Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drug dealers and drug dealings

• 14-09-2005 12:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

hello just wondering what peoples views are on drugs on these boards. Do you think drug dealers are out and out scumbags or people who are just money mad? This might sound stupid but do you think that drug dealers could be pillars of their communities or communitiy destroyers? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

They're scum and if i was to choose between community pillar or community destroyer, id have to go with destroyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

Money mad.

Lovely monies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Greedy criminals. how in the name of god can they be pillars of the community? try telling that to the people in inner city Dublin, who's communities were ravaged by heroin addiction? So scum like Tony Felloni, should have a statue erected in his honour on Dominick St?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

If they didn't do it - someone else would take their place..

Sand + Vagina.

People abuse drugs not the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Freshmilk

Nightwish wrote:
    Greedy criminals. how in the name of god can they be pillars of the community? try telling that to the people in inner city Dublin, who's communities were ravaged by heroin addiction? So scum like Tony Felloni, should have a statue erected in his honour on Dominick St?

No its just that in new york the "teflon don" was a hero in his community even though he was convicted of being in possesion of drugs(heroin) and apparently (by reading) i heard the monk was held in high esteem by his old community although it is suggested his money was used to import huge quantities of drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

It depends. If its someone selling a bit of hash or weed to his mates then what harm, if the dealer happens to be a violent aggressive scumbag then yes, thats a community destroyer. People have this perception that everyone who sells drugs must be a scumbag, which isn't true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Doodee wrote:
    buse drugs not the other way around.
    What about the new ad... that drink is clearly mouthing off to that drunken fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

In my experience (having lived with a guy who dealt weed and met his "mates" who sold pills and harder stuff), they are lazy users who like making easy money out of the demand of their customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Take the lot of them out to the woods and exterminate them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I've known drug dealers and they're not all scum of the earth, apart from the leg breaking bully scumbags of course. It may seem like an easy buck for someone lazy but the profit comes at the price of the risk of jail, and I don't think jail time is necassarily justified in all cases of drug dealing. I'm not endorsing using or dealing drugs but I don't think dealers should take more than their fair share of the blame for the sh1tness of society. They're an easy target for a hysterical media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

rb_ie wrote:
    They're scum and if i was to choose between community pillar or community destroyer, id have to go with destroyer.
    Well said these bastards make there money by selling death to kids ,they should be shot on site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

de5p0i1er wrote:
    Well said these bastards make there money by selling death to kids ,they should be shot on site.

Very alarmist, theres no harm in a bit of mary jane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Wont somebody think of the children!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Drug dealers are generally regular users who buy a bit extra for their friends and go from there. The view of some drug pusher making somebody an addict is nonsence. People first try drugs with friends.

The problem is the higher you go up the drug dealer scale you meet real criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Very alarmist, theres no harm in a bit of mary jane.
    I used to smoke some back in the day, but after seeing just this morning, scumbags at EIGHT IN THE MORNING rolling spliffs at 2 seperate dart stations on my way to work, id be inclined to disagree nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

cornbb wrote:
    I've known drug dealers and they're not all scum of the earth, apart from the leg breaking bully scumbags of course. It may seem like an easy buck for someone lazy but the profit comes at the price of the risk of jail, and I don't think jail time is necassarily justified in all cases of drug dealing. I'm not endorsing using or dealing drugs but I don't think dealers should take more than their fair share of the blame for the sh1tness of society. They're an easy target for a hysterical media.

Drugs = bad.

Drugs = Illegal

Drugs does NOT equal a career. No one cares how easy a buck it is, or how light a user you are. If you sell drugs onto others, you are a criminal, and rightly deserve jail time for spreading what can only be described as dangerous materials.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

So its the drug dealers fault there is a demand , if someone goes out and buys/gets heroin and dies its there fault.

Dealers provide a service up the user to ehh not die or get strung out.

Human nature to look for an unnatural high, ever since primitive man figured out how to smoke the funny plants, its been rife ever since. There are "junkies" everywhere from painkillers to beer to gear.

So dealers not comminity destroyers or saviours, the community is the problem, if it didnt want it, it wouldnt be there.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Its a little more complex than that.

Sure i think our laws are 2 soft on "Hard drugs".

Personally i think heroin dealers should be shot but that may not go down 2 well.

But handing Cannibus to criminals on the other hand is insane and the current drug prevention stratagy a joke.

Who actually thinks its working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Freshmilk wrote:
    Do you think drug dealers are out and out scumbags or people who are just money mad?
    Well the owner of my local is just money mad, he is sound enough but like most alcohol dealers he doesnt give a damn if me and my mates overdose on his drugs to the point of collapse, and the mark-up on his drugs is astonishing. He will let people spend all of their money and then turf them out, drunken husbands blowing all the house-keeping money and then going home to beat the wife.

Theres another pub near me where the owner is both a scumbag and money mad.

Pillars of the community, no...

Deadwing wrote:
    I used to smoke some back in the day, but after seeing just this morning, scumbags at EIGHT IN THE MORNING rolling spliffs at 2 seperate dart stations on my way to work, id be inclined to disagree nowadays.

I see, short memory, unable to remember a lan fee :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

It would be interesting to see the effect on the economy if drug dealing was actually stamped out completely.

A lot of crime would stop ie no need to steal to feed the habit.
    Insurance might get cheaper as a result of the lower crime rate.
    Savings to the Exchequer as cost of policing and gaoling criminals drops.
    Savings to the Exchequer as cost of treating drug abusers and their victims disappears.
    Boost to the economy as previously wasted drug users become useful members of society.
    Massive job losses in track suit and Burberry factories as scumbags wise up to themselves.
    Retail sales might drop as people won't need to buy a new video or whatever to replace stolen items.
    Retail sales might increase as people spend the money they used to spend on drugs on something else.
    Old people able to sleep soundly at night in areas where before they lived in fear.

Yeah drug dealers are scum. We'ed be better off without them IMHO.

KdjaC wrote:

Dealers provide a service up the user to ehh not die or get strung out.
    God bless them, every one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Hagar wrote:
    Retail sales might increase as people spend the money they used to spend on drugs on something else.

One word.

Inflation.

Doodee wrote:
    I see, short memory, unable to remember a lan fee :P
    And that has what to do with this?

Hagar wrote:
    It would be interesting to see the effect on the economy if drug dealing was actually stamped out completely.

Savings to the Exchequer as cost of treating drug abusers and their victims disappears.
    Boost to the economy as previously wasted drug users become useful members of society.
    Massive job losses in track suit and Burberry factories as scumbags wise up to themselves.
    Retail sales might drop as people won't need to buy a new video or whatever to replace stolen items.
    Old people able to sleep soundly at night in areas where before they lived in fear.

Yeah drug dealers are scum. We'ed be better off without them IMHO.

Maybe if this was a perfect world, but it isn't.
    Scumbags would remain scumbags and drug users would find something else to be addicted to. Blaiming all of societies problems on a bunch of money hungry risk takers is just looking for a scapegoat. Fact is, as a nation, we are the fault of our own society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

so drug dealers should be killed for dealing death?

what about the local newsagents that sell cigarettes???

what about the local pub that sells alcohol???

yet (most of the time :p) these people are upstanding members of the community that people have all the time in the world for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

I blame society. Classic.

GreenHell wrote:
    I blame society. Classic.

I said We are the fault :P

Doodee wrote:
    Maybe if this was a perfect world, but it isn't.

In a perfect world your sig wouldn't break the SIGPO rules right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

Good point DannieMcq...

Mobileinfantry!! are you kidding me?

I smoke a bit and i dont think its good for me but neither is alcohol of tobacco, and if we're honest, alcohol causes more damage to the health of the nation than any other drug, But it'd be very tough for "our" government to tax Marijuana...

As for Heroine!! you take it knowing the risks! Personally for those who consider taking I'd recommend a bullet to the head as an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

Hagar wrote:
    It could never be stamped out completely, there is always a way of getting hold of something if you want it badly enough (don't anybody dare point out that they really want a unicorn or something and can't find one, you all know what I mean).

And even if it was somehow stamped out, people would just find something else to be addicted to (another scapegoat, if you will), like somebody else already mentioned.

It could never be stamped out completely

Unfortunately I must agree with you, I was just musing over the effects the drug industry has on our economy and the possible differences it's abscence would make. I imagine we would get a proportionate benefit if it was reduced rather than stamped out.

All this hand-wringing, craw-thumping "the poor druggies are victims of society" crap just doesn't wash. I'm a member of society and have never forced drugs on anybody. Have you ever forced drugs on anybody? No, good. That's two of us then. Any more?
    Society is not at fault.
    Each individual must bear personal responsibility for his/her own actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 reversed

Hello,

I'd like to add some comments:

1)
    Since the dawn of time, human beings are using drugs.
    People will always use them.
    Maybe it's better to teach people, how to use drugs in a safe, responsible way, than to restrict adult people in living their lifes.

2)
    Prohibiting drugs creates a black market with no control over the substances and no crontrol at all.
    If drugs would be legal, the substances would be more pure and much safer, because no one would buy *dirty* drugs.
    Also see the 20ies in the USA, where alcohol was prohibited. The Mafia made the money, because alcohol was illegal.

3)
    Everybody is responsible for their own health.
    As long as alcohol and tabacco are legal, there's no reason to prohibit other drugs.
    Note: on the first hand, the government launches anti-smoke-campains, on the other hand, it earns billions with tabacco-taxes. How weird is this?
    If you think dealers are scum, so would be all the merchants who sell cigarettes and alcohol.

One more thing about this hard drug blabla: pure heroine doesn't destroy your body at all. Sure, it's addictive, but what kills you are all the thinners in it.

4)
    The dealers don't make people addicted to drugs.
    People get addicted to drugs.

5)
    Get informed before you judge. What you've learned in school about this topic doesn't represent reality.

Take care,
    Reversed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Drug dealers generally from my experience are just normal users who start buying more, be it for friends or to pay for their won habbit. Things just naturally progress to the point where once john who was good for a quater sells 9-bars to smaller lads.

The thing to remember is that drugs change people. People often bitch and moan that hash is policed to harshly and that its harmless etc. It changes your personality and it is a gate way drug. Im speaking from experience here. I can remember the first time I did hash talking about what I wouldn and wouldnt ever do. Over time these standards changed.

For those who claim supply and demand. I only started smoking hash because it was there and cheap. If it wasnt, I wouldnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

seems to be a misguided attitude to people who take drugs here.

is the poster referring to heroin addiction or recreational drugs? The amount of people going out on friday and saturday, doing coke and pills is amazing, and you dont see them fitting in to any of these categories.. i know them..and none of them fit into these categories..

Hagar:

Drug dealers generally from my experience are just normal users who start buying more, be it for friends or to pay for their won habbit. Things just naturally progress to the point where once john who was good for a quater sells 9-bars to smaller lads.

The thing to remember is that drugs change people. People often bitch and moan that hash is policed to harshly and that its harmless etc. It changes your personality and it is a gate way drug. Im speaking from experience here. I can remember the first time I did hash talking about what I wouldn and wouldnt ever do. Over time these standards changed.

maybe it was time that changed you, not the smoking of hash? Everyone has a responsibility to take or not take what they want. i wouldnt blame hash as a gateway drug..i have friends that smoke hash and do nothing else..as i have friends who dont smoke hash, but do everything else..its a personal thing - gateway drug is silly term if u ask me.. i know people whose first drug was ecstacy... :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

You don't have to sell drugs, drugs sell themselves.
    How many times were you not thinking about getting high and bought some drugs.

Drug dealer walks up 'Hey man you want some smoke'
    Reply: no
    That's it!
    Now encyclopedia sales men on the other hand...

....................chris rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

and it is a gate way drug. [/b]

oh dear :rolleyes:
    even the gardai have stopped saying that crap as it makes them sound so ignorant.

BTW most people start out on caffeine, as their first recreational drug, should it be banned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Hagar wrote:
    Society is not at fault.
    Each individual must bear personal responsibility for his/her own actions.

although i'd love to whole-heartedly agree with you, after reading your statement i get the mental image of trainspotting in my head (the bit where Swanney( i think thats his name whichever huy died) is talkin to Renton about doing heroin and Renton gives him some beginning him on his downward spiral.

we all have our own responsablitites and limits, but we also gotta look out for others. it (should) be human nature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

drug abuse, use, experimentation - they can all be justified and as long as they can be so can drug dealers

the fact is that no matter how many justifications you can think of you are relly kidding yourself, i mean none of us were born with with a needle in our arm or a ciggarette hanging from our mouth

i disagree that ppl should be educated on how to take them - perhaps that time on money could be spend on something like educating them about why the take them - removing the brainwashing that society has been subjected to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

reversed wrote:
    One more thing about this hard drug blabla: pure heroine doesn't destroy your body at all. Sure, it's addictive, but what kills you are all the thinners in it.

oh is that all, well in that case sure i can go and buy some pure heroine given that it's only addictive and mentally it won't effect me at all :rolleyes:
    don't play down something like that you really are only insulting your own intelligence

if you had children and they came home strung out would you say that it was ok because it was pure heroine?
    i think not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

rubadub wrote:
    oh dear :rolleyes:
    even the gardai have stopped saying that crap as it makes them sound so ignorant.

BTW most people start out on caffeine, as their first recreational drug, should it be banned...
    Ok, bunch of kids, 15 year olds, bored and nothing better to do start taking hash. This becomes a problemfor some of them after many years. Their education suffers. 3 will drop out of college.

This group, once popular people up for fun and the weird, became very intovert and paranoid and quite. Hash changed us, not just time.

When you smoke, every day, 3 times a day and become aggressive when your rutine is interrupted you have an addiction. Some end up dealing to feed this habbit. Another of his friends, not a big user, sees the money hes making and gets in on it.

When this group starts using pills and coke dont tell me its a time thing.
    Hash and weed over a long period of time makes you totally indefferent to a great many things. Nothing matters, and things you knew to be wrong, like stealing, taking advantage of people and stronger stuff - gear no longer bother you.

Its not the old tale of seeking newer buzzs that people move on, thats not what Im saying.

Gardaí and society in general have many BS notions of drugs and drug use. But the under estimation of the effects of hash is the biggest of them.
    Smoking for a year or two in colege probably isnt the worst thing you can do and I encourage ppl to experiment, but dont dismiss what you are doing as harmless or without consequesnce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

drugs are here to stay, so you might as well get involved so at least you have a leg to stand on when discussing it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Hagar wrote:

No the world simply doesn't work like that. You should know this.

The idea of scumbags being a product of drug use is amusing to me. It's the same as saying that smokers smoke as a result of "smoker's cough". You're looking a result and trying to make it into a cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

rubadub wrote:
    Well the owner of my local is just money mad, he is sound enough but like most alcohol dealers he doesnt give a damn if me and my mates overdose on his drugs to the point of collapse, and the mark-up on his drugs is astonishing. He will let people spend all of their money and then turf them out, drunken husbands blowing all the house-keeping money and then going home to beat the wife.

Theres another pub near me where the owner is both a scumbag and money mad.

Pillars of the community, no...

Exactly. Every offy and newsagent in Ireland makes a tonne of money selling addictive drugs, often to children

Tbh, what harm is some guy doing in trying to import a few hundred grand worth of hash? Honestly. Fair enough, it does fuel gangland wars as much as any other drug, but still

tbh though, I am of the belief that people who never smoke hash are far less likely to try another drug. I do hear the lads of 15/16 in work who are smokers saying the likes of "nah, wouldnt be arsed with coke or pills", but you know full well they will eventually do them for the most part. I know- I used to be the same when I was 16 too
    Oxegen 04 put paid to that attitude......

When you smoke, every day, 3 times a day and become aggressive when your rutine is interrupted you have an addiction. Some end up dealing to feed this habbit. Another of his friends, not a big user, sees the money hes making and gets in on it.

When this group starts using pills and coke dont tell me its a time thing.
    Hash and weed over a long period of time makes you totally indefferent to a great many things. Nothing matters, and things you knew to be wrong, like stealing, taking advantage of people and stronger stuff - gear no longer bother you.

HA! I was smoking hash since i was 14, until i was about 20 - i dont anymore, personal choice..but my friends nor I, ever did anything like robbing people to buy a quarter, we all did..as we do now, have jobs and paid for it ourselves..Thats a real stereotypical view you are portraying there..that hash leads u into other things, its false. Its the most readily available drug, hence its called a gateway drug..it should be decriminalised if you ask me, whats the point in going to jail for smoking hash?? its a complete waste of resources..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I totally agree, if (some) drugs was legalised, there'd be a lot less drug dealers, and also there'd be less worry of getting impure drugs.

Obviously some drugs like Crack are too dangerous to legalise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

I can remember the first time I did hash talking about what I wouldn and wouldnt ever do. Over time these standards changed.

roflmao, the act of 'doing hash' sounds funny , you make it sound like smack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's genuinely nothing more than supply and demand. Where society has a demand for something, whether that something is legal or not, someone will step forward and provide it. Whether that be Hash, Cocaine, Mars Bars, Prostitutes or Cigarettes it's still a product and as such, liable to the laws of economics.

Drug dealers are just people. Some of them are lovely blokes, others are scum of the earth. I'd smoke a bit of hash at the weekend or occasionally I might roll up after a long day in work. Even my mother can see that there's no essential difference between marijuana and alcohol other than legality (if anything marijuana is the less dangerous of the two).

A dealer who sells to people who ask him to, I've no problem with. A pusher who gives someone their first few hits of an addictive drug such as heroin or crack for free is a different thing. Servicing an illegal market is one thing, attempting to expand it is quite another.