Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do you hate the englilsh?

• 21-10-2001 2:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭

id like to ask a question.

why do you hate the english?

many posts appear on this board with disparaging remarks about english people and england. im quiet curious as to why people actually dislike england and/or english people.

is there actually a reason, or is it just that many people dont have brain to themselves with which to make their own opinions up?

yours,
    lovesick from manchester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Its been taught to us by parents and teachers. People are sheep. They don't think for themselves but use the opinions of other people. Its weak and lazy.

If these people that hate the english stopped and thought logcially they'd realise that theres a few of them that are not complete and utter tossers. :p

They english are an easy target to blame all our woes on. I'm reminded of the whole Monty Python Life of Brain movie where its asked "What have the Romans ever done for us ? "

However being serious they were the cause of a lot of misery, death and destruction only a few generations ago and it has not been forgotten. While I don't want to get into a whole NI debate I have to say that they also aided in the persecution of catholics up north in recent history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

I know its slightly digresing from the topic, but .. have you ever noticed how many people support premiership teams?

Then when england are playing an international, they cheer for the other side, despite there being ManU/Liverpool/Arsenal/Leeds etc. players in the team.

It does not make sense. I know when they didnt qualify for the world cup etc, the cheered Ireland on, because we had English based player too.

Just another silly anglophile reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Good point Xterminator. Thats so true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

They r legal terrorists, that stole our land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

I don't hate the English. The only thing I hate is the english tourist; on holiday in a shop, and english couple were just shouting their heads off at their heads off too their little girl because she wanted something and she was crying about it, I just found this unbaleivable obnoxious and it got under my skin. That wasn't an isolated incident, I've seen this many times. (summary: The loud obnoxious english tourist)

And then theres the beer chugging moronic English you see on tv, the uncovered series and such. But in that i suppose the Irish can be just as bad in that feild. And then theres the whole loud and obnoxious thing poking it's head in again. (summary: loud obnoxious beer chugging English tourist)

Then theres one more thing which I find quiet stupid, Prince William, he's famous because he was born? Everything he does is published in a news paper! I find the whole english family thing quiet backwards. I know they have no physical power but every week theres some crap on hte news paper about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

yellum. you have got exactly thge point i was going to make.
    what have they ever done from us from life of brian.
    perfect.
    also xterminator. another good point that gets up my nose.
    i dont understand the hypocrasy.
    jonny, sorry, do you want to back that one up mate?
    i have many english froends and not one of them has blown up anyone. whats your point? or have you just proved mine?

el marco. i think you are entirely missing the point.
    i appreciate what your saying, but the examples you give can come from any person from any nation.
    we get a lot of english TV. therfore it follows that the people you see are english.
    as for the royal family, im sure if you go to any country where there is a monarchy, you will see the same thing. again you see it because you are watching english television.
    besides, english people like to know what happens to english people, the same way every time bono goes to the toilet, the irish press tell us about it. why?
    because hes irish.

do we really have that long a memory that we cant forget things that happened a few generations ago. can we not 'get over it'?
    the british have pulled out of northern ireland. they have their own government and assembly and all that. they have their own police force. now the problem with the north, is the people that live in the north. so what is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

P.S
    I don't hate the English, I just have a dislike of those few I talk of.
    And very true, because we watch english tv more than our own or any other culture we're forced to see the few english making and arsé of themselves and have no real idea what other cultures are like.
    But I have to disagree about your bono arguement, the english monarchy get more coverage then we could ever give someone in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Note, all of the below are generalisations. I know that they do not apply to all Irish and all English. Cope

Combining points from two earlier two posts :

1) We hat ethe english superior attitude from the great Empire days. Give it up guys. I mean, honestly, how long will you go singing "two world wars and one world cup" at the Germans? Honestly....get over yourselves.

2) You stole our land hundreds of years ago you bastahds.

Now, isnt that a bit hypocritical.

Ultimately, I think what irks Irish (in general) about the English is this superior attitude that many of them constantly seem to come across as having.

English are far less likely to learn a foreign language than the Irish. I mean - why should they - the world should speak english. You see this typified by so many english tourists on holidays

The English have a superior attitude that their way is always best. As ab example, they have refused in the past to accept the EU courts overturning British Supreme Court decisions. The reasoning? "We have one of the oldest and most respected legal systems in the world. We expect the EU to back our decisions, and will not be cowed into being ruled from abroad by accepting decisions made by a foreign court."

And then there's the other side of the coin. The Irish are a nation of begrudgers, and the English are our closest neighbours...therefore they catch most of the begrudgery.

As Bono once put it....An American sees the rich man living on the hill and thinks "some day, I will live in a house like that". The Irishman sees the same man in the same house, and thinks "some day, you'll get whats coming to you, you bastahd".

At the end of the day, we dont hate the English. At least, those who are capable of being rational dont hate them. We take the piss out of them, and bitch about them, but we dont realy hate them.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Goink

Did you hear the one about the Englishman, Scotsman and the Irishman ?

the Irishman is shown to be a thick ****.

This being a popular English/British joke.

mostly told by irish people who have a sense of humour and can tacke the mick out of themselves......
    the english usually take the mick out of the welsh in the same way we do the kerryman.

again the royal family. its their royal family. they can have all the news they want about it. dont like it, dont read it. simple.

one way or another, every point thats been made can really be turned around on the irish. you get the same people in every culture.

and goink, there is a huge difference between british and english....

Funny, most Englishman/Scotsman/Irishman jokes I heard were heard *in* Ireland, taking the piss out of the Irish.

So its not like the English / Brits have a monopoly on it.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Originally posted by Goink
    Did you hear the one about the Englishman, Scotsman and the Irishman ?

the Irishman is shown to be a thick ****.

This being a popular English/British joke.
    It's a joke alright... especially if you compare general standards of education between the three nations.
    /me chuckles!

Having said that...
    There are tossers in every culture, people are people, and people are tossers.
    QED.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Terran

Do you really need a reason to hate the English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

I think anyone who actively hates the English to be a hypocrite. Most of us watch/read/play on or listen to English originated Tv/magazines/website/game servers/music/football.

Personally, I don't hate the English or the England of today, but I'm not too fond of their ancestors. And it's those ancestors who did opress this country for a long time that most Irish folk have at least a slight resentment for IMO.

Originally posted by amp
    . And it's those ancestors who did opress this country for a long time that most Irish folk have at least a slight resentment for IMO.

should we not 'live and let live' ?

isnt it about time we got over it?
    we hear so much about disliking the english, but ive yet to see one vaild reason why?

dont get me wrong, im not on a moral crusade here. i just read a post about hating the english and it made me wonder what peoples reasons for it were.....

maybe they just havent read this thread yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Simple fact is that.

The nation is just a further extention of man's combative nature this stems from when we were proto-human simians.

We fought each other for dominance of our simian groups.
    Then different simian groups fought each other for dominance of food supplies and territory.
    Then different villages/settlements of quasi-humans fought for resources.
    Then proto-nations fought for dominance of land-resources etc.
    Now nations fight for the same thing.

Within nations - political parties fight each other.
    Within political parties - politicians fight each other and so on.

People group themselves together similarly to how our ancestors grouped to hunt - there is strength in numbers.

Ergo the concept of a nation is erroneous.
    Most english people have a similarly comprable standard of living to most Irish people.

Within both societies there are elite. The fact that Britian is more populos and had established itself in the past as globally dominant is incedental. Had the Irish on this Island had more resources of X or Y then they would have done exactly the same thing - no doubt - no question.
    Northern Ireland is an example of how one group of simians from a larger more populos group established it's authority over another to look out for it's own self interests. So are english evil for doing this - well yes. Would the Irish have done the same thing - you bet. Does this make US evil? Look at how Irish people treat Black people, Travellers, Eastern Europeans.

Yes I feel a strange sort of proto-human affinity with the nationalists in the north. I love my country. I'd probably fight and die for it in some sort of leud propagandist war.

Bottom line is that we, as a civilisation need to start moving away from these kind of low - level feudal conflicts, because our technology has progressed to such a level that , if a war between two of our most powerful simian groupings were to errupt it would more than likely lead to Nuclear winter or horrible biological warefare and this would undermine our very existance as a species.

Now our technology is either going to resuce us in an absurd sort of way by forcing us not to fight for fear of totally annihilating our species or it we be our deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭pertinax

Theres an important difference between hating the english and hating some english. Why do i hate some english? Some english have a power complex who think their living in the "glorious" days of the british empire. It is a noble thing to conquer a weaker people and the meak deserve it for having the affrontory to be weaker. They were there 500 years ago and theres ones here now. i'm 10 times the nationalist i was 6 months ago because of the contempt that some of these cretins have for the independance of the republic. Its actually painfull for some of them to see it the way it is. its easy to say get over it but when im faced with some fools who are living in a fantasy world of english superiority its tough going. when i go to work tomorrow ill be with 3 english people so i better keep an eye on them incase they try to take over the country. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

Well I'm 21.
    Soooo......
    I think nationality is a concept that of course is relevant but, is often used by politicians to bamboozle the "prolateriate" for want of a better word into hating other people rather than actually getting up off their mansions and doing the jobs they were elected to do.

So yes I am a Nationalist and a Republican , I will not allow some fscking lazy politician to use this as a means to getting himself a nice cushdie distraction from his/her own complete inepditude.

Look as George Bush jr & senior - using war to placate the disaster both of them respectively made of the US economy.

Ergo - Example of politician using nationalism to hide his/her own failings.

Yes Nationalism is important, but only in so long as someone's nationalism is important to someone else in some other country. A Mexican stand off if you will.

Solution - both parties compromise. Travellers are not scum. Traditionally travellers come from the displaced Irish of Northern Ireland when the British colonised the North. Now in this context travellers would seem to be the most downtrodden Irish people, not just displaced by the "hated" english but spurned by their own brethern.

Maybe I'm not making sense, you decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Sean

I used to be in the ira :eek: So i was put in jail for 8 years without trail.
    They have always Tryed to take over a land or kill someone who stood up for thier rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I don't hate the big-headed obnoxious violent ignorant drunken hooligan hairy bastards at all, at all :) God, no!

--

Actually, I think there IS an inbred natural resentment toward the English people handed down through generations of the Irish. Just as certain attitudes and personality traits may normally appear in someone who grows up influenced by an English upbringing, I think many Irish grow up (at least) resenting (if not hating) the English, and possibly not knowing why. Conversely, of course, there's some of the same on the English side in that many English people would think of the Irish as a twee, backward and laughable race that should have been 'assimilated' by them a long time ago. But then again, this is part of what Irish people end up resenting, in what ends up being a vicious circle...

--

Personally, I've had enough experience of the "typical English" obnoxious attitude of "the whole world should be/speak English" (the Eddie Izzard gag with the man in Afghanistan looking for his 'sausage egg and chips' jumps to mind... 'sausage egg and chips please... sausage egg and chips... eh?... do you speak english?... eh? you just don't try, do you?... tch... going around all day speaking Afghan... tch...!') and the ridiculous '2 world wars and 1 world cup' stuff - enough experience to make me subconsciously resent the English a little as a people ...- I know that such stereotypes are unfair, but it just gets to be a bit much at times, - and the fact that such attitudes DO exist among them makes them that bit easier to take the piss out of.

Then again, Irish so-called "fans" chanting "IRA" and other such crap during "Fields of Athenry" is just as bad.

--

BTW, a popular chant when Ireland play Scotland in football:

"We hate the English / We hate the English / We hate the English mooooore than yoooooou!!!" ... "No you don't!" ... "Yes we do!" ... "No you don't!" ... "Yes we do!" ... "No you don't!" ... "Yes we do!" (etc.) [sung by both crowds... obviously]

--

Hollywood hates the English too... (yay!?)
    Also possibly of interest: 'Anti-English' presenter in racism row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

I don't hate British people at all but I can understand why some people do. We've only been left to our own devices for almost 80 years (this Decemeber).
    It's not as if there's no reason whatsoever. They savaged our country. However, I certainly wouldn't go around giving abuse to British people regarding the 700 years because it's a silly thing to be doing and I have no personal hatred to contribute to the discussion.

Also, this talk of "live and let live" is a solution to a childs problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Id like to know why my post in response to Irish ppls opinions on travellers was cut.Its a fact that theyre more likely to commit crime than the general population.I never called any1 a "drunken hooligan hairy bastard"like Bard did but he can say it and i cant make valid points?This is just sad censorship of legitamate views.Shame on you boards.ie.

Originally posted by Sean
    I used to be in the ira :eek: So i was put in jail for 8 years without trail.
    They have always Tryed to take over a land or kill someone who stood up for thier rights

well, the ira is a terrorist group, and they are illegal.
    i know nothing of your case so i cant comment on that.
    however, i havent seen the english take over anywhere except maybe ibeza, and i certainly havent seen them kill enyone for standing up for their rights.
    dont involve the north in this, because that is now a problem for the north. anyway, its a load of religious nonsense rather than a national thing. im sure they all support the same football team (crap as they are.)
    gopher i didnt read your commecnts so i have no idea what was said. ask monty, hes mod here.
    bard, good point about sausage and egg, however, how many times have you made comments about kerrymen, or culchies. are these not the same?
    hell, i slag of culchies night and day, na di know a whole load of kerryman jokes. and if your experince is with english people on holiday, then yes, if you get a big bunch of people on holiday they act like that no matter who they are or where they are. they want to do the things they want to do in their 2 weeks of from work. i am the same on holiday. i get rat-ar$ed drunk and i have fun and i get loud and sing lots and slag people and generally have a good ol time. im sure lots of people watching me on holidays would say 'what an idiot, i hate the irish'
    typedef, no valid points. cant ever remeber the irish government saying we dont like the english.
    pertinax , you get wound up far too easily by fools. 3 people dont make a nation or a majority. people in a nother country will always be nationalistic towards their own. i watched the rugby in a crowded oub full of england (im in london) and i was the only one shouting for england, and they all heard me and they all knew i was irish. all i got after the game was the we deserved the win. i slagged them off about ruining their grand-slam and all that. some were annoyed, but hey, i was supporting my country.
    any person will support their country if the have pride.

all these opinions seem to have come from incidents that are the exception rather than the rule.

fidelis, why can you see why some people would? this is what im asking for. and explanation as to why there is such dislike and hatred towards the english from irish people. as for live and let live, again, tell me why, dont just disagree. anyone can disagree, im asking you to explain. my point was why can we just live an let live today. stop thinking about what was. hell in that case, the english had every right to invade ireland. they probably got pi$$ed of at raids from the irish all along their coastlines for hundreds of years before that. or do people only count the timeline from when theyve had a bad time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

Eh WhiteWashMan, the whole thing about the north, I think you're a wee bit off. The english haven't pulled out they've just devolved the government (when it suits) and its still very very much a part of the uk - ie the english have a huge role in things as was always the case and still is. Its pretty simple why in general irish hate the english - its because of hundreds of years of colonial rule, the philosophy that started it, "the superior empire" still exists in the mindset of england very much today. Typically most people don't have time for all that crap, irish resentment and english colonialism, but they do react to it when they see it.

You're right though, the future is non-nationalistic, the world will be a safer place without it. The majority of people may be happy enough not to bring it up or care about it as long as the person they're talking to doesn't have bad attitudes, but once people start getting all nationalistic it just dredges up centuries of indoctrine that aren't just going to go away.

WWMan, it's a bit of arrogance and bigotry.
    Everyone in Ireland doesn't think like you, we wouldn't be having this discussion if we did. Not everyone can simply forgive and forget. This petty view is here but if you can't underdstand why there is that stupidity among us then you can't expect people to take your position of not understanding other people's hatred.

It's like having an arguement about blood sports or abortion, some people support it, others don't. People can fabricate their own reasons for whichever side they take, but ultimately this kind of hatred towards the British is in our society and it's fed to us throughout our childhood so that when you're older, it's barely noticeable.

Take the recent burial of Kevin Barry and his fellow volunteers. Paying homage to the men that freed us from the tyranny of the British Empire. I wasn't thinking to myself that I hate Britain, I was thinking that it was a terrible shame for these men to have had to give their lives for Ireland. But others see it as anti-British.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Not hate but things that amuse / get up my wick about the English:
    • They say things like "On the Mainland..."
    • The tv programme "Watchdog" and their general "Oh my god you've got to make sure that the Kiddies won't get hurt by that sponge or something...." attitude
    • Airport Police... although you can poke at them a bit by being vague and stuff (up to a point - I don't want to spend 5 seconds longer than I have to in Leeds Bradford Airport after all... :)... they can't deal with that... wheras I'd be "Yes Sir" to a US equivalent....
    • The before mentioned arrogance - I was at a trade show (lot's of International visitors) in Birmingham in September... Mention EURO to lots of them and they go "Oh yeah... the Euro...what's that now?"
    • The fact that they can get cars cheaper... :(
    • The fact that they can take a train to France :(

Whitewashman
    "and i certainly havent seen them kill enyone for standing up for their rights."

a certain civil rights march in Ireland springs to mind.

One outstanding reason to dislike them.
    QED

Originally posted by Licksy20
    Not hate but things that amuse / get up my wick about the English:

• They say things like "On the Mainland..."

agreed. but still like saying up north or down south. it is the mainland to them. just like we say on the continent.

• The tv programme "Watchdog" and their general "Oh my god you've got to make sure that the Kiddies won't get hurt by that sponge or something...." attitude

yes, let the kiddies get hurt. watchdog is about consummer affairs. dont like, again, dont watch it. attitude is for the punter.

• Airport Police... although you can poke at them a bit by being vague and stuff (up to a point - I don't want to spend 5 seconds longer than I have to in Leeds Bradford Airport after all... :)... they can't deal with that... wheras I'd be "Yes Sir" to a US equivalent....

and you love some twat coming to your place of work and giving you hassle wouldnt you? well, would you?
    do you like it when drunk people come into burger king and order a big mac and think its funny. how many stars have you got now?
    • The before mentioned arrogance - I was at a trade show (lot's of International visitors) in Birmingham in September... Mention EURO to lots of them and they go "Oh yeah... the Euro...what's that now?"

anyone who doesnt know what a euro is pretty sad.
    but lets face it, id prefer to use sterling. euro is so low these days. i get such good rates when i come back to ireland.
    you probably dont understand sarcasm....

• The fact that they can get cars cheaper... :(
    • The fact that they can take a train to France :(

yeah, and id pay 700 quid for insurance on a mr-2 should i ever decide to own one. thats a saving of about 5 grand on ireland. yeah, theyre all a bunch a of w*nkers for that.
    sorry, not one point made.

greenbean, you think its becasue the english have a certain attitude and people dont like it? thats a little bit sad isnt it?
    thats a bit like english people saying were all patoto eating drunks really. im not saying its wrong to be nationalistic, im just trying to figure out why so many people hate the english.
    i cn understand the resentment of 850 years. however, do the people of today really think about that, or do they just hate the english coz thats just the way it is.
    ,y point about the nrth was that the english have really pulled out of there. yeah, obviously theres going to be fingers in pies etc. complete withdraw of everything english would leave the north in economic disaster. it cant sustain itself. the irish certainly cant afford it. christ, the irish cant even sustain themselves at the moment with the amount of growth over the last few years. the economy has turned so suddenly.

fidelis, its not about hating the english because of that ideal being handed down. id like to think most people can think for themselves. id like to know why, or is it really as simple as being part of a huge herd mentality.

again, i'll say this isnt a crusade. hell i can agree with nearly every one of you on past experiences, but i can also say the exact same thing and change the context to ireland.
    sometimes im actually embaressd by the mentality of some irish people. maybe its being on the edge of the continent, but a lot of the time there seems to be this instilled idea that you cannot challange what you are taught, or to be different. not aimed at anyone on these boards because id have to say that i find that most people (counter strickers excluded :)) have something worthwhile to say and are intelligent and articulate. so as ive said its not at anyone on these boards, i want to know what you people think about it as a whole. ive actually sat in a bar for about 3 hours with an ex colleague of mine who used to bea rabid ira supporter (and a little more i suspect) and asked him the same thing. and he told me about ideologies and dreams of a free ireland. but he never hated the english. he just wanted the north free. of course, he wasnt much of a supporter when the ra blew up lots of people in eniskillen or omagh, but there you go.
    sorry, im a bit confused, im trying to find out, not make you actually like the english :)
    i guess im just frustrated by so many thing i see and hear, and i want to see what makes people tick.
    i should have done psychology. or politics, but its probably no use doing that if youre honest....

Originally posted by Goink
    Whitewashman
    "and i certainly havent seen them kill enyone for standing up for their rights."

a certain civil rights march in Ireland springs to mind.

One outstanding reason to dislike them.
    QED

sorry?
    the british government did what at a civil right march in ireland?
    when?
    what did they do?

i dont get your reason. you dont make a point.

as ive said before, its not a discussion on the north, and im talking about now. so if this has happened in the last week, then id be interested to know.
    join the debate by all means, but make sure we know what your point is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

im sure they all support the same football team (crap as they are.)

er no. irish nationalist support ireland. the others support Northern Ireland.

Anyone who can't see why and Irish person could dislike the english is imo off their rocker so to speak. There are 6 counties of our country in their hands. Its enough on its own like.

Now you can be lazy and say I don't care or sure what odds is it or whatever you like. This may seem like a very mature and responsible attitude to take towards the north. But is it? Why should they be there. why shouldn't we care that they are?

I cross the border (such as it is) every day to go to work. I work on the bishops street part of the derry walls. like right on it. I i look out one direction I see union jacks and taunts at catholics and irishness on the walls all o0ver the place. I look out the other window and Im looking right over the bogside which is of course the republican heartland.

(Interestingly enough there's very few taunts at the english around there most of its commerative imagery and political/social awareness stuff.) If you lived where I live. If you drank where I drank. If you knew who i knew. I garuantee you would dislike the english.

Buts its more than that. I dislike the english because they are in my country. Its not the english people we hate its the ENGLISH know what i mean? Colonialisation WILL breed contempt. Proud breeding and proud people will always mean it won't just go away overnight - its here for a long time and itll be here for a long time.

I have loads of english materoos. None of them are ENGLISH.

[joke]As long as they go round with their head hung in chame all the tiome theyre actually quite sound people[/joke]

This is the longest post i ever made. Im not going to read over it even to see if it makes sense,

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    its not a discussion on the north

How do you figure that ?

You think that their illegal occupation of a portion of our country is not a factor ? Go back to bed.

Correct Fidelis.

Like saying ...

Do you think Shell is a good company.....and remember this is not a discussion on the destruction of the enviroment

Was Hitler a good person ...... this is not a discussion about war or politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

WWman, I think he was referring to Bloody Sunday.

I Myself don't have any love for England. When I was younger I didn't give a $hit about them. When it came to learning junior cert history at the age of 14/15, all that stuff about england and the north etc is covered. I can tell you that everyone in the class at the time quickly came to hate england. Then you see things (which are not typical of all english people, they just stand out in your memory) like the england fans trashing lansdowne road a few years ago when ireland went 1-0 up, or any of those other football hooligan incidents. .

I don't dislike English people - I've made plenty of friends with english people I met online. Its their nation i don't like... if you get my drift.

I like to go along to the pub, where "irish" bands play traditional/"rebel" songs and stuff - its good craic but I don't care a whole lot about it.

I think I had a point in mind at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I never used to hate the english but I do now. This summer the village was crawling with them! All of them with superior attitudes and "what kind of place is this" look slapped all over their face. One guy asked for a cup of "taeeeeeeiiiiiiiii" in a cafe and later told me I was incomprensible. Not in so many words. I beleive the exact words were : "I can never un'erstand what you little ****ers are saying". The sad truth is the sterotype of the loud-mouthed, ignorant, arrogant, fat, sweaty, baldy prick of an englishman is very true. If I do meet an englishperson who isn't a total a$$hole it'll be very hard not to treat them like one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

Ok I see it like this - there are two things that control who you are, your genes and the culture you live in and they both clash when they reach your brain - a sort of interface, mish mash soup in between them.

Your genes are like a life form, which give you oh so much of who you are but the fittest survive. The fittest around at the moment are the ones which cause humans to grow brains and be all intelligent. Our brains could understand concepts like history, territory, friends and foes, complex algebra, abstract thought and symbolism.

Then you have another life form that was born when smart brains were introduced and this was called Culture. This raging life form gives us oh so much of who we are, but only the fitest culture survives. The fittest around at the moment is the culture with the brave stories which enthrall intelligent minds, beautiful music that entrances one and religion is a prime example of a very specialised type of culture (a virus if you will) and of course a good sense of nationality. Bad dead culture is the early type that only tried stuff like retelling chicken crossing the road type jokes and liked to remark what the weather was like and didn't really like to associate with people - then people like shakespear and storytellers came along and stuff like real friendship as well.

Your genes, your brain and culture are in a vicious battle - if you don't appease culture you become uncultured and feel lost and without place, you have no identity and you have nothing to bring to a sucessfull mating, which is what your genes want, so they are trying to reproduce brains that are whores to culture and even people who can affect culture (very popular with the lady folk). And culture, well its just surviving by being the most interesting thing around and by being an enigma and by binding people together. It will keep changing, and you'd better sucessfully mate in the meantime boy and keep up!

So where are we, oh yes. We have things like our brains which are quite individual things and know whats reasonably smart to do and what is correct, such as not generalise people and hate people you don't know. But irish culture demands of the irish perons, "bind together, whether you know better or not and hate the English because us brethern united have been acosted by years of misrule! They took our territory and though you may not care, its very popular and sucessfull for your mating so don't you be acting the odd one out and not getting women and stuff, start hating them too! Look at our poor brethern who you may not care about in the north, but they get laid all the time cause they're at the brink of it all! There are a great many heroic stories to be told by them lads and did I say they get laid all the time?". And so perhaps imperceptably you gradually hate English people, its in the cultural water all irish people are drinking. No fault on those poor northern irish lads either, they really do have plenty of reason to hate the english, its not being ignorant, what with civil rights problems, the fact that the land is considered british but its irish, but the majority of the hate really goes towards unionists so I wouldn't worry too much if I was english.

Its sorta like the knacker culture in dublin, act all knackerly cultured and you do alright for yourself as a teenager or if you grow up in elite circles act all palesmanly and like an oxford graduate (rarrr) and say "old chap" alot and you'll do well there. So like I say theres this thing culture which you answer to, its build into your genes, you know you've gotta react to the masses opinions on things or you won't survive very well.

The big thing is, this happens regardless of how smart you are - tis inbuilt or you wouldn't be around today - if you're battling it then you're doing very well indeed, hail the individual!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭ConUladh

We don't have a monopoly on this, the Scottish, French and Germans spend half their time supporting the team playing England as well

A lot of it comes down to arrogance, they still seem to think they are an empire, god knows why but it pisses me off

BTW I have English friends and enjoy watching english tv

Feck sake I've just made a post saying I'm not drawn on things like this and what happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I don't hate english people....I hate England as a nation. Not so much that i'd pick up a gun or nothin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

I dont know about every1 else(couldnt be bothered reading all those posts) but i seperate the english and england as a nation.

Most of the ppl are grand fine but as with most nations it is arrogant and full of snobery(the only word i can think of that comes close to what i mean)

Ill edit this later when i think on it more!

Originally posted by Fidelis

How do you figure that ?

You think that their illegal occupation of a portion of our country is not a factor ? Go back to bed.

i figure that out because its my post, and my question.
    i say it not a discussion on the north because its a question of why you dont like english people. theres a difference. if you cant see, then go back to bed, in your own words.

mark, i understand where you are coming from.
    however, if you were on the other side of hte fence (literally) how do you think youd feel? do you think you had a right to live in northern ireland as an english person? i mean, you parents proably grew up there, their parents and their parents before them. in fact, they probably go back a long way, before political borders, before passports and finna fail were in vented. just because they originally came from england, does that mean they dont have a right to own a house and live in peace?
    by that right the scottish should kick all the irish out. come to think of it, the world should kick all the irish out. boy its gonna be crowded when all those irish people come home.

greenbean. lol.

blitzkreig, try and read the thread bofore giving replies. i said it wasnt a vehicle for anicdotes. but you are well known racist anyway so im not too bothered about what you say

so far, freak bro is the only person who has come close to giving me any real answer. lots of people say they dont hate english people but hate the english nation. im not to sure i understand that.

Originally posted by Mr.Applepie

Most of the ppl are grand fine but as with most nations it is arrogant and full of snobery(the only word i can think of that comes close to what i mean)

again, the re-occuring snobbery thing.
    what, how?
    i see it on all sides, from all nations.
    i think the irish are incredibly stand-offish and closed off.

i go on holiday and i see people going to irish bars and scottish bars and english bars and whatnot. but the irish for some unknown reason only seem to want to go to irish bars. whats that about? not get enough of irish bars in ireland? want to travel 800 miles to meet someone that lives 2 miles away from you :)
    doesnt make sense.

snobbery? i dont think so. i think that its a nation who are proud of their country, the same way im proud of ireland. im proud that everyone in the world knows where ireland is, even the dumbest american who thinks europe is a country, but ireland is ireland (bonus point for spotting the irony there). im proud of ireland for preorming so well on the pitch in football and rugby. im proud of munster in the hinekin cup. im proud of the men who fought in the easter rising and had the courage to free their country. im proud everytime someone in a different country tells me of hte time they spent in ireland and went to guinesses brewery. im proud of st patricks day, a festival the entire world celebrates.
    and i tell all my english friends how proud i am.
    hmmm, i must be a snobby irish bas7ard then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by The Gopher
    I never called any1 a "drunken hooligan hairy bastard"like Bard did but he can say it and i cant make valid points?This is just sad censorship of legitamate views.Shame on you boards.ie.

That was sarcasm, ya idjit!... the tongue was firmly in the cheek in the first line of my post.

--

PS: WWMan- I think the reason that many Irish people have a severe disliking for the English nation is a mixture of two - possibly three things.

--

1. They're not forgiving the England of the present for what the England of the past did... examples being shown in the 1916 Rising, which you've referred to. In this case, it may be a resentment that is handed down through generations... part of a 'genetic psyche', perhaps (?)

2. They (stupidly) perceive the stereotype of an English person as being true of ALL English people. This is just unforgiveable ignorance.

3. They have some (probably small) amount of personal experience of arrogance and ignorance on behalf of the English.

--

Forgive me, but I don't think the anti-English attitudes among the Irish are going to disappear any time soon... but then again, the same can be said for the Scottish, Welsh, French, many Americans, Germans, and anyone else that England, as a nation, has fucked with in the past.

"You've made your bed, now lie in it" springs to mind as a phrase someone could chuck at England... not saying it's fair, - just saying that's the way it is.

You think that their illegal occupation of a portion of our country is not a factor ?

First off, not every Irish person *wants* the North and the Rpublic reunited. Secondly, it is not a valid reason to hate the English. There is a distinction between England and Britain for those of you who seem to have forgotten, and not only that but the common english man today did not invade the north, and is not making policy about the future of the north. Hating him because of the North is a bit misdirected.

Secondly, to those who do still hate the English for their "illegal" occupation of the North...I assume you also believe that the US should be dissolved and the entire given back to the Native Americans, Australia given back to the native Australians, and fekkit - kick the damn Saxons, Normans etc out of England while you're at it, because they are illegally occupying another nation as well.

Actually, if you look at it, most nations on the planet are founded by conquerors, and are either amalgamations of earlier nation-states, or fractions of one.

Sometimes this whole nationalistic thing gets my goat.

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

I say kill them all.

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Heh, and let's not forget that actually, Britain - and the vast, vast majority of English people - would really rather not have anything to do with the North. If they could get away with pulling out tomorrow and washing their hands of the whole affair, they would.

So the government at the time of their grandparents made a pretty major mistake. As a result, their cities have been bombed, their civilians killed and god knows what else; and maintaining the province of Northern Ireland costs the British taxpayer millions of pounds a day. It's not like they're hanging in there for their own good or because they want to be there; they're there because a very significant proportion of the population of Northern Ireland wants them there, and they're there, to a smaller degree, because they - and the Irish government, and any Irish person who actually uses his or her brain rather than spouting nationalist rhetoric - know full well what will happen if they DO pull out tomorrow.

To be honest, I'm always a bit shocked to come across genuine animosity towards English people from the Irish. I'm an Irish person from the border counties, living in England - in a town which was rather famously bombed, namely Guildford - and as far as I'm concerned, the vast majority of the people here are incredibly friendly and helpful. Not on the same level as you get in Ireland, necessarily, but they're good people nonetheless. The majority of Irish people I know like to have a bit of a laugh about the whole Ireland/England thing; you know, we like to see them lose at football and we take the píss out of their inability to hold their drink, but it's all friendly and in fun, as far as I'm concerned. Anyone who is capable of genuinely maintaining racial hatred against a nation less than 100 miles away, made up of people who talk like us, eat like us, read the same books and watch the same television as us, learn the same things in school, think the same way as us and share the same bloodlines as us.... well, needs their bloody heads examining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

You cant simply factor out the fact that the British army are sitting on a bit of this Island when trying to understand why Irish people hate the English. "This is not a discussion about NI" doesnt work.

Also the fact that you didnt understand the reference to Bloody Sunday says a lot. I can understand why an ordinary Englishman would be ignorant about much of the politics of a foreign country. But you seem to be of the opinion that Irelands relationship with England/Britain is the same as one between say, the Belgians and the Dutch. Irish people dont like the British because historically, it hasnt exactly been fun having you over to stay.
    I dont believe that there is real hatred for Britain in the lovely post-nationalist aflluent Republic of Ireland. The simple fact is that the Irish phsyce (sic?) has been shaped by events in our history. The same way that history gives Englanders the arrogant, superiority complex that many have mentioned before. (Rule Brittania, Footballs Coming Home, Two World Wars and One World Cup, God Save The Queen all seem perfectly normal to you Im sure, but to an outsider they look like traits of a nation that is obsessed with its colonial past.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Hmm... the card has been played. Only 1 thing can save us now!

wwmansupertroll.jpg

hahahahaha

god, youre an awful bas7ard simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

:) I have a few other cards layed out as well, just not finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

The same way that history gives Englanders the arrogant, superiority complex that many have mentioned before.

Absolutely CiaranC they have a superiority complex but is that any reason for us to go on having the inferiority complex that this hate the English attitude comes from? Thats part of our past as a subject people of a European empire, the English attitude of superiority should be their problem.

Anyway I have found that these attitudes tend to be much less common among younger and more educated English people. Ones who grew up since the sixties and have no actual memory of the British Empire.

But I can give you an anecdote - I was at a party in London once and some English guy (with about 1 O-level) on hearing my accent asked if I would like to hear some Irish jokes, of course I said I really enjoy humour which implies that I'm thick.

But the irony is here is an undereducated English person with his O-Level talking to 3 Irish people, with 5 undergraduate degrees and 2 postgraduate degrees between them, wanting to tell jokes which implied WE are stupid. I do not hate someone like that I feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You think that their illegal occupation of a portion of our country is not a factor

Correct me if I'm wrong, but weren't the six counties handed over as part of the deal when Ireland was given the 'Free State' status in 1922(right year?). Not that I'm with the unionists, but since then, The British have had a valid claim on the 6 counties. Just because we declared ourselves a Republic in 1949, and said the word 'Eire' referred to 32 counties, blah blah blah................ does not give us the right to suddenly claim it as ours. Fine it's part of the island, but that's irrelevant, many independent countries are smaller.