Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Liverpool the most boring team in the Premiership??

• 13-01-2002 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭

Ok all in all a decent result away to Arsenal, but really the defensiveness of it all is depressing. Is it the fact the club don't have any wingers or just taking the easy way out?

What happened to Barmby??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭dobdobdo

9 Points clear at the top of the league in November and they were PROBABLYthe most boring team in the premiership, Thompson wins the manager of the month. They beat Man U 3-1 and they think the've won the league? But then again they are PROBABLY still the most boring team in the premiership? Who sponsors them?
    re Nick Barmby, Good question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

I think Barmby's injured, not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭A$$A$$IN

Liverpool have thrown it away!Thompsonj needs to get lost and let Houllier do his job.I think the pressure has got to him.Plus Anelka WTF!

Liverpool suck without Owen.
    :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

no liverpool are not the most boring team aston villa whom i support(why i cant remember)are.
    TBH liverpool are not even proper competition to villa as the no.1 boring team in england.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fulham are the most boring team in the Premiership, followed by Villa. As for Liverpools problems as I said in a different thread
    the Reds have no width and desperatly need someone like
    Trevor Sinclair, is £10 million too much?

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Chucky

Im sick of people like ye who claim a teams season is 'over' because they go through a bad patch. They were saying it about united at the start. - And remember arsenal 3 years ago?!

Im an Everton supporter but give liverpool a chance.

And they are not boring! They play attractive passing football, but perhaps lack the intelligence at times to create chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

theu should have kept ziege.
    as for getting hoiulier back, the man is recovering form a bloody heart attack.
    im quiet sure at the moment he feels thats more important to him than a bunch of over paid lads running around a park after a ball.
    try and put it in perspective for gods sake.
    im sure he will be back when hes good and proper.

and no, i dont think liverpool are the most boring team in the premiership. i think all the teams in the middle of the league are. ie, spurs, charlton, villa, sunderland etc.
    we are all equally useless :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

The worst team to watch this season have been Everton.

The were so bad it was shocking. You wouldnt think they were pro's. One word surmises there approach.

Inept

Now they have Campbell and Ferguson back to fitness they might be a different prospect, but no wonder the fans are going mad.

Where is all the money? Where are the talented youngsters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭nore

Trevor Sinclair? He's had a career with QPR and West Ham. He's never played for England. He's now 28. And he's suddenly worthy of £10 million bids from Liverpool? I dunno.
    But I agree that Liverpool have no width. They have noone who can run with the ball. It makes such a difference in terms of allowing a team to get forward. United have Giggs, Arsenal Pires and Leeds Kewell. Liverpool did have McManaman and they should get him back.

>> The worst team to watch this season have been Everton.

I must admit they look worse than a Division 3 club at times but they are very direct and have great determination - thats what keeps us up! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Everton have been quite boring for the past number of seasons.
    this season alone i think we went like 5 matches without even scoring a goal.

you cant buy exciting players with very little money and to be fair to Walter Smith as a manager he is a good manager and has done well with little resources.

Im an everton fan and I cant even stand watching them on TV they are so boring.

Hopefully if we can get Bobby Zamora though it may change things but then again scoring goals in the second division is probably alot easier than scoring in the premiership but if we were playing in the second division then we would probably be struggling there too at the moment.

too right - Everton and walter smith have done really well despite what goes on behind the scenes.

THere's talk of a new stadium..?? - but I heard last year they are E25m in dept!!!

The players they have bought over the years have been excellent quality. Bakayoko, Dacourt, Materazzi - all gone on to massive clubs! The scouts at everton must be among the best......pity the financial situation isnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

That Bakayoko was such a player in championship manager 97\98

dont i know it! ....but I think theres a Champo Manager forum somewhere. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

As I see it, Liverpools problem is that they aren't inventive enough. Apart from the obvious lack of width, there is a distinct lack of guile/craft in the starting eleven.

The defence are still very good, but theres no point limiting teams to knocking one really good goal past you if you aren't creating chances yourself. I've always thought, and my opinion hasn't changed, that Jari Litmanen should be accomodated in the team because he introduces that fluidity and good link-up play to the midfield and attack.

Owen will always score goals, and even a local junior league team would score against a good defence with him in their side but liverpool are over reliant on his ability to save their asses. Heskey has only scored 1 in the last 30 he has played but he is still played up front.

Of course people call liverpool boring because they have resorted to poor quality long ball football without the kind of intelligent passing that a team needs to create chances, especially one ith no real wingplay.

I dont think they should have sold Fowler. But that goes a long way back. They should never have even dropped him from the team all those months back! Heskey is just like a big pile of s**t! - he does nothing but be there to roughen things up in the game. :)

And yeh I think Jari LItmanen should be in the first team for every game.

Emile Hesky is a waste of space for liverpool.....but definetly after the draw on saturday Phil Thompson has lost the plot as manager.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Ooopsss ye did it again...... When is someone goin to change yer team!!! Once again my point is proven that the only scorer you have is owen!! Ye are now in danger of not even getting a top 4 spot!!!! Gwan the Saints!!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yes. Why? Cos theyre ****.

Manchester United will ALWAYS be superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Manchester United will ALWAYS be superior

This is so true!!!
    No matter wot u say they will always come out on top.
    CRISIS in Old Trafford was all the rage about 5 weeks ago with LIVERPOOL (most definately the most boring team) on top. Now look at them. A one man team they are and a pathetic team without him.

Jari LItmanen should be in the first team for every game
    This is also true. He is the only one of them with good European experience. OK Anelka might have won the European Cup but is he mentally alright??

Back to Liverpool being boring. Litmanen can provide the spark they need but doesn't play enough. Maybe with a fully fit squad they might not be as boring.!!! MAYBE!!!!

Ye are so wrong. The trend (as I see it) is that all the teams 'lesser' than Man UTD are actually getting better. There is only so far Man UTD can go. Once they reach their potential what then? they either drop, or stay - while all the other teams catch up. Its a common trend in the life cycle of a soccer club.

I think alot of teams are going through that kind of "Golden Patch" period. Leeds have, Liverpool have and Man Utd are currently in one at the moment.

The one team to be showing more consistancy of results than any other team seems to me to be Arsenal.

I do think Arsenal will win the league this year. and gosh wouldnt it be great if Liverpool didnt even make it into the top 4. The way they play these days I dont think i could stand seeing them play in the champions league for another season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

Maybethe most boring, but strong contenders!!!

how can a with such quality just keep kicking the long ball and hope that Micheal Owen will do something with it. last time i checked, u were allowed 11 players on a team!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

still boring :D

since when are liverpool playing long ball football..

.they are still trying the passing game but they havent got the quality in midfield to do that i mean berger and gerrard are both great players but they are runners when they have the ball..and carrighar ...never liked him. Hamman is doing ok as well this season i think...i like dieter hamman

I like pissing people off:

Its not "carrighar".....its Carragher

"i like dieter hamman" Nooooooooo you like Dietmar Hamman!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭BlackMagic

of course!!!!!!

need i say more:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Yes. Why? Cos theyre ****.

Manchester United will ALWAYS be superior.

Pity they didnt listen to your tactical genius against Middlesborough then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Dustaz

Pity they didnt listen to your tactical genius against Middlesborough then
    `
    ... or Liverpool for that matter.... heh...

Gosh Liverpooool were so boring today against Arsenal...even Ian Wright said it.

Hesky looks like a headless chicken running around the pitch...when Jari came on he added a bit more style...but Liverpool dont seem to have any ideas on how to break down a defence...Arsenal were absolutely superb in attack.

Washout ,, good post, they were terrible, played the same against us on Tuesday nite, but diffference is we did not score, if we scored first then no way would they have been able to come back.

Heskey is useless, akward and defo cannot score.

As for Carrigehire or what ever his name is, the lad could get a few months for throwing the coin yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Heskey should be dropped immediately - he's been playing absolutely $hite for almost the entire season, yesterday he was truly pathetic.

As for Carragher throwing the coin back into the crowd, it's understandable that he did it, but he could have hit some oul wan or kid and then be up for assault.

Anyway if you look at the replay, as the ref shows him the red card you can see that or another coin passing his left shoulder :)

Originally posted by yop
    Ooopsss ye did it again...... When is someone goin to change yer team!!! Once again my point is proven that the only scorer you have is owen

apart from danny murphy eh?

Originally posted by yop
    but diffference is we did not score, if we scored first then no way would they have been able to come back.

thats the point.
    you didnt score did you?

mind you i suppose the ref cheated didnt he, coz utd cant possibly lose a fair game of football.
    nice to see you out of two cups this seaason. hopefully you will be dumped out of champions league soon enough as well.

WWM

do u fancy me or something cause I am getting the era feeling u is a batty boy.

apart from danny murphy eh?

http://www.4thegame.com/stats/lfc/scorers

Have a look at this, it will prove my point and stop been a gimp.

BTW, You are waffling again. Yes we did not score. I stated that already.
    Point, look through scoursers season and find me who many times did they come back when they were behind????

U must be a genius, 2 cups, hip hip hora, the gimp has landed.

Now fuc off a moderate some kids site, cause you do not have the brain power to discuss football.

Originally posted by yop
    WWM

do u fancy me or something cause I am getting the era feeling u is a batty boy.

and why do you get that feeling mop?
    Originally posted by yop

http://www.4thegame.com/stats/lfc/scorers
    sorry, what was the point of this?
    Originally posted by yop
    Have a look at this, it will prove my point and stop been a gimp.

sorry, im still missing the point?
    Originally posted by yop
    BTW, You are waffling again. Yes we did not score. I stated that already..

ohh am i? as for the scousers coming back after being behind, i think you'll find the rule states somewhere that the team with the most goals wins the game.
    who cares about ifs and buts, and whats if etc. the fact is you lost, plain and squarely and you cant even admit that the played the better game. let me guess, the tea leaves fell unkindly and the meant utd couldnt win?
    bad loser.
    Originally posted by yop

U must be a genius, 2 cups, hip hip hora, the gimp has landed.

im sure you have a point here as well, but im unable to find it im afraid.....
    as for being a genius, who knows, but at least i have mind of my own i can use and dont have to follow the rest of the flock like you....
    Originally posted by yop

Now fuc off a moderate some kids site, cause you do not have the brain power to discuss football.

a man utd supporter talking about brains..
    hahaha, you should have posted that on the humour site.
    now if you cant discuss footbal like an adult and stop lowering yourself to silly personal attacks i think i should take you to a few kiddie sites.

or will the poor little baby get his mumsy wumsy on line to tell me not to be so naughty waughty to her little boysy wosey?

WWMan, I think his point, however badly and rudely put, was that Liverpools only really prolific and reliable goal scorer is... of course... Michael Owen.

God this is getting boring, I do not even why I am doing this, but then again I am getting a good laugh out of u

the number on the link, is for all the other people to see the point u made was very poor, obviously I would not expect u to be able to count over 2

As for rules.....what are u waffling again.

At the end of the day, we are top of the table. If we are not top of the table at the end of the season, such is life, if we are then we are once again champions. That is the way the league works. twat
    im sure you have a point here as well, but im unable to find it im afraid.....
    :D Now why does this not suprise me
    silly personal attacks
    Thats right.... give up u are losing

thanks Bard,

Liverpool have a problem with goals, that is what I was showing, just as we have a problem with the gimps we have in central defence.

FINALLLY someone who can discuss and not rant

Originally posted by yop

FINALLLY someone who can discuss and not rant

Yes, I can... and if you stopped being blatantly ignorant and firing utterly piss-poor insults at WhiteWashMan instead of actually debating the issue properly then maybe you could too.

Originally posted by yop
    thanks Bard,

Liverpool have a problem with goals,

except when they score against man utd, in which case the ref was probably bribed and his family threatened.
    after all, utd couldnt have lost any other way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Again as in the last thread yop (especially) & wwman give up the personal insults or I will delete this thread.

Gandalf.

Originally posted by gandalf
    Again as in the last thread yop (especially) & wwman give up the personal insults or I will delete this thread.

Gandalf.

lol

damn, work is over and i have to go home.
    i was getting a blast out of that.

School is over WWW is off, knew it..

Yes, I can... and if you stopped being blatantly ignorant and firing utterly piss-poor insults at WhiteWashMan instead of actually debating the issue properly then maybe you could too.

Not been ignorant, listen I am hear to debate, well actually to work but we will not go into that!!!
    except when they score against man utd, in which case the ref was probably bribed and his family threatened.

What!!!! what is your point.

Not been ignorant,

Yes, you have.
    listen I am hear to debate

Then perhaps you should start debating and stop insulting, name-calling and ignoring others opinions.

--

time for one of these methinks...

gandalflock.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Don't tell me how to do my job tart :)

Gandalf.

give me an opinion I ignored??