Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

colm o'rourke and the dubs

• 20-08-2005 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭

Colm O'Rourke, is such a muppet,

He couldnt say something nice about the dublin team if they won the all-ireland 10 years in a row!

He totally rights off our chances of doing anything against tyrone next week even thought we forced a draw against them and where all over them first half last week, granted on paper tyrone should be stronger next week, but u dont become leinster champions for nothing,

I would love to meet him and have it out with him. He is a Banana brain with green and gold tinted glasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We'll show him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

but u dont become leinster champions for nothing,
    Oh please!
    Probably the weakest province!

Thought it was funny what he said actually but its all true. Dublin missed there chance. Tyrone should be easy winners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

same for Joe Brolly and Laois.

Brolly is the most hated person in Ireland bby Laois people for the same reasons as stated above.

muppet.

for shame he wasn't there when we beat his beloved Derry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Yeah I thought Brolly was worse than O'Rourke for both Laois and Dublin, yesterday, he was in his element, couldn't wipe that grin off his face.
    At one point someone said that the Laois forwards were good in the opening minutes (which they were) and Brolly just started muttering "oh noooo" under his breath and smirking. So ignorant! If Laois are as bad as he says, then that doesn't say much for his home county does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Try being from Cavan: we get a hard time from Spillane, Tohill and Brolly. The only one who actually sticks up for us is O'Rourke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

Originally posted by dbnavan
    He couldnt say something nice about the dublin team if they won the all-ireland 10 years in a row!

He totally rights off our chances of doing anything against tyrone next week even thought we forced a draw against them and where all over them first half last week, granted on paper tyrone should be stronger next week, but u dont become leinster champions for nothing,

I would love to meet him and have it out with him. He is a Banana brain with green and gold tinted glasses

And why the hell should he have to praise Dublin? I get the feeling from this board that Dublin supporters seem to feel that everyone has to bow down to Dublin and praise anything positive they do. Its been said on different posts and I'll say it again, Dublin get enough priase from their media circus without other people jumping on the bandwagon. And anyway, have Dublin proved him wrong? They were lucky to scrape a draw and they won't win next week so I don't think so.
    Originally posted by jank

Oh please!
    Probably the weakest province!

I'm a Leinster man and its the weakest without a doubt. The level of footballing skill in the province is dire. I had to laugh when people said Leinster football is back this year - why, because Laois managed to beat Derry and Dublin scraped a draw against Tyrone. Cop yourselves on, Armagh showed us the level that Leinster football is at yesterday - men against boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

look we are not the finished article, we all know that, its hard for the capital county not to get hyped up when it's got 1.5 million fans and all the press are based from there. If tyrone are so much superior then us why didnt they beat us?

Loais beat Derry, we beat Laois do the maths!

Dublin are damned if we do and damned if we dont, you'd be the very chap to say something like.......I.5 million men and you cant get 15 decent footballers.....if we were losing.

Even if we lose next week ......Paul Caffery has done us all proud in his first season in charge with how far he brought us this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

dbnavan wrote:
    look we are not the finished article, we all know that, its hard for the capital county not to get hyped up when it's got 1.5 million fans and all the press are based from there. If tyrone are so much superior then us why didnt they beat us?

Loais beat Derry, we beat Laois do the maths!

Dublin are damned if we do and damned if we dont, you'd be the very chap to say something like.......I.5 million men and you cant get 15 decent footballers.....if we were losing.

Even if we lose next week ......Paul Caffery has done us all proud in his first season in charge with how far he brought us this year.

lol...Dubs......was laughing last Sunday week when watching that Sunday morning programs on RTE1/2 and some person rings in and says "it takes Dublin to bring the Championship alive!".......was waiting for presentor to turn around and say "well if you actually watched or knew anything about football then you wouldn't think that!" but they just smiled and carried on as quick as possible!! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Big Nelly wrote:
    lol

I share those sentiments .

has anyone got a feesable arguement to put up? Laughing and quoting others can someone give a football reason why u think dublin are crap, only thing wrong as far as I can see is we need someone other then Jason up front, with alan brogan but we have one of the best defences going, nobody has made one sensible against me yet, must be all ABD's (anyone but dublin) we are still leinster champions and that was no fluke. not our fault there isnt another team in the provience that can touch us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

IMO the difference between Dublin last year and this year is management. Most same players with a new hunger.

Personally I think tyrone should beat em but tyrone find it very hard to kill games. Also with Tyrone the supply into the forward line goes missing for 30 mins every game.

The point is I dont think there is an allireland in this current bunch of Dublin players. I just can't se em beating Armagh and Kerry even if they do get by Tyrone next week.

I dont think Dublin midfield is good enough to compete with the Armagh or Kerry. Whelan's disappearing act is beyond a joke at this stage. He is fierce unwilling to do dog work required when loose play kick and catch game tightens up.

Backs are good. Good as a unit and well organised and cluxton is a good keeper. I just wonder how they would handle big strong forwards like armagh and kerry.

Cullen is class, Brogan is very good, sherlock is good but there is not a prolific scoring forward. You need a dude that can guarantee 5-6 points a game before he even begins to get inspired. Dublin dont have that in my opinion.

They have been gettin a lot of scores from out the field which is helping them but wont happen against Tyrone the next day or against Armagh or Kerry ever. Those guys dont let the likes o'shaughnessy, midfielders run the length of the pitch for inspirational scores. they track back. block runners etc.

thats my own opinion. its why i cant see it happening. BUT at the end of the day any team can beat anyone on a given day. It doesnt matter if Dublin played armagh and kerry 10 times they would lose 9. They only play em once so only have to beat em once. So could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

As province winners, they are the weakest of the four imo.

People generally dislike the dubs.

try and win one, first.

bazH wrote:

try and win one, first.

hmmmm....wait...no, I think we've already done that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭CCOVICH

dbnavan wrote:
    has anyone got a feesable arguement to put up? Laughing and quoting others can someone give a football reason why u think dublin are crap, only thing wrong as far as I can see is we need someone other then Jason up front, with alan brogan but we have one of the best defences going, nobody has made one sensible against me yet, must be all ABD's (anyone but dublin) we are still leinster champions and that was no fluke. not our fault there isnt another team in the provience that can touch us.

You beat Laois with a kick in the last minute. I'd say that's touching distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I have to agree about Brolly .. I dislike him to no end, all he can see is uslter football, I find O rourke to be a slight muppet but then hes from meath so why whouldnt I ?

I disagree about this dublin team not having an all ireland in them...but its not this year I think. maybe 2007/8 ?? excellent progress made this year and its very possible we can get another skin of our teeth win against Tyrone.

Like Mickey Heart said( I think) who ever learns the most from the last day will win.
    Im really enjoying my multiple visits to Croke Park this yearlong may it last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Triton wrote:
    The level of footballing skill in the province is dire. I had to laugh when people said Leinster football is back this year - why, because Laois managed to beat Derry and Dublin scraped a draw against Tyrone. Cop yourselves on, Armagh showed us the level that Leinster football is at yesterday - men against boys.
    The second best team in Leinster beating the third best team in Ulster means nothing.
    The best team in Leinster drawing with the second best team in Ulster means nothing.
    The best team in Ulster beating the second best team in Leinster means Ulster is great and Leinster is krap.
    Hmmm...interesting analysis.

In complete contrast to that, Mighty Mouse produced an intelligent unbiased analysis of his opinion of the Dublin team, whether you agree with everything he says or not.

I agree with his overall conclusion that Dublin are a good team, as good as anything in the country, with the probable exception of Armagh, Tyrone and Kerry - though no team is unbeatable and Dublin came close to beating Tyrone the last day. But there's more than a 50/50 chance that that would be as good as it gets for them. If they lose it will still have been a relatively successful season, silverware in the cabinet and they have been involved in some of the most entertaining games of the season. If they win, they would still be big outsiders to get beyond Armagh and Kerry/Cork to win Sam

I'm not about to start ****eing on about Dublin again. Bottom line is: NOT everyone has to praise Dublin for every positive achievement they make.

Triton wrote:
    I'm not about to start ****eing on about Dublin again.
    Great. Always a positive step when someone stops mouthing on about something they know nothing about :D

Exactly. Where is the positive remarks on this board for the Cork footballers that have made the semis. Dublin make the 1/4 and they get all the praise.

We dont all have to kiss your ass. <- Its what this thread is about at the end of the day.

Win and all ireland, or make the final at least. Then you will get the praise.

Exactly. Where is the positive remarks on this board for the Cork footballers that have made the semis. Dublin make the 1/4 and they get all the praise.

I'd just like to say that I praised the Cork footballers on the thread about the team of the championship. Their game against Galway was the best I've seen in the Championship this year, and that's taking nothing away from the Tyrone vs. Dublin match, its just my opinion.

Like I said then, I'd love to see them go on and beat Kerry in the semi on Sunday. Have to admit though, I'd be for them against anyone but Armagh in the final. Armagh are always my second team after Cavan.

Great. Always a positive step when someone stops mouthing on about something they know nothing about

Attitudes like that are the reason that the majority of the 31 counties will be roaring for Tyrone on Saturday. And I will take joy in watching them kick Dublin home to Parnell Park and out of the Championship because, more than likely, it'll mean an end to listening to ****e about the team. And, from the look of the people replying to the post above, I'm not the only one sick of listening to the Dublin fanclub.

Triton wrote:
    Attitudes like that are the reason that the majority of the 31 counties will be roaring for Tyrone on Saturday. And I will take joy in watching them kick Dublin home to Parnell Park and out of the Championship because, more than likely, it'll mean an end to listening to ****e about the team. And, from the look of the people replying to the post above, I'm not the only one sick of listening to the Dublin fanclub.

Well don't ****in read it then, or else stop complaining about it.
    Supporters from every county try promote their own teams, and it is obvious that there would be more of this from Dublin considering the population.
    Learn to live with it and find something more important to be complaining about.
    (Not just directed at you, Triton, but this is discussed so much on this forum, it's getting a bit annoying.)

Triton, I'm just glad Dublin have made it all the way to the last Sunday in August in the championship this year. 15 weeks of misery for you. Maybe if you concentrated more on counties you like, your life wouldnt be so sad and empty?
    jank wrote:
    Where is the positive remarks on this board for the Cork footballers that have made the semis. Dublin make the 1/4 and they get all the praise.
    Show me the praise please!!!
    Or maybe you just dont read the posts. Because you are wrong, Cork got more praise from neutrals on here for beating Galway (a team clearly not as good as Tyrone) than Dublin did for beating Laois and drawing with Tyrone. Now whether thats deserved or not is not the point, just that you're spreading mis-truths.

Of course there are more Dublin supporters on here than Cork, and the Cork lads that are here seem more interested in hurling. But its only natural that supporters are more positive about their team than neutrals think they should be (also more negative when things go bad). Thats just the way it is with fans who are passionate about their team and sport. And still out of the 7 or 8 Dublin supporters who post here, how many have said we're going to win the All Ireland? None? One? Probably less than half think we'll beat Tyrone, though we'd still be hopeful of pulling it off on the day. There hasnt been one article in the Times, Independent or Examiner (the only newspapers worth discussing in an intelligient debate) saying Dublin should or would win the All Ireland (and I've scanned all 3 most days for GAA articles since the championship began back in early May), none of the RTE panellists have tipped Dublin to win the All Ireland.

Yet all we hear from anti-Dubs like jank is that the Dublin supporters here and the media are talking non-stop about Dublin being the greatest team ever. Its all nonsense and myths, yet if its said enough times some idiots think its the truth. Its tiresome for Dubs, and surely its only proper that we defend our team when they get ridiculed by neutrals for their second half performance against Tyrone, while the first half performance and the late comeback are virtually ignored?

Personally I wouldnt have started a thread about O'Rourke's comments. Most of his career his biggest rivals have been Dublin. He's biased against. No matter what we do he'll give us no praise. That's just the way it is (I'd similarly find it hard to give praise to Meath, though I'd like to think I wouldnt be quite as blinkered), but we get our pleasure if/when we ever do win a big game and get to see his face look like he's sucking a lemon :D

And whatever about the faults Dublin showed in the draw against Tyrone (and the second half v Laois), which have been mentioned a plenty on this and other threads, they did deserve credit for what was an excellent first half performance. The second half was a severe kick in the stomach, suffering a 7 point turnaround including conceding a wonder goal (we havent whinged that the ref missed Mulligan fouling the ball as he changed hands twice after his second toe-tap and before he bounced the ball - thats sport these things happen, it was still a superb goal), but again credit was deserved for having the balls to fight back and get the draw.

Fact is that Dublin are a good team. Definitely one of the top 8 in the country, arguably as high as 4 or 5. Not though in the top 3, albeit on our day we could give one of the top 3 a run for their money, and of course on a bad day we could lose to someone outside the top 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

greetings from corfu,

now i found an internet place and i switch on to see a column about o rourke not praising dublin and saying tyrone will have a field day next saturday against dublin.

the only positive comment o rourke has made for dublin is that they are well organised.other than that it is "i expect laois/tyrone to be too strong opposition for the dubs".

thats coming from a meath man.i don't know why Dublin fans are getting upset about his opinion because it doesn't matter.he'll be proved right or wrong and nobody should care.so far dublin have proved him and the other critics who doubt dublin wrong.

i find it laughable that colm o rourke has criticised and analysed dublin with a fine tooth comb.the only prediction i found substance in when he made it was his half time prediction that laois would come back against offaly and dublin.in fairness they did.

i think its funny however because when i watched o rourke playing for meath he was one of players that seemed to score more wides than points.everytime the dubs win or escape defeat he has that same look on his face (that look of disbelief) as if he kicked a string of wides or cat ran away.

so why should us dublin fans be upset by colm o rourkes prediction.he's usually wrong,so we should be happy because 9 times out of 10 we prove him wrong.i'm more pissed off about that bill gates lookalike wannabe joe brolley rambling on in ignorance that tyrone will run rough shod over dublin.thats a total cop out.he defends ulster football as if nobody else in the other provinces can win.laois certainly wiped the smile off his face and now he's clinging to armagh and tyrone because it is the closest that sam will be to derry.

on a further note,i would like to congratulate dublin and tyrone for the match they put on.i wanted to be there badly that day but i had the pleasure of watching it in "the temple bar" pub in corfu.it was gripping and thrilling.

we had tyrone supporters sitting in the table beside us.great atmosphere.the soccer had to be turned down because everyone was watching the gaa and was really into it.

we talked to the tyrone supporters and we all reached the mutual consensus that both teams were lucky that day.dublin seem to be underdogs for some strange reason.i think its a 50/50 for saturday.

i think a lot of neutral and anti dubs are amazed and wondering how dublin got so good.it is in fact the players who have that hunger to achieve and the management who have led dublin this far.

paul caffrey has stayed away from the media as much as possible,dublin are training behind closed doors,we don't have tommy lyons managing us anymore so we don't have that biased view of kilmacud crokes,na fianna or vincents.i have to give a big shout out to paul caffrey.

it was good to see the two managers embrace emotionally that day.something you would never see much these days.dublin have a lot of spirit this year and if they don't win the all ireland this year (which they probably won't) it will still be a very successful season and one to remember for the dubs as i am sure next year will be judging from the standard of play being displayed from this dublin team

blackbelt wrote:
    greetings from corfu,
    so why should us dublin fans be upset by colm o rourkes prediction.he's usually wrong,so we should be happy because 9 times out of 10 we prove him wrong.i'm more pissed off about that bill gates lookalike wannabe joe brolley rambling on in ignorance that tyrone will run rough shod over dublin.thats a total cop out.he defends ulster football as if nobody else in the other provinces can win.laois certainly wiped the smile off his face and now he's clinging to armagh and tyrone because it is the closest that sam will be to derry.

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I am just wondering if Colm O'Rourke ever ate that straw hat like he promised, if Tyrone won the All-Ireland with Brian Dooher in the team? :D

I actually like Colm O'Rourke. All commentators (like supporters) have a certain amount of bias, and express it in different ways. For example Ger Loghnane is very tough on Clare in his analysis, Joe Brolly always talks up Ulster football etc.

Just ignore it, you won't have to put up with him talking about Dublin after Saturday :p

(Just noticed this is my 666th post :eek: , hope nothing bad happens to Colm O'Rourke!)

thank you marie,we know its the truth.

i must say that dublin have a real chance.i mean everytime they **** up they always make amends for it.so is it any wonder that when dublin let tyrone back into the game,everybody starts jumping on the tyrone bandwagon saying dublin will lose.

its a total cop out from brolley and o rourke and the anti dubs.i have to give michael lester credit for standing up for the dubs.

the dialogue on tv might as well of been.......

o rourke: dublin have been over-riding their luck and i think tyrone will be too strong for dublin.tyrone have had it hard this season having to replay with armagh but i think they are past that now.

joe brolley: well said colm,thank you for criticizing dublin and defending my ulster football.it makes us look better and more formidable.up derry,i mean ulster.

michael lester: what the **** are you guys talking about?have you been watching dublin this year.thay are putting on a football clinic.their fans have been amazing and you make this prediction.shame on you two egg-heads. :rolleyes:

what the **** are you guys talking about?have you been watching dublin this year.thay are putting on a football clinic.their fans have been amazing and you make this prediction.shame on you two egg-heads

no wonder nobody likes dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

...I do believe that was 'tongue_in_cheek* jank :)

Am I the only one windering exactly what a football clinic is!??

And thank god I'm not involved in this one. I'll leave yas to it!

a football clinic means "putting on a great display of football".

jank you say no wonder nobody likes the dubs.well i think to further your point,outsiders hate us cause we are still there and most of them aren't.

Well lets see.

There are 5 teams left. 3 of them in the semi's and 2 in the 1/4s.

Why would people form those 3 counties care about dublin (especailly when they are going to be eliminated tomorrow.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Flukey wrote:
    We'll show him.

lol, no ye didnt! I, along with the rest of the population that doesnt live in dublin, cannot stop smiling now that this dublin circus is over. Hopefully now the media will finally see dublin for what they really are - an average side who still have a long way to go to be up there with the kerrys and the armaghs. Ye talk about your dublin football clinics annd how we should bow to your greatness, but in fact all you have to do is watch the dublin - tyrone replay today. Dublin were outclassed in every position, simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭mayto

yipeeee, now we wont have to see the sport pages full of articles on dublin, their luck finally ran out and showed how bad they really are ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Totaly agree with deise59 here.
    Dublin have been the best team in Leinster ,big deal as the rest of us are terrible making Dublin very average indeed.
    I must say i do enjoy the hype when dublin are playing because i know yet again this hype is exactly that "hype" with nothing to back it up on the pitch.
    I do like this present Dublin manager for a change,i think hes a decent man who carries out his business very well.
    I also like some of the dublin players,brogan can be class,that cullen guy can kick a point but overall they are a long way off the top teams.
    They showed great heart with never say die attitude and i must applaud them for that but they along with the rest of us are on a different planet to Armagh,Tyrone,Kerry,Cork and even Galway.

Who is colm o'rourke? :)

I'm not strong in the ways of the Force but even I can sense that there is trouble ahead on this thread....

well deise i guess you took as much pleasure in seeing dublin being knocked out like a lot of cork fans did in watching cork toss your salad,smoke your @$$ and knock you out of the hurling.so don't get on your high horse.only people from cork,galway,armagh,tyrone and kerry can do that now.

i was at the match today and was very disappointed.i think its silly how jank and a few others really hate a county so much that its like a personal issue to them if dublin succeed or fail.

hell,i'll be one of the first to say dublin were a let down today.i left ten mins before the end.i have to congratulate tyrone on winning although i hate them for their half time antics.jayo getting assaulted and even officials were under attack.

tyrone played lovely football and had some nice things to say after the match but the way they behaved before leaving the pitch at half time was a big disappointment.it makes me wonder.i was in the hogan behind the tunnel and saw this poor official who was trying to do his job get pushed around and abuse thrown in his face....for what?poor reflection on some of those players.im not saying dublin were complete angels either.

i think armagh will have tyrone for dinner on the next outing.i thought their annihilation of laois was a bigger warning than tyrones victory today.

ps colm o rourke is a gaa analyst on rte.he's on most sundays and on the sunday game highlights.you must know who he is even if you are in two channel land jank :rolleyes:

deise59 wrote:
    lol, no ye didnt! I, along with the rest of the population that doesnt live in dublin, cannot stop smiling now that this dublin circus is over. Hopefully now the media will finally see dublin for what they really are - an average side who still have a long way to go to be up there with the kerrys and the armaghs. Ye talk about your dublin football clinics annd how we should bow to your greatness, but in fact all you have to do is watch the dublin - tyrone replay today. Dublin were outclassed in every position, simple as that.

I for one have never seen anyone say that Dublin were up there with the "Kerrys or Armaghs"...certainly not on this board anyway. All the Dubs here have always clearly stated that we know we're not as good as the "big 3 ", we're just proud of our performance this year cos it's a big improvement on last year. Now get over it.
    I was on the hill today and I've watched it on TV and the best team definitely won. Although imo it shouldn't have been a penalty...:)

blackbelt wrote:
    cork,galway,armagh,tyrone and kerry can do that now.

Why thank You :)
    blackbelt wrote:
    i was at the match today and was very disappointed.i think its silly how jank and a few others really hate a county so much that its like a personal issue to them if dublin succeed or fail.

Yes we are all out to get you

blackbelt wrote:
    ps colm o rourke is a gaa analyst on rte.he's on most sundays and on the sunday game highlights.you must know who he is even if you are in two channel land jank :rolleyes:

Maybe i used the wrong smiliey so ill say it again

Who is colm o'rourke? ;)

Well lads....and ladies,

I got it wrong and I admit it, thought the game would have been closer in the end, dubs got my hopes up with some good early scores second half, but on the dasy tyrone just showed us the gap between Leinster and Ulster Football. And fair play to them, wish them all the best for the next round.

Dublin are at least 3 or 4 players short of an all ireland team. Sherlock has had his day I think, too much weight on Whelans shoulders, even though it was great to see dessie back, and possibliy should have come on early but it shows the weakness of Dublin Football when we need to rely on a dessie to get a goal at this stage in his career.

Back to the drawing board. I hate the tought of the fact next championship game is so far away, maybe league should become higher profile, but thats a different debate.

Well done tyrone and to all the guys on here that proved me wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I wouldn't be too despondent dbnavan, Dubs are on the right track with this manager.

The top 8 counties in the country are this years provincial Finalist, the beaten finalist all won through to the 1/4 finals to back this up.

Armagh, Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo, Galway, Dublin, Laois, Cork

On any given day, any of these teams can beat the other, however consistency and the ability to continuously play at a high tempo and standard is what sets the Big 3 apart from the others.

The other major thing that sets these 3 teams above the others is the strength in depth on the bench, they can replace players from their original starting line up without diminishing the quality of their team (often they improve it) ... the other teams don't have that luxury.... they also high quality management structures. These teams did not just happen overnight, they have been moulded and shaped for the last 10/12 years.....so it takes time.

On any given day, any of these teams can beat the other, however consistency and the ability to continuously play at a high tempo and standard is what sets the Big 3 apart from the others.

Not so sure about that. If this weekend showed anything, its that the 'big three' are pulling away from the rest.

it appears that way but i look forward to the day that teams from connacht,munster and in particular leinster stand up to these teams from ulster and knock them out like they used to years ago.

i don't like this supposed ulster "dominance" in football.being from dublin and given the history of all irelands between us and kerry,i would like to see kerry win sam.

as of next year,who knows what will happen.i predict kerry will be there in the final next year again and dublin to reach the quarter finals or even the semi finals.

i expect to see other counties like limerick,mayo to reach the quarters alongside galway.dublin,armagh,tyrone,kerry and either derry or donegal.

i think kerry will dominate football for the next 5 or 6 years with teams like armagh,tyrone and mayo contesting.but as far as the big three are concerned,i can't see them losing out a whole lot from now on.

This 'Ulster Dominance' is a load of tripe. Without a doubt Armagh and Tyrone are 2 of the best 3 in the country at the moment ... but the point is 'at the moment' .... it is simply a batch of players at this point in time, and superb management and conditioning.

Like Kerry took a lead in football training and preperation in the mid 70's, Armagh and Tyrone have brought athletism and physique to a new level in football now... the other teams will and are catching on.

Kerry learned their previous lessons from Ulster teams and roasted Mayo last year, Mayo beat Tyrone off the pitch last year and were within a kick of the ball of Kerry this year, so it's close enough up there at the top.
    Dublin drew with Tyrone this year,

I hope Kerry win, as it is for the good of football.

Culchie wrote:
    I hope Kerry win, as it is for the good of football.

In what way? How will what Kerry does have an effect on any other county?

Was Tyrone's display against Dublin on Saturday not good to watch? Or is it just becuase they are an Ulster team that it will be labelled as 'physical' or 'dirty' or (as I have seen on this forum recently) 'vomit inducing'?

If you want to stereotype, fine. Just be careful though, because it would be very easy to stereotype Mayo.

No, I don't think I'm stereo typing at all. You said the word stereotype, not me.

I think the football Kerry play is far more attractive and thus has longer term benefit for Gaelic Football.

Kerry have learned their hard lessons from recent years, and have taken the admirable defensive and team working ethos that Armagh and Tyrone possess, but not needed to resort to the thuggish elements that they also possess.

They play football hard, skillfully and fair.

That is the benefit for Gaelic Football.

P.S Don't try and make out I'm some sort of Mayo promoter here, as I'm not, so keep your childish 'pot stirring' remarks for others that may fall into your wee Monday morning argument trap.

This isn’t an ‘argument trap’, please don’t feel you have to respond to any of my posts.

Calling me ‘childish’ (and ‘patronising’ in another thread) and accusing me of ‘pot stirring’ doesn’t really bother me, but I think it makes you look ‘childish’, why don’t you just point out faults with what I’ve said rather than resorting to mild insults?

You accuse Tyrone of being ‘thuggish’. What about the behaviour of Tomas O’Se in certain games this year? What about the antics of the Gooch when he’s stung?

You say Kerry play hard, skilful and fair. In another thread, you say that (referring to Dublin and Tyrone) that both teams played ‘hard and fair’. So what’s the difference between Kerry and Tyrone?

Gaelic football is bigger than any one team. That’s why I take issue with the point that Kerry need to win for the good of football. Kerry did nothing in the late 80s and early 90s, and Gaelic football survived. I would have liked to see Cork win yesterday (if they were any good) because it would be nice to see a more competitive championship, i.e. more teams competing to win the All Ireland, not just their own provincial titles.

I defend Ulster football, because I’m from Ulster, and I don’t like seeing all teams in Ulster tarred with the same brush (i.e. stereotyped). I don’t think that there are many (if any) similarities between Tyrone and Armagh’s style of play, or their tactics. So I don’t think it is right that you lump them together.

But you are entitled to say what you want about Ulster football. Equally, I am entitled to disagree with you. Like I said above, if you don’t want to respond, don’t. I wasn’t/am not trying to stir anything, I am just disagreeing with you.

and you keep using the stereo typing reference.

I think that if you are suggesting that Tyrone and Armagh do not have a more thuggish and dirty element to their play than any other of the championship contenders (Top 8) then you are deluding yourself and not being honest.

Sure Kerry get a few digs in when they can, as do Mayo or Dublin etc..., it's part of the game. However the knees in the throat/back/face syndrome and consistent thumps and spoiling tactics are definitely more prevalent from T & A.

Having said that, they sure can play football, as was proven especially in the first Tyrone/Dublin game, in fact Tyrone are a better 'football' team than Armagh (IMHO) and should stick to it.

I think the most irritating thing that gets the 'Southern' teams and GAA followers backs up, is not the way the top 2 Ulster teams play football as such, but the way they cry foul and plead they are being predujiced against and claim unfair and unjust treatment and bad press. (e.g Ryan McMenamin, Paul McGrane cases etc...)

If Ulster football recognised their faults, and the threats they bring to the longer term consequences they have for Gaelic Football instead of whinging about receiving unfair press and comment, then they would be better off.

I also didn't say Kerry need to win anything, lol, they have enough titles to shake a stick at.... what I said was I would prefer to see Kerry and their brand of football win, rather than T & A's way of doing things.....that's what I said..... and that will be better for football, showing that there is more than one way to skin a cat.