Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

k10k, pixelsugeon type thing for ireland ...

• 11-10-2001 9:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

hey folks,

just wondering if there would be any interest in something like the above in the irish online design community, or have www.creativeireland.com things sewn up,

im talking about experimentation, resources, interviews, splash pages etc,

just gauging interest so any comments appreciated ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jaarius

are you talking about a site by the ppl for the ppl kind of thing.

it would be nice to have a site where we could get involved and stuff.

j

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭beaver

Could be cool.

Yeah, I've made up my mind... it'd be cool :)

I reckon:

1. Set a time/date for interested parties to express their interest.
    2. Discuss what's to be done amongst those
    3. Do the stuff

-Ross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

creativeireland.com makes me cry.
    A bad k10k ripoff with broken scroll scripts represents the "Irish Creative Design Community"? Fuck no.

Y'all got my support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 stonecold

so where do you want to take it from here, i agree with beaver's suggestion of setting a time and date and taking things from there, so do we wait and see if there is more interest or are we happy enough to start hitting ideas and directions off one another,

i personally think it would be great if we could have some sort of representation out there in the international community and the more contributors the better, http://www.halfproject.com which is a thai site, is a great example of creative collaboration with a style and direction of its own,

i would definetly be on for something like this ...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zenith

I heartily endorse this product or service.

And stonecold's designs are far better than his spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jaarius

so where do we go from here. i am only begining to enter the world of design so experience is not something i bring to the whole thing.

but i do have a few ideas.

1) get a website up and going. it will have little on it to begin with except for a few links, what the site is trying to do, contacts, articles, etc.

2) folk can look around for some entity to collaborate with or get support from

3) work on a proper design for the website

j

Jaarius, I have to disagree strongly with that suggestion.

The first step of setting up something like this is to conceive a plan of action, if you will. A proposal of what is to be. Then implementation.

My suggestion:

It would appear that there are now a number of people interested in this undertaking. That's not to say that more will not become immediately interested once it becomes apparent what all this is about.

Therefore, I would suggest that we begin to discuss here what it is that people would value from such a collaboration. In the process of this new people will hopefully get involved.

Within a short space of time, hopefully it will become clear what the goal of this project is to be and we can start to put it together.

My hopes for this venture would be:

A place for:

1. Reviews of both books, tutorials and software.

2. User written tutorials and tips.

3. Site critiques from a design POV. I have extensive ideas for this section. I would like to have a database of sites critiqued, updated on an ongoing basis with screenshots along the way. This would make it obvious where sites have progressed from and to and what made it so.

4. Graphic design experimentation.

5. Sets of documentation and FAQs related to all this stuff, including how to set up your browser and email, etc (very important to clients from my perspective - it would be nice to have a resource to point them at), information on copyright in Ireland - including what to do if someone has copied your work, etc.

I shall think of more :)

-Ross

Include photography.

Oh, and it might have seemed like I was putting more emphasis on web that graphic design. Not the case, about 50:50 for me. I just haven't thought about the graphic design possiblities yet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭havok*

Great idea, Ireland Really needs somthing like this.

Concidering we've quite a few professional designers, Myself, FB, Figgy, Chief, Beaver, to name a few. We could mabye Calabrate on the overall design of the site.

a few More suggestions.

An "Artist of the month" spot in which a different Irish Designer is chosen every month, and we present showcase of their portfolio along with an interview

"Resident Artists" as in the Mods, and ppl who can post up personal work, and then go through how they went through getting it from concept to finished design/image/animation. (In Tutorial format for the Post production work)

A "Public Showcase" in which anybody can post any pic they've done up for crit etc

I dont think it should be confined to Design. 3d, photography, animations ect should all be in there.

A "Jobs/courses Board" which lists Design Houses (contact addresses), and College/nite time courses in related areas (this info is normally very hard to find)

my 2 cents:)

Good call on the jobs/courses info...

I can see five main sections:

1. Reviews
    2. Education (could come up with a better name)
    3. Web Design
    4. Graphic Design
    5. Photography

Then on the main page, links to those obviously and display of maybe the last five user-submitted works...

this all sounds good, at this stage there seems to be enough people interested to do something about this and get it off the ground,

without being to elitist can we get a show of hands of the people willing to take it to 'the next level'

there are a lot of ideas floating around, all good and a plan of action is fine but i feel what we need at this is some sort of overall direction, i dont ever think that its a good idea to try and be all things to all ppl,

as the site matures it can certaintly try and accomodate a larger scope but initially perhaps it would be interesting to try just one project something like http://www.stickernation.net/ and let it evolve into something larger from that,

in order to get quality contributions it might be a good idea to first put the word on the street and make a little noise with something different and then take it from there,

the level of commitment may also be quite high esp. if this thing develops further so it would give a good indication of those who are interested in the long haul, to first meet on something small and see who wants to keep running with it ... :)

What say 2pm today then for a final show of hands for those immediately interested?

I'm in anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Dazzer

Sounds good, Im in if yas want me.

http://www.fortress.ie/alphafortuna

all those in favour say aye ..... em, aye! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Chief

AYE!

Count me in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

Sounds like a good idea.

If we could have updateble database of stuff that people involved can upload to without all th ussual send it to me and il put it up etc. it'd be good.

I dunno how much time i'd be able to spend on wtuff for the site as I'm up to my bollix at the moment and don't see that changing any time soon but whatever time I could get i'd certainly throw a few bits and pieces the way of the site. I get spare hours here and there like. I'm fairly handy with near any arty farty thing, all the programmes under the sun, web design, 3d animation and can draw purty pictures too.

Greenbean has the domain www.gamesart.com which he has been looking to do something with for a while now. perhaps that should be the URL of the site? or a section of the site dedicated to gamesart ie linking of the main "portal" page so to speak.

What domain name will we get?

Anyway let me know if anything comes of this. email me sure: freak_bruther@hotmail.com if everyone put their names together and email addys we could set up a mailing list thingy at yahoo of the people that are contributing. Keep us all informed when things are happening, keep us all informed of what we should be doing etc..

I actually like creativeireland.com in a sleepy kind of way tbh but there you go

Headcount:

havok*
    beaver
    ObeyGiant
    stonecold
    [YWC]Daz
    jaarius
    Freak_Bruther
    zenith (involved or just endorsing?)

Seven or eight. Pretty good to be getting on with I reckon. Let's be having suggestions from all then...

hmmm not sure about gamesart.com,

i know that we havent really discussed anything with regard to the general direction/ethos of the site, but gamesart seems pretty specific to me, the worst thing that could happen would be to pigeon hole this thing from the start,

esp considering that it is intended to be a creative outlet for the working in the industry who for one reason or another never get the chance to properly flex these kind of muscles,

i dont have any suggestions at the mo' and would suggest that we hold off on anything like this for a while ... :)

I would also suggest not going tunnel vision on this thing, just yet, if at all...

I've started a mailing list for those involved.

To subscribe, mail: designireland-subscribe@topica.com

Cheers,
    -Ross

Subscribed,

Grand job, bai

Working title, how about "Irish Design Republic" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭acous

yip! count me in. photoshop is nifty.

re: "Irish Design Republic", I don't think that's a good idea. to avoid confusion with The Designers Republic. Plus its a boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Count me in

Names:

1. Mudshark (Frank Zappa inspired)
    2. DesignIreland
    3. Great Googely Moogely
    4. Extemporaneous (dictionary.com word of the day a few days ago - meaning "with little or no preparation")
    5. Doublethink
    6. Earthman
    7. Continuinuum

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

If its aimed at helping people create rather than a stage for people to show off, then I'd love to be a part.

Originally posted by PiE
    If its aimed at helping people create rather than a stage for people to show off, then I'd love to be a part.

I'd imagne it would be majorly aimed to help ppl, and as a showcae for irish design talent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭acous

Originally posted by beaver
    1. Mudshark (Frank Zappa inspired)
    i like frank zappa.

2. DesignIreland
    :o:)

3. Great Googely Moogely
    yip

4. Extemporaneous
    yip

5. Doublethink
    dont really like this one

6. Earthman
    dunno

7. Continuinuum
    id like to be able to spell it

prolly be best to put it to a vbulletin poll :)

yere welcome to any of my trademarks such as evilcow, iamspoon, electricgiraffe, jip and so on :)

Originally posted by havok*

I'd imagne it would be majorly aimed to help ppl, and as a showcae for irish design talent...

I meant as an ego trip.

No ego trip. That's what the IIA is there for apparently, eh?

Before the poll, have we got any other suggestions? Let's say the poll will go up at 12:00 tomorrow... let's be havin' ye before then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭p

I'd be curious about how many people here are real designers and not just someone who's played around with photoshop.

creativeireland isn't bad, in that it has real trained and taught graphic designers, unfortunately the committtee here isn't that good.

There's too many kiddie art sites on the web like wastedyouth.org and the feeling I get from this thread is that this proposed site could turn into another one of those sites.

If that happened, it would suck.

my 2c

- Kevin

Put your fears to rest then. AFAIK the majority of those who expressed interest here are professional designers.

Few more...

The Construct

Vertigo

ThinkFish

KillingTime

Xpression

or somthing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

I will be very interested in doing this.
    If your interested, I can sort out the hosting. I will have my own dedicated server running with-in the month.

Polls appear to be broken... :(

Keep suggesting I guess...

Just with regard to PiE's question...

From my perspective, I'd like the site to be a major help to up-coming designers who have talent. I'm not interested in helping everyone learn how to design, because frankly, most people won't have the apptitude. Don't get me wrong now, the same applies to every field and I'd simply like to see the field of design in Ireland go from strength to strength. TBH, and I'm sure ye empathise to some extent, it p!sses me off that so many people think they can do design (and I'm not talking about any age group of people incidently). Let's make this site a platform for people to prove that they're great designers. Let's be critical and pick apart pieces of work.

From what I've seen of the good side of design community, they have an amazing willingness to help out people who are also good designers (no matter what stage they're at).

So, to sum up, I'd hate this to be an ego trip. However, I love the idea of promoting artists periodically (like Artist of the Month) or whatever. Because, in essense, that's close to the equivalent of getting a painter an exhibition in a gallery. It heightens their profile and lets the public judge their work.

-Ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

hmph..

I'm only 17 and have had no professional training whatsoever so if this only for those deemed 'real' designers then count me out.

Guess I'll be joining you Dave :(

Lads, I don't know where you're inferring this from.

I really thought I made it clear what my intentions were (and I certainly don't speak on behalf of anyone else). I'm not trying to exclude anyone that's talented and interested. Far from it. Quite the opposite.

As for professional qualifications in the design field... I have none bar my experience. I'd hope to share it with anyone enthusiastic and with potential and indeed learn from them of course.

Hope I've clarified.

Also, I'm not the ringleader here or anything. I don't think there's a chain of command present. These are just my ideas. Anyone else interested is just as entitled to say what they'd like...

hmmm ...

i have to agree with beaver here, im not sure how you construed it the way you did (dave,pie) the site would and should be a platform for creativity and originality,

i would imagine what beaver is referring to is the all too common, i own a computer therefore i am now a desktop publisher, web designer, film maker etc

the fact that you are 17 has nothing to do with it, so stop the feeling sorry for yourselves there boys,

ideally what we are looking for here is a group of people who have to a certain extent a similar ideas about how the site should operate, what its main objectives are and essentially what or who gets on the site,

also while having an the whole Irish background thing going on, we shouldnt tie ourselves down to anything there is a large intl. design community out there and i feel Ireland needs some representation out there,

i am reffering to site such as

http://www.pixelsurgeon.com

http://www.australianinfront.com.au/start.html

http://www.surfstation.lu/

http://www.halfproject.com/

http://www.kiiroi.nu/

there seems to be a lot of interest but i wonder a we getting distracted, by what the site should contain and the different areas we should cover, as the possibilites are endless so to discuss these things now are slighty pre-mature,

i am looking to be a part of a site/movement (i kid you not) similar to something in the same vein as one of the above sites, i quite like creativeirealand but feel that it has a specific agenda, and as a result cant deliver what is being proposed due to inflexibility, i do however believe that there is pleny of room for collaboration and would welcome any support from them, those involved probably some of the more creative people in Ireland, so it would be maddness not to,

in fact i wonder if anyof the creativeireland people are up for getting more directly involved in the process?

What I'd like is something with the ethos (or should-be-ethos) of http://slashdot.org or http://www.kuro5hin.org.

I also think it's nearly time to get cracking.

Hi Beaver,

just wondering if you could elaborate on your last point there, we could probably save alot of time here if we are on different wavelengths ...

Well, the thrust of the idea was that it should be purposeful and useful rather than something to make people feel self-important about.

I don't like levels of (superficial) superiority in these things, but obviously there'll be some mods who will take charge variously of the site, updates, coding backend for it, moderating any fora that may exist, etc. I'd hate for it to get hung up in that crap though. It should be about whatever we want to acomplish with it and not about who's in charge of saying what goes on it and boll!x like that. That's all.

By mentioning slashdot and kuro5hin I was just referring to their community-driven ethos...

Just some thoughts on the names...
    They've all been good suggestions, the only ones I've had problems with are ...
    3. Great Googely Moogely
    4. Extemporaneous
    ...purely from the fact that there's a very good chance people would spell the URL wrong, and end up somewhere they shouldnt - We get this a lot with fuckcuntandbollocks.com.

What about something like "Semi science"?

hi beaver, i think that im getting this,

i agree with the whole community driven approach and would welcome this as but only up to a certain point,

you have to admit and i hope we are past explaining the reasons why but there is alot of ass out there and there are alot of people out there who think that if they apply a fire filter to something that they are the dogs bollix at webdesign,

i know that if i go to pixelsurgseon for example that any of the links that they post are likely to be of a pretty high standard and this is often the reason why i will go back

as for having nobody taking charge for various elements of the site, then i think that you might be running into trouble, in all projects you have got to have people responsible for certain tasks, this can be achieved without taking away the whole 'we are all living on the edge' vibe if you know what i mean

it seems that you are after an extension of something like this board just fleshed out a bit, whereas i believe something more experimental and colloborative would be the way to go,

something that is purposeful and useful yes, but prime motivation for someone clicking on the site would be as a source of inspiration and guidance, and for those controlling the site a means of giving their work proper and respected exposure as well as a developing a sort of think tank methodology for those involved,

i have to say, i like the approach of 'this is who we are and if you dont like go elsewhere', i believe that if you can establish yourself with this then you will have a stronger creative input and as a result attract a more high calibre contributor,

so whats the deal here are we on the same wavelength or what ?? and if we are what is the viewpoint of others on the list,

Are we ready to move this thread off boards?

Subscribe to the mailing list by mailing designireland-subscribe@topica.com

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

I am Burger
    Samhain
    the samhain set
    D-ie-sign
    diesign
    tethered mess
    polik communication
    novista net
    stickitupyourbum.com
    the rest bite
    jellyballoonhead
    Mahaljah

i dunno really.

i like the samhain set myself.

can't get to mailing list from in work so am posting here.