Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why cant English people say 'Doherty'

• 05-10-2005 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭

Was watching a documentry on Kate Moss tonight and it strikes me everytime i hear an English person saying 'Doherty' that they say 'Dokerty' or 'Doe-erty'.

Its not just several English people that say it like this, its actually ALL of them.
    Unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭*MmmPie*

I know, that really irritates me. Especially the ones who pronounce is as 'Dog-er-ty'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I know it all too well from first hand experience being over in Norwich every week and having Gary Doherty play for us. I had to tell the lads how to pronounce his name properly because they call him Doc-herty. Also thats why he's called the Doc too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭Ray777

When it comes to pronouncing anything vaguely Irish-sounding, most English people are idiots. Never watch an Ireland football match on Sky. They have no problem pronouncing 'Bixente Lizarazu', 'Filippo Inzaghi', even 'Andre Shevchenko'. Getting the cúnts to pronounce 'Mark Kinsella' though, is another story altogether. Ignorant ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

also Cahill
    they pronounce it Cay hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Don't forget Gallagher, or more like Gall-a-gurr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,662 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Roddy23 wrote:
    also Cahill
    they pronounce it Cay hill

yeah that one wrecks my head, just thinking of it terms of martin cahill = martin cay hill - its like a posh gangster,

but it does not surprise me anyway, the english seem(as in my opinion) to be crap at everything they invented...

english
    football
    cricket(wow the ashes - beat 1 team)
    world domination.

the list is endless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

Yeah, watching snooker, it really pi55es me of with Ken Doe-herty about to take a shot. Although Tim Cahill's (the Everton player) name is pronounced Cay-hill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Newshound wrote:

Its not just several English people that say it like this, its actually ALL of them.
    Unbelievable.

It is their language after all :rolleyes:

Perhaps it is us who cant pronounce it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dwayneburke

tis like the yanks trying to pronounce Donal....they ALL say Donald....just cant get there tongues arounf BTW i know its not my name but a friend of mine who went there on hols there a few years ago came back with the nick Donald and it stuck!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

And lets not forget the pronunciation of CJ Haughey as "Hockey" when he was King of Ireland.

But yes, I cannot fathom why they can't pronounce the names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

It's our way of rubbing it in that we're Irish and there's nothing they can do about it. I think it p!sses them off big time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

It's likely because it's spelled very similarly to (or in the case of Gallagher, the same where it isn't 'Gallacher') as a name from far up north that they pronounce a wee bit differently to us there. So it's a problem of similarity and common practice. Slightly better excuse than leaving out the h in that well known footballer, Margaret TATcher in common use here.

One vote for "get over it in both countries for the love of something useful"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Don't forget that the worst English in the world is spoken in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

That Dokerty thing has annoyed me for a while now.

When I was on a sports trip to Leeds a few years ago we were hosted by families of the Leeds team. The family that hosted me had to request me specifically because they had so much trouble pronouncing the name of the guy originally selected to stay at their house, Oisín McGloughlan.

The grandad of the house kept saying things like: these are Corn Flakes, do you have them in Ireland? This is a motorway, do you have them in Ireland? Is Dublin in the north or the eh, south? (my answer: no the east).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

when you would ring up argos Ring and reserve, Dun Laoghaire was pronounced by the woman as Dun la-har.

The americans cant say Doherty either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Ray777 wrote:
    When it comes to pronouncing anything vaguely Irish-sounding, most English people are idiots. Never watch an Ireland football match on Sky. They have no problem pronouncing 'Bixente Lizarazu', 'Filippo Inzaghi', even 'Andre Shevchenko'. Getting the cúnts to pronounce 'Mark Kinsella' though, is another story altogether. Ignorant ****.

oh yes another anti-english thread,so in your post we english are idiots,***** and ignorant ****,your post is just full of bigotry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Newshound wrote:
    Was watching a documentry on Kate Moss tonight and it strikes me everytime i hear an English person saying 'Doherty' that they say 'Dokerty' or 'Doe-erty'.

Unbelievable.

Go **** yourself, I'm English and I can pronounce Doherty. You're judging a nation of people on some jumped up cockney tart. Lets get truthful shall we?, why is it Irish people say "Ting" for thing, "Turty" for thirty, "Tremendoush" for tremendous?, need I go on?, oh I beg your pardon, I just made a sweeping statement about an entire nation, where did I see that before?

Well, you know what you can all do with the hatred of all things English surely?, vote Sinn Fein in at the next general election and watch them turn back the clock, changing all the road signs so they're in gaeilge, insisting that gaeilge is the first language. My, how happy you'll all instantly feel.

I do believe the phrase is "cead mile failte eg eireann ", it's direct translation may have changed in the last few years though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Why cant the irish pronounce there H's?? :rolleyes:
    Really silly post, there are loads of things the irish dont pronounce properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

county wrote:
    oh yes another anti-english thread,so in your post we english are idiots,***** and ignorant ****,your post is just full of bigotry

Hold on there, asking why English people mispronounce Irish names is a valid question. The BBC for example have department that deal with pronunciation and are unable to get the names right. Generally people take leads from such sources.
    It has to be questioned why, what is meant to be a professional organisation that is meant to be neutral, is unable to name the neighbouring country and its leader. All through the 80s and even now news reporters have called Ireland "island". There will always be a degree of accent but this was/is more.
    There is huge degree of ignorance about Ireland in England. They don't even know what to call the country, I have been asked a few times "Do I put down Southern Ireland or is it Eire". I can see why they would think either but they should know.
    On the other side I hate ignorance and intentional stupidity such as "crips" instead of "crisps", "lurry" instead of "lorry", "axe" isntead of "ask" etc...
    In saying that I have heard people of Irish decent misprononce their own names and in the US they misuse and misspell Sean! In Ireland we tend to pronounce the H in Thomas which is incorrect in the classical sense and Mexican people called Jesus how is that pronounced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Hold on there, asking why English people mispronounce Irish names is a valid question. The BBC for example have department that deal with pronunciation and are unable to get the names right. Generally people take leads from such sources.

i have no problem with the OP but abusive comments like ray777 post i find highly offensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

Slow day at the office/student union/playschool ?

Ha ha this thread ! Ok I'll take the bait...

Dont get me started on the many many things that 'YOUR LOT' say, that are very very different to the way the English words were intended to be used.

But some of us recognise differences in peoples dialect as interesting thing, not an annoyance.

What the hell are you doing watching 'DA BRIT' tv channels if you can't stand listening to British pronunciations of perceived Irish words ? Can I suggest spending more time watching the magnificent TG4 ?

If you choose to use another country's language and disregard your own, you should adopt that other country's language properly !

Perhaps you should all come across the water on English courses so you can get to grips with the English language a bit better ?

I've lived in Ireland for a number of years and have noticed a few irish-isms creeping into my language (you're grand, thanks a million etc..) but the day I say the word 'press' instead of 'cupboard' or 'messages' instead of 'shopping' I have asked my Irish spouse to shoot me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

david bowie (as in take a bow, ee)
    bono (as in give a dog a bone, oo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Ray777 wrote:

Just like all the Irish presenters on radio who can't pronounce ANY WORD WHATSOEVER that has the letter T in it..."compuisher" for computer, "ish" for it, "roish" for right, "moishorway" for motorway, etc etc. RTE are supposed to have an elecution department as well but they don't seem to pull their stupid presenters up on this. So to go by your theory all Irish are idiots, cúnts and ignorant wánkers.

englander wrote:
    ...If you choose to use another country's language and disregard your own, you should adopt that other country's language properly !

We didn't choose to use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Why can't Irish people pronounce Thames?

Why is the OP such a moron?

These are the mysteries of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭QualderWahl

englander wrote:

If you choose to use another country's language and disregard your own, you should adopt that other country's language properly !

Perhaps you should all come across the water on English courses so you can get to grips with the English language a bit better ?

I've lived in Ireland for a number of years and have noticed a few irish-isms creeping into my language (you're grand, thanks a million etc..) but the day I say the word 'press' instead of 'cupboard' or 'messages' instead of 'shopping' I have asked my Irish spouse to shoot me ;)

I don't wish to be drawn into an Ireland v England slanging match but I do feel it necessary to point out that we certainly did not "CHOOSE" to use the English language ! Need I remind you that all education in Irish was outlawed with the exception of the illegal hedge schools. Speaking of Irish was also deemed to be punishable by law. Need I remind you who was responsible for the imposition of these progressive laws ??

As for coming across the water to learn the Queen's English / received English, please don't make me laugh. Whilst I accept that oxbridge graduates do speak fantastically precise English, the average cockney, mancunian, scouse, brummie or geordie is scarcely comprehensible.

Surely it's time both of these Islands started to focus on areas of commonality instead of focusing on the insignificant traits that differentiate us as peoples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭savoyard

I think the reason is that it is two different alphabets from two different languages. H and R are two letters that Irish people pronounce very differently. Say E.R. to english person and they'll fall around the place laughing. They think you're talking about the donkey in Winnie the Pooh.

Doherty is a hard one for anglophones to prounouce and they tend to say docherty, dooerty, even dorothy. Plus the Scots version of the name is actually Docherty so that adds to the confusion. Basically, it's like asking us to pronounce a French word properly without knowing how the French alphabet works. My Irish aunt is a Gallagher who after years in England prounounces her name Gallacher because in general people can't deal with the silent g.

We speak Hiberno-english which is greatly influenced by the Irish language, whether we know it or not. And if Irish people haven't copped it on, how are others to? They read our names using the British alphabet, so in general, they don't pronounce letters the same as us. I'm sure they probably can't pronounce Thierry Henry the way a Frenchman could, why expect them to be able to prounce Eoin Doherty? That's my theory anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Englander, I think you'll find that the Irish speak English much closer to how it was originally spoken a few hundred years ago.

It's generally accepted that "Received Pronunciation", while extremely English and very posh sounding, is nothing like how English is originally spoken - the spelling and pronunciations don't match.

This thread should be locked, its gonna turn into a 1 big flame. The irish cannot pronounce many words propery, neither can the british, who cares :cool: .

englander wrote:

We speak Hiberna-English in Ireland. This is closer to classical English than the language spoken in England currently. Cockney is actually an Irish dialect of English too. After living in England I also know the majority of people in the country cannot speak English very well and have a very limited vocabulary compared to Ireland. I feel the level of language ignorance here is increasing and I dislike it too. Still no excuse for ignornace on how to pronounce a persons name
    Just like all the Irish presenters on radio who can't pronounce ANY WORD WHATSOEVER that has the letter T in it..."compuisher" for computer, "ish" for it, "roish" for right, "moishorway" for motorway, etc etc.

I have never heard anybody speak in the manner you are suggesting so I am guessing you just don't know how spell phonetically. We have a differnt accent get over it. People in the north of England speak in a manner that is no better and in particular I would say worse. The majority of English people don't even know what to call this country and after years of dealing with Irish people can't pronounce the names of people. A subtle form of bullying, that was caused or encouraged by media centres like the BBC. They can get all the heads of states from around the world pronounced correctly yet their closest neighbour is impossibile. There is a combination of rudeness and ignorance very differnt from how we speak a language in common use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

This thread should be locked, its gonna turn into a 1 big flame. The irish cannot pronounce many words propery, neither can the british, who cares :cool: .
    My own take on why our British neighbours have difficulty with some Irish names is that simply put we are cut from different linguistic cloths. It's not about accents per se, rather that from the cradle we're surrounded by the unwritten soundes and can handle them (like, for instance, the half-aspirated sound before the 'ee' at the end of Haughey') which they don't have. As far as the British tongue is concerned, the normal way to pronounce a 'gh' sound is, well, what you have at the end of 'enough'.

There's nothing at all condescending about their percieved 'inability' to pronounce names; that's just a variant - the kind of stuff that makes the differences interesting. During the four years I lived and worked there, plenty of friends of mine had difficulty with my own surname, and after a few weeks of correcting them I just gave up. I know it wasn't a desire to pi$$ me off - just their mouths don't work that way. For what it's worth - and irrespective of the state of the Irish language - as Irish people we happen to have two sets of linguistic tools...we alone can handle the Irish-isms, and we're lucky enough to be able to handle most of the anglophone ones as well.

Well said Endurance Man (although not sure this thread should be locked).

Seamus , you are correct. Or should that be 'Ye' are correct. Forgive me but whenever I hear that, it just sounds odd. Why adopt 'ye olde' language from moons ago ?

We should embrace the differences between our respective countries (and even counties in Ireland where fierce rivalry exists) whether it be the language/culture/colour of our people no matter how odd we all sound/look/are.

But can I just say :

1. Most Irish choose to speak English right now. To be honest if it was me and say Germany won the war and we were all made to speak German - I would do my very best to speak my native language (English) whenever possible. Yes the reason behind it (Irish speaking English) is in history and is very unfortunate, but right now, no-one is making you speak English. The average Irish person does not know more irish than a few phrases such ( can I go to the toilet, or pass the milk, or sit down/stand up, hello , goodbye). They blame it on the bad teaching styles in school. I blame it on pure laziness. People just can not be arsed as its too difficult.

2. Its time to stop relying on the 'downtrodden ickle Irish country by the big nasty Brits' attitude. Stop making excuses. Drag your arses into NOW. Soooo many times some people (mostly poorly educated people) drag out the old line... 800 years of oppression by the Brits.... thats why Ireland have a sh!te football team, thats why the world is bloody spherical, thats why we have an inept government, cos of da Brits...
    Nobody is oppressing you now.

Right you can lock this thread - I've had my say.

I have never heard anybody speak in the manner you are suggesting so I am guessing you just don't know how spell phonetically. We have a differnt accent get over it. ...

Yeah you are right, I can't spell phonetically to save my life. But just listen to 5-7 live, or Morning Ireland, or most of the advertisments on the radio and take note of how they pronounce words such as it, right, computer or anything that has the letter T in it. Listen to Marion Funnican say right, that is a perfect example. It's not down to accent, I think it's a lazyness creeping into the way we speak, it is more difficult to pronounce the word correctly.

Feck it, I am going to record all the words and post it up as an mp3!!

Englander, I think you'll find that the Irish speak English much closer to how it was originally spoken a few hundred years ago.

It's generally accepted that "Received Pronunciation", while extremely English and very posh sounding, is nothing like how English is originally spoken - the spelling and pronunciations don't match.
    Today 10:57

And the spelling and pronunciations of irish do match :rolleyes: , not really!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

We have a differnt accent get over it.

I think that is about all that need to be said on the matter.

...how they pronounce words such as it, right, computer or anything that has the letter T in it. Listen to Marion Funnican say right, that is a perfect example. It's not down to accent,
    Marion is a bogger and also plays with words intentionally to stay close with audience. She says the T in safety and more ;) This is the nature of Hiberna English but a your name doesn't change country to country if you can't prononce a name you are ignorant it's that simple. I don't blame people other than media companies as they are expected to have standards and be informed.
    I still don't remember anybody putting in an alternative sound for T in words especially computer I agree they might remove it but not a new sound in it's place. Again it is mostly accents and not ignorance of how to say the word. If you think the second G in Gallagher is to be pronunced you are wrong and not speaking with an accent or a manner of speach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

englander wrote:
    Well said Endurance Man (although not sure this thread should be locked).

Seamus , you are correct. Or should that be 'Ye' are correct. Forgive me but whenever I hear that, it just sounds odd. Why adopt 'ye olde' language from moons ago ?

We should embrace the differences between our respective countries (and even counties in Ireland where fierce rivalry exists) whether it be the language/culture/colour of our people no matter how odd we all sound/look/are.

But can I just say :

1. Most Irish choose to speak English right now. To be honest if it was me and say Germany won the war and we were all made to speak German - I would do my very best to speak my native language (English) whenever possible. Yes the reason behind it (Irish speaking English) is in history and is very unfortunate, but right now, no-one is making you speak English. The average Irish person does not know more irish than a few phrases such ( can I go to the toilet, or pass the milk, or sit down/stand up, hello , goodbye). They blame it on the bad teaching styles in school. I blame it on pure laziness. People just can not be arsed as its too difficult.

2. Its time to stop relying on the 'downtrodden ickle Irish country by the big nasty Brits' attitude. Stop making excuses. Drag your arses into NOW. Soooo many times some people (mostly poorly educated people) drag out the old line... 800 years of oppression by the Brits.... thats why Ireland have a sh!te football team, thats why the world is bloody spherical, thats why we have an inept government, cos of da Brits...
    Nobody is oppressing you now.

Right you can lock this thread - I've had my say.

The teaching of Irish in our schools IS very poor. Luckily i went to an all Irish primary school and was lucky enough to have a good knowledge of the Irish language. As soon as i went to secondary school i could see how most struggled with Irish. Though i can speak Irish very well there are few situations where i can use it as English is the main language in our country and is used for buisness etc. It's probably a good thing that our main language is now english as it is one of the main languages of the world. To say that we "chose" it or "adopted" however is pure ignorance on your part, it was forced on us and people died for merely speaking the irish language,teaching it, singing irish songs basically anything to do with irish culture was beaten out of the Irish so it is great that we still have anyone speaking the language or aware of Irish culture at all. It's not your fault this happened but the fact is it did happen. If you aren't aware of these things then don't speak about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

englander wrote:

1. Most Irish choose to speak English right now. To be honest if it was me and say Germany won the war and we were all made to speak German - I would do my very best to speak my native language (English) whenever possible. Yes the reason behind it (Irish speaking English) is in history and is very unfortunate, but right now, no-one is making you speak English.

You might, but what about future generations? What would they speak if they had been brought up in a system where the teaching of english was illegal and the official language of the country was german. It would only take one generation for the german language to become the dominant state language. That is exactly what happened here with Irish and English.

I agree that no one is making us speak it now, but you just made it sound as if its simple to switch back to irish and that its 100% *our* fault that we gave up irish in the first place.
    We're not completely blameless but we're not totally at fault either.

Finally, most Irish people have gotten over the whole 'oppression' thing but still, the length of the occupation (for want of a better word) has left an impression on the national psyche that will not go away in 80 years.

This is the nature of Hiberna English but a your name doesn't change country to country if you can't prononce a name you are ignorant it's that simple.

:rolleyes: , this seems a bit crazy. How would i no that a name spelt Padraig (hope that is the correct spelling), is pronounced Porick in ireland. There are many different ways of pronouncing names!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

:rolleyes: , this seems a bit crazy. How would i no that a name spelt Padraig (hope that is the correct spelling), is pronounced Porick in ireland. There are many different ways of pronouncing names!!
    I get a great laugh out of people trying to pronounce Siobhán.
    Used to hate it but after traveling and hearing the way people pronounce it I think it’s a great name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

If its your job to talk about football players such as Gary Doherty, you should learn how to say it (its spoken exactly as its spelled Do-her-ty). Not bothering to learn how to say it is arrogant and unprofessional.

#15 wrote:
    Finally, most Irish people have gotten over the whole 'oppression' thing but still, the length of the occupation (for want of a better word) has left an impression on the national psyche that will not go away in 80 years.

That's true, most people don't get into the usual ramble of 'oppression for 800 years' but a lot of irish are still annoyed at what happened and rightly so, as long as it is not directed at most of the english people of today, they can't change the past now. You couldn't turn around to the Jews in Germany and Poland etc. and tell them they should all just get over it! There would be outrage. Ireland suffered under the hands of England for a very long period of time and people are still hurt as a result, family members of people in ireland today and members of my own family that i have known and are now deceased suffered a great deal, i could tell a few horrible stories but there's no need to go into it as we are all too aware of stories like these and horrible acts that occured. The Jews were wiped out in their millions and many had to flee their country and so were the Irish during the famine so for an Englishman to come on here and be so insensitive about the whole thing is a bit much, no need to be so insulting.

Lmao, It's not pronounced poric it is pronounced paw-drig and it's one of the most common names in Ireland,lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭superfly

deisedevil wrote:
    Lmao, It's not pronounced poric it is pronounced paw-drig and it's one of the most common names in Ireland,lol.

ive never heard it pronounced paw-drig! its more paw-rick!

superfly wrote:
    ive never heard it pronounced paw-drig! its more paw-rick!

What you talking bout?? The irish for patrick is padraig and IT IS pronounced paw-drig!!! end of story. a lot of people get that wrong in fairness though. like in england they say Paw-rick Harrington and that's kinda what this thread is about, the way some English people pronounce Irish names differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

CiaranC wrote:
    If its your job to talk about football players such as Gary Doherty, you should learn how to say it (its spoken exactly as its spelled Do-her-ty). Not bothering to learn how to say it is arrogant and unprofessional.

i would agree with that, but i would also qualiy the fact that actually, sometimes, people pronounce these names their own way.

for example, my current HR manager is called Bruce Doherty.
    he pronounces his name Bruce Doch-art-ee.

who the hell am i to tell him how he wants to be known?
    but it does not surprise me anyway, the english seem(as in my opinion) to be crap at everything they invented...

english
    football
    cricket(wow the ashes - beat 1 team)
    world domination.

can you extrplate on those points? please tell us how pronounciation has to do with any of them, or is it just a stupid unfunny geralisation by you.
    back up your opinions.

Flukey wrote:
    Don't forget that the worst English in the world is spoken in England.

proof?
    There is huge degree of ignorance about Ireland in England. They don't even know what to call the country, I have been asked a few times "Do I put down Southern Ireland or is it Eire". I can see why they would think either but they should know

i dont agree. why should a nation doesnt know the ins-and-outs of another nation. perhaps ireland just isnt the centre of their world.
    after all, there are an awful lot of misconceptions about the UK and british people in ireland.
    while we may find the colloqualism of Fr Ted hilariously funny, whats to make people in another country feel that this is different to general life in ireland?
    after all, i have never seen life in the UK that is represented by east enders or corination street, and the OC certainly doesnt represtnt the general standard of life in the USA.
    We didn't choose to use it..

you have absolute freedom of choice.
    the fact you are replying in english means that you have decided to use english. if youre going to use that sort of argument, at least try and be consistant.
    As for coming across the water to learn the Queen's English / received English, please don't make me laugh. Whilst I accept that oxbridge graduates do speak fantastically precise English, the average cockney, mancunian, scouse, brummie or geordie is scarcely comprehensible.

but different areas will all have different dialects and different colloquialisms and different accents.
    all of which are just as applicable as anyones else. just becuase someone from one area does not make sense to another, does not mean that there is anything wrong.
    there is avast difference between an accent in dublin inner city, black rock and kerry and cork. is anyone wrong?
    Seamus wrote:

actually, its pretty much recognised that in the time of William Shakespear, that the vast majority of britain spoke with a Northern Irish accent.
    the accent has changed over the many years and broken down in different regions to what it is today.
    its a sign of a living breathing language when there is constant change and contrast over the years.

on the other hand, the only thing that changes in the irish language is that common anglo words are 'irished'. there is no more development in the Irish language than that (well, as far as I can see, but im not an irish speaker, and i dont follow it). Irish is a dying language, mores the shame i say, but thats the truth of it.

deisedevil wrote:
    The teaching of Irish in our schools IS very poor. Luckily i went to an all Irish primary school and was lucky enough to have a good knowledge of the Irish language. As soon as i went to secondary school i could see how most struggled with Irish. Though i can speak Irish very well there are few situations where i can use it as English is the main language in our country and is used for buisness etc. It's probably a good thing that our main language is now english as it is one of the main languages of the world. ..

i would agree, i spent my formative years in an all irish school in galway. all of my studies were throuhg irish.
    when i moved to dublin, i spoke better irish than my teachers.
    deisedevil wrote:
    . To say that we "chose" it or "adopted" however is pure ignorance on your part, it was forced on us and people died for merely speaking the irish language,teaching it, singing irish songs basically anything to do with irish culture was beaten out of the Irish so it is great that we still have anyone speaking the language or aware of Irish culture at all. It's not your fault this happened but the fact is it did happen. If you aren't aware of these things then don't speak about them!..

so organise a referrendum to have english removed as one of the national languages of the country.
    personally, i dont care about why ireleand speaks english. its a fact that it does, thats all that matters.
    but dont give us the 'you dont know, so dont speak about them' argument is silly. people are allowed to have an opinon onthese things. just because they dont agree with you does not mean that they are unaware of what has happened, as if being aware would change their minds in an instance.
    some people dont care about 'the occupation'. its long gone, and its better to live in the world today, than to try and bring back some sort of old world that represents ireland of old.

hey, what have the romans ever done for us.

well, theres.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

deisedevil wrote:
    What you talking bout?? The irish for patrick is padraig and IT IS pronounced paw-drig!!! end of story. a lot of people get that wrong in fairness though. like in england they say Paw-rick Harrington and that's kinda what this thread is about, the way some English people pronounce Irish names differently.

but who are you to say how people should pronounce their own names?

i know a couple of people with the name Padrig,and they all pronounce them differently.
    theres even a pad-rick.

are you saying they are all wrong?

Take OASIS - Liam and Noel.
    Their surname is Gallagher. They pronounce the 'g' in the middle of their name.

Do you not think it would be disrespectful if you said their names with a silent 'g'.

When you watch footie on Network2 on a Saturday they always say
    sunder-land or notting-ham or middles-borrow as though they are two separate words. Do you think people living in those towns would feel pretty disrespected if they heard these being pronounced like that ?

Rather than get upset at the ignorant stupid Irish commentators who can't bother their arses finding out how these towns are pronounced locally, disrespecting some of my country folk, I laugh and say thats just how those towns are said over here. (not every time do I laugh though !).

I am afterall living abroad (Ireland), watching foreign TV. Likewise when you are watching British TV - you have to understand that you are watching a foreign channel.

Padraig - next door neighbour (very irish) calls himself paw-rick. To be honest if you can't decide yourselves on a definitive pronunciation of padraig or any other name then how the hell can you expect a foreign country to know how to pronounce it ?