Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E36 Bmw 316 What to look out for.

• 23-08-2005 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭

I was deciding either to buy a INtegra or a 316 and i am going for the bmw 316 E36 about 93-94 What should i look out for before buying i am going to get it checked out either way but in general what should i look out for?Mileage? My Mech said After 100k The Head Gasket tends to go. Also how much should i buy for 93-94. Not Coupe.

Cheers
    Dan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭lomb

Avoid any bmw of that age unless it has a proper history(unlikely), odds are on it will be a nail;and will cause nothing but trouble.
    if u do want one, check it has a recent nct. thats something anyway. also check the engine is quiet when revved hot and cold. check the clutch is good and gearbox all gears engage smoothly.
    also do a final check that the instruments are working and all readings are normal. good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

BMW need proper maintainance or the repair bills can be massive. Get an AA check, and only buy if theres a documented history of maintainance. Either from BMW or somewhere that specialises in BMW. Lots of bad ones around.

A BMW saloon is a very different car to a Integra. Odd sort of combination to be looking for.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

There are a number of different E36 buying guides on the Total BMW website. See www.totalbmwmag.com/Pages/Buying.html for more.
    Also have a look at these:-
    www.bmwcarclubforum.co.uk
    www.e36coupe.com/technical/CHECKLIST.pdf
    www.unixnerd.demon.co.uk/bmw_e36.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

Sorry to hijack this - I'm looking for an E36 316i too. Gonna but from the UK though. If the car has the MOT - is this compararable to the NCT ie. if it safe to say that it will pass the NCT here.

WRT the NCT, nothing is guarranteed! The car may be totally perfect and still fail by having an indicator that isn't the prettiest shade of orange!
    Also read the importing from the UK sticky about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 707 ✭✭✭deevey

I bought one a 8 months ago and has been nothing but superb

things to check ...

Service history .. (hopefully full BMW)

Number of owners .. mine had 2 last owner had it the past 7 years. If someone is passing it on after a year find out why.

Milage ... i was lucky only 78k! genuine but 110k+ would be normal.
    it is harder to clock them becuse of the electronic system but not impossiblle if you know the right people..

Dial stickers... they tend to peel due to heat (mine have :( ) but easily replaced.

Shocks .. do they bounce once or twice before settling - could need replacing.

Turn the steering wheel hard left and right when stationary for jolting shaking signs

On a test drive does it drive straight with no hands or pull to left or right.

When stationary shake the left and right wheel left and right for signs of movement could be wheel bearings or rubber bushes on the steering.

check all electrics espessially windows for sluggishness ... bring some wd40 and see if it helps, to see if its just the seals sticking.

Check exaust for lots of white smoke when cold and quite a bit when hot. blue bad .. white normal.... if the engine has been flushed recently but if it hasnt then could be a problem.

If it has C/L check the deadlocks work properly 1/4 turn locks another bit and you should hear the motors turn again the deadlocks mean you cant open the doors at all .. even from inside and if a thief wants to get in or out they need to break a window and climb in.

If its an auto check the kickdown works properly

If its an auto check for "jolting" when it changes gears (prolly just tranny oil though)

If its an auto check the different modes work .. manual/economy/sports

Bring it for a 2.00 euro wash and check the bodywork for signs of spraying and around the boot seal area and front for signs of interior damage/spraying or filling and rusting.

Tapping on an older 316i at low revs is normal, usually sticky lifters or slightly worn cam and every mechanic i'v talked to and sites i'v been on say there is no solution but no problems because of it, just slightly annoying in closed spaces, sometimes if its just the oil sprayers clogged and engine flush and oil change will do the trick.

Recent NCT .. mine had just been in for one i know its been mentioned before.. if it has had a recent NCT check the ABS sensor behind the front wheels.. the NCT inpectors are notorious for not replacing the plastic covers and pulling the brake line from its clip ... its happened with 3 of my mates so far and in one incedent caused a fluid leak which could have been deadly had it not been caught in time.

Well thats basically all the bits n bobs I checked before I decided on buying my "ultimate driving machine" :)

All the above was info given to me by a mechanic before buying it so dont hold me to it...

You'll be happy if you get a decent one and mosta the jobs are easy to perform your self e.g. brakes .. oil changes.. etc...

BTW mine is a '92 E36 Auto .. and I would highly reccommend the auto to anyone .. espessially since you can drive it in manual mode if you want/need.

Bought for 2500 euro on "trade sale" from a dealer a mate of mine knows with no warranty ... which for a genuine one of this year seems good.. I'd reckon for a 94ish in good condition about 3500 -5500 depending on the extra's e.g. full leather all electrics etc...

as an example a friend of mine sold his '96 318is for 10.5k just over a year ago but it was genuine 60k always a BMW garage, full leather and full M-tec kit in literally showroom condition..it was a BMW dealer that bought it (not trade).

Oh i had an integra before ... and would rate the beemer above it by alot.. espessially if you are going to be driving alot you'll appriciate the comfort.

Oh and another good point about the 316i ... it'll probably be cheaper to insure, it was cheaper than 1.4 civic when I went shopping !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭PlayaFlow

I was deciding either to buy a INtegra or a 316 and i am going for the bmw 316 E36 about 93-94 What should i look out for before buying i am going to get it checked out either way but in general what should i look out for?Mileage? My Mech said After 100k The Head Gasket tends to go. Also how much should i buy for 93-94. Not Coupe.

Cheers
    Dan

Oh man , one of my friends got a 316coupe ('95) for 6,000.
    That car cant pull your granny out of bed, he gets a tough time from my 1.3 colt and my other mates 1.3 corolla xli . Laughable car.
    My advice: dont just buy it because of the name- theyre as common as muck nowdays. theyre very sluggish for a 1.6 . and theyre the chapest base model.

Those cars are for mature 25 - 30 yr olds. If you drive like ur dad then its fine.
    But assuming your young and like a bit blast now and then , youll be humiliated.
    BUY THE INTEGRA!!!!!!!! saw a perfect, black 2dr coupe 1.6 forn 4.5k - nct tax and 60k miles (pity i didnt have the dosh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

I am not worried about speed, I really like the e36, .. Been looking on the internet and there are a few 95 around the 4500 Mark. Anyone know where the best place to look for them? Alot in Dublin on the buy and sell.

I'll admit take off time isnt as good as alot of other cars .. even my mom's Ka beats mine on take off!

BUT ... once on the go over 30ish it cooks alot of other cars.

its simply a diffrerent style of driving.

As for the price .. I'm sure the BMW cost more from new than an intergra price doesnt seem bad for a genuine car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭kdevitt

PlayaFlow wrote:
    Those cars are for mature 25 - 30 yr olds.

So the Integra would be for immature 25-30 year olds?? The reason hondas are so nippy is that theres **** all between you and every other driver on the road. You can flex the quarter panel with your thumb. I had a Civic written off by a moped a few years back...

I don't think anyone who's considering a 316i is buying one so as to take it to drag wars or attempt to blast everty other Micra/Colt or Civic at each set of traffic lights they encounter... that said, a 1.6 Integra wouldn't be much use for that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

Buy the integra. A ride on lawn mower has more pulling power than a 316i.

I have said it before. I have seen an E30 316i keeping up with E30 M3s on a track purely because the small car had a top class track driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭ondafly

Both the 1.6 Integra and 316 BMW are slow. slow is an understatement for both of them.

Its simple really - the Integra weighs approx 1 tonne, 316 is closer to 2 tonne. Which one would you rather be in , when you have a crash ?

I've owned the 1.6 Integra and 1.8 Integra, and now own a 3 series. The cars were 1994/5 models.

Bmw will have higher mileage but feels more solid, parts/servicing are more expensive and you can't beat deadlocks on a car.

Integra will have lower mileage (in KMs), won't feel as solid (nice hollow sounding doors), parts are interchangeable with the Civics and servicing can mostly be done by yourself. Plus the sad fact, that every Honda I know of (through friends) or my own, are guaranteed to be broken into at some stage in their lives.

kbannon wrote:
    I have said it before. I have seen an E30 316i keeping up with E30 M3s on a track purely because the small car had a top class track driver.

Well unless powerhousedan is a professional race driver it's not much use to him! And i doubt he needs it for a track...

I might be a pro driver just dont no it yet. Got that car checked out i went to see yesterday, The Front two shocks are gone in it. My Mech said it would cost 180 to Replace. The Seller doesnt seem to keen in dropping the price that 180 Euro :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

"Plus the sad fact, that every Honda I know of (through friends) or my own, are guaranteed to be broken into at some stage in their lives."

This wasn't true of my Civic until recently; while it was left in to get some panel repairs, a local traveller who lived near the panel beater (next door actually) decided to go into the car (it was probably left open) and try and hack out the radio (Alpine headunit!). He didn't get it out, but left a big dent in the side of the headunit steel frame, and came about 1cm from destroying the unit when hacking away with his hammer/crowbar!

Luckily no real damage was done and I fixed the frame of the headunit myself, but he could have ****ed up the electrics of the car if he hasn't been caught by the panel beater.

"Plus the sad fact, that every Honda I know of (through friends) or my own, are guaranteed to be broken into at some stage in their lives."[/qoute]

hence the reason the insurance companies rate Honda's higher than BMW.. easier for the theives. . :rolleyes:

shame about the shocks ... sure you'll find a good one yet ... what had he been doing in it to bust the shocks ??

deevey wrote:
    what had he been doing in it to bust the shocks ??

Probably driving it as normal and taking care of it!! Typical BMW.

DukeDredd wrote:
    Probably driving it as normal and taking care of it!! Typical BMW.
    Typical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭lomb

base bmws are some of the hardest driven cars around. their engines have been immensely stretched, as has everything else, be careful to get a good one.

Well my Mech said they werent gone but there isent alot left in them but said it was a sound car and worth the buy so i am going to go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 toad

Well my Mech said they werent gone but there isent alot left in them but said it was a sound car and worth the buy so i am going to go for it.

congrats! I got an e36 myself, and its going great.

congrats .. welcome to a new way of driving ...

BTW .. anyone else driving one notice the nice difference in driver courtesy between yourself and other BMW drivers ;)

Well i dont have the car yet i offered the asking and he is getting back to me tomorrow so hopefully :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭bucks

Congrats on your purchase.

I also drive an e36 at the moment and my last car was the 1.6i Integra. Its true that the teg has more power but as many a lad said i know which car i would prefer to be in if i was unfortunate enough to be in a car accident.

My bmw is also the 1.6 but the comfort and safety you feel while driving it cannot be compared to any Honda.

Looking to replace her at the moment with a 96/97 318is coupe but i will be bringing one in from the UK as it works out a lot cheaper.

I am Awaiting on a text to see weather its mine or not hopefully fingers crossed My next will be a 323i Coupe i Say I will see how things go.

Thanks everyone for there advice etc. I'm Picking up the Car tonight :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

bmw driver myself wouldn't buy anything else. Hoooowever bimmers are tempermental, stuff breaks all the time. If like me, you are on a budget, and you can fix stuff yourself bmw's are fine. If you are on a budget and can't fix stuff yourself, the land of the rising sun beckons !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

Good stuff, congrats on the purchase, be sure to post up a few pics when you get the chance.

Congrats on your new motor - wear it well.
    BMWs are as tempermental as other cars in all reality. Newer cars tend to have more electrical problems whereas older cars tend to break down mechanically.
    However, should you get into difficulty just ask on here or on www.bmwcarclubireland.com/forum - more than likely there is a simple DIY fix.

kbannon wrote:
    Congrats on your new motor - wear it well.
    BMWs are as tempermental as other cars in all reality. Newer cars tend to have more electrical problems whereas older cars tend to break down mechanically.
    However, should you get into difficulty just ask on here or on www.bmwcarclubireland.com/forum - more than likely there is a simple DIY fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Good luck with your new motor :)

And...do you like it?

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote:
    And...do you like it?
    @Powerhousedan - wait for a bit of rain, go to a quiet spot and use the throttle and steering wheel. Then answer that question. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Would some of the above go for a E30 3XX to?
    I'm seriously considering looking for one (if insurance is reasonable for me) in the not to distant future.
    WHY? I dont know, i just like the look of them (obviuosly a M or sport would be the ultimate) and the longer i wait the less good ones there will be i guess.

Jozi

My Uncle Bought a 90 E30 320i Savage Car, Lovely looking inside and out. He paid about 3k for it but he hasnt had any problems with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

I've had both an Integra 1.6 16v coupe and an E36 316i SE. Totally different cars as you all pointed out. Integra was more fun, but totally impracticle. Bimmer is a comfortable cruiser - more the family mans car. Slow as a snail due to the small engine and big weight, but perfect if you're doing long miles and like the thought of having ABS to get you out of tricky situations !

I changed becuase some scanger whisked the Integra away and never came back ! Family reasons (waa waa) meant I needed a 5-door anyway.

My 94 E36 had 52K genuine on the clock 30 months ago. It now has 106. All I've ever had to do is service it, and change the shocks. Touch wood, it's been solid as a rock so get the right one and take care of it and it's a winner.

One point to note is that the E36 is not the safest of cars to be in an accident in as pointed out by it's Euro NCAP results. I don't see test results for the Integra for some reason. Just thought I'd point that out.

Good luck with the car. Mine has certainly served me well.

kbannon wrote:
    wait for a bit of rain, go to a quiet spot and use the throttle and steering wheel. Then answer that question. :D

Ah but in fairness most superior cars (*coughs* as in RWD not necessarily BMW) will do this :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭PlayaFlow

kbannon wrote:
    @Powerhousedan - wait for a bit of rain, go to a quiet spot and use the throttle and steering wheel. Then answer that question. :D

errm , Yeah , more like wait for a bit of ICE and SNOW and maybe an Engine transplant and then answer that question .

I tried spinning my freinds 316 on dry , 5000rpm clutch drops and nothing!-revs just die down .
    tsk tsk tsk, pitifull.

oh btw, clutch was new and not slipping.

PlayaFlow wrote:
    I tried spinning my freinds 316 on dry , 5000rpm clutch drops and nothing!-revs just die down

Car was faulty or your driving was faulty :)

It's easier in the wet though. If it's dry I prefer the beach

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Definitely go for the BMW over the Honda. forget all that crap about 4 cylinder BMW's being crap. These are nice refined engines and the car will be vastly more comfortable than any Honda, and much quieter too. The later cars are obvioulsy better, dont buy a '92, alkthough any problems will be sorted by now so just check for crash damage and get a decent spec.
    Tapping on an older 316i at low revs is normal, usually sticky lifters or slightly worn cam and every mechanic i'v talked to and sites i'v been on say there is no solution but no problems because of it, just slightly annoying in closed spaces, sometimes if its just the oil sprayers clogged and engine flush and oil change will do the trick.

This is not quite true. Once the engine starts tapping the damage is done and its caused by infrequent oil changes or poor quality oil which causes the spray bar to clog and this starves the cam and rockers of oil.

The only complete cure is replacement of cam and all rockers. This sounds expensive and the main "stealers" would charge a grand for the job. I did it last month on a friends car for about €250. If you are any good at DIY its straightforward, about 4 hours, parts from GSF as a kit !

Good luck !

DIY isent a problem i've a friend who would fix it for me if something went wrong so thats always good to know. Another Question for ye. To make the Bmw nicer i want to get the bumpers spray as they are not colour coded how much roughly would this cost, Also anyone recom a nice pair of alloys for the e36?

I'm looking at a E36 316i coupe automatic 1996 - what do yiz think? It's got 69000 miles on the clock. Do yiz reckon theres much mileage left in the gearbox? Are they 4 speed or what?

To make the Bmw nicer i want to get the bumpers spray as they are not colour coded how much roughly would this cost

one of the guys who did bodywork jobs for the garage I bought mine from quoted me 200/250 to do this two and a half years ago. sounded too cheap to me (could be wrong), plus I didn't have the cash at the time so I passed.

well worth doing though - makes a big difference. mine still has it's grey skirts, but I'm passed caring at this stage !

Yeah as its my First car(Well Owning one) I want to make it look good, None of the Boy racer crap just nicely done.
    m_stan wrote:
    one of the guys who did bodywork jobs for the garage I bought mine from quoted me 200/250 to do this two and a half years ago. sounded too cheap to me (could be wrong), plus I didn't have the cash at the time so I passed.

well worth doing though - makes a big difference. mine still has it's grey skirts, but I'm passed caring at this stage !

yeah - no 'lexus' lights or windscreen stickers pleeeease !!! none of that tacky **** looks good on a bmw. make some subtle changes like clear indicator lamps, body coloured bumpers, nice wheels and tyres and it'll look fantastic and nowhere near its age

good luck with it !

I'm looking at a E36 316i coupe automatic 1996 - what do yiz think? It's got 69000 miles on the clock. Do yiz reckon theres much mileage left in the gearbox? Are they 4 speed or what?

I'v got a e36 auto ... gearbox should just ... go and go .. and go...

mines a 92 with 83k on it .. once you get the tranny oil changed every 20-30k after the first 80k (the lifetime of bmw lifetime tranny fluid) it should run for years.

its a 4 speed gearbox ... and you can use it as manual if you really want ;)

Deevey, has your E36 got an electric aerial or do they just come with standard aerials.

My aerial is internal, maybe inside the window column :confused: .. perfect reception though ... not that I listen to the radio much.

I have been wondering the past few days where it is... Anyone know where i can get a convertor for the Bmw radio its a different connection compared to the new Cd players the Aerial Connection is all different.
    deevey wrote:
    My aerial is internal, maybe inside the window column :confused: .. perfect reception though ... not that I listen to the radio much.

maplin / peats or rickards do em.

The aerial on my new stereo (tevion) was the same as the BMW one, but I had to fit ISO connetion onto the BMW cabling... the color coding wasnt standard though either was the voltage (24 v dc ???? on one cable) a multimeter is your friend... ;)