin)

I'm a cluchie and I like it! :) (40 mins on a Train into Dublin :P )

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

Southside - all you Shell_suits and Muck Savages can kiss my Foxrock ass...

(or i'll tell daddy) ;)

Why are tracksuits (red, at the moment) so popular with the lower echelons? - no seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Hmmm....

Have lived in:

Glasnevin, Drumcondra, Phibsboro, Ringsend, Sandymount, Ranelagh... not that bad I suppose...

But you can't beat the home town...

MMMMRRRRRRAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

where I am now...

Originally posted by smiles
    I'm a cluchie and I like it! :)
    I'd much prefer to be a culchie than be a skanger or anything else to do with Dublin. Not that I don't like the place though but I think its way better up here.

MMMMRRRRRRAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

Bray? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Originally posted by G

Bray? lol

Yup - where men are men and women are convicted shoplifters

Fab spot, love it, never leaving it again. Now where's me 2 litre....

ah Bray's alright. I go down every now & then for a bitta snooker an' a boorgar

..but you wouldn't catch me drinking down there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

You wouldn't catch me pissing in that direction...

aaah, it's not so bad i usda live there (disclaimer : no i didn't)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

Blackrock. Go south east dublin!!!11!/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

clonmel, county tipperary. wan the premier!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭rachel

Whitechurch on the southside...
    but it really is a world of its own... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Just a point. Didn't I hear in history class all those years ago that the pale went from dublin all the way up to Dundalk and even a little bit further. Didn't the english control all this land??

anyway. formally from the far side of dundalk, now living 50 yards south of the Liffey