Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Like being Labelled?

• 12-09-2005 3:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭

Right first i don't mean being labelled by some price gun thingy i mean being labelled as a type of person. Do you like being labelled? I am talking about good and bad labels wether you are 'cool' or a 'geek' or when it comes to religons are you catholic, protestant, lutherin, etc. I got into rather a large discussion one night with my brothers wife about this subject and i tried to put across to point that I don't like to be labelled and her response was "you have to have a label of some kind" which brought in the disscussion of male and female, which i know are labels but they are more you either are or you arent labels, then she brought up what if your both (which i know there have been cases of, and i don't mean sex changes, i mean born as both). In the end up i just got too frustrated and ended the disscussion, but id like to know other peoples opinions, 'Do You Like To Be Labelled?'

Do you like being labelled? 49 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    26%
    D-GenerateJimi-SpandexOur man in Havanasuper_furryjesus_thats_greHugh HefnerRbbountywayfarerTobias Greeshmanblahblah06johnny_ultimateelectric69 13 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    73%
    Stephende5p0i1erazezilandoTomTomGoodshapeKaromaCactus ColmatrimOutcasttbamonkeyfudgeBeer is Lifeibanezholly_johnsonShiverinEskimoR0otRoddy23Sparkydeisedevil 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

No
    It doesnt bother be once its not derogatory and somewhat reflects my true nature.. Basically, I am a nerd and don't mind saying so..

No
    A "meh" option would be nice too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

No
    A "meh" option would be nice too.

typical whinny complainer type :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭accensi0n

it can't be helped. i don't mind if i thought it was a good label.

its 5:30. WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

atari jaguar?

No
    Atari Jaguar represents the "who gives a **** about this thread" repsponse. The "meh" would be more representative of a "I don't really mind" response..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I had to vote Arari Jaguar, as there was no meh option. most times i really dont care as long as offensive remarks arent made or I'm not being spat at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

atari jaguar tbh. who gives a flying **** about what others think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I'm a cool nerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Atari Jaguar
    No, I don't like being labelled at all. Didn't think I would care till I lived in America and everyone just kept asking "So are you Protestant or Catholic?" (The only thing they seemed to know about Ireland). I got very offended when asked that question and I don't know why? So yeah I suppose I don't like being labelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

No
    I like proving people wrong, after they've labelled me and there completely shocked, love that.

Although when people label me in a way that gets under my skin (offensive way) then Im gonna really hate it, but for the most part harmless labelling doesn't bother me in the least (unless Im in a really bad humour, which is rare).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

It depends how seriously the person is taking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Doesn't bother me because I do it to them. I see a skinhead in a tracksuit wearing a gold ring and walking a pitbull, I'm going to label them a scumbag, without ever having talked to them. I would expect them to see me as a soft culchie ****e. However, because I'm aware that I do it, I deliberately try not to let it affect me ie I keep an open mind and try not to treat them any differently. At least until they actually go and prove me right.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

How do you know if you're being labelled? I can honestly say I've never been aware of it. Although I'm sure I conform to some sort of stereotype, long hair piercings etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Dave wrote:
    How do you know if you're being labelled? I can honestly say I've never been aware of it.
    You're labelled in many ways you're probably unaware of.
    The Government label you... thanks to the info on the Census.
    Your mobile phone operator labels you ... based on your usage.
    Marketing agencies label you... depending on social class / income level / place of residence.
    Other nations label us... perhaps on personal view or national stereotype.

Overall, i dont see the worry... as long as the label isnt libellous or false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

whiskeyman wrote:
    You're labelled in many ways you're probably unaware of.
    The Government label you... thanks to the info on the Census.
    Your mobile phone operator labels you ... based on your usage.
    Marketing agencies label you... depending on social class / income level / place of residence.
    Other nations label us... perhaps on personal view or national stereotype.

Overall, i dont see the worry... as long as the label isnt libellous or false.

Neither do I. Why should we get annoyed if someone refers to the Irish as paddies? Everyone does it, and we do it back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Atari Jaguar
    I hate when people label chimpanzees as monkeys....

Because it's simply not true!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

a big old meh tbh.none bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I like my racial profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Atari Jaguar
    Some lables can't be avoided, physical things you can't change, but I really hate been put into a little box, this is you, this is how you behave... heh last time I took a personality test (in college), there were 4 possible outcomes, I was strong in 3 of them *snigger* LABLE THIS MOFO! >_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Mossy Monk wrote:
    atari jaguar tbh. who gives a flying **** about what others think

well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pearl666

I don't mind being "labelled" I do take them as compliments:) might be a bad thing but meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

it really can't be avoided... meh (the one word that can be used in any situation at any time) tbh... I don't really like it but it doesn't bother me too much... the people who label me are the people that don't know me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

a much more interesting thread would be, "What are you labelled?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

dont really mind a label. Once someone is comfortable with who they are they should not care what people call them.

I know that im a bit of a gamer, nerd geek, and all the rest. Im happy so why should i care what anyone else thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Atari Jaguar
    I hate been labeled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Reminds me of when my Dad told someone he was an atheist..."but I am a catholic atheist", he added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭butters scotch

Atari Jaguar
    i think everyone is labelled and everyone labels others too, even if they don't realise it. so i wouldn't be bothered about anything anyone wants to label me because in the grand scheme of things it doesn't really matter what others think of me, it only matters what you think of you tbh!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,280 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

No
    Labels to accurately describe people no matter how objective you try to be. If you tell someone someone else is a goth / scumbag you KNOW exactly the type theyre talking about. Sure all individuals are unique, but it is possible to describe someone in a simple, general manner using a label.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I went away to the gaelteacht and the people in my house called e there scanger mate?!?But have to seh meh ywho cares