Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing Twister in the middle of grafton street

• 18-08-2005 11:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22

me and a couple of friends played twister in the middle of grafton street there yesterday it was the best craic going :):D seriously we raised about 14 euro doing it too... then later we tried to build a human pyramid which was a huge failure but had a slight success for 4 seconds at one time, ah well :D just wonderin did anyone see us :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭narommy

No I didn't see you but i went for a walk that way today and the amount of crappy acts was unreal.

What's the story abount the mimes? Good for tourists i suppose.

Saw a brilliant 3piece violin act tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

more suited to afterhours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

JokkWylde wrote:
    me and a couple of friends played twister in the middle of grafton street there yesterday it was the best craic going :):D seriously we raised about 14 euro doing it too... then later we tried to build a human pyramid which was a huge failure but had a slight success for 4 seconds at one time, ah well :D just wonderin did anyone see us :confused::confused::confused:

What time were you there at?

Normally the only act I like is the guitarist guy. I can't say I'ce ever seen anyone playing Twister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Kazaanova

JokkWylde wrote:
    just wonderin did anyone see us :confused::confused::confused:

Several news crews from the likes of NBC and Sky News probably picked it up, yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Bummer I missed it!!
    Sounds like one of the most original acts out there though.
    Fair Play :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

how would playing Twister be counted as an act?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

Twister is certainly a change from the 'statue' mimes. Anybody else feel the urge to punch the 'Conductor' fella??!!
    I do like the guy with the slide guitar though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Mossy Monk wrote:
    how would playing Twister be counted as an act?
    If you do it in the raw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

When I was in Dublin there was a guy who was playing drums on pots and pans... Was really good to watch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Kermitt wrote:
    Anybody else feel the urge to punch the 'Conductor' fella??!!

The little Asian guy does my head in. What a nut!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭miss_gonzo

people gave you money for that??

thats a waste

should be going to those who actually need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭daywalker

JokkWylde wrote:

was on me way home at 5pm and saw your failed attempt at human pyramid, about 3 people high, though you were all on all fours for different reason ;)
    about the only people applauding were the stoopid tourists :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 897 ✭✭✭oxygen_old

Kermitt wrote:
    Anybody else feel the urge to punch the 'Conductor' fella??!!
    I hate that guy,and that other ejjit who holds out a feather just high enough so you either have to duck or have it rub ur head. I mean there not mime artist, their nothing, less than nothing. Their pest on Grafton Street,and the worst thing is they actually build up a bit of a crowd as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Chavster

For originality the best act i've seen in the street is the plink plonk guy. I've only seen him in galway but friends have seen him elswhere as well.

He plays the plink plonk song (ie, him going plink plink plink plonk plonk plink plink plonk etc etc) on a cardboard guitar, he has a cardboard dog and the donations are for it's dog food. The best touch though is that he has a music stand with the words to the song on it!

The thing that annoys me about acts on grafton street is that when a crowd forms it takes up the WHOLE width of the street with a huge empty space in the middle. People are forced to walk through the 5 feet or so of gaps at either side (fortunately i'm ignorant enough to plow through the middle :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

Pfft, child's play.
    The best act I've ever seen was the bananaman outside the Louvre in Paris. Now that guy knew how to put on a show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

grimloch wrote:
    What time were you there at?

Normally the only act I like is the guitarist guy. I can't say I'ce ever seen anyone playing Twister.

I hate that guy, for some reason he makes my blood boil. Maybe its because he plays the same three songs over and over. Haleluighahsiaaaa and satisfaction. No one should ever play Satisfaction, the stones are the only band that could cover that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Kiera wrote:
    The little Asian guy does my head in. What a nut!!!

I dont think he is as bad as that crazy aisin lady. You know the one that "dances" to shrieky songs with a big grin on her face. She is allways about at night, it really freaks me out when Im locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

joejoem wrote:
    I dont think he is as bad as that crazy aisin lady. You know the one that "dances" to shrieky songs with a big grin on her face. She is allways about at night, it really freaks me out when Im locked.
    i thought she was a he

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

whos that indian jones guy with the crap magic act watch for ten minutes once and he never got to his trick, he was really bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

Ye i saw you playin twister, me and me mates thought you were spas tbh.

I hate the bloke that has that stupid bird whistle thing, it does my head in.

The bloke playin the slide guitar is called matt and hes really cool just to talk to, bought his album when he used to sell it and its actually quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

Kermitt wrote:
    Twister is certainly a change from the 'statue' mimes. Anybody else feel the urge to punch the 'Conductor' fella??!!
    YES! :eek:

Didn't see ye playing twister yesterday.... pity 'cos I walked down there a few times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 JokkWylde

ah you should stayed we got a 20 person one goin

yeah that bird whistle guy came up to us and asked us to move because we were stealin his business... so we all turned around to him and shouted WHAT ****ING BUSINESS....CAPPER. GET A REAL JOB

JokkWylde wrote:
    ah you should stayed we got a 20 person one goin

Please explain the mechanice of such a game? :)

Is there even 20 squares on the mat? Unless a jumbo sized mat of some description was employed.

lol sorry i meant a 20 person human pyramid

also if you thought we were spa's you shoulda seen the bastard who stole our idea and bought a twister mat and played it the very next day in temple bar at central bank ON HIS OWN FOR AN HOUR... now thats a spa (also when he was playin twister with us he was obsessed with gettin the lads into sexual positions... the puff)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Malorkus

JokkWylde wrote:
    Kooky students...

well... meh i dunno techniacally im not a student :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

joejoem wrote:

I gave her a few euro one drunken night. Thought she was good. I'm disappointed now that I know it wasn't some one-off thing and she does it every night :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

My favourite was always 'Mad Rosie' who used could regularily be seen at the rank on the top of O'Connell St back in the mid to late 90s

She wasn't looking for money, I think she was just a bit off and her 'act' basically consisted of singing to herself and flailing her arms around like she was the belle of the ball.

Haven't seen her since the spike went up and they started re-doing OCS. Ah the things you lose to progress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

'mad rosie' wasn't exactly a busker :D

that asian girl who dances on grafton street got the bejesus kicked out of her on grafton street recently. so disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Mad Rosie is still there. I can, sadly, verify this (I think we're talking about the same person). She can be seen on Sunday's near the spire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

joejoem wrote:

She is ****ing mental. She lost the head at a friend of mine for no reason whatsoever and chased her down the street screaming and shouting in Chinese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

is that death metal guitarist still playing on grafton street?
    He looks a bit like slash and is american. he stands there and knocks out power chords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

yossarin wrote:
    is that death metal guitarist still playing on grafton street?
    He looks a bit like slash and is american. he stands there and knocks out power chords.

No, sadly he's moved on to pastures new. He could never actually play anything reckognisable, just the same four power chords over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

NoelRock wrote:
    Mad Rosie is still there. I can, sadly, verify this (I think we're talking about the same person). She can be seen on Sunday's near the spire.

I've seen her near the spire too. So odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

When I was in Dublin there was a guy who was playing drums on pots and pans... Was really good to watch!

agreed! he is amazing tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Anyone seen that homeless guy who walks up and down Grafton street with a phone cover on his nose? He talks to himself too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

do you know the Lepreachaun mime with the silver dog mask for a face.
    My mate slapped his arse and he didnt even move.

some day I will push the mimes over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

My friend hugged the white statue person from behind and it bent his hands back completely.

The best one has to be the insane preacher- the one who cries and shouts through his megaphone that we're all going to hell- haven't seen him for a while though. Used to be just Henry Street, but Grafton street as well now.

There was a guy on Grafton street who used to make these cool paintings of outer space, with various spraypaints and flower pots.

Pigman II wrote:
    My favourite was always 'Mad Rosie' who used could regularily be seen at the rank on the top of O'Connell St back in the mid to late 90s

She wasn't looking for money, I think she was just a bit off and her 'act' basically consisted of singing to herself and flailing her arms around like she was the belle of the ball.

Haven't seen her since the spike went up and they started re-doing OCS. Ah the things you lose to progress!

It's Mad Mary, isn't it?

http://www.fantasyjackpalance.com/fjp/photos/people/0code/woman-mad-mary-1.html

karlh wrote:
    that asian girl who dances on grafton street got the bejesus kicked out of her on grafton street recently. so disgusting.

That's ****ing terrible :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

There was a guy on Grafton street who used to make these cool paintings of outer space, with various spraypaints and flower pots.

I thought he sucked. "You like pyramids dont ya kid? Everyone likes pyramids"

Does anyone know that weird sort of Indian looking guy with white make up on who sort of moans and hits sticks together? Can be seen on Grafton Street from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Lauragoesmad

in sanfrancisco there is a homeless guy called the bush man, he holds two big ferns over his face and kinda hides. then he jumps out on ppl and scares them and about 10 feet away he has a sign saying if he scares u u have to give him a dollar. i saw him nearly kick the head off this asshole who wouldnt pay up. he's the coolest employee of the street. if yr ever in sanfrancisco go and see him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Exit wrote:

Ah mad Mary. We used to buy a can of coke and drink it in front of her just so she’d go into the rant about” going to hell for drinking out of tin” God I miss her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Exit wrote:

Jesus mad Mary, havent seen her around in years. She was like a fixture in O Connell st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Chavster

in sanfrancisco there is a homeless guy called the bush man, he holds two big ferns over his face and kinda hides. then he jumps out on ppl and scares them and about 10 feet away he has a sign saying if he scares u u have to give him a dollar. i saw him nearly kick the head off this asshole who wouldnt pay up. he's the coolest employee of the street. if yr ever in sanfrancisco go and see him.

Let me get this right, a bum intimidates people into giving him money and when they don't want to pay he gets violent? (which makes him cool apparently) If you don't give in to his intimidation you're an asshole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pearsquasher

3 infamous dublin street folks:

- the dice man. Most famous dublin street guy ever.

- bang bang... a tramp that used to go "bang bang" at folks with his finger.

- does that fench bus-driver who juggles on the 16 count? Lets call him "Le Busdriver"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭ExoduS 18.11

Chavster wrote:
    Let me get this right, a bum intimidates people into giving him money and when they don't want to pay he gets violent? (which makes him cool apparently) If you don't give in to his intimidation you're an asshole?
    Yes.