Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cutting your own hair

• 05-09-2005 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭

Due to my utter hatred of regular trips to the barber, I've decided to look into cutting my hair myself at home. My haircut is possibly the simplest one ever known to mankind. 5 on the top, 3 on the back and side.

Now, has anyone done it regularly and does it turn out okay or does it just look sh*te?

Provided that's a yes, the next matter on the agends is where to get a good razor and how much would said razor be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Strokesa

My brother does it himself, and his hair is nice enough! So seeing as its cheaper, if you have a steady hand it's definitely better...

No idea about the price or anything though, sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Used to do it myself when I had a shaved head. Doesn't really count though.

You can get clippers and guards from the barbers' supply shop on middle abbey st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

i cut mine myself regualrly. I got the razor as a gift though so that not much help.

Anyway, I will say (i'm a bit bald, so shave my head with a blade one) it alot easier than it seems. I'm not to sure about doing a balde on top followed by a different blade number on the sides and back, but I can honestly say its not too hard to do the lot with the same numbered blade. I just keep running the blade throw my hair until I no longer feel or hear it cutting more hair. It can be difficult to do the back cos of course ya can't see what your doing, so its best, in my opinion, to use one hand a guide, and the other to run the blade through, keep going over it and over it as said above until you are sure its not cutting anymore.

The only objection I'd have is straightening up the back and that, at the neck, but if I can I get my brother or mum to do that.... failing that I will take the odd trip to the barber to kinda tidy it up... Then I'll go back to cutting it myself for a few months before I revisit the barber.

Still, it certainly works out cheaper than regular visits to the barber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,136 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I used to have it done. It's okay if you're used to just getting the blades done at the hairdresser and a hell of a lot cheaper. My hair grows very thick though and I have a cowslick at the back, so a razor is totally unsuitable :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

I cuts my hair myself using a razor. I usually use a 9mm blade all over. It's hard doing the back but it can be done in about 7-8 min.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

You can get them in a lot of places, electrical and discount stores often have them and they are in Argos, Lidl occasionally have a great one. They generally cost around €20ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I've known quite a few people to invest in a pair of clippers(?) and just do their own hair. It's fine, just a bit of hassle and learning how to use them properly/well can take a while.

*shrugs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

If you're intending to shave your whole head with the same blade(i.e a one all over or something) then go ahead, but if you're going to attempt to do a 3 back and sides and a 5 on top, go to the barbers 'cause you've to blend in between the 3 and 5...which could look a mess if you got it wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I reckon rb_ie is right, I do my own with a 2 or a 3 (depending on my mood) all over most of the time and even that can be tricky -- you really get to know the back of your own head far too well. Blending at the sides wouldn't be a bother, but I reckon you'd have a job doing it at the back.

Trip to the barber every few months doesn't go astray either, the back really needs doing properly every now and then or you go all wonky looking. Or more wonky looking, if you were wonky looking already.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Personally, unless I was going for an all-round down to the skin job, I wouldn't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭d4gurl

i cut my own side fringe!! im not goin to pay €26 in peter mark to get dt fecker cut!lol! oh and my bros have a hair dressing kit and dey are always cutting everyones hair! well most of d guys do! they are a great investment!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

i cut my own hair with the kitchen scissors.... twice a month, i just stand on some newspapers in front of the mirror and cut off anything that doesn't look like it should stay... worked fine for the last year or so...

i used to shave my head with a razor and foam [impractical - takes a while to get used to doing it quickly, and shaving cuts on your scalp are to be avoided] then i got into using clippers...

they are absolutely fine if you just want a short buzzcut - practical quick and cheap... if you want to be doing stuff like blending from a three to a five then i'd say be very careful, they take practice to use right - mind you, you can always fix a mistake by simply cutting a bit shorter to cover it up... bear in mind that you'll have a hard time using different hands for eac side of your head etc [unless you're an ambidextrous surgeon or something]

go for it though. no more stilted conversations with some bird who looks like a pole dancer asking you if you're going on holidays this year.

unless you use the money you save on haircuts to finace a social life that is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

go for it though. no more stilted conversations with some bird who looks like a pole dancer asking you if you're going on holidays this year.

unless you use the money you save on haircuts to finace a social life that is...

It's more the time spent getting a haircut that I dispise, I know it's only an hour and a half maybe 2 hours but much much better things can be done with that time.

Plus I haven't the time to get as many haircuts as I should thus my hair looks foolish for a while before I get it cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

i cut my own hair with the kitchen scissors.... twice a month, i just stand on some newspapers in front of the mirror and cut off anything that doesn't look like it should stay... worked fine for the last year or so...

Moi aussi. I go to the barbers about once a year when it gets really shabby, rest of the time I do a bit of a home trim and it looks fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I couldn't do that. I'd be constantly thinking there was a bit sticking out in back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭28064212

dahamsta wrote:
    I couldn't do that. I'd be constantly thinking there was a bit sticking out in back.
    Two mirrors tbh. Don't know about cutting your hair when it's short. One mistake makes it look really obvious, and there's not much you can do except shave the whole thing. It's ok when it's long, you can always even it out (unless you're really bad).

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce