Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry v Tyrone

• 25-09-2005 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Kerry 1-5 Tyrone 1-8 at half time. :D The goal scorer was Dara o cinneide for Kerry and Peter Canavan for Tyrone. Been a good match so far and hopefully the teams can keep it up. Its been a good fast game and i dont know weather the teams can keep that pace up. hopefully they can. Im up for Tyrone so hopefully they will win. COME ON TYRONE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

1-12 ro 1-8 at the moment, Kerry have only had 3 chances to score in the second half.
    I have top say, I did not ever see Tyrone ever having put it up to Kerry like this, and fair play to them.

- as I type Kerry have scored a goal - Great work from Kerry to get it there.
    1-12 to 2-8 now - it's far from over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭53846

Cúl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

Its over Tyrone have Won :D . Kerry 2-10 Tyrone 1-16. What a win. Great match with a fast tempo for the whole match. Tyrone deserved the win CONGRADULATIONS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

What will Kerry fans say about the ref blowing up a minute early though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

That was a great match. And I was up for Tyrone. But Kerry will be questioning why the referee blew it up after 3 minutes of extra time when I thought that there should have been 4! Any thoughts on this?
    But Tyrone deserved the win! They held their own throughout and played an amazing 2nd half. What was the percentage of the poccession? High enough for Tyrone!
    It took them 10 matches to to get to the final, as oppose to Kerry who had an easier path!

Lemlin wrote:
    What will Kerry fans say about the ref blowing up a minute early though?

Dont know but i dont think it made a difference, Kerry never looked like scoring another goal again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Geg124 wrote:
    Dont know but i dont think it made a difference, Kerry never looked like scoring another goal again

But Kerry are the type of team who do produce goals from nowhere!! So they could have come up with the goods. 60 seconds is a long time on that pitch!!!

robo wrote:
    But Kerry are the type of team who do produce goals from nowhere!! So they could have come up with the goods. 60 seconds is a long time on that pitch!!!

Ye but Tyrone werent goona concede another goal easily and the Kerry players looked tired and they werent creating much in the last few mins because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

redspider wrote:
    I hope that Tyrone will win it, as Kerry need to be taken down a peg or two. Its a difficult game to call, as Kerry didn't meet any big teams this year so far and as usual got an easy path to the final. They can turn it up for the big occasion so lets see. It'll be an interesting encounter, whatever the outcome.

Kerry do have that point to prove, having not beaten a big Ulster team in recent years. The betting public rank them as favorites but I think the game will be closer than that. I think if both teams play to their potential, Tyrone have the beating of Kerry.

The big issue is the starting of Canavan, which still seems to be the case. Having him as a sub allows them to have a talisman, a super-sub. I think he didn't want to miss on the action though in case the other lads would have had the match won without him. ie: it would be a bit of a let down for him if he came on say with 20 mins to go and Tyrone cruising, it would be as if they
    wouldn't need him. I think Canavan wants to play from the off so Harte is going with it, although everyone knows he is unlikely to last the full game. Time will tell if it will pay off but Tyrone have plenty of subs. Big games from Dooher, Kavanagh, McMenamin, O'Neill and Mulligan will carry Tyrone, with or without Canavan. Big games are needed from the Kerry players, the backs and the two forwards.

It should be a good match.

redspider

Well done Tyrone!

A fair result. The game was a good one, but not a great one I felt. At times in the first half both sides were playing below par, poor selections of moves, poor passing, etc. The game started good for the 1st 15 mins. A great goal by Canavan but where was Moynihan who was marking him? He let him go and paid the price. For the 1st Kerry goal, the defender was watching the man only, which is a basic schoolboy error.

Some magnificent points though. Cooper is a class player and was scoring from all angles. Tyrone missed more I thought, O'Neill scored some good ones but missed a few easier ones.

Btw, Kerry were dirty at times, trying to get physical and Kerby should have been sent off.

That settles the debate as to whether Kerry were the better team or not last year. Clearly they werent and my two year "issue" of Kerry being favourites (they were this year and last) is finally put to bed. People bet on Kerry no matter what, and them being favourites is not a sign of them being better.

A good game, some great moments, and a good result.

Should spur Armagh into another year of solid performances next year and I would expect them to take Sam next year, if they can avoid Tyrone in the run in and get the odd bounce of the ball.

redspider

ps: yeah, the ref blew early and wasnt giving Kerry any frees for fouls in the last 30 secs, when there was about 3 or so. I think he may have blown for a free and the crowd invaded amd when he saw them running on he called it up. I think Kerry have a partial case but I dont think they will demand a replay if that was the situation! The ref wasnt the best I thought overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

As much as i rooted for kerry, fair play to my Tyrone neighbours.

Imo i thought it was a very poor kerry performence, by full time they must have spent in total half an hour without scoring, which is shocking. Absolutly hated that Canavan got the goal, but i suppose it was the best way he could have ended his career.

Feel sick that Armagh let the Tyrone game slip away from them as they could have definatly beaten the Kerry team that played today.

Well done to Tyrone on their second all ireland, was fairly touching when Cormac McAnallen was mentioned and ill shake all the Tyrone lads hands at school tomorow ( if they sober up enough to come in :p)

Btw, Kerry were dirty at times, trying to get physical and Kerby should have been sent off.

At least someone realising that Kerry aren't the angels that people make them out to be. Say what you want about Ulster football, I'm still of the opinion that Armagh and Tyrone are the two best teams in the country.

Tyrone proved that today and hopefully Armagh will next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Tyrone are total plonkers is all I have to say. Who said Kerry are dirty? Eh, who started it? That would be Tyrone! I was sorry to see that towards the end, Kerry reduced themselves to Tyrone's tactics, I wish they hadn't but that's the only football the Northern teams play, and that is dirty. Same with Armagh.

That tool of a goalie of Tyrone He punched Gooch in the eye, and knocked him off his game for the rest of the match. Sure he was barely able to play after that. And yer man got away with it, because those two retards of linesmen weren't even paying attention to what was happening five feet in front of them!! Dirty bloody tactics, but sure weren't we expecting it. All week long Tyrone had been saying that they were gonna do something to the Gooch and then they'd steal the Sam.

Total asshole he was, I felt like going down to the pitch myself and giving him a punch back, bloody stupid muppet.

:mad: :mad:

And what, the Kerry player who grabbed Canavan by the jersey and tried to intimidate him by having a few words in the ear and pulling him round by his jersey was trying to be nice, was he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭ShevY

tinkerbell, pipe down, its pretty obvious you don't know what you're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

Lemlin wrote:
    And what, the Kerry player who grabbed Canavan by the jersey and tried to intimidate him by having a few words in the ear and pulling him round by his jersey was trying to be nice, was he?
    All part of the action.

I was suprised how easily Tyrone won the midfield battle. Tyrone done to Kerrys midfield what Armagh done to Tyrone's midfield.

Just making the point to another person that Kerry aren't angels. In games this year, they've been highly physical and players like Gooch have got opposition players booked by playacting.

Therefore I can't see why people say that Ulster teams are the negative side of football while Kerry are the saviours of Gaelic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

redspider wrote:

The first punch was thrown by Tyrone against Gooch in the first ten minutes. The smallest man on the field, and targeted from the get-go for a dig because he's probably the best player in the country today. And that was a disgrace, because the teams were even enough not to have needed to descend to that level. And why the Tyrone captain was let stay on the field after going for Galvin like that escapes me - Galvin's a dirty little sod, and shouldn't be playing at all after some of the crap he's pulled, but that's not leave to walk up to a player off the ball and punch him in the face during an All-Ireland Final! What kind of example is that sort of ****e meant to set for kids watching the game, other than "yeah, it's football, but you put on a rugby team and get a dig in whenever you think you can get away with it, and get the other team's good players off with a box to the head even if it gets you carded"?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Oh cop on. Its a mans game and the umpires saw what happened with the Gooch in the first ten minutes and it was obvious that he was either play acting or down as a result of an accident. By the way, Gooch is no angel himself, sure didn't he throw a punch at Canavan on the ground with about 20 seconds left in the game?!

How about the two fisted punch by Kerry's number 9 on Brian McGuigan?! Has that totally escaped your mind? Then Tom O'Sullivan nearly ripping the jersey off Canavan...

If anything, Kerry are the villians. Tyrone taught them a good lesson on how to play football and Kerry couldn't handle it.

Fair play to Throne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Kerry people talking about Tyrone being dirty make me laugh.How Kirby stayed on the pitch after punching that Tyrone guy in the face is a mystery.
    Also, Galvin being shown the black book AFTER BEING BOOKED??
    As Martin Carney said in commentary, a cop out of all cop outs.
    I dunno what happened to Cooper but Tyrone certainly don't have the patent on intimidation.

Kerry people talking about Tyrone being dirty make me laugh.
    About as hard as Tyrone people talking about beating Kerry cleanly when it was them threw the first punch on the pitch. It was as bad as '03, when after a good first half, they chose to play puke football for the second half. Only this time, it started from the first ten minutes on. What's the matter lads, can't play a clean game? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Tyrone were the better team and Kerry wouldnt have scored another goal if they were playing for a half an hour but Pornapster - Gooch was trying to get that goal in the last minute for his team, came deep, hand passed the ball inside, and Canavan dragged him down to the ground. No free of course as the ref didnt see what was happening. If it was me, I'd have made sure that such a cynical move by make no mistake the biggest tinker on the field , including McMenamen, would have earned him at least a bloody nose while he was collecting his medal. Tyrone were not only the more physical but have the best tactics and maybe the best manager that the game has ever had managing them. Kerry probably have the more talented footballers but dont have the engine or the same heart as Tyrone.

Kirby hit the tyrone player on teh ground, and should ahve been booked for that, but to defend himself from a Tyrone player charging at him, he put up his hands and caught McGuigan in the face. It was more of a reflex than it was premeditated, and to me if you are charging at a player like that, you shouldnt expect him to keep his hands down and allow him to flatten you. Dooher got booked for something very similar in the second half when he flattened Paul Galvin late. Gooch is no angel, far from it, and he is not the smallest player on the field by a long way, and the treatment he received from tyrone was pretty much par for the course.

Canavan is a great player, not as great as they were making out on the Sunday Game last night IMO, but I cant forget the way he feigned injury when Tyrone hammered Kerry in 2003. Stayed down on the ground for the best part of 4 minutes trying to get Michael Mccarthy sent off, went off, came back on with a bandage - Peter the martyr - when the replays showed that no-one touched him. He simply fell down. I'm just delighted that he came off worst against Akermanis in the Aussie Rules that day. Its what the cynical players need, instead of lads like Gooch afraid to retaliate when older 'cuter' players are trying to goad them into getting themselves sent off, get some Australian Rules Player (where they dont get sent off, but reported) to screw the consequences, and give them the beating that that kind of action deserves.

Tyrone played football against Kerry and were the deserving winners, but make no mistake had they come up against Armagh in the final, it would have been not nearly as exciting, or not nearly the spectacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Ruffty^

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Oh cop on. Its a mans game

Exactly, couldn`t agree more. The only incident in the hole match worth mentioning is when kirby "double fisted" McGuigan, and also that stupid idiot holding canavans shirt, what a thick0. That person who felt sorry for the "horrific attack" ( :rolleyes: ) on gooch, you must be visually impaired, how could you miss the really hard challenges dooher was dealt, fantastic captain. Gooch is a class act, but kerry couldn`t get the ball to him, run through mid field = loose the ball. Send it in high = loose the ball.

Great to c kerry lose, 34 all-irelands to tyrone`s 2.
    Fantastic final, the pace was too much for kerry.
    Didn`t Tyrone play 10 and kerry played 5 matchs, how in the hell any1 could begrudge the champions is beyond me :confused:

Its definitely far better for gaelic footy in general.
    And it is well obvious tryone and armagh are a cut above the rest. The last team to do the double was cork, does tryone have it in them?

_40840008_dooher_cup_270.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Geg124 wrote:
    Ye but Tyrone werent goona concede another goal easily and the Kerry players looked tired and they werent creating much in the last few mins because of this.

Two new players were just brought on who were not tired... Fitzmaurice looked set to try his best but the ref didn't give him a chance! I thought the ref was fairly biased tbh... good match but not happy with the result.

If you think that holding Canavan shirt was an incident of note, you mustnt watch that much Gaelic football. That was nothing. Worse incident happen on the sidelines.

Moynihan was the man that was out of his depth yesterday if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Ruffty^ wrote:

Great to c kerry lose, 34 all-irelands to tyrone`s 2.

ahem.... 33 for Kerry I think you will find... more than any other county... and well deserved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Great atmosphere at Croker yesterday! And the better team won, even though I thought we'd get right back at them after getting the second goal. Poor Gooch was very frustrated during the 2nd half, was up at the Hill '16 end of the Hogan stand so didn't see the incident during the 1st half when he was hit. I did think for sure that they would go after him early, particularly after the opening points. I was very close by right at the end when himself and Canavan started fighting, bit of handbags really. The stewards had a hell of a time holding back the fanatical Tyrone supporters, they were pushing to get on before extra time had started. What was interesting to see was the majority of the stewards favouring Tyrone over Kerry, I suppose many were true blue Dubs who hoped that they were knocked out by the eventual champions. Mood among the Kerry crowd afterwards was fairly subdued but nothing like the utter dispondancy seen last year by the Mayo men and women - we will be there or there abouts next year, only 12 months to wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

The best team on the day won, and fair dues to them, but Rufty you are wrong if youthink that Tyrone and Armagh are a cut above Kerry. Kerry are a quality team and will be there or there abouts next year. In fact Tyrone played exceptionally well in this game, much better then any other game I have seen them play this season, although I did not see their semi final against Armagh. I did not think that they would be able to hastle the Kerry team so consistently over the 70 minutes. Some super fit players there. As for the Kirby incident, if I see a man steaming at me at full speed with intent in his eyes, I am not going to stand still and let him knock me down, I did not think he did much wrong, and McGuigan got all he deserved. All in all a great match, an excellent performance by Tyrone and congrats to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

tyrone now have legendary status. ryan mcmenamin was top class and the team functioned very well even while sean cavanagh had an off day. at least we dubs can say we were beaten by the champs

Waylander wrote:
    As for the Kirby incident, if I see a man steaming at me at full speed with intent in his eyes, I am not going to stand still and let him knock me down, I did not think he did much wrong, and McGuigan got all he deserved.
    I disagree with you there Waylander, yes McGuigan was steaming at him full speed. But I thought it was an intentional punch to the head. Sure you're not going to stand still and let him knock you down but you don't punch someone in the head.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I disagree with you there Waylander, yes McGuigan was steaming at him full speed. But I thought it was an intentional punch to the head. Sure you're not going to stand still and let him knock you down but you don't punch someone in the head.
    You want to tell that to Dooher about Galvin then?

I didn't think it was a punch Porn, I thought it was just a clash. I saw Kirby raise his arms and Mc Guigan go down, but Kirby did not pull his arm back and take a swing, he just stuck his arms up. It is part of the problem Tyrone bring on themselves, particularly when they are winning a game, if one of their payers goes down, unless it is clearcut, I tend not to believe them. It is a shame that such a good team have resorted to these tactics, but it is also undeniable that they have and not infrequently.

Dooher's challenge on Galvin wasn't even 1/4 as severe as Kirby's on McGuigan.

Waylander wrote:
    I didn't think it was a punch Porn, I thought it was just a clash. I saw Kirby raise his arms and Mc Guigan go down, but Kirby did not pull his arm back and take a swing, he just stuck his arms up. It is part of the problem Tyrone bring on themselves, particularly when they are winning a game, if one of their payers goes down, unless it is clearcut, I tend not to believe them. It is a shame that such a good team have resorted to these tactics, but it is also undeniable that they have and not infrequently.
    He pushed his hands forward (with slightly closed fists mind you) and caught McGuigan in the forehead. Regardless of what Tyrone are doing, Kirby's actions warranted a straight red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Ruffty^ wrote:
    Didn`t Tyrone play 10 and kerry played 5 matchs, how in the hell any1 could begrudge the champions is beyond me :confused:

Ha, the reason Tyrone played 10 games is cos they drew with Cavan, Armagh and Dublin giving them 3 extra games and lossing the Ulster Final gave then and extra qualifing game.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Dooher's challenge on Galvin wasn't even 1/4 as severe as Kirby's on McGuigan.
    Really? Kirby ran up to McGuigan, let McGuigan get the ball away, and then swung his fist into McGuigan's head, did he? 'Cos from the rest of the country was watching, McGuigan charged Kirby and ran into Kirby's open hands; Galvin passed the ball and then had the Diver charge into him and punch him - and that punch was thrown well after the ball was clear.

I think you are being very harsh there Porn. To my mind it was no where near a punch, and you cannot punch someone with slightly closed hands as you can only hurt yourself like that. I think a red card would have been way over the top, and in fact I cant remember if Mc Guigan got booked but he should have been, he ran a good twenty yards to get to where Kirby was, and was obviously not going to stop and ask him how he was when he got there. He went out of his way to create trouble, it worked!

Sparks wrote:
    Really? Kirby ran up to McGuigan, let McGuigan get the ball away, and then swung his fist into McGuigan's head, did he? 'Cos from the rest of the country was watching, McGuigan charged Kirby and ran into Kirby's open hands; Galvin passed the ball and then had the Diver charge into him and punch him - and that punch was thrown well after the ball was clear.
    I stand by my first comment.
    Waylander wrote:
    I think you are being very harsh there Porn. To my mind it was no where near a punch, and you cannot punch someone with slightly closed hands as you can only hurt yourself like that. I think a red card would have been way over the top, and in fact I cant remember if Mc Guigan got booked but he should have been, he ran a good twenty yards to get to where Kirby was, and was obviously not going to stop and ask him how he was when he got there. He went out of his way to create trouble, it worked!
    It doesn't matter what McGuigan was doing Waylander. Kirby caught McGuigan fully in the forehead with his hands/fists, I'd imagine it was the bottom of his palm he caught him with which is extremely dangerous. And it was intentional. I thought at first that it wasn't too bad but after I saw the replay you could clearly see the intent and that it was over the top.

We will have to agree to disagree on this one Porn :) . Personally I think Mc Guigan was the architect of his own injury here.

What astounds me is that Kirby did deserve a booking for the challenge - a strong forearm more than a punch - that angered McGuigan, and like Waylander said, it was more of a shove away with the arms that caught McGuigan in the head. He should not have got booked for that, its onviously not what you want to see but about as bad as Dooher on Galvin in the second half. McGuigan was the 'third man' in and any person who runs that hard at someone else should be aware that some people will defend themselves. Hopefully, he wont run so hard to be the hero the next time. Kirby is far from a dirty player, but should have got a yellow for his first challenge.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I stand by my first comment.

I can`t believe there is any disagreement here at all. McGuigan was running into the mess. Kirby saw him coming. Kirby raised both his arms to head height (don`t know about fists) and moved toward McGuigan which smashed into McGuigan`s head.

Now Kirby is a big guy, he could have handled the situations other ways. Infact he did the worst possible thing if you ask me. The most obvious thing he could have done would b to push McGuigan in the body; only a real thick0 boll0x of a guy would do what Kirby did. He`s lucky he didn`t break the guys nose. Where were McGuigans hands when he was met by Kirby`s ??

Isn`t the arguement that Kirby should have been sent off? If it is then the answer is obvious.....YES

You cannot do that, its that simple :D
    It doesn`t matter a damn if McGuigan was going to headbutt or karate kick Kirby. You cannot red card a player for running up to squabble, and further more you cannot red card him for what "he was going to do.."

Whoever is on Kirby`s side, honestly according to the rules you haven`t a leg to stand on.

Apart from the fact that Brian Dooher jumped to hit Paul Galvin in the face with both arms in the second half and got a yellow card. It reminded me of a WWF(E) wrestling move. Where were Paul Galvin's arms when Dooher hit him?

That post is complete ****e Rufty. Kirby stood his gorund he did not move into him. Mc Guigans hands were also up.

Are you telling me if you see someone running at you with an intention of doing yopu harm you will sidestep them and let them have another go. I would do what Kirby did, and try to push him back in a not so gentle manner, and let him know in no uncertain terms that I am not that easily intimidated. I am not a dirty player and do not condone hitting or fighting but I saw no malice in what Kirby did, and do not see him as a dirty player. Also telling me I do not not have a leg to stand on, when the ref obviously agreed that Kirby should not have walked, as did the commentators on the Sunday game, merely displays how week your arguement is!

pfft, there was feck all force in that.
    McGuigan was running and Kirby also added to the impact by moving toward him.
    If you are in a head-on car collision the speed of the impact is added together. carA @100kph + carB @100kph, then the collision is like driving into a wall @200kph...

Waylander wrote:
    Are you telling me if you see someone running at you with an intention of doing you harm you will sidestep them and let them have another go. I would do what Kirby did, and try to push him back in a not so gentle manner, and let him know in no uncertain terms that I am not that easily intimidated. I am not a dirty player and do not condone hitting or fighting but I saw no malice in what Kirby did

No I wouldn`t "let them have a go", but what he did was insane. I mean ffs, push him in the body, use your arms to keep him `at arms length`. Kirby responded like that due to a `rush of blood to the head`.

You saw no malice?? I`m not going to personally insult you but omfg that is THE stupidest thing written on this thread.

The Sunday game commentators are faigs, the only one with the guts to tell it like it is would b that guy Joe Brolly, did he say anything about the incident?

The ref?! LOL for gods sake, the ref and other officials were all over the place. He blew a whole 60sec early and gave every decision to tyrone with 5mins to go. And don`t forget kerry`s 2nd goal, he picked the ball off the bloody ground! Commentators didn`t spot that either did they?

I love when people come in for these balanced discussions rufty. Anyone who disagrees with your opinion is obviously a muppet who does not know what they are talking about, and anyone who agrees with you is lucky this time.

You are seeing what you want to see. Kirby responded to defend himself, that is the long and the short of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

Cant believe your comments Tinkerbell....

Kerry started the rough stuff yesterday .....not Tyrone.......too many people jumping on the band wagon slating ulster football for too long now!!!

Congrats to Tyrone on there fine display

Kerry didnt play bad.....Tyrone played first class football - As for Gouch Copper ....he's a class act but i didnt like the way he lay down like a soccar player looking for a sending off in the first half...

And speaking to a kerryman today at work.....he wouldnt admit that tyrone were the better team.....just that kerry played bad - OMFG

I'm so sick of all the negative comments about ulster football....Kerry have been getting away with there rough stuff for years ....

With Tyrone winning it will make the ulster championship great next year exciting next year!!!!

Make be donegal will get the finger out @ last!!!!

/end of rant

Yea Waylander, its really easy to say crap like that. You should re-read the first sentence of your post @12:49, try following your own advice, before giving it to others.

....defend himself from WHAT?! You don`t have a clue what was going to happen, you`r arguement is based on speculation.

Couldn't agree more Daz. Ulster teams aren't all about negative, physical play.

Just look at the best games in the Championship this year, most of them involved at least one Ulster team. The only game I can think of off-hand that didn't was Galway vs. Cork.

Its about time that people stopped hiding behind the excuse that Ulster teams are too physical. The bottom line is that they are better.

I still don't see how you can say Kerry are better than Tyrone or Armagh. Kerry have not beaten Armagh in any recent championship while Armagh are league champions and Tyrone are All-Ireland champions.

Therefore they are the best two teams in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭CCOVICH

MR DAZ wrote:
    Make be donegal will get the finger out @ last!!!!

Wish I had your optimism mate-think that Dun na nGall will be in rebuilding mode for a few years yet!

Well done to Tyrone, a mighty team. I think Kerry tried to put it up to them in the first half, but just couldn't match their workrate and fluidity. Gooch was asked to do too much, Brosnan faded after a promising start, and players like Hassett, Kirby, Galvin, and to a lesser extent, Moynihan, didn't look up to it. In contrast, I think that every Tyrone player, except maybe McGinley, were excellent.

I'm still curious as to how Paul Galvin was left one on one on the edge of the square with Owen Mulligan, but as Joe Brolly said yesterday, "That was the full-on Tyrone Experience". Also loved his comment about one of the Tyrone players (McMenamin?) being "As game as a pheasant" :D . Fair play to Spillane ("Formula 1 Football") and O'Rourke for admitting that Tyrone were superb.

Roll on next summer.

Ruffty^ wrote:
    Yea Waylander, its really easy to say crap like that. You should re-read the first sentence of your post @12:49, try following your own advice, before giving it to others.

....defend himself from WHAT?! You don`t have a clue what was going to happen, you`r arguement is based on speculation.

Firstly, you were making stuff up in your previous post that is why I said it was ****e, not because I disagreed. I had no problem with Pornapster disagreeing with me. Secondly I am not the one saying the ref was wrong, the commentators were wrong, the linesman was wrong, and whoever on this thread was wrong, you are. Thridly, you are right I do not have a clue what would have happened, but I am not inclined to give someone who has run that far that quickly to obviously have some kind on input into an altercation, I am unlikely to stand back and ask him how the weather is. Somtimes you use cop on, if you have it!