Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommendations please...

• 10-10-2005 7:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

On what to wrap around my feet each night i train TKD. The soles of my feet are starting to tear skin off and cut while sparring and doing patterns. Whenever i change my positions and spin on the ball of my feet it hurts and it's getting worse each time :(

I dunno, maybe cotton+ gauze stuck on with duct tape ?? anything feasible is appreciated lads / ladies.

Looking forward to hearing something soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

You could wear tabi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

1. Invest in matted area.
    2. Allow skin to callous, painful.
    3. Stop training altogether and train in a sport that allows runners.

That's all from me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

On what to wrap around my feet each night i train TKD. The soles of my feet are starting to tear skin off and cut while sparring and doing patterns. Whenever i change my positions and spin on the ball of my feet it hurts and it's getting worse each time :(

I dunno, maybe cotton+ gauze stuck on with duct tape ?? anything feasible is appreciated lads / ladies.

Looking forward to hearing something soon :D
    We all have got that!!

I just went with the allow skin to callous!! And I now have leather skin on my soles.

The OKC mentioned on another thread is a killer on the bare feet!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

I'm with PMA there... always train barefoot. It gets worse at first, and then it gets much easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

yeah if your feet are real bad cut, take a week or 10 day out (or if they let you train with runners , keep training) in time it will build up.

it good though , depending on your trainig goals, to train in runners.shoes too sometimes for self defence training. and indeed train in jeans too. I do this quite a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Get a pair of TKD shoes or some cheap Squash shoes, slim non-marking soles both are usable for training. As the feet heal up use them less until you train barefoot like a proper masochist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Don't be so soft - they'll toughen up in time

or get some ballet shoes - and change styles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Don't ever wear shoes of any sort training. The TKD shoes you see coaches wearing is to allow them to walk on the mats rather than wearing grubby outdoor shoes, when you do a tecnique in shoes of any sort even TKD ones, the sole of the shoe will slip and your foot with it, twisting your ankle and causing damage.

We got a lecture on it the other night in trianing!
    Just let your feet get hardened, I've been trianing for three years and never once wore shoes or socks, haven't had any problems like yours but when doing pad work I rip skin of the top of my foot...

What sort of floor do you train on?
    We have wooden, and solid painted concrete, I dunno its an indoor handball alley... and a gym hall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I bought a pair of those TKD shes ye speak of with the thin soles a few months back. I never wear em anymore. They are terrible things. I'd rather suffer with cold feet, hard skin, etc, than the discomfort I experienced wearing those god awful shoes.

Go bare foot is all I'll tell ya mate, its better in the long run!!!

Again I'll say it, TKD shoes are for walking on the mats not NOT training in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Could someone please point out a benefit from training barefoot? Other than the obvious one of not damaging mats, which doesnt really apply to TKD.

hardens up your feet makes them hardier, as I've already said, wearing shoes training does damage to your joints, wearing socks causes you to slip and slide, if you do accidently hit someone with a kick you're not going to do as much damage as with a shoe and Tae Kwon Do isn't just a sport its a tradition an ancient way of life, they try to keep it as traditional as possible so barefoot it is. I train in shoes at home, in the garden like but I end up kicking the shoes off, cuz it's very awkward as well as your freedom of movement is restricted

Bambi wrote:
    Could someone please point out a benefit from training barefoot? Other than the obvious one of not damaging mats, which doesnt really apply to TKD.

Do you think that TKD can't use mats??

I use mats any chance I get! Also there are jigsaw floor mats that TKD use alot in halls so damaging mats is a valid point!! Though it means that people that do knuckle push-ups don't get the bite from the floor that you would usually get from soild wood floor or concrete :cool:

But personally I have always found TKD/MA shoes to be a pain in the bum!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 melw

pma-ire wrote:
    ...knuckle push-ups don't get the bite from the floor that you would usually get from soild wood floor or concrete :cool:
    Just like the good old days of picking stones from our knuckles out the back of the OKC!

Le Rack wrote:
    hardens up your feet makes them hardier, , wearing socks causes you to slip and slide, if you do accidently hit someone with a kick you're not going to do as much damage as with a shoe and Tae Kwon Do isn't just a sport its a tradition an ancient way of life, they try to keep it as traditional as possible so barefoot it is. I train in shoes at home, in the garden like but I end up kicking the shoes off, cuz it's very awkward as well as your freedom of movement is restricted

hardens up your feet makes them hardier,
    So whats the benefit of having hobbit soles on your feet? I cant see any :confused:

as I've already said, wearing shoes training does damage to your joints
    how does training in shoes damage your joints? do basket ball players, footballers etc all damage their joints just by using footwear?

Tae Kwon Do isn't just a sport its a tradition an ancient way of life, they try to keep it as traditional as possible so barefoot it is

Last time i checked TKD was created in the 1940s. Thats hardly ancient. Im pretty sure the koreans were wearing shoes as part of their daily life by then. If you wanted to adhere to the "traditional way of life" of that era, you should probably also brylcreem your hair :D . The japanese trained barefoot beacause they had tatami in their houses and thus didnt wear shoes indoors, I'd imagine the koreans did too. It seems you school has taken something that was logical and made sense and turned it into a "tradition" that is neither logical or sensible. The fact ye have to take your shoes off to perform kicks in the garden should say it all really, wheres the sense in that?

I'm off topic, but could someone else please, please use the sloganizer on Loz's signature. I've been playing with it and rude words for the last half hour. A classic example: I entered: Arse Biscuit, it gave me: arse biscuit on the outside, tasty on the inside! There are literally tears running down my face. ;)

Anyway, shoes. Yeah Bambi, there's no particular reason, though the matt thing does apply to my place as you well know. Technically, it doesn't make your feet "harder", it merely creates additional layers of hard skin. If you train on matts you don't get this as much, in fact now that I'm 100% matt reliant, I can get foot massages again. ;)
    Tae Kwon Do isn't just a sport its a tradition an ancient way of life, they try to keep it as traditional as possible so barefoot it is
    I think we all know how "ancient" taekwondo is. :D And I think the Koreans had shoes in the Korean war, otherwise the UN would have just bombed them with thumb tacks.

Bambi wrote:
    So whats the benefit of having hobbit soles on your feet? I cant see any :confused:
    For breaking, so your feet become accuctomed to striking, so if you do slip you don't rip the sh!t out of your feet.
    how does training in shoes damage your joints? do basket ball players, footballers etc all damage their joints just by using footwear?
    Again, it damages your ankles. Footballers, basketball players? I'm a basketball coach and there is a big difference, you're not throwing kicks and swinging your limbs up in the air and entirely disrupting your centre of gravity and balance, when you throw a kick at all, your foot slips, even just a fraction, the friction caused between your foot slipping and the shoe causes the shoe to bend or slip itself and itsorta folds, its hard to explain without a visual, but yeah the shoe slips and does your ankle severe damage, the extent of the damage will depend on the intensity of the kick and the degree of the slip.

Last time i checked TKD was created in the 1940s. Thats hardly ancient. Im pretty sure the koreans were wearing shoes as part of their daily life by then. If you wanted to adhere to the "traditional way of life" of that era, you should probably also brylcreem your hair :D . The japanese trained barefoot beacause they had tatami in their houses and thus didnt wear shoes indoors, I'd imagine the koreans did too. It seems you school has taken something that was logical and made sense and turned it into a "tradition" that is neither logical or sensible. The fact ye have to take your shoes off to perform kicks in the garden should say it all really, wheres the sense in that?

It was used to train the Korean Special Forces, yes, they were trained by Grandmaster Cho, the founder of my association, TKD itself has been around for a long long time, do you not learn your theory? There is a huge amount about the history in the student handbook. The shoes you speak of, are a very different thing to the shoes we get here for walking on the mats and that, the shoes that you're thinking of are like ballet poms, if anything but even at that it's not an accurate description.

Out of interest, what school do you train with and who is your coach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Super-glue the flaps of skin back on until the skin underneath is thick enough to train on again. No, I'm not joking, I do this myself. I find that skin glued back on gives better grip than tape, etc.

I know a guy who cut his hand really badly and he superglued it back rather than going to the doc, he could have lost his thumb but no, superglue it was!

Le Rack wrote:
    For breaking, so your feet become accuctomed to striking, so if you do slip you don't rip the sh!t out of your feet.
    y'know if you just wore shoes you wouldn have to worry about that ;)

Out of interest, what school do you train with and who is your coach?
    Never trained a day in TKD and never will.

Again, it damages your ankles. Footballers, basketball players? I'm a basketball coach and there is a big difference, you're not throwing kicks and swinging your limbs up in the air and entirely disrupting your centre of gravity and balance,

So if youre a coach you're aware of a little hazard that training in bare feet presents when most of use have worn shoes for our entire life, yeah? Or the hazards of jumping and bouncing around on concrete in your bare feet? To be really blunt i wouldnt look to most martial arts, including TKD, for current best practices in safe excercise

It was used to train the Korean Special Forces, yes, they were trained by Grandmaster Cho, the founder of my association

This would be the tiger battalions who crept around the jungles of Vietnam in their bare feet hunting the VC? Oh no, wait they wore bloody great combat boots and probably trained in em too. Now how did they manage that :confused:

TKD itself has been around for a long long time, do you not learn your theory? There is a huge amount about the history in the student handbook.

Im sure PaulPMA will correct me but TKD was invented post World war two after Choi returned from training karate in Japan (and im pretty sure Paul will correct me again, but he was in japan because he skidaddled outta korea to avoid a gambling debt). It aint ancient and even if it was im pretty sure the knights of the hwarang didnt go around sans footwear :rolleyes:

The shoes you speak of, are a very different thing to the shoes we get here for walking on the mats and that, the shoes that you're thinking of are like ballet poms, if anything but even at that it's not an accurate description.

the shoes i speak of are plain old runners, and if i walked into a MA club that expected me to sfuk my feet up on concrete rather than wear runners i'd walk straight back out. Whats the point in learning those kicks if, as you say, they wont work in shoes anyway? Why let the tail wag the dog like this for the sake of a tradition thats younger than my da?

btw Roper LMAO, weapons of mass irritation :D

I find it good to train in shoes that I wear, usually big Industrial DM's or Combat type boots.Hell, if people want to wear wellies or slippers for the odd class that's fine by me.Train outside on grass and gravel, uneven terrain, it's all good.
    Usually I go barefoot though and find I break better than when wearing runners, they seem to absorb some of the force and can twist my foot if the edge of the sole lands awkwardly on the board.
    I know a guy who cut his hand really badly and he superglued it back

I've used it myself when I near chopped off a finger on my left hand drawing a Khukri cack handed, it works well and only left a little scar, but bog standard superglue is exothermic and may damage an injury if you used a good sup of it.There is a medical version with a slightly different formula that doesn't burn, and it's purple :) , but it's very pricey.I must try SuperGlue gel, it should stay on the outside of a cut to bond the edges without running into the cut.You only want to close the cut, never get superglue inside a wound.It's not sterile and can seal dirt in causing an infection. :(

melw wrote:
    Just like the good old days of picking stones from our knuckles out the back of the OKC!

Is that Kempo Mel??

How are ya bhoy??

Nice to see you passing through!! Ya, my knuckles are still like leather wrapped on rocks due to that lovely time out the back of the OKC!! :D

Le Rack wrote:
    It was used to train the Korean Special Forces, yes, they were trained by Grandmaster Cho, the founder of my association, TKD itself has been around for a long long time, do you not learn your theory? There is a huge amount about the history in the student handbook.
    Did Cho train the forces?? I'm not so sure that he did!! Cho was a 4 Star general in the Korean Army, now how many of them have you heard or seen actually training troops?

It was Nam Tae Hi who done most of the training of troops ( I bet you don't even know who he what eh). He was from the Chung Do Kwan which were doing the forms of Shotokan as the founder attaind a 3rd dan from Funagohsi in Japan before the foundation of the JKA. Nam join up with Gen.Choi (a 2nd dan in Shotokan) to form the Oh Do Kwan which was for soldiers only! Also Nam Tae Hi was the man with the serious kicking ability and the guy who impressed the President of South Korea enough to make there style of Kong Soo Do (one way to say Karate in Korean) part of the national identity movement. He also is given credit for developing most of the kup forms. While Choi only had three, Chong Ji, Chung Mu and Gae Beck.

The history given by assoications and more so the ITF is mainly to make Choi look like a god. But the underlying thruth is easily found with the advent of the internet the various stories and myths of the ITF and other such groups were seen to be mainly twisting of the thruth.

Don't take anything as gospel just cause you were told this by your instructor or his assoication!! And also don't discriminate against others that are not with the ITF, but are still doing TaeKwon-Do as this matters little.

A link to the history of Grandmaster Hee Il Cho clicky

I never once mentioned ITF.

But tbh Bambi seems to have a complete ignorance to the martial arts and this is only heightened by her never once having tried and not intending to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

There r plenty of kinds of training shoes out there that you can choose from, that will also let u train properly. I used to do shaolin long fist in a cheap pair of hayashi training shoes, and they did the job fine. The only thing is whether or not ur instructor will allow you to wear shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

pma-ire wrote:
    The history given by assoications and more so the ITF is mainly to make Choi look like a god.

Not only that, but if you ask five different instructors about it, chances are you'll get six different stories :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Le Rack wrote:

But tbh Bambi seems to have a complete ignorance to the martial arts and this is only heightened by her never once having tried and not intending to.

Le Rack seems to complete ignorance to the sex of Bambi and this is only heightened by her never once having tried and not intending to do anything other than post crap on this forum.

rant etc..........

Le Rack wrote:

Hee Il Cho is a scrapper!! Sorry for the rant. But indeed alot of the early TKD guys were very active in the Korean War. TKD has a lot to offer if the techniques that were used at that time were kept in the structure.

Instead many associations insist on banging on about a 2000 years history and unrelated martial links in their history.

eh we have to learn a lot about scholars and korean saints and stuff alright.

Well I do apologise Loz, and if I'm posting crap then I'd love to know wtf it is you're posting.

Sico, with us anyway, if you ask however many different guys questions you always get the same answer.

Le Rack wrote:

What really perplexes me is not that leRack thinks im a berd but that she seems to equate never having done (or intending to do ) TKD with never having done martial arts. :rolleyes:

TBH its the unquestioning mentality of many people who do TKD that would makes me cranky. Master says tkd is 2000 years old therefore korean caveman were doing spinning kicks. Master says to practice in bare feet so ignore the fact that you're cutting your soles to bits. Humans are meant to adapt and improve not act like lemmings

Bambi wrote:
    What really perplexes me is not that leRack thinks im a berd but that she seems to equate never having done (or intending to do ) TKD with never having done martial arts. :rolleyes:

TBH its the unquestioning mentality of many people who do TKD that would makes me cranky. Master says tkd is 2000 years old therefore korean caveman were doing spinning kicks. Master says to practice in bare feet so ignore the fact that you're cutting your soles to bits. Humans are meant to adapt and improve not act like lemmings

I never once said that because you didn't do TKD, I said martial arts. The name Bambi simply suggests female, easy mistake.
    I didn't say its 200 years old just very old, and I haven't one complained of ripping my feet in sh!t just barely skinning the top of my toe which resulted from about 100 kicks of the same stlye onto a plastic pad. Few to no people ever actually cut or injure their feet training.
    Humans are creatures of adaptation, how do you think we're still surviving. We adapt to training in our bare feet don't we!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

yeah I have been reading about Hee Ill Cho . read alot about him when I was in canada doing TKD in some TKD Mag.

He sounds like the real deal, and could box too. and still trains. would like to see working out, alot to learn from someone like him , even if I am not a TKD man these days.

yeah I have been reading about Hee Ill Cho . read alot about him when I was in canada doing TKD in some TKD Mag.

He sounds like the real deal, and could box too. and still trains. would like to see working out, alot to learn from someone like him , even if I am not a TKD man these days.
    he was a major player in the early full contact circuit in the states which was not broken into weight classes!!

i think his sidekick and backside kicks are amazing.

afaik I'm doing a weeks training with him next summer! Should be good! And if and when I get my place on the team I'm heading to a comp in the US hopefully, can't go to squad on Sunday cuz of injury so I might lose my place but theres not too many they can replace me with so hopefully it'll be okay!

Le Rack wrote:
    afaik I'm doing a weeks training with him next summer! Should be good! And if and when I get my place on the team I'm heading to a comp in the US hopefully, can't go to squad on Sunday cuz of injury so I might lose my place but theres not too many they can replace me with so hopefully it'll be okay!
    good luck with that man ;) or girl :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Sorry i could not reply sooner as i see the thread has grown a little also :)

Cheers for the positive replies in the first half of the thread before it descended into an argument :o . Ok i'll reply with what info i can about situation ;)

What surface i train on : Matted floors only [ friction burn is a bi*ch ] but handy on the knuckles while doing press-ups ;) also only allowed to train barefoot or with some basic protection like bandage etc...

Training schedule : 3 times a week [ maybe 1 day too much, if i reduced this to 2 days i could give feet time to heal up a bit ]

Suggestion to take a week- ten days off... [ i have just done that one thanks :) , feet feel fine now ]

Why not wear Tabi ? Tabi are for Ninjutsu / Budo Taijutsu aint they ?? and we are only training barefoot

Equpiment ? we're currently upping the amount of sparring we do so we all gotta go out and get the usual protection [ footguards , groin guard , gumshield if needed , sparring mitts etc...]

Lucky me also, went and got myself a twisted ankle this week so no training anyway ( stupid basketball which i intend to stop playing soon :) ]

Le Rack, what squad are you training with? Are you INTA/ITF or GST or other?

Who is your instructor, I or one of the lads may know him?
    Just curious as to where the other TKD bods are scattered about, who meet here.

Musashi wrote:
    Le Rack, what squad are you training with? Are you INTA/ITF or GST or other?

Who is your instructor, I or one of the lads may know him?
    Just curious as to where the other TKD bods are scattered about, who meet here.
    i would say that he's AIMMA Mush, as he's with GM Cho.

You guys evidently never encounter me outside here! :rolleyes: I is a chick! I'm from Wexford but I do squads with Master Darcy, Mr. Burns etc, etc, etc. I know a lot of lads from Dublin and Limerick and as I have said about five times dear I am from AIMAA

Seems Le Rack actually is a girl, not like the internet I know and love!

[URL=https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/40499/18095.JPG[/URL]

gosh some one's being doing there homework!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 BlackBeltJones

I'm not sure about that super glue thing, if its poisonious surely it will get right into the blood stream? You might try ZINC tape and play it safe.

On a side note, super glue, which we've all used, has a rather gruesome story behind it. After lessons learned in the second world war, army medics in the US were looking for a way to quickly and efficiently stick someones stomach together in the field after a gut wound. Pushing intestines and related paraphanalia in and then sewing it up simply isn't possible in a battlefield. Scientists came up with... you've guessed it, super-glue, which first saw service in Vietnam. That's why it manages to stick your fingers together so effectively when you use it.;)

Just read an excellent book on this and other things mankind has got from war. Damned if I can remember the name now!

Never mind, just look up your student handbook, it's probably in there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 melw

pma-ire wrote:
    Is that Kempo Mel??

How are ya bhoy??

Nice to see you passing through!! Ya, my knuckles are still like leather wrapped on rocks due to that lovely time out the back of the OKC!! :D

Yeah, It's me! How're you keeping? Hope the Rick Clarke seminars went well. Was thinking of going after I saw the poster but interest in training was at an all time low up to recently. I reckon my time with Kenpo is over. Starting Wing Chun in Douglas on Thursday 20-Oct-05.

melw wrote:
    Yeah, It's me! How're you keeping? Hope the Rick Clarke seminars went well. Was thinking of going after I saw the poster but interest in training was at an all time low up to recently. I reckon my time with Kenpo is over. Starting Wing Chun in Douglas on Thursday 20-Oct-05.

Ah!! Your going to John's class!! Nice one ;)

Drop up to me anytime man!! It will be great to see you again!!

Le Rack wrote:
    gosh some one's being doing there homework!
    He's scary is'int he :D

pma-ire wrote:
    He's scary is'int he :D
    yes

Ah, I'm not scary !

The hair has grown back on my arm and shin since my last "Sharpening Evening" so I don't even look like I have the Mange now :)

And I've picked out the knife I want for Christmas, getting right in the spirit of the coming season now! I even got powder blue 8oz gloves there lately, very festive, and they were out of Pink.

Musashi wrote:
    Ah, I'm not scary !

The hair has grown back on my arm and shin since my last "Sharpening Evening" so I don't even look like I have the Mange now :)

And I've picked out the knife I want for Christmas, getting right in the spirit of the coming season now! I even got powder blue 8oz gloves there lately, very festive, and they were out of Pink.

I bet you can't wait to get your hands on all that meat at Christmas :cool: :D

Not me Per Se, but my hand forged laminate Japanese kitchen knives are bulling for it!