Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Vs The Country

• 29-09-2005 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭

Ok folks, decision time for me - whether to move back to Dublin or not.

So to help decide, and if ye wouldn't mind, please post the pro's and con's of Dublin Vs. The Country:

Example:

Pro: Better Night Life

Con: Cost of property/rent

PS. It's only a bit of fun really, I probably am going to make the move!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Stay down the country. I recently moved to Sligo from Dublin. The prices in accomodation, drink etc. are just unreal up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hmm, where are you now?
    A hole in the ground outside Ballygobackwards = move to Dublin
    A nice country town or county capital = do not move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭pdunno

small town, it's nice enough but work is very boring and life itself is kinda boring. Besides, most of my mates are in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Lemlin wrote:
    Stay down the country. I recently moved to Sligo from Dublin. The prices in accomodation, drink etc. are just unreal up there.
    I don't understand how someone from Sligo could describe Dublin as 'up there' by any definition of the words....

EDIT:... oh wait.. never mind... I think I understand now... the unreal prices are the cheap prices in Sligo... yes?

I lived in Cork City for a year. Not putting Cork down, I made some wonderful friends down there that I still see, but being born and raised a Dub, I had to move back up.
    So from my perspective:
    Pro's:
    Nightlife is far better than anywhere in Cork City
    My friends/family are up here
    There is a far better list of things to do, eg Galleries, Theatres, Pubs, Clubs
    There's more women in Dublin
    IMO I find Dublin friendlier
    There's always someting going on in Dublin

Cons:
    Dublin is more expensive (fact)
    Cork is quieter, so if you're the retiring type, Cork might be better
    The traffic is atrocious
    You'll spend all your money having a good time in Dublin :D

Lived in Dublin for 3 years:

More Pro's:
    Faster paced lifestyle
    More women

More Con's:
    Faster paced lifestlye
    More skangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Dublin Pros:
    Those pedestrian traffic lights at O'Connell Bridge that go from green to orange and back to green again. I love those guys.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Dublin
    Noise
    Traffic
    The Dublin skanger
    The pace of life
    Lack of quiet green space (not Phoenix Pk either-its creepy)
    Dublin Bus
    Dublin drivers on a mission to drive through anything that crosses their path
    Gigs
    Shopping

Country
    Boring
    Small town nosiness
    Quiet
    Less heavy traffic
    Safe to be a pedestrian/Cyclist
    Green space

Country wins hands down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Tried moving down the country many years ago,got bored outta me t*ts after a few weeks,looked to be a lot of inbred types and every c*nt knew everybodys business, was like living in a goldfish bowl,Dublin might have it's faults but for me it beats living down the country hands down unless your at retirement age :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'll take my 3.10 pint of Guinness over another dozen crappy nightclubs, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Single, Dublins great, clubs and so many people, but when I'm ready to settle down I'll be moving at the very least to a comuter town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Sarky wrote:
    I'll take my 3.10 pint of Guinness over another dozen crappy nightclubs, thanks.

Same price for Guinness in my local in Dublin :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

pdunno wrote:
    small town, it's nice enough but work is very boring and life itself is kinda boring. Besides, most of my mates are in Dublin

Well judging by that post, I'd say you should move to Dublin. You only live once, no point in staying somewhere you don't enjoy being.

EDIT:

I initially said, "you only live twice".... Maybe I'm more hung-over than I think :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Dublin
    The pace of life
    Shopping
    Jobs
    Every major event in the country
    Football
    Foriegners have actually heard of the place
    Culture
    Ability to lose yourself if you want to

Country
    Farmers
    Farms
    Cows
    Sheep
    Septic Tanks
    Cow****
    Towns with 1 pub
    No chance of anonymity
    Fenians
    Fenian songs
    GAA fanatics
    The biggest night out on offer is a funeral

Dublin wins hands down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Where is that Jonny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Pigman II wrote:
    Dublin

Jobs
    there's jobs outside of the Pale

Pigman II wrote:
    Country

Fenians
    Fenian songs
    ever been to Finglas?
    Pigman II wrote:
    GAA fanatics
    ever seen Hill 16 when Dublin are playing?

what is meant by the "country" is the area that lies outside of the Pale. I live in "the country" but I never encounter cows, sheep etc. There is more than 1 pub where I live, in fact this is where the Dubs go every weekend, so it can't be that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Illegal Alien

The country has one MASSIVE advantage over Dublin:
    It dosen't have those fat, scumbag, bitches going around town with a fag length piece of ash hanging out of their mouth, pushing a pram of another illigitimate future criminal like it was a battering ram, and pulling another one by the arm shouting at him, giving him the type of up-bringing that you can't expect anything other than a menace and sponge on society, on her way to the dole office to pick up my tax money, and coming from Moore st. where she spent the last hour shouting at people to see if they want to buy any cigarettes her brother stole from the local shell office.

Other than that, why would you want to even go to the country..let alone live in it!!? :confused: Sure, it's chepaer...but you pay a much bigger price...A lifestyle that could be described as remotely livable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Blackjack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

From a billboard on Pearse Street:

ONE bedroom apartments FROM €249000..... didnt catch the address..... nuff said... :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

From a billboard on Pearse Street:

ONE bedroom apartments FROM €249000..... didnt catch the address..... nuff said... :)

1 bedroom apts in cork are only about 20K cheaper. Admittedly these are in the city centre though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,549 ✭✭✭BrianD3

For me Dublin wins hands down. I actually like to see big crowds of people going about their daily business and hearing the various sounds that you hear in a city. When I moved back to the country after living in Dublin for years I suffered from insomnia due to it being too quiet.

Rural areas are just so boring You see and hear nothing. If you do see a person odds are it's some ould farmer in a flat cap. There are far fewer young people and women about. Country women seem to settle down and get married a lot earlier so opportunities for meeting single women are limited. Then there's little to do in the country execpt get hammered in the pub. And when you go to the pub you see the same eejits week in, week out.

Have to laugh about Dubs givin out about Dublin Bus and the Dart. Try living down the country where public transport is basically non existent. It is essential to have a car if you live in the country.

As for skangers and scumbags..IME there's just as many of these outside of Dublin. Not so much in deserted rural areas but country towns are full of 'em and they all come out on a Saturday night, fighting outside the chipper, "startin" on people, vandalising stuff etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

yea but you can get 3 - 4 bedroom houses in most of the commuter towns around dublin for between €220000 and €250000.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

I'd go for outside Dublin.

If you want to live in a decent big city then Dublin is not the answer.

There's really not all that much to do/see.

It's expensive yes but the most annoying thing is the poor level of service I found while I was living there. You just don't get value for money. Service staff(in general, Irish and foreign) are fairly poor.

It's bloody filthy. EVERYWHERE.

High proportion of scumbags/anti social behaviour.

People aren't actually all that friendly.

One thing I forgot - eveyone says that Dublin is much dearer but this is only true for certain thing (houses obviously, pubs, restaurants and other things) But lets say you want to buy a washing machine or a DVD player or some tools or a biccycle. If you're down the country your probably going to pay a lot more as the shops are smaller and there is less competition. You'll also have less choice or the thing you're looking for may not be available at all or may have to be ordered. Finally, when you walk into a country shop can you browse around in peace while you decide what to do OH NO. The owner of the place will be over to you in a jiffy hanging around like a bad smell putting pressure on you to buy something. If you're in Dublin you may get some sales staff coming over to you but at least they undertstand the expression "just browsing thanks"

I hate shopping outside Dublin. I would rather drive for a hour to shop in Dublin than shop in some country town on my doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'd go for outside Dublin.

If you want to live in a decent big city then Dublin is not the answer.

There's really not all that much to do/see.

It's expensive yes but the most annoying thing is the poor level of service I found while I was living there. You just don't get value for money. Service staff(in general, Irish and foreign) are fairly poor.

So true, I'm from Limerick, lived in Dublin for several years and moved to London this year. While Dublin certainly has more than Limerick does by way of clubs/shops/restaurants it is a world away from big cities in other parts of the world.

A recent trip back to Dublin had me walking 2/3 miles in order to get a cab on a Saturday night. There was no alternative as I had to go too far to walk and the nightbus service is so bad. That is disgraceful, :mad: it is hard to believe that Ireland is one of the richest countries in the world.

As bad as some private services may be the public services must be amoung the worst in the first world. I would never have imagined the UK would compare so favourably (it hasn't got the best rep itself). But compared to home the public sevices here are excellent.

To the op, unless you have responsibilities keeping you in Ireland, I'd advise that you forget about Dublin or the rest of the country and get out and experience the rest of the world while you can. Maybe some of your friends in Dublin are interested in moving and you could go together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

The country has one MASSIVE advantage over Dublin:
    It dosen't have those fat, scumbag, bitches going around town with a fag length piece of ash hanging out of their mouth, pushing a pram of another illigitimate future criminal like it was a battering ram, and pulling another one by the arm shouting at him, giving him the type of up-bringing that you can't expect anything other than a menace and sponge on society, on her way to the dole office to pick up my tax money, and coming from Moore st. where she spent the last hour shouting at people to see if they want to buy any cigarettes her brother stole from the local shell office.

You've never been to limerick. ;) No in fairness, there's many a town/city around Ireland like that.

BrianD3 wrote:
    As for skangers and scumbags..IME there's just as many of these outside of Dublin. Not so much in deserted rural areas but country towns are full of 'em and they all come out on a Saturday night, fighting outside the chipper, "startin" on people, vandalising stuff etc.

Eh not true tbh. Yes some country towns have a problem with them but the majority of them don't. At most you have some gob****e mouthing off at you. Less anonymity means less anti-social behaviour in general. People know who you are and where you come from, that tends to inhibit your behaviour to an extent.

The problem in the cities/large towns is that there is a kind of critical mass of scumbag where they turn from just being annoying to being potentially dangerous. Smaller towns avoid this in that there usually isn't enough people for this to happen.

I do agree with the lack of amenities and public transport though. But that is natural considering the smaller population density. Personally I think this whole issue is one of how many people are you comfortable with. There are pros and cons to living in any city or the countryside.

My own opinion is that I find Dublin very tough to deal with. I find the crowds and the general aggression (not necessarily physical, just in attitude) of the people there to get to me. But, most of this comes from growing up in the countryside and living for years in a relatively small city. I'm just not used to being in large crowds for most of my day.

I can see the attraction in Dublin for a lot of people (there are many, jobs possibly the top one in my book, there are many lines of work that you can't do anywhere else in this country), but I don't think I'd ever be that comfortable there. Way too many people.

There's card clubs in Dublin
    Nuff said

www.fistfulofshamrock.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You can get sushi in Dublin. I love that stuff!

I think most importantly it's the work which will drag me back up to Dublin. I miss the interaction and the fast pace of it up there. And I can always come back 'home' as often as I like. I reckon i can live in Dublin, take as much or as little of it as I want and come home any weekend I want, it's only an hour and a half drive. Ah sure we'll see how it goes.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I was born bread and buttered in Dublin and I love the place but in the long run I plan on moving to the "country" simply because the size and quality of the house I would buy in Dublin would be sub standard compared to what you could get in the sticks... You just have to look on daft.ie for what you could get for €300,000 in Dublin and then look at the same price in down the country.. Not even the back of beyonds just a few miles outside the capital like Navan or Trim.. Once I have my car Im happy to move out of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Move to Galway City and you've the best of both worlds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

And underwater too!

nesf wrote:
    Eh not true tbh. Yes some country towns have a problem with them but the majority of them don't. At most you have some gob****e mouthing off at you. Less anonymity means less anti-social behaviour in general. People know who you are and where you come from, that tends to inhibit your behaviour to an extent.
    Well IME most towns in the midlands have problems with knackers on a Saturday night. Places like Mullingar, Tullamore, Longford, Athlone, Newbridge etc. Smaller towns and villages too many of which don't even have a 24 hour garda station so if something does happen the gardai will take ages to get there from the nearest large town. The sort of stuff that happens is knackers assaulting people (incl. the gardai) dangerous/drink driving, vandalism, torturing animals etc. I know all of this happens in Dublin too but the point is that it's by no means limited to Dublin. The worst fights I've seen have been in midland towns not in Dublin

However I will concede that you are probably more likely to encounter junkies, get mugged for your wallet or have your car stolen in Dublin though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Maybe you are looking at it wrong.

Sure Dublin being the Capital of this country its bound to have things that other places dont but really does it have that much?

Compared to Cork the only thing missing is more people, some Jobs, Some major events and .... Eh thats about it

If you can get a job in your line of work say in Galway, Limerick Cork or Waterford then id way rather go an live there then Dubin, especially Cork and Galway.

Too many people are moving to Dublin at the moment and creating the mess it is in and its going to get way worse before its going to get better.

I lived there for a year as a student and imo it offered nothining to me that I couldnt get elsewhere in the country. Sure it has more clubs but are the nights out really that better?! (Being a student didnt help but I know of many that felt the same as me)

I think people are being tied to the place because they have a job there and if given a choice would move away from the place.

Im after making a decision that im never ever going to move back there and ill tell you why.

Compare Dublin to other big cities like say London, Berlin, Paris, New York, L.A, Chicago, Sydney, Madrid, Rome, Barcalona, Melbourne etc etc etc.

Hell I even stayed a while in Dresden in what is supposed to be a poor former east germany city. Im telling ye it was ****ing fantastic. Couldnt believe life could be soooo good and easy!!
    The quality of life one can have outside of Ireland especially Dublin has to be experienced to be believed!

There is no comparision between Dublin and other Big cities of the world.

It could be summed up by saying "Why have water when you can have wine!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Dublin is a **** hole tbh, especially for a capital city

outside Dublin for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

If you like boiled bacon, cabbage and floury, overcooked spuds - to the country with you.

If you like manhattens, €40 starters and unashamed anonimity - to the capital

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

jank wrote:
    It could be summed up by saying "Why have water when you can have wine!"

Because you mgiht be driving !

Seriously though, I live just outside Navan in a small village. After coming back from Australia and after travelling and living in Sydney for 4 months I had itchy feet ! Took me ages to adjust, but the country lifestyle is defo for me, couldn't handle living in Dublin even though I work near the center. Soon to get back on a motorbike which should sort out my 1hr-2hr journey to a 40 minute journey.

Not to mention I might be purchasing a 3 bed house for €230,000 compared to the equivalent 1 bed apartment of same value in Dublin !!???

Lunacy abounds,

Slaan.

BrianD3 wrote:
    Well IME most towns in the midlands have problems with knackers on a Saturday night. Places like Mullingar, Tullamore, Longford, Athlone, Newbridge etc. Smaller towns and villages too many of which don't even have a 24 hour garda station so if something does happen the gardai will take ages to get there from the nearest large town.

On saturday nights, generally there are gardai around in any town that has a club. Or at least it's like that where I've been out.
    BrianD3 wrote:
    The worst fights I've seen have been in midland towns not in Dublin

Really? The worst I've known of were in the city centre in Cork where a guy was beaten until he was in a coma. I'm sure Dublin etc have had worse ones. I don't ever remember anything as serious as this from the countryside. Then I will admit that I think you and I have seen different parts of the country. Maybe it's very different in different provinces or something.