Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Primary or Secondary?

• 10-09-2005 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

I couldn't see anywhere to post this in education..soo..here it is.

Which would you prefer.Primary School or Secondary School?
    Personally speaking, I WAY WAY prefer primary school as i hate secondary school.Please post aswell as use poll.. ;)

Well... 24 votes

Primary
    0% 0 votes
    Secondary
    100% 24 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Undercoverguy

Is this topic heading towards a point?.... A Feck it, it Boards!..... Secondary

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Easily secondary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I couldn't see anywhere to post this in education..soo..here it is.
    Support

But, anyway.. You get a lot more freedom in Secondary School, which is good.

But in primary, you could have pointless, childish fun and much less if not any pressure which is great.

Primary > Secondary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dogg_r_69

Definately secondary due to more freedom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Is this topic heading towards a point?.... A Feck it, it Boards!..... Secondary

I was interested to see whether some people are like me.
    Every person i ask in ''Real Life'' :D prefers secondary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Secondary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Some of primary was good, mainly 5th and 6th class. It depended on the teacher because you were stuck with them day in day out.

Secondary school was better and how fun it was/is depends on the other students rather than the teachers. Like has been said the freedon is the best thing. And your not treated completly like a child (especially in 6th year.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Easily Secondary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Secondary, it's much more fun. You're old enough to have more fun I think in secondary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Primary. Secondary is crap. I spent most of the time ducking things that were thrown across the room.

In Primary people just teased my freckles. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

both were a load of bollocks but secondary wins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

does anyone on here know of a list anywhere of the "best" secondary schools in dublin. curious to know what people think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

secondary wins for me I think. the lesser of two evils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Primary > Secondary.

Less to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

primary , no bullies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    primary , no bullies.
    Exactly what I was gonna say.

Plus, no pressure, no mind games, no teen angst, loadsa mates (whatever happened to all of them?)...

God I loved primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Nither they were both rubbish.
    I like college:)

secondary!just for the girls and actually scoring them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭abercrombie

secondary defo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

so true seb
    glad im gone out a both , pack a bastids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

loved both, but prefared primary. No worries and just good fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Primary was fun, no pressure and easy going.

Secondary was a bit of an oppressive institutionalised nightmare...I often wish with hindsight that I had just got up and walked out of some classes.

It made me look forward all the more to going to uni where I had a happy few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Primary was better...

You only had to deal with one f*ckwit teacher as opposed to over a dozen of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

It's a tough choice, both were shíte.
    I'm gonna go with primary though... slightly less traumatic.
    Unless it was more traumatic and I've just got a lot of surpressed memories. :eek:
    Ah happy days :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Late primary (5th/6th class) was best for me. I *hated* secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Hated school life altogether... got better at the end of 5th year and 6th year, voted accordingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Hated primary after about 2nd class. Secondary was great from Transistion year upwards.
    Sadly a christian bros. school, so no girls, but was great craic all the same.

**** the bullies, quite frankly, I never really had any problems after 2nd year, and I was never particularly big, or normal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

Secondary was better, i hated school anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Primary definitely. Call me crazy but I enjoyed being a little kid!

Plus I switched locations for Secondary and for me was akin to what I imagine prison being like i.e. a lot of shaping and watching your back in order to survive.

Too many pseudo hard-cases in there who had absolutely nothing to talk about except their various nefarious activities over the w/e (and bare in mind I was in the top stream/class of the year! - you should have seen the C's and D's).

When I got to college I was amazed to be in with a group of people whose day didn't revolve around robbing, fighting, drinking and ****ing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

Secondary for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thejovialhost

Primary - less pressure, although i did enjoy secondary school (occasionally)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭p~b

primary, i liked the free sandwiches and choco muffins we got every day

I totally agree with what someone said about spending most of the time in secondary school ducking from things that were thrown across the room.It seems that that is the same every day in secondary school.
    I think in secondary, everything is so 'scripted'.for example.if you were doing a 'test' in primary and you needed to answer one more question they would probably let you.In secondary the wouldn't as the class was over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I went to 2 primary schools in my life and they both sucked big time.

Despite being in an all-boyos, Secondary school was such a good larf especially 5th and 6th year.

Secondary School No.1
    Primary School No.2
    University No.3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

TimAy wrote:
    loved both, but prefared primary. No worries and just good fun.

Almost word for word what I was going to say.

But by primary I really mean 4th/5th and 6th class, I can barely remember the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Neuro

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    primary , no bullies.

Why is it that as soon as you hit secondary school some people turn into fascist little c***s?

A recent article in Scientific American Mind states that, contrary to popular belief, one of the mains reasons why people bully other people is to enhance their standing in the social hierarchy...
    In his pioneering study of Swedish and Norwegian students, Olweus concluded that children can be very skilled in systematically using their social clout at the expense of weaker schoolmates. The goal is to enhance their own position.

Bullying is also more prevalent in secondary school because, unlike primary school where a single teacher oversees the class for most of the day, students spend far more time unsupervised (waiting for buses before and after school, between classes, lunch breaks etc.). This permits the formation of social hierarchies outside of class that were impossible under the 'dictatorship' of a single teacher in primary school.
    Mobbing thrives in hierarchical settings because they allow dominance and strength to reign as the measure of an individual's social value. It is therefore not surprising that prisons and military bases, with their emphasis on rules and rank, are often the scenes of mobbing. Schools, in which older or stronger children can lord their age and power over younger or weaker ones, share similar traits. Thrown into a diversity of personalities, certain individuals try to create a social structure that confers on them an advantage. And usually that power is wielded to abuse others.

Bullies also tend to be popular amongst their peers in secondary school:
    After asking the 13- and 14-year-olds which kids they liked and which they did not, we developed a preference profile that gave us a good sense of an individual's social ranking in a class. The result was surprising. In contrast to the bullies' relative lower standing during elementary school, they had actually become very popular with their classmates. Their victims, on the other hand, got few sympathy points.

Full article text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

I refuse to vote in a poll that leaves out the atari jaguar option, especially when the only valid option i.e. tertiary is left out of the running.

college > 10 * (primary * secondary)

Q.E.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

Primary school sucked. Secondary was better because of the freedom I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Neuro wrote:
    A recent article in Scientific American Mind states that, contrary to popular belief, one of the mains reasons why people bully other people is to enhance their standing in the social hierarchy...

I thought that was popular belief? If it isn't, what is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Although I loved 1st year and 6th year one person made all the years in between hell so I'd have to say primary!

College definitely beats both hands down though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Primary was fun cause you had no responsibility and even though you didn't have any freedom you were too busy being a kid to notice...then in secondary it's all "exams!! If you fail you'll end up in a low degrading minimum wage job for the rest of your life" That kinda crap just annoys me.. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

secondary from 1st to 3rd year were the best. I had such a laugh. then I skipped 4th year (waste of time IMO) but my new classmates in 5th and 6th year were a shower of snotty bitches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Secondary. I don't remember anything much before 6th class Primary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Secondary > Primary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

secondary because the teachers were sound, the teachers in primary were assholes, with there 20 lines and notes home crap.

Baz_ wrote:
    I refuse to vote in a poll that leaves out the atari jaguar option, especially when the only valid option i.e. tertiary is left out of the running.

college > 10 * (primary * secondary)

Q.E.D.

What is atari jaguar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

What is atari jaguar?

A joke option put into polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Crania

I prefer secondary school cos there is more freedom, more people to be friends with and you're getting more mature so its better fun.

But there is a lot of pressure, homework and too much tests in Secondary school but I still perfer it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Well I slightly disliked secondary less than primary so voted for that, but loved college (apart from the lack of money) ^_^