Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Metro Users: Are you Happy with your Service? Post Here Please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

well metro were by and changed my CPU and modem, reinstalled everything, except the cable, and all im waiting for now is my phone service :D

seems to be better, ill be testing fully today :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,461 ✭✭✭✭watty

ikoonman wrote:
    let me know how you get on.... be carefull tho, the wrt54g does provide some firewall (or port blocking) functionality, removing it may put your machine at risk if your windowzzz are not up to date/firewall'd

Disable Netbios / MS Client bindings on the network card.
    Make sure your PC is not running uPNP, Server, Browser, Personal Web Server , Telnet etc.
    Then it won't have any open ports

Check at http://www.grc.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Hughesy

How long after installation to people get their phones???

I'm told 2 days to two weeks.

I suspect either some other phone company makes life difficult and/or they are swamped by demand.

was perfect yesterday, then thismorning the modem resets itself and now im suffering 87% packetloss.
    fukingcrapagain.JPG

packetloss jumps from between 25% to 90% and this is only after my modem reset, what the hell is going on?

packetloss.JPG

crap again this morning, its taken 40seconds alone to load this page.

im down to isdn speeds.

and why am i getting so much packet loss, there is nothing in the way of the los.

if this contuinues ill have to try and get it taken out and go for ntl.

id hate to have to but, im not getting a steady service, and im hating the fact im paying 110 euros for wireless isdn.

Even the installer cant understand, he has a clear los and the best he can get is -22
    forget horizontal because that gives -45.

maybe this isnt for me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

Water could have gotten into your cable if the install was rushed the first time.. that would severly impact on signal power. That's all I can really think of.

I had metro installed here during the week in Limerick and it's working flawlessly. Full download/upload speeds and rock steady latency of 20ms to boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Mine is still perfect never had any problem since i got it in, good
    work digiweb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 847 ✭✭✭mickger

ricey wrote:
    Mine is still perfect never had any problem since i got it in, good
    work digiweb.

Had a few minors problems at the start but its running like a dream since then.I'm well happy with Metro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Chaz

Sparky-s wrote:
    crap again this morning, its taken 40seconds alone to load this page.

im down to isdn speeds.

and why am i getting so much packet loss, there is nothing in the way of the los.

if this contuinues ill have to try and get it taken out and go for ntl.

id hate to have to but, im not getting a steady service, and im hating the fact im paying 110 euros for wireless isdn.

Even the installer cant understand, he has a clear los and the best he can get is -22
    forget horizontal because that gives -45.

maybe this isnt for me tbh.

Sparky-S - you have a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭blobert

blobert wrote:
    Hi folks,

Has anyone got their number ported over from Eircom yet?

I applied about 2 months ago but have heard nothing yet.

To be honest, I'm thinking it may not be such a great idea if the service is less than fully reliable.

Anyone else have any opionions on the matter?

Robert

Seems number finally got ported today.

Would have liked some advanced warning as nobody has been able to get through to my house phone all day, till I tried plugging a phone in to the modem.

Seems to be working ok, though there now remains the problem of how to run 4 phones around a big house from one socket on the modem (might have to get portable ones I think). If anyone has any ideas on how to use the existing wiring and phone sockets in my house with the metro modem's one phone line out, I'd appreciate it.

Strange thing is when i ring my mobile from my house phone to check if it works, the number comes up as "4400400". Now this is not the number digiweb gave me, nor is it the number I had ported. In fact when I ring it back it just rings out.

Anyone know why this is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

blobert wrote:
    Seems number finally got ported today.
    Would have liked some advanced warning as nobody has been able to get through to my house phone all day, till I tried plugging a phone in to the modem.
    I doubt if Eircom notify anyone when the porting is complete , they leave it to the new carrier to 'pick it it.

If you plug a fone into the eircom socket and dial 199000 (free) , what is 'spoken back' to you as a matter of interest ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭blobert

Phone has been working on/off all day, quite annoying.

I'll ring tech support tmw (from my mobile) and get them to fix it.

If they cant guarantee a reliable service they better port me back to Eircom pronto. Their phone service may be crappy value but it works and I'm not going to cancel it just yet.

I'd appreciate if one of the Metro guys hanging around this thread could contact me through PM so I can get this sorted ASAP.

would a pinched cable cause problems?
    because ive a slight belief that the cable coming off the pole is going under the bracket and has been pulled tight.

only other option i can think off is if the cable gets reinstalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭cgarvey

Sponge Bob wrote:
    If you plug a fone into the eircom socket and dial 199000
    Lovely nugget of info there.

.cg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

so far the only issue I had with metro was that it went down for 30 mins last night..so far so good..now I've set up my diginet email account and want to use thunderbird..here's the prob..support at the digiweb site as far as I can tell already assumes you have an email account already set up on thunderbird and just tells you to change the SMTP settings..does anyone have the full settings I need to get this working??ie chaz/crawler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

On this note - I've been unable to subscribe to ANY newsgroups in thunderbird since I got Metro...
    Not sure if it's an ISP issue or a client issue though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭crawler

Airblazer wrote:
    so far the only issue I had with metro was that it went down for 30 mins last night..so far so good..now I've set up my diginet email account and want to use thunderbird..here's the prob..support at the digiweb site as far as I can tell already assumes you have an email account already set up on thunderbird and just tells you to change the SMTP settings..does anyone have the full settings I need to get this working??ie chaz/crawler?

If you have a Digimail account already set up then give the lads a call and they will guide you through the rest (1890 940 405)

Of do this :-

Creating Diginet account

http://www.digiweb.ie/support/wireless/diginetsetup.asp?i=2&i2=5&i6=18

Mail configs

http://www.digiweb.ie/support/wireless/EmailConfiguration.asp?i=2&i2=5&i6=18

ok lads my metro is totally perfect today, i really hope it stays that way now :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

crawler wrote:
    If you have a Digimail account already set up then give the lads a call and they will guide you through the rest (1890 940 405)

Of do this :-

Creating Diginet account

http://www.digiweb.ie/support/wireless/diginetsetup.asp?i=2&i2=5&i6=18

Mail configs

http://www.digiweb.ie/support/wireless/EmailConfiguration.asp?i=2&i2=5&i6=18

cheers Crawler...worked a treat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Just got a 3M Metro line installed in the cafe tonight, about a week after ordering, so far so good. Pings are very low, http downloads seemed slow (80-100kb/s), but then I downloaded from bittorrent at 250-odd kb/s. Irishisptest.com is telling me 1.8M downstream, 250K or so upstream, I'll keep checking it over the next week. Gaming seems pretty good, I'll leave the reporting of that to Monty. Briefly tried VoIP, seemed ok before our carrier fuxored up, I'll report on that tomorrow when we get it sorted (using our own SIP routers over the net line, not using Metro's VoIP). Browsing seems grand. Everything is fecking 20 times better than the ClearWire line I've been on for the past couple months.

All this is despite the fact that the signal was apparently quite low (-7 to -9, Rathmines). Here's hoping it holds...

It works down to -16dBmV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

Sparky-s wrote:
    would a pinched cable cause problems?
    Ever find an answer to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Spent a couple hours playing CS last night, low latency, very smooth, even while downloading. Currently downloading at a steady 220KB/s from heanet, I'll keep an eye on that over the next few days (tbh download speed isn't a concern, latency is far more of an issue for me). VoIP (SIP) seemed ok, still a problem with our carrier, sorting it out now, I'll report back on that at some stage.

So far: nice.

zoro wrote:
    Ever find an answer to this?

no but id say it would be hard to as the center core of the co-ax is solid, maybe im getting better net preformance because my phone service is off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Chaz

Sparky-s wrote:
    no but id say it would be hard to as the center core of the co-ax is solid, maybe im getting better net preformance because my phone service is off?

Sparky-s, your performance fluctuates simply as your signals are too close to cutoff and when you lose fade margin due to outside factors, your system dips in and out of 'OK'. Let me know when we can do that service call - it will not be sorted properly unless it can be looked at and understood why your signals are low - certainly low considering where you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Any idea when the phone service gets enabled, had metro for a month now. If i was advised that it would take this long, i wouldnt have cancelled my eircom phone. Any time i've contacted support, a 'colleague will contact me in the next few days'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭ikoonman

zabbo wrote:
    Any idea when the phone service gets enabled, had metro for a month now.

well yeah - join the q.

I am prob waiting for close to two months now....
    waiting for support guys to get back to me...
    waiting for engineer to come....
    waiting .....

Chaz wrote:
    Sparky-s, your performance fluctuates simply as your signals are too close to cutoff and when you lose fade margin due to outside factors, your system dips in and out of 'OK'. Let me know when we can do that service call - it will not be sorted properly unless it can be looked at and understood why your signals are low - certainly low considering where you are.

Cheers chaz ill let you know when the service guys can call, it will defo have to be after christmas :D

So it seems my area is on the fringe.
    Lets hope someday you get rte's mast :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭crawler

Sparky-s wrote:
    Cheers chaz ill let you know when the service guys can call, it will defo have to be after christmas :D

So it seems my area is on the fringe.
    Lets hope someday you get rte's mast :D

I think you will find we will make our way to many masts :)

Anyway let us know when we can fix the problem....