Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

USI tax

• 25-08-2005 9:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

Letters are dropping into doors all this week demanding eight euro for the "Union of Students in Ireland". Refuse to pay.

Your money is used by a group of ex-students to push their own personal agendas.

The USI is fully behind the introduction of abortion to this country, against the will of the majority of Irish people. Its website provides links to the IFPA, which recently launched a campaign for "safe and legal" abortion in Ireland. It also links to Planned Parenthood, a US group which advocates third trimester partial birth abortions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭air_vent

PISS OFF YOU FECAL STAIN

You have your own agenda same as them.
    You shouldnt pay because they are ****e and dont do anything thats why.

I'LL ABORT I"LL I WANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

VIVA LA PILL AND ALL SUCH RELATED OBJECTS!!!

You no good religious freak or what ever you are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

Didnt know that! I'll be paying quicker then normal now. I wonder would they like €16 instead. Fair play the USI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

ya crazy bapstards letting students know they have options... go home a read your bible...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 SéamusK

Is membership of USI not mandatory?
    The USI is fully behind the introduction of abortion to this country, against the will of the majority of Irish people. Its website provides links to the IFPA, which recently launched a campaign for "safe and legal" abortion in Ireland. It also links to Planned Parenthood, a US group which advocates third trimester partial birth abortions.
    If you really feel that strongly about these agendas why not get involved yourself, and change the policies of the union. Maybe you'll find that these policies are in fact in line with the opinions of the majority of students.

Also, the USI does a lot of good work. Many people never need them for anything, but when you do they're there to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

So is this the Liberal policy that you're talking about in the UCD and DCU threads

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Johnnymcg wrote:
    So is this the Liberal policy that you're talking about in the UCD and DCU threads

I find the DCU thread funny, since they aren't in USI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭aodh_rua

S&#233 wrote: »
    Is membership of USI not mandatory?

If you really feel that strongly about these agendas why not get involved yourself, and change the policies of the union. Maybe you'll find that these policies are in fact those held by the majority of students.

Also, the USI does a lot of good work. Many people never need them for anything, but when you do they're there to help you.

Membership of USI isn't mandatory. You've a statutory right to freedom of association, and while College don't advertise it you can register without paying the levy.

Then how do I go about not paying it?? the mother may have paid the levy how do I claim this back if needs be don't want anythingto do them pieces of toss. Thats 4 baveria in the pav

air_vent wrote:
    Then how do I go about not paying it?? the mother may have paid the levy how do I claim this back if needs be don't want anything to do them pieces of toss. Thats 4 baveria in the pav

Oh for f**k sake if there was no USI you would probably have to pay 6 grand in fees - that's 3000 can's in the pav

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭foxybrowne

Johnnymcg wrote:
    Oh for f**k sake if there was no USI you would probably have to pay 6 grand in fees - that's 3000 can's in the pav
    Bravo that man, verily he speaketh true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

howdareyou wrote:

And I suddenly find myself liking USI a lot more now. Yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

claire h wrote:
    And I suddenly find myself liking USI a lot more now. Yay!

I'm the exact same! I'm even thinking about getting involved this year! Thanks for pointing it out howdareyou!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭snorlax

but we voted earlier this year to remain part of the USI, it was agreed by a student majority that we remain part of it depsite the levy.

i don't think 8euro is alot to have an organisation that repersents the student body to the government (how would they run without money?). we need some representation especially whilst topical issues such as the re-introduction of fees are being discussed in cabinet.

Hey as long as yous saps pay it I'd rather have the cans!!!!!

Now seriously they are complete shams and wasters they have the usual protests get the socialists out chant a few slogans. This is the only time you hear of them!!

" we will remember this when the elections come..." and so on then disperse and leave.

Where is the puplicity stunts to get the message.

Another thing how can you take them seriously when two years ago or so Will Priestly was president of the USI yet the same person headed the campign to disband TCD from the USI

They are nothing but pawns to their father political parties FF FG SF PD Lab etc

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

your a very angry little man arent you.....

Say it like it is reminds me of a former TCD boards member......

air_vent wrote:
    Say it like it is reminds me of a former TCD boards member......

gabbino?

gabbino?

You Insult Me!!!!!!!

PAH

celing fan?

celing fan?

Nope never such harsh allegations! Keep on guessing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

You've a statutory right to freedom of association

It's even better than that it's constitutional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

You Don't have to pay the eight euro.
    I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

How's educat going to live unless we pay him?

He'll end up living in a bin somewhere, eating burnt cheese off pizza boxes.

How's educat going to live unless we pay him?

He'll end up living in a bin somewhere, eating burnt cheese off pizza boxes.

As I am finally leaving College after 8 years in the next month, I would like educat out in the private sector where he can continue to serve me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

aodh_rua wrote:
    As I am finally leaving College after 8 years in the next month, I would like educat out in the private sector where he can continue to serve me.
    Don't you mean service you?

Aodh_Rua - WHAT? LEAVING? You got a JOB? :D

DrIndy wrote:
    Don't you mean service you?

Aodh_Rua - WHAT? LEAVING? You got a JOB? :D

That's the general plan Indy! I should submit my PhD in the coming month and then it's out to civvy street. At least you beat me to it - even if I did start before and leave after you.

So to incoming JS engineers - you will be saved my musings this year in 3E3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

aodh_rua wrote:
    That's the general plan Indy! I should submit my PhD in the coming month and then it's out to civvy street. At least you beat me to it - even if I did start before and leave after you.

So to incoming JS engineers - you will be saved my musings this year in 3E3.
    Cash is nice.
    Love the job too which helps!

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Zigbee4

S&#233 wrote: »

Rubbish.

We've a Trinity Access Program, Accomodation Office, Careers Advisory Service, Chaplaincy, Graduate Studies Office, International Student Affairs Office, Mature Students' Officer, a Student Counselling Sevice, Health Service and a fully fledged tutoring system.

These services are all manned by professionals . If I had a genuine problem, the last person I'd want to go and see would be some amateur, politically ambitious idiot in house 6.

My advice to any new students: save yourself a few euro, but most importantly hit these idiots where it hurts; in the pocket. Only then will we get some peace.

And beside even if you do pay up, your money will be used to keep their money-losing student travel venture afloat who last year paid over €40,000 for a refit that still looks ****!! I've heard the shops aren't doing too well either! And as for paying a salary to an Entertainments Officer, now that's money well spent!!

Zigbee4 wrote:
    Rubbish.

We've a Trinity Access Program, Accomodation Office, Careers Advisory Service, Chaplaincy, Graduate Studies Office, International Student Affairs Office, Mature Students' Officer, a Student Counselling Sevice, Health Service and a fully fledged tutoring system.

These services are all manned by professionals . If I had a genuine problem, the last person I'd want to go and see would be some amateur, politically ambitious idiot in house 6.

My advice to any new students: save yourself a few euro, but most importantly hit these idiots where it hurts; in the pocket. Only then will we get some peace.

And beside even if you do pay up, your money will be used to keep their money-losing student travel venture afloat who last year paid over €40,000 for a refit that still looks ****!! I've heard the shops aren't doing too well either! And as for paying a salary to an Entertainments Officer, now that's money well spent!!

Didn't they sell the travel agent thing. It used to make lots of money, but poor management resulted in massive debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Zigbee4

LiouVille wrote:
    Didn't they sell the travel agent thing. It used to make lots of money, but poor management resulted in massive debt.

Maybe they did, but even if DUST was sold, SU mismanagement got it into debt in the first place.

Also I think it was sold over a year ago, so the refit comment doesn't hold. Also not all USI officers are paid, hell the rights officer wasn't paid last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 bino

if i was elected, i would have left that cancerous orginization

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 howdareyou

With regard to the Students' Union's referendum on affiliation, I would like to point out that 548 out of 15511 is hardly a majority of students. Why not make it clear that the affiliation fee is optional and definitely not required for registration?

I suspect about 548 people would pay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

howdareyou wrote:
    Your money is used by a group of ex-students to push their own personal agendas.

I'm a current student, thank you very much ;)

*goes of to plot secret USI things*

bino wrote:
    if i was elected, i would have left that cancerous orginization

This is in an hideous alternate universe, where we don't have those silly "referendum" things, yep? Anyway, weren't you banned, Mr President?

Really, people, the USI does some good. It mostly does good for minorities (LGBT, disabled, etc) but that's something in itself. It also helps the smaller colleges quite a bit with their student unions and so on.

Zigbee4 wrote:
    Maybe they did, but even if DUST was sold, SU mismanagement got it into debt in the first place.

DUST was never subject to more than nominal SU management and has always been run by professionals. As we all know, the travel business has become more comptetitive of late, and DUST has had to cope with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭AndyWarhol

Zigbee4 wrote:
    Rubbish.

Let's start a campaign!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

DUST was also kinda being screwed by college last i heard as well - as TCD uses it as their staff travel agency, and kinda, you know, didnt like paying on time or anything like that.

Originally Posted by SéamusK
    Zigbee4 wrote:
    Rubbish.

USI/TCDSU are 2 separate organisations

What happens when some of those services mentioned above are less than helpful -

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Can no-one understand the difference between a local students' union and the Union of Students in Ireland? No-one? (well, apart from the post just above!) You can't bash a USI levy by criticising the actions of a local union such as Trinity, because there is no control by one over the other (e.g. anything about TCDSU's finances is entirely separate to USI's!). It's fair enough for anything to be highly critical of even the existence of either organisation, but can you at least get your facts in order first?

EduCat wrote:
    Can no-one understand the difference between a local students' union and the Union of Students in Ireland? No-one? (well, apart from the post just above!) You can't bash a USI levy by criticising the actions of a local union such as Trinity, because there is no control by one over the other (e.g. anything about TCDSU's finances is entirely separate to USI's!). It's fair enough for anything to be highly critical of even the existence of either organisation, but can you at least get your facts in order first?

Very good point - people are coming on saying they will dissafilate from USI because of TCDSU - that just doesn't make sense

Terry Pratchet

air_vent wrote:
    Hey as long as yous saps pay it I'd rather have the cans!!!!!

Now seriously they are complete shams and wasters they have the usual protests get the socialists out chant a few slogans. This is the only time you hear of them!!

Possibly because they are working damn hard on your behalf

http://www.usi.ie/usi/uploads/1713.pdf

And organising training and publications

http://www.usi.ie/usi/asp/section.asp?s=62

Terry Pratchet

Wow, I'm so impressed.

AndyWarhol wrote:
    Wow, I'm so impressed.

I'm not to be honest.
    rather have my cake (as in 8 euro) and eat it.

They are still jokes and wel to be honest how can anyone respect either organisations when some bastards like will priestly have a mad campagin about disbanding and then becomes president of the USI complete and utter joke!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭fiachs

air_vent wrote:
    I'm not to be honest.
    rather have my cake (as in 8 euro) and eat it.

They are still jokes and wel to be honest how can anyone respect either organisations when some bastards like will priestly have a mad campagin about disbanding and then becomes president of the USI complete and utter joke!!!

I would have thought that it was more a sign that the organisation was worth funding, that someone who was so against it decided to run for president later on... Did a good job as well by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

I know there is a certain amount of trolling on this particular thread, but should everyone who posts against USI be banned?!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=293188

I know there is a certain amount of trolling on this particular thread, but should everyone who posts against USI be banned?!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=293188

I think you're exaggerating it a lot there Bob. He was banned from the TCD forum, then created a second login. And then a third. And then a fourth. The issue with the other username that I raised was because it was a suspicion, as was noted at the start of the thread.

Creating duplicate accounts to bypass a forum ban is a nono.

Also, if you have a check around the blogs, DeVore has had some interesting times with USI of old, so that wouldn't make a lick of sense (though banning here is up to mods).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

The best is the call for DCU students not to pay "the USI levy" this year. News to me and most of DCU, given that:

a) there is no levy, because
    b) DCU Students' Union isn't part of USI, so therefore
    c) DCU students can't refuse to pay a levy that doesn't exist for an organisation that they have nothing to do with.

Oops. Bad troll. No doughnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Myth wrote:
    I think you're exaggerating it a lot there Bob.

true! only joking tbh - can't seem to do anything today except troll boards.ie!

fiachs wrote:
    I would have thought that it was more a sign that the organisation was worth funding, that someone who was so against it decided to run for president later on... Did a good job as well by all accounts.

Fair play to him.

howdareyou wrote:

You mean scoop the baby out with a big metal claw?