Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sending texts to wrong People!!

• 15-09-2005 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭

Was just texting my mother and accidentally sent it to my girlfriend. Very embarassing, coulda kicked myself and its not the first time I've done it either.

So come on has anyone done something similar!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭MrsA

Could have been worse - imagine if it was the other way around!!
    MPA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭bragan

MrsA wrote:
    MPA

Ha ha, that would of been funny.

And yeah, i think everyone has done that at some point. it always seems to happen when your giving out about someone in a text / email and then send it to them.
    I have nearly lost friends over that(although maybe i deserved to, as i was giving out about them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

MrsA wrote:
    MPA
    Yeah I know, well I did it the other way round once, lucky the message didn't have anything bad or overly personal in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

this is a good example on how making a phone call is so much better than texting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

Oh big time.

My girlfriend lived in Limerick when she was in college and Im in Dublin. She was up in Dublin one weekend and we weren't getting on. We were argueing and bickering and stuff. She then got a bus home to limerick on sunday evening.

I sent a text shortly afterwards to a friend of mine along the lines of "fooking women, she's rightly p1ssed me off, blah blah." Every cell in my body then froze when I realised I'd sent it to her by mistake.

I immediately ran to the train station and caught the next train down to Limerick. All the way down I kept staring at my phone, waiting for the Delivery Report of Doom. But it didn't come, and i remembered her battery was low so her phone was off.

I got the delivery report just as my train was pulling into Limerick station. So i pegged it as fast as i could to her house and prostrated myself before her begging for mercy for my foolishness. She was pretty pissed at first, but the fact that I chased her down to Limerick to apologise in person kept her sweet :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

MrsA wrote:
    MPA
    Exactly what I was thinking :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Sending texts meant for your girlfiend to your mother?

Paging ...

freud.jpg

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Oh god I did this one time - it was horrible! Basically I went down to Galway with my then gf, and I wasnt feeling well one night when out and I went back to B&B. She stayed out with her mate that she met down there, and didnt come back til 4 or 5 or something. So my little mind obviously started awandering, making all these scenarios in my head etc. On top of this, early the next morning we were supposed to go see my baby neice who I was going to see for the first time ever.

Back in Dub anyway we were having an argument and I wrote a text to my mate asking him what time the last club closed in Galway on whatever night it was, and probably saying the reason why I was asking aswell. Text sent...BOOM! Realisation hits that I didnt send it to him at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I did something like this to my mate.

he was bragging about some girl who was into him and he was basically using like a donkey (only for sex...!)
    We were out on the beer and he handed his phone over to me with a text on the screen from this girl which said something like;

"Do you want to come over to my place later for a little fun and frolicking?"

so, while he was bragging away about her, I replied and showed our other mate what I was sending. How he guffawed.

I had written, quite simply;

"Go stuff yourself"

He didn't find out why she wasn't answering until the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Grem

I sent a msg to one of my friends (not a close one) once having a total b*tch about her in it. We were going on hols and wanted to book something and she was holding up the booking coz she had to get time off work, and she wasnt meant to be going on the hol in the first place, she just kind of invited herself.
    Anyway sent the text and then my heart dropped when i realised who i sent it to. She rang me straight away and was understandably really hurt and pi$$ed off. She had just gotten the time off from her boss and was really happy and then she got my horrible msg.
    Im such a b*tch.... felt so bad for ages.

Sent a msg to my mam once that was meant for my boyfriend. She wouldnt let me out and i was really annoyed and sent her a msg saying something like "my cow of a mam wont let me out later on". She was SO mad at me and then she actually got really upset. Had to really grovel to recover from that one!

Im SO careful these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Yeah did the same myself. So what i did was move my girlfriends name to the top of my contacts list so it wouldn't be beside my friends name. Imagin sending a text to your best friend and it was supposed to be for your girlfriend. Thank God he knew it was supposed to be for her but it could have turned out messy :o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I was sending a message to my gf slagging off my granny for only having 1 leg, she lost the other one the month before. Anyway, low and behold, I accidently sent the message to my granny... she gave me a right kick the next time I saw her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭MrsA

chump wrote:
    I was sending a message to my gf slagging off my granny for only having 1 leg, she lost the other one the month before. Anyway, low and behold, I accidently sent the message to my granny... she gave me a right kick the next time I saw her

ROFL
    MPA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Mossy Monk wrote:
    this is a good example on how making a phone call is so much better than texting

This is the perfect example of someone being a ******** bleep bleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I used to do this a lot and normally send girlfriend texts to my mates by mistake. Resulting in much slagging.

So I came up with a way to get revenge.

When on the piss with the lads, one will invariably go to the toilet and leave his phone behind on the table. Take the phone and change his girlfriends number in his phone to either one of the other lads numbers or else change it to his mothers. He then sends texts to his mother telling her he wants to be on her.

An alternative is to change his girlfriends number in his phone to your own number and then send him a text telling him youve met someone else and its over. His girlfriends name pops up as the sender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Sleipnir wrote:
    I did something like this to my mate.

he was bragging about some girl who was into him and he was basically using like a donkey (only for sex...!)
    We were out on the beer and he handed his phone over to me with a text on the screen from this girl which said something like;

"Do you want to come over to my place later for a little fun and frolicking?"

so, while he was bragging away about her, I replied and showed our other mate what I was sending. How he guffawed.

I had written, quite simply;

"Go stuff yourself"

He didn't find out why she wasn't answering until the next day.

Your a bad bad Man!!! :D

Sent a txt asking a girl to the debs to the wrong girl(loser thing to do, i know!). I had fun explaining that one, luckily she wasn't interested! Ended up not even bothering going after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

A good one my friend played on me one night we were out was, he had managed to get hold of my phone and changed my girlfriends phone number to his own with her name on it. He then text me asking how i was getting on in the pub, i never noticed the different number as her name was on the text! I wrote back how it was s**te there and i was dying to see her and missed her and all that!! :eek:

Well the slaggin i got, but i saw the funny side!! Oh the games people play! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Im pretty certain thats exactly the prank I outlined two posts up mate!

It is a fantastic one though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I once sent a text to my mum, intended for one of my mates, jokingly telling him that I was 'off to have a ****'..

It was never mentioned :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Draupnir wrote:
    Im pretty certain thats exactly the prank I outlined two posts up mate!

It is a fantastic one though!

Sorry Draupnir, never read your post before i posted. So you are the man that came up with the prank!!! :mad:

Wait till i get ya! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

years ago i was out on a date anyway my mate sent me a msg saying would he be better looking than X and i sent back something along the lines of ye he is well F*uking fit anyway seconds later his phone beeps and just starts laughing i looked at the delivery report and needless to say it was his phone i sent it to

i wanted to fall into a great big hole - luckily though he turned out to be well boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Draupnir wrote:
    An alternative is to change his girlfriends number in his phone to your own number and then send him a text telling him youve met someone else and its over. His girlfriends name pops up as the sender.
    You evil bástard. I love it! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

oh my, i love the switching name s thing but it can be sooo mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Webtext has gotten me a few times, was heading on holiday last year and a "friend" of mine was due to go too,well, she thought of herself as a friend, so anyway I wrote an extremely bitchy message about her & how I didn't want her to come, scrolled through the numbers and hit enter, it was only when the message sent screen came up displaying the message contents and the number it was sent to I realized what I'd done...all I could do was laugh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This is the perfect example of someone being a ******** bleep bleep.

??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

my friend was trying to get the home number of a friend of ours as we thought he needed psychological help and was suicidal.We wanted to ring his parents and get them to make him get help.He meant to text somebody whom could tell us...well it didn't work out quite to plan :)
    worst mistake ever! did i mention the suicidal guy has OCD and was obsessed with a girl,stalker style....worst mistake ever....!
    luckily we eventually got his parents to remove him from college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Fredser

I once sent a text to my mum, intended for one of my mates, jokingly telling him that I was 'off to have a ****'..

It was never mentioned :o

Funniest thing I've read in ages. What did she think your motives were for informing her of your intentions? Class. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

A friend of mine was txting my gf about how she was getting a bit sick and tired of her bf. The next txt she sent, she was asking wot wud be the best way to break up with him...she sent it to him! was quite lousy but priceless at the same time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

oh god, i am always sending txts to the wrong people.
    one time i was seeing this guy and his first cousin was having an affair with a married man and everyone knew about it, one day i was sending some details of the affair that i had heard, but sent it to him!! thankfully he just saw the funny side.

a few weeks ago i had a fight with my ex, i presumed we were finished so the next day i txted my sister and told her that it was off, i got a msg back from him saying "is it? thanks for telling me" needless to say we broke up.

and then last week i got a message from him saying "hey babe, u going for a drink Xx"

i wrote back "obviously not for me!" ands he just said " oh sorry".

broke me heart he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

I wrote a message for a friend telling him that the boss was such a push over and that i never do any work in the place and that it was such a kip....no prizes for guessing who i sent it 2! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Rantorama

I've done this many a time(usually after a few too many) :rolleyes:

Lesson:don't drink and dial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Femmy wrote:
    oh god, i am always sending txts to the wrong people.
    one time i was seeing this guy and his first cousin was having an affair with a married man and everyone knew about it, one day i was sending some details of the affair that i had heard, but sent it to him!! thankfully he just saw the funny side.

a few weeks ago i had a fight with my ex, i presumed we were finished so the next day i txted my sister and told her that it was off, i got a msg back from him saying "is it? thanks for telling me" needless to say we broke up.

and then last week i got a message from him saying "hey babe, u going for a drink Xx"

i wrote back "obviously not for me!" ands he just said " oh sorry".

broke me heart he did.

This was him probably trying to make you jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

I sent texts for my bf(at the time) to his granny *blush*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I've done it a ridiculous number of times, usually cause I rarely delete old messages so when I have to go through and delete some, i just hit reply on whatever message I'm on.

I was going out with someone but was having a pretty crap night cause he was all moody so I was bitching bout him to my friend and sent it to my bf who was sitting beside me. Didn't improve his mood for some reason :rolleyes:

Sent a message saying i was really nervous bout meeting up with this guy for a drink to him

I've sent numerous "hi can you pick me up" messages to various friends meant for my dad which always puzzles them!

I hate the cold feeling of dread just after you've pressed the button and realised it's going to the wrong person and you've dropped yourself in it!!

That story bout getting the train down to Limerick to apologise was very sweet if it's true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mindurownbusnes

Well, has happened to me :D

I can remember very well sending a text message by accident to future lover saying F*ck off b*llux head when it was meant for someone who pranked me a couple of times. The names both started with s, so i was flicking so fast thru numbers, i accidentally selected the wrong number and clicked sent. Tried to turn off the phone but it said message sent and then turned off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I've got myself in pretty big trouble doing this a few times, where I've been thinking of someone else while typing a message and accidently sent it to the person I was thinking of instead of the person it was intended for.
    Didn't go down too well, even though I tried to explain that it only happened because I was thinking of said person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Was sending a message to a boyf-ey kinda guy (long story) but was thinking of sending a text to another friend and sent it to the other friend instead who was an ex.... that was the most recent one and that was a fair while ago... done it a few times though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

woke up with a sledgehammer hangover one morning.

Went to text a mate to tell him that this chicks was fúcking off to university that day and I was glad. Said something like "james is away to england today :):):) blah blah blah."

only sure I sent it to the woman.

Had a tough one explaining that so early in the day. Think i just about got away with it ¬_¬

Claimed my friend had texted me before that asking to know when "james was going to uni."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Done this quite a few times...always explained it away as one of my mates messing about.

The feeling when you realise what you just done is priceless though!

That one about changing about the numbers is gonna be done this weekend...excellent prank ;)

Anyone ever sent a picture message to the wrong person? :eek: :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Broke up with a girlfriend of mine on like the 22nd of December. I wanted to do it in person but she asked me a question relating to us on the phone and I used the "I like you but not in that way anymore". This brought much crying and an end to the conversation and our relationship. Although I felt a bit guilty, what with breaking up before Christmas and all, I also felt a great sense of relief and so as to kind of share the story and a bit of celebration that its all behind me I decided to text a friend the sorrid details about how "I broke up with her and she was crying and all but now its over, yay!". I tapped out the little characters and clicked send and then watched in horror as the message was heading towards my most recent ex! A frantic pulling of the battery from the phone calmed me until I saw the two most dreaded words in relation to this topic. "Message Delivered". Oh how it was awkward when I saw her the next day to finish it in person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

D-Generate wrote:
    Broke up with a girlfriend of mine on like the 22nd of December. I wanted to do it in person but she asked me a question relating to us on the phone and I used the "I like you but not in that way anymore". This brought much crying and an end to the conversation and our relationship. Although I felt a bit guilty, what with breaking up before Christmas and all, I also felt a great sense of relief and so as to kind of share the story and a bit of celebration that its all behind me I decided to text a friend the sorrid details about how "I broke up with her and she was crying and all but now its over, yay!". I tapped out the little characters and clicked send and then watched in horror as the message was heading towards my most recent ex! A frantic pulling of the battery from the phone calmed me until I saw the two most dreaded words in relation to this topic. "Message Delivered". Oh how it was awkward when I saw her the next day to finish it in person!

Ack, that's harsh mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Yeah way harsh!But i guess it does happen.

Farls: no, that's never happened personally, but I'm guessing you may have experienced this in some way or another...do tell...

rb_ie wrote:
    Farls: no, that's never happened personally, but I'm guessing you may have experienced this in some way or another...do tell...

Ah nothing too major to tell...no BIG story just send pic messages to wrong ppl in my time... :D ....technology can be a curse sometimes too!

Was down the pool earlier and tellin my friend about this thread....yes sad i know but its funny :)

Anyway he was saying that if you choose to divert all data calls (beside call divert) on someones mobile and divert them to your number then you'll recieve all texts/pic messages meant for that fone. Handy if your wanting to do some background work on someone...sneeky though. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

*adele* wrote:
    I sent texts for my bf(at the time) to his granny *blush*

Why on earth would you have your boyfriend's granny's mobile number!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

I ALWAYS do this! I always send the message to the wrong person. Esp. if the message is about the person I accidently send it to or if I'm thinking of them a lot. Has happened a few times and the consequences didn't go down well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

I did this before,i was out in a pub when i was 17.And my big sis had gone home earlier than me.So i txted askin was my mam awake(the msg actually said "Is the old Bird asleep?").Of course i sent the msg and 2 secomds later my phone rings and irealised what i had done.I left the phone and then i got a msg from my mam askin who the old bird was.

But then i made up that my sister bf had robbed my phone and sent the msg as a joke.....Thank god she bought it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

After I split up with my ex, I went into an emotional rant to a friend (by text, because I was on the bus) and I sent it to my ex instead who I'd just split with about an hour before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Another problem is messages staying in the "create message" screen. I handed my phone to my now ex one night because she wanted to use it, she was sitting on my knee and you can imagine my horror when a message I'd written earlier saying "Party Saturday night in Cavan, we'll get loads of the girls back" was still in the memory.

I pretended I didn't see it and later told her that I'd be trying to get the lads to come out in Cavan and had tried to persuade them to by telling them there'd be loads of girls out. Luckily, she fell for it and then mentioned how she'd seen the text earlier and had worried but she wasn't worried now.

Sneaky or what, lucky she was so gullible :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

Thankfully I've never sent anything really dodgy to the wrong person, but I've been on the other end -- got a missed call/voicemail from an ex that were meant for someone else. Not nice :(

And no, it wasn't on purpose to make me feel bad, it was just a stupid mistake.

A useful thing is to put a fullstop (.) in front of sensitive names in your phonebook so they go to the end of the list and safely out of the way!