Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CAR Modding!

• 02-02-2002 1:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭

Im only 17,nearly 18 and like all hot blooded young males, i want a car that is nippy and looks better the Angila Jolie(or wot ever ya call her) actully No... but along them lines. :p

Is there any ppl out there intersted in car modding? have a cool modded car, give tips to a budding "little boy racer" ..(well will go real so cos with insurance so bloody high!!)

If there is much interest in it maybe we can get a board dedicated to it

This whole thing on spend alot of €€€€ on a cheap 1.1 something that looks amazin hasnt real took off here compared to the UK or Europe!

Any feedback would be good
    Maybe topic for Admin aswell

Odian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

hasn't really took off here as much because off insurance costs.
    those fancy alloys = bigger premium.

[rant]

anyway i personally think its limited to one type of person. scumbags.
    i mean what sort of tool spends money on making a ****e car look tackier?
    a corsa or an astra with stripes/neon lights/spoilers/stick on arches/fake alu. petrol caps/chrome twin exhausts etc. etc.
    all quite sad i reckon. drive a car like that you don't get any sort of respect. you get people pointing and laughing at you.

again imo, don't do it yourself on your first car.. save your money and get a proper body kit and wheels on a half decent car.

note i'm not putting down the proper mods... i.e. a peugeot 306 dimma or the like, thats a different ballgame entirely.

[/rant]

btw where abouts are you?
    theres absolutely loads of the above driving around my neck of the woods (celbridge)... only two of which i can say "man thats a good job", namely a saxo vts and a yellow cordoba, both with specialised and properly fitted bodykits.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'll agree on the whole scumbags point (well, mostly) You see them driving fast in some 88-D piece of crap, painted white, tinted windows, spoiler, and loud exhaust. Then I overtake them up the road in my 1.1 Punto, and wonder why? All they have now is an annoyingly loud car, people laughing at them, and gardai stopping you all the time for being so blatantly trying to break the speed limit. And also, some of these people are younger then me, and my insurance is €4500. Where do they get the money to pay (increasing) insurance and pay for expensive useless sparkly bits to fit on their car? I bet half of them don't even have insurance, and that for me is a super-scumbag thing to do :(. If I had the cash to mod my car and pay my insurance, I wouldn't bother. I'd buy a better car. To me, car mods are like fake tan - they cost too much, are more hassle once the fun is gone, and everyone knows it's not real! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Kali
    anyway i personally think its limited to one type of person. scumbags.
    i mean what sort of tool spends money on making a ****e car look tackier?
    a corsa or an astra with stripes/neon lights/spoilers/stick on arches/fake alu. petrol caps/chrome twin exhausts etc. etc.
    all quite sad i reckon. drive a car like that you don't get any sort of respect. you get people pointing and laughing at you.

* Gets out of his seat and applauds *

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Odian

yea there are little wanna knackers driven heaps of sh1t that i can go faster then when im on my push bike!

There is a huge market out there for this type of thing,my best mates cousin spent 3 grand doin up his new pug 306,amazin job on it,to be honest im quite surprised the car section has not picked off,hardly any posts,yet a lot of ppl work for there car

And on puttin on all the "extra crap" it is crap if ya put crap on it,that can be said about nearly everything though

Im in the Knocklyon\Templeogue area and there are lots of these cars goin around

Seamus this one is for you

car1.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

^^^^ awwwwwww look it thinks its an all grown up big real car.

ain't that cute.

Yippeeeee for Gideon another ONE up for his post count

Well done Gideon,ure mother should be proud of you

• Registered Users Posts: 17,034 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I strongly advise you reconsider before you mod. You could end up making the most expensive mistake of your life. And the ugliest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Originally posted by Odian
    yea there are little wanna knackers driven heaps of sh1t that i can go faster then when im on my push bike!

There is a huge market out there for this type of thing,my best mates cousin spent 3 grand doin up his new pug 306,amazin job on it,to be honest im quite surprised the car section has not picked off,hardly any posts,yet a lot of ppl work for there car

And on puttin on all the "extra crap" it is crap if ya put crap on it,that can be said about nearly everything though

Im in the Knocklyon\Templeogue area and there are lots of these cars goin around

Seamus this one is for you

car1.JPG
    Thats looks suspiciously like either Delaford, or that estate alongside it opposite esso/spar.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Gideon
    ^^^^ awwwwwww look it thinks its an all grown up big real car.

ain't that cute.

And the hits just keep on coming... but when it concerns boy-racers you have to ask yourself - Can we ever take the piss enough?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

I have to agree with Neil on this one (not that i dont agree with the mods anyway). If you are going to put alot of money into an old car in your eyes it is going to look good and you are going to be happy with it but at the end of the day it aint going to increase the value of the car, it may increase your selling potential of the car with other little boy racers, but in reality it wont increase the value of the car.

If you want to pump some money into a car why not buy a car that has all of your requirements as standard. Some models of cars come standard with the sporty lights, alloy wheels, cd and various other stuff that all the boy racers crave and desire, if you take this option yes it may cost more but it is a cost that will stand, you can pass it on to the next person who wants to buy your vehicle.

In relation to alloy wheels bumping up the insurance premimum i have never heard of that before but the way the insurance has gone in this mad time i would not be one bit surprised with anything that i have heard about insurance companies.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Celt

Thats looks suspiciously like either Delaford, or that estate alongside it opposite esso/spar.

It could be, but most of the estates in Knocklyon look the same, and everyone has though semi-oval conservatory things.....I once knew a guyy while working in superquinn (knocklyon) that never went out, the only thing he ever bought was food, and then went and blew 6 months of savings on a car stereo!!! what a muppet!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by seamus
    I once knew a guyy while working in superquinn (knocklyon) that never went out, the only thing he ever bought was food, and then went and blew 6 months of savings on a car stereo!!! what a muppet!!:rolleyes:

Yup, that's one of em.

When I got my car last year, my 17yo brother told me I now had to get three things: alloy wheels, a spoiler and a stereo that coast more than the car. (he was kidding btw)

Came with alloy wheels and a little spoiler (not my reason for buying the car I hasten to add) - came out of the damn Toyota factory with the spoiler so you could say it was well-fitted.

Draw the line at spending a silly amount of money on a stereo (but doesn't seem to bother people younger than me)

Living in the centre of Limerick, you see these idiots in their 88 kadetts or whatever, racing between the traffic lights for no reason (and I can't understand the baseball caps - there's a roof on the car so no-one's going to get their hair wet).

Oh, and the damn noisy exhausts. I want a silent car.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Originally posted by Odian
    Yippeeeee for Gideon another ONE up for his post count

Well done Gideon,ure mother should be proud of you

its so laughable ffs!
    the only thing its got going is that its not a red honda civic with black tinted windows and some knacker behind the wheel playin scooter back in ireland.

Like with the money you'd spend on moddin your car ya could buy and probally insure a half decent one. FIAT come onnnn!

oh i likes the 'speed holes' in the bonnet NICE
    Also its missin go faster stripes, like thats basic.
    And the hits just keep on coming... but when it concerns boy-racers you have to ask yourself - Can we ever take the piss enough?

Evidently not?!

It aint an esate in knocklyon any way
    I once knew a guyy while working in superquinn (knocklyon) that never went out, the only thing he ever bought was food, and then went and blew 6 months of savings on a car stereo!!! what a muppet!!

He worked there 10 years.... and he bought a walkman!! :D

Nah whoever the guy is its not his fault(well not entirely) i work in that dump myself and the pay the monkeys get in the zoo is better then they pay us!!

Why do people mod there pc case?

Why do people paint the outside of there house red?

Why do people get a mowhawk and wear black fishnet stockings?

One reason to be/act/look different!!

Cars are getting cheaper-- but insurace is gettin higher

solution= buy a nice 1 L or 1.1 little run around and mod it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭NeRb666

Originally posted by nanook
    I have to agree with Neil on this one (not that i dont agree with the mods anyway). If you are going to put alot of money into an old car in your eyes it is going to look good and you are going to be happy with it but at the end of the day it aint going to increase the value of the car, it may increase your selling potential of the car with other little boy racers, but in reality it wont increase the value of the car.

It's a well known fact that it decreases the value of a car. Nobody would accept it as a trade in for starters. And you'd get laughed at when you tell potential buyers that it has one careful owner. Especially a Punto. They aren't the most reliable things in the world, even before mr. boy racer tries to make it as loud as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭Clinical Waste

Yeah, why would you waste all that money modding a crappy old car that was never cool, when you could waste it modding a perfectly sensible (& crappy old) biege computer case?

And any modding of anything that involves football teams (soccer or otherwise) & including those STUPID mini jersey things should just be banned outright.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

you should spend loads of money getting a cool licenece plate like your cousin did.

then spend more money buying an official state one when the police pull you over, give you a fine and make you get one.

gg.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,502 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's more fun, trying to guess the location of the picture! (Hey! New thread!) Templeogue Wood, isn't it Odian?

No
    When I got my car last year, my 17yo brother told me I now had to get three things: alloy wheels, a spoiler and a stereo that coast more than the car.

Don't forget the furry dice. STYLISH!!
    If you are going to put alot of money into an old car in your eyes it is going to look good and you are going to be happy with it but at the end of the day it aint going to increase the value of the car, it may increase your selling potential of the car with other little boy racers, but in reality it wont increase the value of the car.

Here here.

Also can we keep this post motor related. We appear to be straying off the path of modding.

Cheers.
    Neil

sadly looks like there is no intrest in this at all, well still wont stop me from saving my ass off to get wot i want,

some could call it a hobby,some could call it dream
    most of ye would call it MAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by Krusty_Clown
    It's more fun, trying to guess the location of the picture! (Hey! New thread!) Templeogue Wood, isn't it Odian?

icetronix (the sticker on the window) are based where i live (lad who was in my class in school runs it, they do stereos and wheels n **** like that) in celbridge. so its a pretty safe bet its taken there. plus i've seen that car around several times. case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Celt

Ah I think I know where it is now.
    See a church spire sticking above the mondeo on the right? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

Car modding, the technical aspect of it is extremely fascinating. The idea of getting 200+hp and beast torque from an engine with the displacement of a few pints of milk appeals to the engineer in me. However this side of the pond, modding has been pretty much restricted to gammy bodykits, ridiculous amounts of meshwork (we KNOW it isnt turbo'd you cheap bastid) tinted windows and little or now engine modifications.
    Magazine i subscribe to (from america) is all about car modding, yet there is not a woman to be found in the print.

For technical info on modifying engines (intakes all the way through to nitrous) have a poke around www.sportcompactcarweb.com, explains stuff really well.

i would have to agree there totally, finally some one on the same lines as me.

I saw a fella put a 2 litre turbo into a GT Starlet,about 200 HP i reckon,dont ask me how it fitted!!
    It can be not that expensive to boost yer car a bit,from doin simple things do induction kits,cams,anything that brings in cooler air, ya probably wont beleive me when i saw that them big exhausts actully have a purpose(well some of the time)

winning hand check that link :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 1,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lucifer

ye, there is a comma at the end of that like, which is not suposed 2 be included wit the hyerlink tags

Working Link

in my opinion modding can be nice on some cars, and if done well. eg i know someone with a Subaru Impreza 2.0L Turbo that has been mod'ed and it looks well and goes well

and i also have seen a micra with a spoiler on the roof that would get you caught under a bridge it was so big! car also had racing strips, neon lights, alloys, tinted windows, HUGE, LOUD exhaust. All jsut way tooooo tacky

ye, there is a comma at the end of that like, which is not suposed 2 be included wit the hyerlink tags

were you sloshed when u typed that? :)

Anyways, Odian, what exactly do you have in mind?

I was thinking along the lines of a Pug 106, good deals goin round on some of them 4-5 years old,nice stlye,small engine with out sounding like a lawn mowering-keeping insurance down!

Would stick on them deadly Lexus Is200 rear lights,maybe a F50 bonnet with M3 side mirrors,and all on 17's

would get some kind of have decent induction kit and exhaust system

Ya have a car ureself?

Odian

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 1,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lucifer

i know someone who is selling a nice 106, but as you said.. small engine, cheaper insurance.... its a 1.6L GTI so i doubt you will get insured on it easily. its a '98 btw

them 3 little letters can increase the insurance by a massive chunk!! has anybody done any projects like this!!

Post up pics!

Where did ya go?
    How much was it?

Odian

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Spunj

I bought a rusty old Beetle years ago and spent most of my waking hours welding, hammering, spraying and cursing it.
    I eventually got it on the road with these mods: 1 piece windows, colour coded alloys, lowered, smooth decklid, smooth bumpers etc etc:) My Piece de Resistance had to be the electric doors. I welded up the door handles, smoothed the area off and sprayed it. Then installed a solenoid which i could operate from outside the car, popping the door open as if by magic...

I used to drive down to all the beetle shows in places like Limerick and Galway during the summers. You would see some really crazy mods, like the guy who had a 2 litre alfa engine hanging out the back of his beetle or the camper van with a beetle welded to its roof.

Sadly, I sold it a few years ago, last I heard DigiFone or someone was using it in Galway I think. I have pics of it somewhere if I can find and scan them I might post them up.