Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the den is dead, long live the den

• 22-09-2005 05:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭

i turned on tv today and to my horror, i saw what they have done to the den. muck, absolute muck.

so many memories of ian, ray and even damien all gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

sorry missed it,what have they done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

it seems to be a female presenting it solo and dustin appears in his own "big breakfast" style show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

seems to be a female :confused: what is it a shemale :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh no. society will crumble.

The Den has been **** since Ray D'Arcy left imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

It's been sh!t since Zig and Zag left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

The Den Died a long time ago...and took the innocence of Ireland with it...I blame Ray D'Arcys leaving for kids having nothing to do with their afternoons, going out experimenting with drugs and getting pregnant...

Shame on you Ray...shame on you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I saw it today and its terrible. What have they done? it reeks of "trying too hard". Long live the days of Dempseys Den, Ray, Zig, Zag, Dustin etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i rathered the den with ray and the non stop jokes from dustin, and liz bonin on staurdays..thats before we got sky.

now theres some cork lad i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I also say it today for the first time in about four years. It used to be good, when Socky and Dustin were together, Snotzer was an occasional visitor as was TED, i think he is gone now, he was the black and white panda that used to beat up Ray Darcy and whoever started doing it. I tuned because of an article in the Sunday World, Dustin was an iconic symbol on nineties children's tv. I still miss Bosco though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

netwhizkid wrote:
    I still miss Bosco though :D

God yeah! Bring back Bosco :D

Haven't seen this "new" Den, but I did read something about Dustin having his own news slot or something?

its so bad it actually makes me want to stay in college all day!

by any chance are zig and zag still floating around? perhaps on some digital channel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i think channel 4 had them a couple of times.

its so bad it actually makes me want to stay in college all day!

by any chance are zig and zag still floating around? perhaps on some digital channel?

last time i say them on the airwaves was sometime early 2000 on Rte's 2Phat. I have early memories of them, they were good, can anybody remember their prunish cousin Nigel ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

I want the good old days back! With RAy, Zig and Zag, Dustin, the original Socky and the little blue yappee dog... oooh those were the days.... I have a vid somewhere of one of the Christmas specials where Ray and the gang went to Lapland and either they or Santa got locked in a toy chest.... awh memories.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

so many memories of ian, ray and even damien all gone.

Alzheimers is a bitch.

God yeah! Bring back Bosco :D
    i met Bosco, and had to kiss his wooden head, when I collected a prize from him :o

they changed socky? this is an outrage!

although i never really liked socky that much. i mean a sock monster, its not the most believable. give me a talking dog, turkey and pig anyday.

they changed socky? this is an outrage!

although i never really liked socky that much. i mean a sock monster, its not the most believable. give me a talking dog, turkey and pig anyday.

Yep Zuppy was the dog, I remember, I was like 11 and there was some really hot chick, I remember they used to have Emma something (can't think of here last name) on it and then she left for MTV, Her and Pamela Anderson (Baywatch) were my first tv crushes !

awh! Cough*RayWasMine*cough

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Have you ever noticed how rubbish the shows within the Den are? Did we watch this s**t as children??? Crazy..

Yeah the Den seems to be going downhill alright. They're literally just presenters for hire, like those security guards at the Landsdowne Road gigs. They clearly pick randomers off the street and say "Hey, you wanna be on the Den". The schmuck says no, but then Den producer pulls out a gun and goes "I'll ask again....". True story, saw it happen.

Have you ever noticed how rubbish the shows within the Den are? Did we watch this s**t as children??? Crazy..
    we had intellectual shows like The Girl From Tomorrow or Captain Planet. Not the anime crap that passes for a cartoons these days
    Yeah the Den seems to be going downhill alright. They're literally just presenters for hire, like those security guards at the Landsdowne Road gigs. They clearly pick randomers off the street and say "Hey, you wanna be on the Den". The schmuck says no, but then Den producer pulls out a gun and goes "I'll ask again....". True story, saw it happen.
    LMFAO :D

No, you see we had real shows like Bosco and Rainbow, I think it was called, I just remember a big blue bus and a talking parrot, it was real life, not animated. And then there was Care Bears and My Little Pony, and Rosie and Jim...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭celticwarriorjb

Remember Forty Coats!! I still have the book somewhere.
    To be fair to RTE, I think it would have been hard to find a replacement fro Ray Darcy, and the formula just would'nt appeal to kids nowadays. I wish they would show some kind of repeats or best of the den i used to love the xmas specials or repeats of bosco and the old shows or something, I reckon thered be a fairly big audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

yeah, The Den changed, man, it used to be cool. Ray D'arcy WAS The Den, and indeed who could forget Zig & Zag (does anyone know which one was Zig and which was Zag?)

OOh I have the teddies, I'l let you know tomorrow, cuz they're up in me attack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

Marts wrote:
    yeah, The Den changed, man, it used to be cool. Ray D'arcy WAS The Den, and indeed who could forget Zig & Zag (does anyone know which one was Zig and which was Zag?)

Zig was the purple one, I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Sweet wrote:
    Zig was the purple one, I think
    aha! you think, but you are not certain!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

Nightwish wrote:
    we had intellectual shows like The Girl From Tomorrow or Captain Planet. Not the anime crap that passes for a cartoons these days

Ah Captain Planet...recycling hasn't been the same sense :D
    Ok show of hands...who can remember the them tune in it's entirety? "Captain Planet, he's our hero, gonna take pollution down to zero..." :p

And thanks to whoever mentioned Rosie & Jim...that made my day. I haven't thought about them in a looong time. And now I have all these old theme tunes running through my head! Rainbow was a bit before my time though I think :confused:

http://www.tvthemetunes.net/ has a ****e load of theme tunes, even bosco cos its an irish website. But you have to register so if yer lazy then Im sorry but try harder

i have friends in England who dont believe me when i tell them Podge & Rodge first appeared on childrens tv

Captain Planet, He's a hero
    Gonna take pollution down to zero
    He's our power magnified
    He's fighting on the planets side
    We're the planeteers
    You can be one too
    Cos saving the planet is the thing to do
    Looting and polluting is not the way
    here's what Captain Planet has to say

that theme tune almost made me want to pollute the planet it was so bad

Mossy Monk wrote:
    that theme tune almost made me want to pollute the planet it was so bad
    aw c'mon, it was funny :)

BBC are good look http://www.bbc.co.uk/calc/radio1/

I wish RTE done a similar thing, Id get den special episodes and some late late shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Nightwish wrote:
    Captain Planet, He's a hero
    Gonna take pollution down to zero
    He's our power magnified
    He's fighting on the planets side
    We're the planeteers
    You can be one too
    Cos saving the planet is the thing to do
    Looting and polluting is not the way
    here's what Captain Planet has to say

You had to feel sorry for that dude whose power was to talk to animals. The others had cool powers and could control the elements - fire, water, wind, earth while that guy had to contend himself chatting to a monkey. He really got the short end of the stick with that ring of his. I'm sure he spent most of his time asking if someone would trade with him. The only reason they kept him around was cos they needed him to call on Captain Planet who looked like he just came straight from the Gay Pride parade...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

I miss Ray's live brawls with Ted. :(
    The new den is utter s***e.
    What happened to "just run the cameras and we'll see what happens" attitude?

I watched dustins show at 5o'clock tho and I have to say I got a good laugh out of it. It reminded me of how the den used to be. The nice looking wan he has on with him isn't a bad presenter either. And Snotser on it!! It's on every weekday at 5... quality stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭ozmo

... Rainbow was a bit before my time though I think :confused:

heres a recap on rainbow for you...

http://www.keenaschips.co.uk/index.php?page=articles/misc_rainbow
    (link is to the original rainbow actors doing their own never-aired version)

“Roll it back”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

is the calibre of presenters now, its yerone from SIX, i don't know how childrens presenters can stand themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Ajnag

I hated captain planet, pure unadulterated eco-wánker propaganda aim at kids. Damn some people are low.

Loved round the bend, not sure if it was on the den as such, remember the sketchs about false teeth from beyond the stars and ****, my memorys fried. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

the den finished over the summer,they had a final show where they said goodbye it was the ginger leitrim guy presenting it at the time who was in tears at the end

You had to feel sorry for that dude whose power was to talk to animals. The others had cool powers and could control the elements - fire, water, wind, earth while that guy had to contend himself chatting to a monkey. He really got the short end of the stick with that ring of his. I'm sure he spent most of his time asking if someone would trade with him. The only reason they kept him around was cos they needed him to call on Captain Planet who looked like he just came straight from the Gay Pride parade...
    the powers that were given to them (staright out of a Benetton ad!) were Earth, Fire, Wind, Water and Heart. The crappy power was Heart and the African kid had that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Goodshape wrote:
    LOL!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

NightWish wrote:
    The crappy power was Heart and the African kid had that.
    Wasn't it not the south-american kid that was heart, I thought the African kid was Earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

netwhizkid wrote:
    can anybody remember their prunish cousin Nigel ??

yeah! he was cool! and his glasses were actually drinking glasses! funny!

Marts wrote:
    (does anyone know which one was Zig and which was Zag?)

Zig was the yellow one, the nicer of the 2 IMO.

Teg Veece wrote:
    I miss Ray's live brawls with Ted. :(

yeah! me too, man, did i laugh at them.....pure class.

saw the "new" den yesterday for the first time!
    its crap! that whole minimalist look is stoopid, the den used always have loads of clutter and colour and things going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Pjays

they need to bring back a male presenter and some new characters along with some of the old. when podge and rodge were on and big ted they were the days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I remember the christmas special they used to have, where they had to save christmas, seemed podge was behind it. Cant remember if there was more than one, but def remember the one where they all went to lapland. Pure brilliant!!

The whole Ted, Zuppy, Zig n Zag, Dustin with Ray were the good old days. Many a happy cold winters day after school was spent watching it. I thought Damien McCall was ok at it but was no match for Ray!!! I seen it a while back with this baby-faced guy, thought it was crap and switched off after a few seconds.

Pity though, kids of today dont know how cool it used to be!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

silas wrote:
    Wasn't it not the south-american kid that was heart, I thought the African kid was Earth.
    ye it was.the loser with heart was south american.legend theme song :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

True. That's the only complete "rap" I can do.

(I only know about half the words of Fresh Prince).