Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back training but injury to the knee advice please

• 11-09-2005 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭

I've started back playing football and jogging after a few years of any type of real exercise, however a pain in the back of my knee cap is troubling me ! any excessive running or jogging hurts.

Also, I've notice in cold or wet weather it hurts too ! feels like there is water or something behind the knee cap, I plan to visit a GP next week or so but did anyone else ever have these symptoms?

I'd be gutted if it was something serious...

D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭tim3115

How'd it go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Guv

Could be tendon/ligament issues - could also stem from tightness elsewhere affecting your stride length and angle feet hit the ground. Is your lower back stiff/tight? Same for achilles and hamstrings.

I would suggest some GENTLE stretching even if only 15mins every second day when watching the tv.

Some EFA's and Glucosamine may be of help as well.

Someone also told me recently that when running very important to have two pairs of trainers and to rotate them i.e. never wear the same shoes two days in a row. Seems like sensible advice IMO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

tim3115 wrote:
    How'd it go?

Tomorrow I'm booked in,

Guv:- yes lower back is sore, and after light training on Wednesday night about 2 miles, the back was unbelievable. Tigh and Achilesa are grand. The main area of pian is just on the left side of the knee cap half way back, a gentle strap seems to have relived the knee cap pain. But you may be right on the stride issue (fair play) !

excuse the ignorance, what are EFA's and Glucosamine?

Any recommendation on runners?

Thanks for the help Guv, much appreciated !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Guv

EFA = Essential Fatty Acids
    Glucosamine = supplement for maintaining healthy joints
    No idea on runners - few people recommend asics as being good quality and reasonably priced.

shin splints lads so strapppin and suports for running !! plentty of stretching ect !!

(up to 3 miles in my training so happy as larry)

btw the Gloucamine is fantastic ! very little pains in the joints!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭tim3115

How did that affect the knee though? What exactly is shin splints? Like a burning sensation at times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

hi
    purely personal opinion....to be taken with a pinch of salt.....

dont waste your time and money going to gp....I'll bet my months salary that they'll prescribe anti-inflamatorys and tell u to rest up for a spell...

go to a good physio and get their opinion and then a gp if u like ( im not DISCOURAGING ANYONE AGAINST SEEKING MEDICAL ADVICE)
    it sounds like ITBS ( do a google) i've been competing in triathlons the last couple of years and it sounds very familiar...
    it can be sorted and controlled with the help of some good physio

interested to hear how you get on

moby2101 wrote:
    hi
    purely personal opinion....to be taken with a pinch of salt.....

dont waste your time and money going to gp....I'll bet my months salary that they'll prescribe anti-inflamatorys and tell u to rest up for a spell...

go to a good physio and get their opinion and then a gp if u like ( im not DISCOURAGING ANYONE AGAINST SEEKING MEDICAL ADVICE)
    it sounds like ITBS ( do a google) i've been competing in triathlons the last couple of years and it sounds very familiar...
    it can be sorted and controlled with the help of some good physio

interested to hear how you get on

thanks mate for the advice any good one around Dublin you'd recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

Hi
    hows that injury??

sorry I,m based in Limerick, cant recommend a physio in Dublin for ya.
    One of the threads here in the past is bound to have some recommendations.
    Best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

Theres one at the bottom of Auburn Ave. Heading to the Navan RD, the last green on you right. They've a surgery there. I go there with the sports injurys. Of course a lot of the gyms in the area have physio's advertised, and/or working in them.