Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game/Compsoc ...

• 04-09-2005 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭

Who's going to be in charge this year, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

dunno :D
    should be funny though, if they dont get someone to keep the peace with the IT department its bye bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭s4dd

more importantly, i'd very much like to talk to them about the upcoming year.... ah screw it, they should make ME president.. i mean, we're all thinking it!! ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

i think myself, balkie, monk and xavier had planned on sorting it out (if no one else minds). also, i was voted (without my prior knowledge) to be the one who deals with the techies :(

so, anyone have any requests for it? or do you want to be herded like the sheep you are :D

Eh, i'm not going to be herded with anyone.. i want to talk with whoever's going to be in charge when they get the chance..

Also, is it going to be purely games again? What's the plan for the year?

well, chances are cs will take over again, but we'll try to get some other decent games. anyone have any suggestions? and it'll more then likely be just games. thats why people go (i assume). im sure you could get help with work etc...but im pretty sure netsoc does that sort of thing. they'd probably be alot more helpful (not to mention alot smarter then us)

and i can pass along any messages to balkie/xavier if you want. just pm me and i'll let them know. (or you could just wait till we start up again)

and the herded thing was obviously a joke :)

netsoc, smarter? *blushes* ... well it is true :P

I'd just like to work with compsoc in relation to a few different things this year... Like our IM server (behind the college firewall) and a few other bits and bobs.. Consider this a request for a brief chat with balkie/xavier so :)

ok, xavier is on holidays and balkie is...god only knows, so if you wanna pm me, ill pass on the message once they get back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

Yea it's no suprise Compsoc went down the tube when Spacedog left as el Presidentai way back in the day!
    All compsoc does these days is play CS and cause crap with the Admins

youre right

a few ideas for compsoc

it would be better if we had a mixture of games to play rather the counter strike all the time no matter how much you like the game it has to get boring ffs

ban counterstirke :D:D

we could play Empire Earth (RTS)

Unreal tournament

a multiplayer poker game

C&C GENERALS

Warhammer.40000.Dawn.Of.War

i would love so much for compsoc to become something more than just playing games.. it reflects badly on us all... I mean, as an "off the cuff" example, what if ye were to start some kind of group project... like making a web based multiplayer poker game? Most of the libraries are already in place, it would just be a matter of tying them all together..

Although saying all that, DoW is a fantastic game and i will serve up harsh justice i it's brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I made a networked game of cards in VB a while back. my mistake was puttin in a chat feature at the side. it turned out the card game was **** so just ended up droppin the cards and usin the chat program. :rolleyes:

might make a No Limits Texas Hold 'Em one if i can.

i was looking into open source solutions as to host a full poker server... nothing is fully implemented yet... how and ever there are alot of poker classes made.. a particularly good one in php.. has all the logic.

Poker.php

All one would have to do is write up a session system for users/ have a db backend to handle money and do up a nice frontend...

compsoc is only popular because of counter strike, which is a good thing, constantly playing the same game is a bad thing, players with a lot of experience have all the fun, new players DIE, get annoyed with the computer, and quit.
    if compsoc goes ahead for 2 days a week this year, it might be a good idea to rule out counterstrike for one of those days, and play something more easier and more fun. i just realised counterstrike can be a very serious game, unlike for example quake3.

most of compsoc used to be computer students, since counterstrike started, all sorts of people from all sorts of courses have joined. their interests are purely fun gaming interests. i think things are the way they are at the moment for a reason ( compsoc being purely for games and netsoc being for more advanced computer interests ). Most people dont even care about how the game or a server is setup, all they want to do is sit down and play.

the main thing this year would be to get back the old members, and new members ( unfortunately using counterstrike as advertisement ). then to show them there's more to computer games than counterstrike

( yes i do hate counterstrike )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

stevenk wrote:
    the main thing this year would be to get back the old members, and new members ( unfortunately using counterstrike as advertisement ). then to show them there's more to computer games than counterstrike

( yes i do hate counterstrike )
    What? Have 4 lappies in the hall, all playing CS, and letting people have goes? Then someone getting the semi-automatic sniper rifle and picking off the n00bs?

As for more games, are ye still playing Broodwars? I plan to be back (to repeat one module) next year (Summer 06 to Christmas 06), sometime.

the_syco wrote:
    What? Have 4 lappies in the hall, all playing CS, and letting people have goes? Then someone getting the semi-automatic sniper rifle and picking off the n00bs?

what exactly does that mean??

i "THINK" he means on clubs and socs day.. although who knows for certain..

what? snipe all newbs on clubs and socs day? well done!! great idea!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Chucky

Hey I'm a newb at the college but there'll be no kicking of my ass. I played CS religiously for two years at DIT Kevin Street. Where do I join up? When is Clubs & Societies day?

few weeks into the term as i recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

stevenk wrote:
    what exactly does that mean??
    I meant the Clubs & Socs day. Last time (I was there), there was a game going, and people were shooting each other. One of the new users was using a pistol every time, so I showed them how to buy a better gun. They liked the better gun. Esp the sniper scope on it.

or if you cant wait, call up to the third floor of the library on a monday or wednesday evening, follow the noise to compsoc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 4r(4ng3L

hey, im starting on monday. Do u guys play counter strike source cos dats so much better. Not that i mind the origional but i wud kick ALL ur ass's on the source version!!! is that the computer society u guys b talkn bout r is it just a games group tingy?? either way i really wana join

compsoc is purely games, hopefully it wont be counter strike only, there are other games out there!!!
    cs source is played, and preferred :D

well then il have to kick ur ass on source so :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭balkieb2002

stevenk wrote:
    compsoc is purely games, hopefully it wont be counter strike only, there are other games out there!!!
    cs source is played, and preferred :D

and once again talk of play cs:source has attracted new blood!
    Nice One Steven :p

i also like your idea of one day dedicated to cs (with other options for non-cs) while having other day purly dedicated to tryin out other games/things ie hl2 deathmatch ;) (as it seems up to me to introduce new games)

I was was the aformentioned Balkie too btw if it wasn't obvoius having had my 2yrs expierence of compsoc while taking note of steves Great (!) leadership paving the way forward etc..

haha i have a few suggestions!
    for advertisement of compsoc on clubs and socs day, they will only give you two tables, get projectors!!!! project the carnage onto the wall. last year there was a wall of people looking at the laptops, kinda too crowded and i dont think everyone got to see what was going on ( missed out on signups ), so get projectors!
    new blood and new games will hopefully happen, it does every year.
    just thinking about it, those CS FREAKS will probably skip the day you dont play CS, so maybe half and half throughout the night? wait and see whats happens type of thing.

get more cartoons running on the projector?? im sure we can pollute a few peoples minds with some southpark/family guy/robot chicken

Did you guys ever think of playing Mechwarrior for any of these nights. The game is just as good as CSS (well almost!) and i havnt met a single person who doesnt like playing it...

you havnt me yet :P

haha sorry, bring it in, see if it works, see if it catches on.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

i can get ye the lend of a projecter for the day, not the best projector in the world but it works fine.

or you could just lift some from some of the lecture rooms.... *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Well it seems that we have a lot to do this year to keep everyone happy. I will be president of compsoc this year and I hope to get things back to the way they used to be. The reason compsoc fell apart is because Stephen and Kurtis were in their final year and could not put in the time to keep Compsoc running. So we had people taking over our humble little room with that narrow minded over rated game, CSS.

The problem is that we are very limited to the games we can play is because of the drivers. We can't get direct X or open GL due to restrictions. Good news though, we can play Day of defeat pretty soon as its due for release, and team fortress, when valve finally finishes it, as there both source engine games they should run, technically speaking.

Compsoc is gaming, if you are interested in technical mumbo jumbo then join netsoc. About 80% of our members have no other interest other than games, hence why they are in compsoc. Of course if you are interested in something like building a computer we can go through it with you. But we will focus mainly on games.

The games that we can play at the moment are: CSS, Unreal, Quake3. We also have some RTS's but we tend to stay clear of these as they can be very long games and once you are out you have to wait for the game to end... Not really fair now is it?

We intend to draw up some rules, any input is appreciated, but we intend to follow through on those rules. We have to keep the tech guys happy this year because they can cause us a lot of trouble, we need those drivers or we'll never get any decent games.

Also we're planning to get in another projector and get some 8 player xbox games going. We have 2 xboxes and some games, we just need some interest. You can bring in your own games or whatever. There will also be some tournaments going.

We will post here and let you know what is happening, we are meeting with the tech guys on monday. Anymore ideas or suggestions are more than welcome...

Please add some details to the top thread on the forum, compsoc details and contact details. Similar to the one s4dd has done for netsoc.

aye, and don't "mumbo jumbo" me or i'll rip off your nipples with my leatherman

i wasnt in my final year, i was just too busy with work!
    hopefully some new games will keep things interesting.
    those machines were brilliant running win2k, i dont why i always mention it, but they were!

We have a new site up and running. www.compsoc.itcarlow.tk

Further discussions can be made there. We will also keep in touch using boards.ie. Enjoy.

Well isn't that's just a slap in the face...

We could have hosted compsoc.itcarlow.ie for ye. We could also have had it setup so that whenever someone types in "compsoc" to a browser in the college it would have went to that subdomain... free of ads and not on "http://s13.invisionfree.com/". Hell, we could have even hosted www.itc-compsoc.ie if ye'd have wanted...

-edit-
    I mean, for feck sake.. we've been practically throwing free storage and webspace/forums/chatrooms to all the college societies, and the other computer related soc goes offsite for some crappy freebie adverted single forum board?! arg, "there is no emoticon to express what i am feeling"!

-edit-
    We could have offered you user@compsoc.itcarlow.ie email addresses!!! WHY DIDN'T YOU COME TO US?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

if ur looking for XBOX games, i have a dance mat and Dance UK if u want? all my other games are locked in a bunker 20 stories below sea level so im using backups so unless they're chipped my other games wont work on them.

Like it's a big deal s4dd. Maybe we don't want to rely on others. Maybe we don't trust you. Who would be the route admin anyway??? What would be the point in having those extra e-mails? Another waste of time and energy, they would never be used. But hey, thanks for your kind offer.

It doesn't matter where the site is hosted, some adds there, yea, but so what? You didn't offer me personally any space, oh and I hear you charge for it. Well the space that we have is more than enough, if we use half of it this year i'll be surprised.

Don't insult my efforts s4dd. I am not here to make mega brilliant addfree forums, but instead just a simple site that people can just pop in to see the latest news or discuss differant opinions on matters. Again s4dd, thanks but no thanks.

Anyway we are here to discuss compsoc and NOT netsoc, so please continue the bickering and whining there. Thank you.

*EDIT*

Thanks for the offer The-B-Man but I don't think it will be a great hit, as almost everyone will be after the FPS type games... ;)

to be honest, i thought boards would have been the best place, a subforum of this one.

NOW, NO MORE B1TCHING!!
    its not needed.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Like it's a big deal s4dd. Maybe we don't want to rely on others. Maybe we don't trust you. Who would be the route admin anyway??? What would be the point in having those extra e-mails? Another waste of time and energy, they would never be used. But hey, thanks for your kind offer.

It doesn't matter where the site is hosted, some adds there, yea, but so what? You didn't offer me personally any space, oh and I hear you charge for it. Well the space that we have is more than enough, if we use half of it this year i'll be surprised.

Don't insult my efforts s4dd. I am not here to make mega brilliant addfree forums, but instead just a simple site that people can just pop in to see the latest news or discuss differant opinions on matters. Again s4dd, thanks but no thanks.

Anyway we are here to discuss compsoc and NOT netsoc, so please continue the bickering and whining there. Thank you.

*EDIT*

Thanks for the offer The-B-Man but I don't think it will be a great hit, as almost everyone will be after the FPS type games... ;)

IAMXAVIER, whomever you are... s4dd was just trying to point out that these things were available, obviously in his not too nice, super-sarcastic way. You can either take the offer or keep the crappy .tk forwarding to the crappy site with ads. In fairness, he is offering to do the work (with your creative input) as thats generally what he does. Personally, having seen what he can do and knowing whats involved in running compsoc, I'd suggest you shut up, take the offer and be damn glad of it.

*EDIT*
    P.s. I dont know about anyone else but I really dont like when people just come along and take over compsoc, I mean so far its all been about who can shout the loudest 'I am President'. How's about for once, ye run some elections, there are plenty of computer students in compsoc many of whom would easily be able to write up a program for elections or failing that a hat and some slips of paper would work rather well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

It's only a suggestion, but why don't you compsoc types come together to make a mod for Half Life 2 or another game?, you could take the whole college year over it if you felt like it. It'd be a deviation from playing CS source anyway.

Ivan, the team that we have now has been picked long before the end of last colleget year. Kurtis and Stephen picked me to continue running Compsoc. I had no Idea that I was going to be selected to be president. Kiith and Balkie were on the team last year. We have had some meetings over the summer and have discussed, quite a bit, the future of compsoc and how we can improve it for all...

Has there ever been elections for the compsoc team, me thinks not, well in the 3 years that I have been in compsoc I have never been asked to vote. This being my 4th year I think I know what needs doing. I have put alot of time into compsoc over the last 2 years, most of our members have only been there 2 years at the most, it would only be fair to let those that know what they're doing do it.

I'm not here to start arguments, I said thanks to s4dd already but the site isn't an esential tool needed to run compsoc. It was just something we added this year, I doubt it will even get off the ground (It would be nice though if it did... :))

Again I must point out to you that Compsoc is all about gaming, it has been that way for the last 3 years. So no programming projects this year ;) Most of our members don't have the knowledge (When I say members I mean the people we had last year, not 3 years ago). We have members from each and every department in the college. Lads, if our members are interested in the technical aspect of computers then I will gladly pass them on to you s4dd, and hopefully introduce them to netsoc. ok? :)

In all fairness we go to lectures all day, we look forward to compsoc at the end of the day, where we can relax and have som fun, why can't you just understand and leave it that way? :(

So can we clear this up and move on with our discussion? We have a meeting with the tech guys on monday and we will take it from there. Now does anyone have anything to discuss about compsoc and how we might improve it? ALL input is greatly appreciated... ;)

Thank you.

Sorry for the double post.

To address Lagunas suggestion. There are some people in compsoc that have extreme interest in this type of work, I for one would love to have the knowledge and tools to do this too. I know one for sure that would like to take this on, Destructor. I could have a word with him and see what he says.

You must understand that people in compsoc don't attend to do mods or programming, but only to play games. This is what I will try to keep running and without much effort it will ;). We won't only beconstantly playing CSS, that is garaunteed, we will have differant games to play and hope to facilitate everyones wants, not just the hardcore CSS players :)

compsoc used to be about "computers", what i mean by that is, we used to claim to be a computer society, a big cover up to play games, maybe this year its time to change the name to GAMESOC, the techies, network manager, security guards, and members all know what goes on. I think the fact that it is called compsoc attracts a lot of unnesessary confusion. Maybe its time for a name change.

We ( mainly me and xavier possibly balkie ) were chatting the other day and this year is hopefully going to be about rules! YES RULES! Not like the "No talking or mobile phones in the library" rule. Severe smackdown must be dealt out this year. Last year things turned into worse than circus like behaviour. It was decided that rules are the way to change this. Xavier is drawing up a set of rules, And they are there for 1 reason: The survival of compsoc.
    Shouting kills compsoc.
    Nonstop Counterstrike source kills compsoc.
    LONER gangs creating their own mini server and locking it doesnt exactly kill but is to be avoided.
    Games like starcraft or broodwars kills compsoc.
    These are examples, im sure a more proper list will be finished soon.
    And no need to argue or moan, we ( yes hopefully i will lend a hand ) are going to try things this way, why not? It has never been done before and what is there to lose? Hopefully with things ran in the right manner, the society will improve and become more successful

Aye, from what i read compsoc is gone a long way from when it started. To be honest I think ye should take netsoc up on their offer of hosting and fourms. You get add free webspace which will be more acceptable to people and alos a free, clean and managed forum for compsoc discussion and announcments.

true on the hosting side, it makes sense to be able to just type "compsoc" into the browser in the college and get to the site. the new website was a very spur of the moment effort made, and maybe it should be reconsidered and moved to netsoc? anyhow, as xavier said, it might not even take off.

im still of the opinion there should be a name change to gamesoc, it removes the nerdy "lets go program" aspect of the society that laguna and s4dd suggested it should have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I didn't say lets go program, ****, I'm not even IN the society. It was a simple suggestion for something compsoc members could do if they wanted, something to add to their C.V you know?. It'd be a great showcase for landing you a job at a games developer if you had a BSc in Computing and then said "By the way, my Compsoc in college also produced this mod for XYZ game". The term "more strings to your bow"?. And besides the point, is playing a game like CS:Source repetitively not a tad more nerdy than actually making something/learning new skills?

mneh, im not arsed talking to you, you seek an arguement

Ok, once again and for the last time I will repeat myself for ye... Compsoc is NOT about programming nor will it ever be. Netsoc is the place you should suggest this. We play games, and are not here to improve our CV's, we do enough of that during the day, remember?

Last year was the only time we played the same game over and over. I personnaly have no interest in playing CSS repeatedly, nor do most of our members.

The site stays where it is i'm afraid, if there wasn't so much bitchyness about it then I would have no problem letting netsoc, I mean the college host the site. ;)

Now if anyone has some possitive input that we could use, please be my guest? Thank you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

hi laguna!

to a point i agree with laguna on this one. many societies lack purpose as they have no real aim or purpose. this is not a swipe at the compsoc as i have no experience of it.
    Compsoc is NOT about programming nor will it ever be.

and that right there is the purpose of this soc, no more no less.

Now if anyone has some possitive input that we could use, please be my guest? Thank you...

You are getting lots of positive input here, espically about the site but you seem to be set on arguing with people, to take it on board. Stop getting worked up when someone talks about what they would like to see in compsoc. Some people would like to see it as a programing soc and they are entitled to their opinion.