Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ps2 Game...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Eddie Brennan

i hope brian plank is full forward in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Eddie Brennan

haha thats a savage ad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭roykeane16

Is It Just4 The Ps2 That It Will Be Available Or Will It Be Released For The Pc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

ps2 exclusive atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

what a add. Cant wait for it to come out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

great ad, hope the game matches it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Nice advert! Game footage looks very promising too!

They're absolutely whoring it in my local Xtra-Vision - display boxes and stands everywhere you turn!

PS - release it on XBox - damnit! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Wouldn't blame them. I'd say any person with even a half-arsed interest in GAA will buy it and that's quite a lot of the Irish population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

All-Ireland winning captains condemn Playstation Gaelic football

http://www.hill16.ie/viewstoryhill16.asp?mainheading=Word+on+The+Hill&id=5716&viewstory=yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

omahony99 wrote:
    http://www.owenroe-leckpatrick.ie/downloads/PlaystationGAAad.mpg

Apparently the GPA members have refused to let the makers use their image rights. Maybe they'll do a Pro Evolution and use names like Mattie Fiat and Steve McDonald!

i wonder if they could use the names in irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

i have a feeling it will be one of the biggest selling games of the year.

Most people who even have a vested interest in gaa will probably buy the game

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

i wonder if they could use the names in irish?
    That would be a great idea, but I'd say that would still be seen as using the players image unfortunately.

cant wait either 4it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

feck it, link is down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

The article about the player's objections makes me laugh. Are they amateur or not? Shouldn't they lend their name/image rights free and be happy to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭damienom

No they shouldn't, how would you fancy someone making millions of the back of your image?

Is the game out today or next Friday?

Next Friday AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'm actually disappointing that some of you guys will buy this, and then next week/year will say how important to your way of live the GAA is (as it is mine).
    The GAA is central to our Irish idendity and culture, it's one of things that makes us Irish, and it is brought to you in flesh and blood by players.

This is exploitation of players.

As I've said before Culchie... I'm a Gaelic Footballer. I will be buying the game. I don't see it as undermining me, or any of my team mates. Sure it would be nice to see players get some little rewards, but we are all playing for the love of the game at the end of the day. Nobody is forcing us to play.

I'm sure the money won't be going into anyones pocket, but into grass roots and development of GAA clubs around the country. Isn't that enough of a reward?

Culchie wrote:
    I'm actually disappointing that some of you guys will buy this, and then next week/year will say how important to your way of live the GAA is (as it is mine).
    The GAA is central to our Irish idendity and culture, it's one of things that makes us Irish, and it is brought to you in flesh and blood by players.

This is exploitation of players.

I'll be buying it, and I'm sure many other players will too, both county and just ordinary GAA fans like myself and Pornapster. Can't see where you're getting your point about boycotting it from. Have you heard anything about the GPA calling for a boycott?

I haven't so, while they have their problems with it, they don't seem to be major.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

OH MY GOD.thats all i have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

OH MY GOD.thats all i have to say.

In a good or bad way?

Something tells me that it isn't good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

oh my god its ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

some reviews going on the thread in the Games forum... I put my own there too.
    All I can say it, rent it and dont expect much...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054848323&page=2

anyone bought it yet if so what is it like:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

roykeane16 wrote:
    anyone bought it yet if so what is it like:cool:
    Try reading a post above yours maybe! :rolleyes:

Ha ... I'm delighted.

Maybe they should have done it in partnership with the players, and with the Irish firm the GPA were working with to get it right.

Instead the GAA hijacks the whole idea, runs off to an Aussie firm and tries to get it out into the market as quickly as possible to make a few quid, before anyone else does. To hell with the autenticity of the product, to hell with the players image rights, to hell with fair recompence for the plaayers, to hell with the Irish gaming software provider that was involved with the GPA in delivering a proper product.

Ha. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭sgthighway

I got it today in HMV - €54:95.
    As soon as I got home I turned it on. I had it turned off 20 minutes later. The default camera view is too far from the players to see what direction you are going. I will try it again later but first impressions was its crap. The commentating is poor. "Welcome to........pause........Galway......for the game between .......... another pause....Galway..and ....... Leitrim." The graphics were poor too.
    I had a €30 gift voucher and a €5 off voucher so I didn't get stung too bad.
    I would recommend renting it out for one night first before you buy.
    P.S. the game above finishe 0-1 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I bought the game and I must say at first I was v disappointed.

The controls were hard to get used to as i play pro evolution soccer a lot.Then after getting used to the controls and winning matches,I had a better verdict on the game.You can change the camera angles to close up or far away.One thing that annoys me sometimes is shooting over the bar and sometimes in the goal when the camera angle is far away.Another thing is that when you try and kick it in the goal it wont kick and u end up carrying it over the line and Muircheartaigh says its gone wide....Whats up with that??!!!

I couldn't give a monkies about his greyhound either.Its hard to handpass sometimes because you can undershoot it and the ball ends up going nowhere.

I like the detail in the jersies and the grounds.Parnell Park is very well done as you can see Donnycarney church in the background (which is two mins away from my house).Croke Park is good as well.I like the low kicks and the free taking in the game.

Overall I would rate it 6/10.A good buy but could certainly do with some improvements.

Culchie wrote:
    Ha ... I'm delighted.

Maybe they should have done it in partnership with the players, and with the Irish firm the GPA were working with to get it right.

Instead the GAA hijacks the whole idea, runs off to an Aussie firm and tries to get it out into the market as quickly as possible to make a few quid, before anyone else does. To hell with the autenticity of the product, to hell with the players image rights, to hell with fair recompence for the plaayers, to hell with the Irish gaming software provider that was involved with the GPA in delivering a proper product.

Ha. Delighted.

Can't understand comments like this. I was at a graduation over the weekend and didn't get a chance to buy the game. I was planning to buy it today but I'm not going to now.

Can't see why you're delighted that the game has ended up being rubbish and people have been ripped off paying €54.99 for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

yeah graduation.....reckon if i had sence and stayed in lasnite and didnt go to toffs id probably be able to afford it,glad i spent if on beer if its as dodge as everyone says

Lemlin wrote:
    Can't understand comments like this. I was at a graduation over the weekend and didn't get a chance to buy the game. I was planning to buy it today but I'm not going to now.

Can't see why you're delighted that the game has ended up being rubbish and people have been ripped off paying €54.99 for it.

Well if you can't, you obviously haven't read my whole argument about this then, but it's been completely consistent, and completely clear.

If the GAA had done this the right way, working with the players, working with an Irish Gaming Company, working together, then they would have been able to come up with a brilliant product.

But no, the GAA chose to do 'a solo-run' with an Austrailian company and ignore the players input, and they've fecked it up well and truly.

So a big fat HA HA :D or .... ner ner der ner ner if you prefer :p

Culchie wrote:
    Well if you can't, you obviously haven't read my whole argument about this then, but it's been completely consistent, and completely clear.

If the GAA had done this the right way, working with the players, working with an Irish Gaming Company, working together, then they would have been able to come up with a brilliant product.

But no, the GAA chose to do 'a solo-run' with an Austrailian company and ignore the players input, and they've fecked it up well and truly.

So a big fat HA HA :D or .... ner ner der ner ner if you prefer :p

Working with Irish gaming company: What Irish gaming company exactly? Can you name one? The only Irish gaming company to have released a game in recent years was Funcom, who released Speed Freaks several years ago, and they are now bust as far as I know. Only the other day I saw a report about how Ireland is the biggest developer of software in the world but its all for big multinational companies, there are no indigenous software houses in Ireland.

Working with the players: So you'd prefer to be ripped off by the GPA, would you? The GPA are all for players rights aren't they? No, they're not, they're yet another association out to make more money off the player's backs. Is everyone in the association being paid a nice salary like Dessie Farrell? And, trust me, being an inter county player ain't all toil and turmoil. Just ask the lads that do it. They have about ten times more chance of scoring in their town, many are treated like kings in their local parish, if not, county and they regularly get good jobs because they're well known locally. They wouldn't all be doing it if it was so terrible.

Working together: I don't see the point in handing out a load of money to the GPA. The GAA are trying to make a product which will make a profit. The Australian firm were probably paid quite a considerable amount and the GAA has to try and make a profit after all. Your point about getting an Irish developer has already been answered.

All in all, I'm very surprised by your attitude. To express delight at the fact that thousands of people will be ripped off at Christmas is terrible. What, would you love to stand there at laugh at little Tommy who gets the game Christmas day and opens it to find its sh!te?

I was hoping that this game would launch a new franchise of GAA games that could grow and improve onto consoles like the PS3 and Xbox 360. Maybe you'd just prefer if we went back to the days of having no gaming interest in Gaelic at all - Sure if the GPA can't get their cut, why should any of us deserve a good game. And, of course, they'll give so much of it back to the players, wouldn't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Get off your high horse Lemlin, and stop twisting what he was saying to suit what you wanted to hear. Culchie never once said he wanted thousands of people to get ripped off, in facty quite the opposite, he hoped the game flopped, then noone would be ripped off.

As regards the GPA, Dessie Farrel fulfills a full time role, and the players obviously thought that it was important to have someone in this position. Yeah, inter county players come out of playing for their conties alright, and I would not begrudge them that. They also sacrifice alot to become inter county players. This is no reason to deny them the rights to protect themselves and their images.

I am inclined to agree with Culchie on his posts in this thread, although I would not feel as strongly about it. Ideally I would loved to have seen this game, promoted by both GPA and GAA. The petty wrangling between these two organisations is really a bit tiresome and I think it is time the GAA accepted that the GPA are a force that they have to deal with equitably, or I suspect there will be a strike by players at some stage. It should be borne in mind that the GAA makes alot of money from these guys, it should really stop trying to bite the hands that feed it.

Waylander wrote:
    They also sacrifice alot to become inter county players. This is no reason to deny them the rights to protect themselves and their images.
    In fairness, its the players choice to become an intercounty player.

Hell, if I had the chance to be an intercounty star and to have my name in a game such as this one I'd be glad to do it for free. The intercounty players I know wouldn't have a problem with their name being used.

This about bringing the game to the fans. Nothing else.

Waylander wrote:
    Get off your high horse Lemlin, and stop twisting what he was saying to suit what you wanted to hear. Culchie never once said he wanted thousands of people to get ripped off, in facty quite the opposite, he hoped the game flopped, then noone would be ripped off.

As regards the GPA, Dessie Farrel fulfills a full time role, and the players obviously thought that it was important to have someone in this position. Yeah, inter county players come out of playing for their conties alright, and I would not begrudge them that. They also sacrifice alot to become inter county players. This is no reason to deny them the rights to protect themselves and their images.

I am inclined to agree with Culchie on his posts in this thread, although I would not feel as strongly about it. Ideally I would loved to have seen this game, promoted by both GPA and GAA. The petty wrangling between these two organisations is really a bit tiresome and I think it is time the GAA accepted that the GPA are a force that they have to deal with equitably, or I suspect there will be a strike by players at some stage. It should be borne in mind that the GAA makes alot of money from these guys, it should really stop trying to bite the hands that feed it.

Not once above do I see him mentioning that he's happy the game will flop because this will stop people buying it. All I see is him being delighted that its terrible. Chances are the game being crap won't stop people buying it anyway. Alot of kids won't know and there has already been a huge hype about the game. The title will probably make its money and we won't see another GAA game because of the backlash.

So Porn, and I am not having a go, I am curious as to your mindset on this, do you think that the GPA is not safeguarding the best interests of its players? Do you think the players are unhappy with the GPA?

I disagree with your assessment that this is only about bringing the game to the fans, I agree that this is what it should be about, but as with anything else like this, there is always politics involved, and I think the GAA and the GPA clashing regularly like this is no good for the game. If they keep trying to get one over each other, the game will suffer, they have to learn to start working with each other. I think Sean Kelly has been a great President of the GAA, he has plenty of vision and the organisation is better for him having held that position. The only blemish on his record (to my mind) is that he cant sit down with the players union. Most major sports have a players union to look after the participants, there is no need for the organisers of the sport and the players unions to constantly fight each other.

Lemlin wrote:
    Not once above do I see him mentioning that he's happy the game will flop because this will stop people buying it. All I see is him being delighted that its terrible. Chances are the game being crap won't stop people buying it anyway. Alot of kids won't know and there has already been a huge hype about the game. The title will probably make its money and we won't see another GAA game because of the backlash.

I think he worked on the basis that people reading his posts had the intelligence to figure out what he was implying. In fairness to him, most of the readers did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

c'mon ladies.

keep the handbags down; I do not want any reported posts coming my way etc.

it's only a game after all :v:

Waylander wrote:
    I think he worked on the basis that people reading his posts had the intelligence to figure out what he was implying. In fairness to him, most of the readers did!

There you go yet again, reducing a topic to the fact that me and you have a dislike for each other. Work away at it so. Couldn't be bothered with you at this stage.

I'll reiterate my point again though: Nowhere in the above post has Culchie expressed any comment to back up the point you made. Maybe you can try to answer that point instead of dodging it.

You claim he said "Culchie never once said he wanted thousands of people to get ripped off, in facty quite the opposite, he hoped the game flopped, then noone would be ripped off". Where does he say any of this exactly?

Anyway, I've made my point, I'll leave you to it, you're little more than a hypocrite.

ooohhhh, touchy touchy subject.

I think my opinion on this has always been crystal clear. You've somehow turned it round to me being delighted that people will get ripped off. A career in politics awaits you Lemlin.

So just to be clear. I'm delighted that the game has proved to be a limp lettuce, because maybe now, common sense may prevail and the GAA and GPA can see that it is far better to work together on this things instead of the left hand doing one thing, and the right hand doing another.

You can't have the GAA without players. Full Stop.

If people get 'ripped off' .... well that's what you call consequences. They result from people in high office who should (and do) know better, letting greed and self-ego's get in the way of good business sense.

If people get 'ripped off' .... who will they complain to about it....The GPA?...nope, they weren't involved. Maybe they can complain to the game software provider? ... Nope, they're in Austrailia concentrating on AFL 2006 right now.
    The bad press will land at the door of the GAA...exactly where it should lie.

That is why I'm delighted the game is a flop. oh.... and poor Tommy might ask a few questions to his mammy and daddy why the game is a heap of ****e, and they also can explain to Tommy why the bad people in the GAA didn't talk to Jayo, or Gooch, or King Peter or even James O'Reilly about coming up with a proper game.

I seen the prototype for the GPA version at the 2003 GPA awards ceromony, and it was with an Irish Gaming Software company.....so hard luck on that point as well. Whether they have American shareholders or not is irrelevant, they were Irish software developers, based in Ireland.

I think Lemlin the problem is that you are still young to see the bigger picture, you're still frothing for your next PS2 game with 'Jamesie' in it, whilst I'm probably ten years older, a little more cynical, and alot more wiser to the world than when I was in my early 20's as well.

Lemlin wrote:
    There you go yet again, reducing a topic to the fact that me and you have a dislike for each other. Work away at it so. Couldn't be bothered with you at this stage.

I'll reiterate my point again though: Nowhere in the above post has Culchie expressed any comment to back up the point you made. Maybe you can try to answer that point instead of dodging it.

You claim he said "Culchie never once said he wanted thousands of people to get ripped off, in facty quite the opposite, he hoped the game flopped, then noone would be ripped off". Where does he say any of this exactly?

Anyway, I've made my point, I'll leave you to it, you're little more than a hypocrite.

This is nothing to do with a mutual dislike, it is more to do with the fact you deliberately interpretted what was a fairly innocent post by a frequent poster in the most controversial way so you could stir.

Incidentally, I have been called many things in my day, but very rarely a hypocrite.

Culchie wrote:
    ooohhhh, touchy touchy subject.

I think my opinion on this has always been crystal clear. You've somehow turned it round to me being delighted that people will get ripped off. A career in politics awaits you Lemlin.

So just to be clear. I'm delighted that the game has proved to be a limp lettuce, because maybe now, common sense may prevail and the GAA and GPA can see that it is far better to work together on this things instead of the left hand doing one thing, and the right hand doing another.

You can't have the GAA without players. Full Stop.

If people get 'ripped off' .... well that's what you call consequences. They result from people in high office who should (and do) know better, letting greed and self-ego's get in the way of good business sense.

If people get 'ripped off' .... who will they complain to about it....The GPA?...nope, they weren't involved. Maybe they can complain to the game software provider? ... Nope, they're in Austrailia concentrating on AFL 2006 right now.
    The bad press will land at the door of the GAA...exactly where it should lie.

That is why I'm delighted the game is a flop. oh.... and poor Tommy might ask a few questions to his mammy and daddy why the game is a heap of ****e, and they also can explain to Tommy why the bad people in the GAA didn't talk to Jayo, or Gooch, or King Peter or even James O'Reilly about coming up with a proper game.

I seen the prototype for the GPA version at the 2003 GPA awards ceromony, and it was with an Irish Gaming Software company.....so hard luck on that point as well. Whether they have American shareholders or not is irrelevant, they were Irish software developers, based in Ireland.

I think Lemlin the problem is that you are still young to see the bigger picture, you're still frothing for your next PS2 game with 'Jamesie' in it, whilst I'm probably ten years older, a little more cynical, and alot more wiser to the world than when I was in my early 20's as well.

But the game won't end up being a 'limp lettuce' as you put it. I guarantee you it'll storm the charts at Xmas. Why? Because of the hype already created about it. Bottom line is though that people will know better next time a GAA game is released, not buy it and then we'll end up with nothing.

Where exactly did you state any of this? You expressed nothing but delight at the game being terrible. Like I've pointed out, why feed the coffers of the GPA? I don't see them giving anything to Gooch, James Reilly or the players you mentioned, do you? Nope, a select few like Dessie Farrell get the money.

Can you name this 'phantom' devloper? Like I said, there is NO Irish games developer. I'd be amazed if you could suddenly find this company because the programme I was only watching a week ago on RTE didn't know anything about them. But maybe you've got more research capabilities than our national broadcaster?

And do me a favour, don't assume you know anything about my taste in games. The last 'Jamesie' game I bought was Goldeneye about ten years ago. And I don't buy FIFA either, I'm a Pro Evolution Soccer player if that changes your opinion of me.

Have to laugh at how you tried to degenerate my argument by stating your age. Just because you're older doesn't make your argument any better so leave that one at the door please.

Sure you could look at it that perhaps I'm younger, and not stuck in your old ways - Maybe you prefer the GPA because you grew up in the trade union heyday of the 80s, because that's what the GPA are to me, like a trade union. In my mind, they make their money off the players but give nothing back.

This is nothing to do with a mutual dislike, it is more to do with the fact you deliberately interpretted what was a fairly innocent post by a frequent poster in the most controversial way so you could stir.

Incidentally, I have been called many things in my day, but very rarely a hypocrite.

Above you said: "I think he worked on the basis that people reading his posts had the intelligence to figure out what he was implying. In fairness to him, most of the readers did!" and before you called one of my comments a "muppet comment". Yet you took the moral high ground when I called one of Blackbelt's arguments "stupid" and said you could not say that about another's opinion. I have been careful not to post comments like that since your claims but maybe you should practice what you preach!

I wasn't stirring anything. I find it a horrible way to look at things: to express delight that a title which many waited for with bated breath is terrible. That was my point and it is still my opinion. Even if I didn't agree with the morals behind the GAA game, I wouldn't wish for it to be terrible and damage the name of the GAA.

Lemlin wrote:

Above you said: "I think he worked on the basis that people reading his posts had the intelligence to figure out what he was implying. In fairness to him, most of the readers did!" and before you called one of my comments a "muppet comment". Yet you took the moral high ground when I called one of Blackbelt's arguments "stupid" and said you could not say that about another's opinion. I have been careful not to post comments like that since your claims but maybe you should practice what you preach!

I wasn't stirring anything. I find it a horrible way to look at things: to express delight that a title which many waited for with bated breath is terrible. That was my point and it is still my opinion. Even if I didn't agree with the morals behind the GAA game, I wouldn't wish for it to be terrible and damage the name of the GAA.

Fair point re the muppet comment, can't really argue with that, although Blackbelts comment was not trying to incite reaction, and I felt yours was, that is why I replied in that manner. Back OT though, I thought it was fairly obvious what Culchie was saying, and you are the only person to respond to it negatively which leads me to conclude that most other people did too. Maybe I am wrong, and I am the only one who interpretted it as it was intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

maybe we could create a thread for critising the game play and another for the morals and players issues??

played it for the first time last night,absolutely poop. iv never seen such dung in my life

1. the camera angle the game is preset with is nausiating, come on, when the ball is lost (which is every 2seconds) the 180 turn makes you loose concentration or something an LOOSE the ball.

2. my mate (who to rub it in was playing as leitrim) fockin scored two goals on me THAT FELL THROUGH THE ROOF OF THE NET!!

iv billion other complaints about this game, the irrating commentry, crappy game play and depth to game play (i tried to stick with it, played 6 painful matchs, my top score being 1-5.......maybe thats realism to playing football in november....?)

fifa 97 or 98 (cant remember but it was the first one for the ps1) was officially the worst football game i ever played, (i know im comparing soccer and football-sorry diehards) but this may have taken the title.

oh the stadiums and detail are very good

Lemlin wrote:
    But the game won't end up being a 'limp lettuce' as you put it. I guarantee you it'll storm the charts at Xmas. Why? Because of the hype already created about it. Bottom line is though that people will know better next time a GAA game is released, not buy it and then we'll end up with nothing.

It is a limp lettuce, have you learned about repeat purchases yet in your education.
    Unhappy customers = Short Product Life = No more future sales

'Charts'? In this country 200 album sales will get you on the top 30.

Lemlin wrote:
    Where exactly did you state any of this? You expressed nothing but delight at the game being terrible. Like I've pointed out, why feed the coffers of the GPA? I don't see them giving anything to Gooch, James Reilly or the players you mentioned, do you? Nope, a select few like Dessie Farrell get the money.

If you knew anything about the GPA ethos, you'd know that any money received by this games sales would be put into a players pool for all it's members.

The players elected Dessie Farrell as their spokesman, as they are entitled to, the same way a golf club or GAA club elects it's chairperson. Read up on about clubs operate.

Lemlin wrote:
    Can you name this 'phantom' devloper? Like I said, there is NO Irish games developer. I'd be amazed if you could suddenly find this company because the programme I was only watching a week ago on RTE didn't know anything about them. But maybe you've got more research capabilities than our national broadcaster?

I must have.
    I found this in 3 minutes on google. Do not question my integrity again.

http://www.corklive.com/_news/article.asp?NID=75425&NCID=2

and

http://www.corklive.com/_news/article.asp?NID=75161&NCID=2

There's plenty more where that came from, just spend a little time researching instead of believing everything you read or hear.
    Lemlin wrote:
    And do me a favour, don't assume you know anything about my taste in games. The last 'Jamesie' game I bought was Goldeneye about ten years ago. And I don't buy FIFA either, I'm a Pro Evolution Soccer player if that changes your opinion of me.

It doesn't change my opinion of you one little bit.

Lemlin wrote:
    Have to laugh at how you tried to degenerate my argument by stating your age. Just because you're older doesn't make your argument any better so leave that one at the door please.

No, but a little maturity goes a long way, and you get to know a few things on how the GAA operates, and you know a few of the players and officials, instead of just spoofing like you are doing.

Lemlin wrote:
    Sure you could look at it that perhaps I'm younger, and not stuck in your old ways - Maybe you prefer the GPA because you grew up in the trade union heyday of the 80s, because that's what the GPA are to me, like a trade union. In my mind, they make their money off the players but give nothing back.

The GPA is a representative body elected by the players, what part of that can you not understand?

As I said Lemlin, you should get your facts right, and do not question my integrity again with your 'phantom' innuendo.
    You are an annoying liitle man.

Waylander wrote:
    So Porn, and I am not having a go, I am curious as to your mindset on this, do you think that the GPA is not safeguarding the best interests of its players? Do you think the players are unhappy with the GPA?

I disagree with your assessment that this is only about bringing the game to the fans, I agree that this is what it should be about, but as with anything else like this, there is always politics involved, and I think the GAA and the GPA clashing regularly like this is no good for the game. If they keep trying to get one over each other, the game will suffer, they have to learn to start working with each other. I think Sean Kelly has been a great President of the GAA, he has plenty of vision and the organisation is better for him having held that position. The only blemish on his record (to my mind) is that he cant sit down with the players union. Most major sports have a players union to look after the participants, there is no need for the organisers of the sport and the players unions to constantly fight each other.
    Its cool, I know you're not having a go. I think that the GPA are speaking for some of the players, not all of them. Fair enough, certain players might not like it but from what I've heard from the lads I know playing for Cavan, Monaghan and Meath they sounded interested in seeing what they'd look like in the game. :D

There may well be politics involved in the making of this game, but do you not think that the fans had some say in its creation? The general opinion among alot of the younger generation of fans before the game was created was "there is a game for rugby, cricket, soccer etc. Why can't there be a GAA game?". The GAA may well have picked up on this and decided to have a game created. I may be wrong, but thats the idea I got.

Actually I was quite looking forward to buying this game myself, which obviously I wont be doing now. As regards the GPA, I was under the impression the players as a whole were relatively happy with this, but I guess we have strayed OT.

Anyway, I do not really agree with Culchies point of view, but I do not begrudge him an opinion on the matter, and I felt that Lemlin was a bit OTT in his retort.