Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I mean come on!?

• 21-08-2005 1:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭

Ok is it just girls i meet or does the majority of the female population of ireland prefer to be treated like dirt by scum that go after drunk girls for the one purpose of getting off with them, or they stay with some guys that say s*** like "I'd kill myself if i ever lost you". Im sure we all know a few people like this, i could name at least 3 people localy, that would be in the running for the biggest scum bag in ireland, and they get all these girls swarming around them.

So girls do you like getting treated badly or what, because im just confused at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Sue*

R0ot wrote:
    Ok is it just girls i meet or does the majority of the female population of ireland prefer to be treated like dirt by scum that go after drunk girls for the one purpose of getting off with them, or they stay with some guys that say s*** like "I'd kill myself if i ever lost you". Im sure we all know a few people like this, i could name at least 3 people localy, that would be in the running for the biggest scum bag in ireland, and they get all these girls swarming around them.

So girls do you like getting treated badly or what, because im just confused at this point.

there is that bad boy quality that attract us girls..however if im honast im getting sick of that. i would love if a guy would like me for me and appreciate me, instead of trying to just get into my pants. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

It's the caveman instinct: the bastard types are the good hunters (or something like that.)

And a lot of girls are screwed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

sometimes its more that its only that 'bad boys' that will make the move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

dublindude wrote:
    And a lot of girls are screwed up.
    So are a lot of guys.

kind of off topic: but its always easy to tell whos online when u seem to be posting around the same person the whole time, heh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭wtfpwned

sometimes i am amazed, to the point of laughter, at how stupid alot of girls can be.i see it year in year out.this is a basic formula i have created to simplify what i am wanting to say

boy A = loser
    boy A = not very physically attractive
    boy A = not very smart
    boy A = has not much going for him
    girl A = loser
    girl A = very physically attractive
    girl A = not very smart, but significantly smarter than boy A
    girl A = has potential

boy B = winner
    boy B = physically attractive
    boy B = smarter than girl A and boy A
    boy B = has alot going for him
    boy B = nice guy

a young girl A meets a young boy B, and they get along famously.a young girl A meets a young boy A, nothing happens.static.

a somewhat older girl A meets a somewhat older boy A, and he is pretty much a loser.Boy A buys a suped up 1991 honda civic, with plastic spoilers and some other cheaply assorted shiny apparell.girl A sticks by boy A, and rides around in his car.they both ride around and blare loud music; its the same music that everyone else is blaring.he's wearing a navy tracksuit pants, a fake gold crucifix and a celtic jersey.she's wearing gold hoopy earrings, a miniskirt, an onterage of various cheaply bought makeups, and a low-cut top.they're the exact same as everyone else, because they are insecure, and can't think for themselves.boy B doesn't get a car, he doesn't need one right now.he saves his money and spends it on other things.boy B doesn't get girl A, since she looks down at him simply because he doesn't have a car.

everyone in this scenario is middle-class, and none of them are stricten with poverty.

it's a shame the way alot of people turn out these days.i hope all the girl A's and Boy A's are mutilated or killed in a mass genocide that coincidentally just kills all people of their type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

This is something which gets to me as well. I think it must be the whole "treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen" thing, and it certainly seems to work as far as I can see. Guess that's where I'm going wrong! :D

I definitely think the old saying "Nice guys finish last" is very true, I'm afraid. Believe me, I know! :(

Do you know what really gets on my goat, though. The girls who are always complaining about how badly fellas treat them, yet continue to flock towards the real bastards of this world like flies to shít. Or girls who are always going on about how badly their boyfriend treats them, yet they stay with them. If you're that fed up of him, just WALK AWAY!

This is something which gets to me as well. I think it must be the whole "treat 'em mean, keep 'em keen" thing, and it certainly seems to work as far as I can see. Guess that's where I'm going wrong! :D

I definitely think the old saying "Nice guys finish last" is very true, I'm afraid. Believe me, I know! :(

Do you know what really gets on my goat, though. The girls who are always complaining about how badly fellas treat them, yet continue to flock towards the real bastards of this world like flies to shít. Or girls who are always going on about how badly their boyfriend treats them, yet they stay with them. If you're that fed up of him, just WALK AWAY!

yeah that is a textbook psychological problem ALOT of women suffer from.it's very common for women of that nature to have a string of abusive boyfriends, without consciously choosing them to be containing attributes of physical and mental domination.

it works the same way for girls you know. guys go for the "hot" girls regardless of whats going on inside their head.

ok thats a complete stereotype sorry. but i have a lot of friends who are nice, clever, funny, and pretty, that are single, but never seem to get a guy (& not because they dont want 1).

nice girls tend to finish last aswell....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Well im apparently more "friend" material than "boyfriend" material according to the last relationship i was in. (currently shes still with this guy that said the above suicide line to her) :mad:

Well, I'm a nice guy who gets girls easily.

The difference between me and the average "nice guy" is that I'm very confident and ambitious, and I focus on what I want, rather than waiting for someone to give me a helping hand...

You don't have to be a bastard.

R0ot wrote:
    Well im apparently more "friend" material than "boyfriend" material

Oh, believe me pal, I've heard that one before as well! Many's the time, in fact! :D Hence the "having to listen to all the horror stories about how badly their current boyfriend is treating them yet she still won't leave him" stuff I've been subjected to over the years! :D

dublindude wrote:

The difference between me and the average "nice guy" is that I'm very confident and ambitious, and I focus on what I want, rather than waiting for someone to give me a helping hand...

of course you dont have to be a bastard. However you "nice guys" apppear to be few and far between...stop hiding on us girls :p

dublindude wrote:

Let me guess, you're also very good looking and/or have a pretty big wallet. Am I right? ;):D You see, that's where I'm screwed as well, I'm afraid! :D

Sue* wrote:
    of course you dont have to be a bastard. However you "nice guys" apppear to be few and far between...stop hiding on us girls :p

Over here, over here! *waves furiously* :D

Problem is, you can be the nicest guy in the world but if, like me, you're an ugly ba$tard that means you'll only get as far as the "friend" stage with a girl. No girl wants to be seen romantically with Quasimodo, no matter how nice a guy he may be! :D

Let me guess, you're also very good looking and/or have a pretty big wallet. Am I right? ;):D You see, that's where I'm screwed as well, I'm afraid! :D

Seriously, I'm just normal looking (although I'm told my confidence makes me sexy...whatever that means...)

And at the moment I'm fairly broke :)

I'm also a little nerdy too...! (well, I think I am anyway)

Problem is, you can be the nicest guy in the world but if, like me, you're an ugly ba$tard that means you'll only get as far as the "friend" stage with a girl. No girl wants to be seen romantically with Quasimodo, no matter how nice a guy he may be! :D

LOL

Well...

Gym
    GOOD haircut (Toni & Guy)
    Good facial products
    Good diet
    Great clothes...

You can do the best you can. Are you doing the best you can...?

Some of us girls dont always judge a book by its cover... in fact a lot of us girls go for a guy that has a nice personality

a good personaly in itself is such an attractive quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I dunno I've been with a few guys who haven't treated me that well but I certainly didn't go out with them cause of that! Generally they were nice at the beginning and then once we were together I could see what they were really like and once or twice I let them get away with it. Probably cause my self-confidence is practically non-existant! I'm working on that though and if the guy I'm interested in at the min turns out to be horrible I wont stay in touch with him, not worth all the heartache

nice girls don't finish last, ugly girls do.unfortunately, that's how it goes.
    sar84 wrote:
    it works the same way for girls you know. guys go for the "hot" girls regardless of whats going on inside their head.

ok thats a complete stereotype sorry. but i have a lot of friends who are nice, clever, funny, and pretty, that are single, but never seem to get a guy (& not because they dont want 1).

no, it doesn't work the same way for guys and girls.the rules change.

in my formula and scenario, you will note that boy B is more attractive than boy A.however the girl goes for the less attractive guy, because of his material possessions.this is a well known fact.women will seek out guys who have the best material possessions, and who can afford to buy them luxuries(lots of drinks, dinners, jewellery etc), and then physical attraction, while important, is still secondary.

that is where the rules change.the vast majority of guys will look at physical attraction as a primary, and then material posessions will be way down the line in what they're looking for in a woman.

here is a very rough estimate, that is succeptable to change and opinion, but generally breaks down some typical trends in how women seek men

33.33 recurring % of girls will choose the hottest guy, because they have a high sex drive, and find him the most sexually attractive.another motive for this is because having a hot partner will make them look better and more attractive to others.

33.33 recurring % of girls will choose the guy with the most money, and the guy who is most willing to spend money on material possessions to keep the girl happy.this is almost solely so that she can look better and more attractive and powerful to others.there is also an inherent subconscious attraction to power and wealth.

33.33 recurring % of girls will choose the bad guy.this is because danger is attractive for many women.many of them seek out bad boys on a subconscious level, with the belief that they can "change them", and make themselves feel better.there is also a sense of security(which is a fallacy, alot of the time) which leads girls into thinking that they are safe with someone who is perhaps physically strong and protective.

100% of guys will choose looks as a primary and instinctive basis for approaching a woman, lol

dublindude wrote:
    LOL

Well...

Gym
    GOOD haircut (Toni & Guy)
    Good facial products
    Good diet
    Great clothes...

You can do the best you can. Are you doing the best you can...?

Ah Jaysus, that sounds like too much work for me! Think I'll stay single and open another tube of Pringles instead! :D

Actually, bastards are probably very interesting initially - funny, cocky, confident, etc.

It's only later they materialise as bastards.

Might be part of the explanation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

the key is to not be a desperate/needy emo w@nker

80% confidence 20% looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Sue* wrote:

Well I'm not only nice I'm down right lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

1. A lot of ye seem to think ye have all the answers, ye're prob analysing things too much

2. Guess what, girls like sex too. They might not say it but sure they do. Now if the "bad guy" is only lookin for a ride, all the girl wants is a bit of action. So she'll keep Mr.Nice Guy for the friendship, and not complicate things with sex. Think about it, makes perfect sense.

If your good fun to be with you'll be fine. Simple as. **** all that emotions craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Okay, I can see where some of you lads are coming from but in fairness if this lady A is going for Sap A, then she's not really worth worrying about. Sure I know it can get on your tits that she is wasting time with some sap but hey, why let it.

In fairness, some lads are gimps, some girls are twats, that's just the way it is, oh and as for the nice guy crap Read this now There's some truth in that page, you may notice some things you do or tend to do.
    10 Reasons Women (who aren't Heartless Bitches!) Date Jerks Instead of Nice Guys

1. It's more fun to complain about them to her friends.

2. Guys who actually like her just aren't challenging or exciting.

3. When she does date nice guys, they turn into jerks anyway, so why not save time and go for the jerk in the first place?

4. She won't get as emotionally attached to a jerk, so she'll be more in control.

5. All the other women want them, so they must be worth having.

6. Affection means more when it comes from a guy who doesn't normally give it.

7. Guaranteed to cheat on her so someone else can endure his lack of lovemaking skills most of the time.

8. No need to feel guilty for abusing or deceiving them.

9. Jerks will actually tell her when they don't like what she's doing instead of getting mad about it six months later.

10. She was looking for someone she can't trust, and won't care about too much, who will abuse her mentally and financially, but she didn't know any lawyers.

There is no real way that every woman you meet is going to want you, but confidence and a sense of humour can go a long way. Oh and actually doing something about it.

There is no real way that every woman you meet is going to want you

That negative attitude will get you nowhere!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

tbh us men will never understand women, ive tried and failed, and that we'd be better off as friends, i hate that because you dont be friends and you end up out of contact
    ive seen nice looking girls who really go for the bastards who treat them like crap. I was turned down for by a girl so she could be with some guy who she found ended up beating up any new boyfriend she gets.

Me back at single life is ok, ive noticed more cash lying around, so adian hand me some of those pringles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

this is one heck of a complicated situation and has many soloutions and you can analize till your head spins :D a few notes of my own tho

1 nice guys are not a challenge and are boring women want to change us men to be their perfect fella they want a challenge

2 Yes men look at looks women at everything else

3 If a girl want to go with bad boy forget her and her type forever more regardless of her looks it aint worth the hassel she will bring on you

4 Friends. so what move on to the next plenty more fish in the sea but keep close by never know :p sometimes not worth it tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Being a woman myself I must say what puts me off a man is low self esteem , self confidence and proud of who they are is a very good thing . Nothing worse than meeting some guy and he keeps going I cant believe a girl like you would want a guy like me , its just like oh my god if ya dont love yourself how can ya expect someone else to love ya , stop being so bloody needy!

OMG i cant believe people talk to me here, im such an ugly mug that mirrors even break, im not as nice as the hoff, all the girls want the hoff but not me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Sparky_S wrote:
    OMG i cant believe people talk to me here, im such an ugly mug that mirrors even break, im not as nice as the hoff, all the girls want the hoff but not me
    Ah yeah, but it's different when you say it Sparky - when other blokes say that, it's cos they have low self-esteem. When you say it, it's just you statin' the bleedin' obvious!!! ;):p

Well that dont count Sparky sure no man holds a candle to the Hoff , hes got it all , style , talent and oozing with self confidence :)

SebtheBum wrote:
    Ah yeah, but it's different when you say it Sparky - when other blokes say that, it's cos they have low self-esteem. When you say it, it's just you statin' the bleedin' obvious!!! ;):p

yeah thats IT, at last someone who understands :D

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    Well that dont count Sparky sure no man holds a candle to the Hoff , hes got it all , style , talent and oozing with self confidence :)

And a really cool car, and a friend called spongebob :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

Punch her in the face!! to prove your right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I wonder are some of these 'nice guys' only nice in the first place because they have nothing else going for them? It's compensating - in the same way the stereotypical fat girl has to be 'jolly' to make up for whatever else she thinks she doesn't have.

If this is indeed generally so (and I for one believe that it is) then why in all honestly would a woman give you a chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Lads, don't worry about it too much. Plenty of Women out there and what not. Bound to find one eventually I reckon. Just don't get hung up when it doesn't work out. Just move onto the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

R0ot wrote:
    i could name at least 3 people localy, that would be in the running for the biggest scum bag in ireland, and they get all these girls swarming around them.

Yeah i know a person locally, not on friendly terms or anything, he is one of the biggest scumbags you could meet, doesn't treat girls right and is seriously pig ugly! But....he gets the girls

It's a bad boy thing, some women just dig it ;)
    :confused:'s me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I don't think girls who would go out with a lad like that are worth your time perhaps. Best not get too hung up on what another guy gets and think about getting something for yourself perhaps. Sitting around on boards.ie ain't gonna help your cause. Get out there and make things happen for yourself.

would ye really want a girl who`s head is turned by a badly suped up civic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

gazza22 wrote:
    Yeah i know a person locally, not on friendly terms or anything, he is one of the biggest scumbags you could meet, doesn't treat girls right and is seriously pig ugly! But....he gets the girls

It's a bad boy thing, some women just dig it ;)
    :confused:'s me too

bad boy thing?!?!?
    These guys are not the bad boys! they are insecure and sheepish!!!
    The "bad" boys are the type of guys who just dont give a **** such as the original Boy B who is confortable enough to just want to enjoy himself and confortable enough to have mutual respect for girl A which results in a nice happy relationship where Girl A would feel much happier if she gave it a try!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭catsup

The way to a girls heart is gerally through her funny bone, if a guy can make me laugh...its a damn good start. Sense of humour is vitally important. Fat wallet and rugged good looks are further down the list. I personally dont like having stuff bought for me, prefer to pay my own way...without making too much of a fuss about it.

with me an my girlfriend, we do get stuff for each other but its just out of little acts of generosity, there is no big deal made of it or anything. Overall we are very independant people and they day we start feeling as if we have to support each other or somethin is the day we question ourselves.

We both love each other and have a mutual respect. You dont get that with scumbags where their girlfriend is their pproperty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

I wouldn't worry about it too much lads,give it 5 years when mr "exciting" isin't so exciting anymore(probably one step away from a prison cell or the dole) she'll come crawling back.It's at this point that u decide are u still the mouse that she thought u were in the first place or do u tell her u wouldn't touch her with a barge pole and watch the look of shock on her face.Well gentlemen,u decide ?me i'd go with the latter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Mysteryfish

Humour is definetly important, and I'll be honest, of course looks are important, but they're not everything. i find that if you really like someones personality they begin to look more physically attractive too. As far as money and possessions go, well, I've always been told to be wary of guys that want to constantly buy you big exspensive presents as it often is loaded with "what do I get in return?"

And fine, there are lots of nice guys out there but they still only look to the 'hot' girls to go out with, and us merely 'pretty' girls don't get so much as a glance. So maybe a lot of nice girls go for the "bad boys" but couldn't you also say that a lot of the nice guys go for the "hot girls"?

i do admit i would be more interested at the very beggining in a hot girl but thats not to say if i got to know an asthetically mediocre girl i wouldnt like them as much. and not to sound cliche or anythin but a lot of the time the hot girls just play on it too much

catsup wrote:
    The way to a girls heart is gerally through her funny bone, if a guy can make me laugh...its a damn good start. Sense of humour is vitally important. Fat wallet and rugged good looks are further down the list. I personally dont like having stuff bought for me, prefer to pay my own way...without making too much of a fuss about it.

Bang on, if you can make a girl laugh you are 99% sorted....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Sue* wrote:
    Bang on, if you can make a girl laugh you are 99% sorted....

Yup, always works for me. Everyone, girl or boy, is attracted to laughter.

I got sick of going out with sum1 an girlfriends an all that **** bout 3 years ago.(was treated like a f****in doormat for long enough!!)i've just been meeting up with girls, stay with em for a few nights maybe and then move on. From what i see they are more interested in me when i'm less interested in them. treat em like gold for a night then ignore them for a few days when they text you, they'll be over the moon when you text back.
    they smell desperation a mile off.

no matter what anyone tells me the treat em mean keep em keen statement works for me every time. :)