If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why are Irish houses so cold?

• 27-09-2005 03:49PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭

I've noticed over the years in any house I've lived in in Ireland, they are always FREEZING in winter, i.e. you can see your own breath, it feels damp etc. unless your central heating is blazing. I've found in other countries the buildings and houses are much warmer. In Canada I lived in an old run down wooden house and it could be -30c outside and I'd still be able to walk around in just boxer shorts in the morning. In Winter here my rooms are usually icy in the morning and I'm afraid to get out of bed. People from other countries who live here are always complaining about it too. Is it poor insulation or poor architecture or materials they use to make the buildings or what is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

It may be because the price of central heating is so high.

I know my house will be a lot colder this winter with Bord Gais putting up it's prices by 25%. :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

Is it, by any chance, related to the fact that Ireland is f*cking freezing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

It's all because of the fe**in English, ye foreigners wouldn't understand it, there's no point in explaining. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

no relatively speaking we have very mild winters. People from Poland have complained to me about this, and it's REALLY cold there in Winter. And as I said above, countries don't come much colder than Canada and I was never cold indoors over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Its the government, they do it to keep us miserable. Its the biggest pain in the hole in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There's no mystery to this

Fuel is fupping expensive, most houses are badly insulated and its cultural - cold means oppression and the Irish love feeling oppressed! :D

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Its just that they were poorly insulated, new houses are very warm with minimal heating ... I lived in a place in Cork and no matter how long I had the heating on for, it was freezing 2 hours after it was turned off ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

deisedevil wrote:
    It's all because of the fe**in English, ye foreigners wouldn't understand it, there's no point in explaining. :D
    Hahaha, good one! That gave me a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

no relatively speaking we have very mild winters. People from Poland have complained to me about this, and it's REALLY cold there in Winter. And as I said above, countries don't come much colder than Canada and I was never cold indoors over there.

Ireland has a different type of cold to Canada and Poland; it's a sort if damp cold which cuts through you. I've been in NY in January walking around with just a t-shirt on while it was snowing and I felt absolutely fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

When the snowflakes are flying and the winds are a-wailing, there's no better place to be than nestled by a fire, wrapped in a warm and cozy full-length robe. They are tailored out of thick, feather-soft blanket fleece to ensure your comfort and the green print will brighten up any day
    http://images.google.co.uk/images?q=tbn:EKPnSWbZeqkJ:texpro.net/healthzen/images/green_fleece_extracted.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I agree with BigEejit. It's poor insulation and high fuel costs. I've just moved into a house that was built in 1980. It has double glazing everywhere and is as well insulated as you can expect. Warm in seconds. Never cold.

Lived in another house that was built in the early 70's. You could never heat the fecker. It was always cold. Had a glass of water INSIDE the bathroom freeze one winter. Messed up stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ireland has a different type of cold to Canada and Poland; it's a sort if damp cold which cuts through you

Thats the nub of the matter I'd say. I'm really loking forward to winter....NOT!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Heating your home can account for over half of your energy bill - especially in this lovely country. Heat costs a lot, so you want to keep it inside for as long as you can, which makes insulation important. There are easy things you can doto keep the precious heat inside your crib.

Insulation is easy to install in your ceilings and can cut your energy costs by 30%. You can also put it under wooden floors and save an extra 5%. If you're renovating you can insulate walls as well, and save another 15%. When choosing insulation, the most important thing to look at is the R value; the higher it is, the better it insulates and the more you save.

It's also very important to choose the right kind of heating. Lads be sensible for Gods sake,Think about what areas you need to heat, how big they are and how long you need to heat them each day.I mean theres no need to insulate your utility room,let the washing room freeze,who cares. If you're only heating your living areas, use one or more high-efficiency space heaters. Gas heaters are cheaper to run and produce less greenhouse pollution than electric models. If you need to heat living areas by day and bedrooms by night, both for long periods, use a zoned central heating system. Wall-mounted radiant heaters or infra-red lamps are best for the bathroom.My pen is well toasty from following these simple rules.Stay warm and stay safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭fade

the real answer is this,

the man says so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's going to be another miserable winter :(
    However, in relation to my house, it'll never be cold. My mom is always freezing, even if everyone else is complaining about the heat she's still claiming to be freezing so during the winter the heating is usually on nearly 24/7.
    I don't pay the bills so I'm not complaining :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Badly built houses and high fuel costs would seem to be the problem. Why is it that in irish houses all the joins seem to be cracked :confused: . Like in corners and between door frames and walls, there seems to be big gaping cracks/gaps.
    Im guessing it must have something to do with the wood expanding and contracting.
    Solution to all this >> Build your bloody houses outta bricks :p .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DaisyDuke

A lot of builders cut corners and don't bother their arses insulating the roof, plus as Endurance Man said, they don't seal the windows properly. Buy yourself some draught excluders for the front and back door. If you have a landlord, talk to them about the attic insulation.
    I don't even have the heating on in my place yet, and I don't see it going on for another few weeks. Fibreglass is a great thing.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Fuel/heating is cheap in Ireland, relatively speaking. I don't think that's the reason. I mean youse would piss thousands up a wall for no apparent reason and then freeze to death for the sake of a few pence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

deisedevil wrote:

lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

I've noticed over the years in any house I've lived in in Ireland, they are always FREEZING in winter, i.e. you can see your own breath, it feels damp etc. unless your central heating is blazing. I've found in other countries the buildings and houses are much warmer. In Canada I lived in an old run down wooden house and it could be -30c outside and I'd still be able to walk around in just boxer shorts in the morning. In Winter here my rooms are usually icy in the morning and I'm afraid to get out of bed. People from other countries who live here are always complaining about it too. Is it poor insulation or poor architecture or materials they use to make the buildings or what is it?

its cos you were as fat as poland when you were in canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

As previously mentioned It's because of damp in the air and wind chill factor.

A good mate of my is canadian, the jacket he wears in winter over there, is useless to him here as the cold just cuts thru him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

As previously mentioned It's because of damp in the air and wind chill factor.

A good mate of my is canadian, the jacket he wears in winter over there, is useless to him here as the cold just cuts thru him.
    Today 17:31

I dont think wind chill is going to affect you in your house :rolleyes: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i dont feel cold, and we live in a 100 yr old house, we hardly use the heating at all, where as i see people wrapped up so warmly, id be just comfortable in a coat and hat.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 96,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Buy gloves, scarf, socks and fluffy pink slippers and a wolly cap with a bobbin on the top. Get an exercise machine - after a while on it you will feel a lot warmer. Or do like Fr Ted - big cardboard box and set your alarm clock for march.

Don't forget that all electricial devices generate heat. So having a PC on in winter doesn't really cost anything and is a bit more interesting than staring at the dull red glow from your one bar heater.

Also I know someone who prefers a room temperature about 6-8 degrees C warmer than I find comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Fuel/heating is cheap in Ireland, relatively speaking. I don't think that's the reason. I mean youse would piss thousands up a wall for no apparent reason and then freeze to death for the sake of a few pence?

Well, we would have one of the highest fuel costs in the EU, so it's not really pennies. Do you pay a gas and electricity bill? When you're struggling to keep down a mortgage, you realise that heating is one of the things that go by the wayside. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I have worked in some apartments, and the heating is so high that the minute you open the door, its like opening the oven to pop your two pieces of chicken in for dinner, plus too much heat is bad in a house, the bacteria and virus's thrive on the heat, thats why id say there are so many people with colds in the winter, they go from really hot to cold, rather than striking a balance in between.
    As my dad always said, If you feel cold imagine you are on a hot beach in spain, its all in the head. And hes right, one cold november i got a shock to find a bill of €600 taken from my account, and i tell ya for a full 20minutes i forgot about the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

I don't believe the story that the cold is different in Ireland, somehow colder because its damp. I grew up in Ireland and live in New England fairly close to Canada. Over here the houses are stick built but very well insulated, doors and windows as well. When the cold hits in November its not unusual to have periods where its way below freezing all day and night for weeks at a time. Lakes and rivers freeze over just to give you an idea. During that time my furnace is going continuously and my house is toasty warm. I could burn through 300 gallons of oil in a month in the January to April period. When its gets really cold you cannot be outside with any exposed skin for too long. Sometimes during and after a snow storm it will warm up a bit and I have been out shoveling snow in a T-shirt on occasion, but the next day it could drop to well below freezing the the top few inches of snow will turn to solid ice.

I have found houses in Ireland to be poorly insulated, walls, floors, doors and windows. When I spent a winter here with my wife a couple of years ago in a nice rented house she complained about the cold in the house. Even when we ran the heat it would get cold very quickly when it stopped. She also found it strange there was no thermostat, instead there were timers. Timers seem to be common in Ireland, in the states its thermostats. You set the temp, say 70F and it stays at that, the heating will start and stop as needed to maintain that temperature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭embraer170

Cause the Irish have their heating system off most of the time. Half an hour in the morning and an hour or two in the evening compared to French, Germans etc. who seem to have their system on 24-7. Makes a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Wind Chill factor really adds to it.
    Kernel 32, I've spent a lot of time in New England also and there is no doubting that the wind chill certainly adds to the coldness in Ireland.
    How do you explain being able to go out and shovel snow when it's minus god knows what, yet being absolutely perished when it's 5 above over this side of the Atlantic?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

embraer170 wrote:
    Cause the Irish have their heating system off most of the time. Half an hour in the morning and an hour or two in the evening compared to French, Germans etc. who seem to have their system on 24-7. Makes a big difference.
    I still don't understand it. Right now my thermostat is set for 60F but its generally warmer than that inside this time of the year so the heating doesn't come on. If it drops below that then the furnace will automatically come on and heat the radiators. No need to turn anything on or off. No power(except maybe a sensor) or fuel being used when its idle. Its a very simple system.