Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl FTA kit €99.99 25/08/05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭taung

Doesn't seem to be any major difference between this one and this last one.....satellite receiver has cosmetic changes, LNB looks different...that's about it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Barryo

Doesn't say, but deos anyone know what size the dish is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭Zaphod

The German offer included a 57cm dish.

lidl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Rippy

Notice this one has a RF modulator.
    Last one was scart only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭kkennedy

This is not a RF modulator, its a LNB connector for a second Sat box. Is the same on the SL55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,346 ✭✭✭✭Tony

kkennedy wrote:
    This is not a RF modulator, its a LNB connector for a second Sat box. Is the same on the SL55

Yes it should be marked IF out

https://satellite.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Angry_Man

Just wondering, does anyone know a decent site listing FTA channels that this thing could pick up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

www.lyngsat.com is pretty good. your best bet would be Astra 1 and Hotbird imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Lennoxschips

http://www.lidl.nl/nl/index.nsf/pages/c.o.oow.20050822.p.Digitale_satelliet_ontvanger

Same setup, 89.99 in Holland. Must be the extra transport costs to Ireland.

I know you can't access BBCi with this, but what about the BBC's extra streams (i.e. Snooker / Wimbledon), can you still get to them manually without the "red button"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Is actually worth picking up, cause I would like to have some of the german stations especially for the sport side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

FTA sports

EDTV (Dubai) very good sport channel in english often
    RAI Sport (Italy) minority sport or second division football
    DSF Sport (Germany) good for football
    RTR Sport Planete (Russia) good ice hockey
    Raceworld (Holland) motor racing
    Raze (Germany) horses

there's probably a couple more too

great value at 99.99

So what satellites do I use then , and how hard would it be to set up the dish.

to be honest mate, it's been done to death on the boards.
    you would learn more by doing a search and we're getting a bit ot

the lidl dish does not have a motor

I'd personally lock it onto hotbird at 13e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Angry_Man wrote:
    Just wondering, does anyone know a decent site listing FTA channels that this thing could pick up?

I would also like to know . Especially if it picks up Channel 4 , ITV 1 and ITV 2 .

ITV1, ITV2 and Channel 4 are not FTA, they are FTV with a viewing card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭toonarmy

Barryo wrote:
    Doesn't say, but deos anyone know what size the dish is?

the dish is included yes? hope its 80cm like the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Mossy Monk wrote:
    ITV1, ITV2 and Channel 4 are not FTA, they are FTV with a viewing card

dah , how could I forget . Its 57cm I think .

BTW, according to that Dutch site the box comes preprogrammed for Astra, Astra II, Eutelsat HotBird, Hisoasat, Türksat and Amos Sirius. That could save a lot of tuning work.

Has anyone gotta tutorial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Sysmod

Pal wrote:
    to be honest mate, it's been done to death on the boards.
    you would learn more by doing a search and we're getting a bit ot
    the lidl dish does not have a motor
    I'd personally lock it onto hotbird at 13e

Much of the discussion I looked at was fairly techy.
    Another discussion explained the difference between Free to View (BBC, Sky) and Free to Air (FTA) which is what this Lidl thing appears to be.

For a consumer who just buys the thing and plugs it in, what do we get for the money?
    I look at lyngsat.com and it's not clear where to look - in fact there appear to be four Hot Bird satellites.

Does anyone have a list of what this model receives:
    http://www.lidl.ie/ie/index.nsf/pages/c.o.oow.20050825.p.Satellite
    Digital Satellite System Software update via satellite Astra

all the Hotbirds are receivable. it is the same with Astra 1 and Astra 2. both have several channels to cope with the demand. but the dish should pick them all up provided it is alligned correctly

Was talkin to a bloke on digitalspy about aligning it and such like it seems pretty straight forward. In general what time should I be there at lidl to pick up the package. Btw I live in Limerick.

early as there is usually queues

Reckon you could get cabo with a 57 cm dish??

What's Cabo?

TV Cabo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭greg-h

to see what channles you can get on fta try www.freewebs.com/satellites

there it tells you how to set up the dish etc

http://www.lidl.nl/nl/index.nsf/pages/c.o.oow.20050822.p.Digitale_satelliet_ontvanger

Same setup, 89.99 in Holland. Must be the extra transport costs to Ireland.

I know you can't access BBCi with this, but what about the BBC's extra streams (i.e. Snooker / Wimbledon), can you still get to them manually without the "red button"?

Ireland (and Greece) have recently begun enforcing new EU regulations regarding recycling/disposal of electrical goods. The $99.99 price for the Lidl satellite system includes a €5 recycling/disposal fee.

You can still account the BBC's extra stream with this FTA receiver since they are also broadcast 'in the clear'....just tune in the BBCi frequencies listed on lyngsat........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Macy

taung wrote:
    You can still account the BBC's extra stream with this FTA receiver since they are also broadcast 'in the clear'....just tune in the BBCi frequencies listed on lyngsat........
    And they're normally on the same stream - i.e. Score on a Saturday afternoon is usually on the same "BBCi" everyweek speaking from experience - certainly the same one or two.

A quick question - is the 57cm dish big enough for reliable reception of hotbird and/or Astra 1? I was always under the impression that 80cm was needed....

57cm should be big enough for Astra 1

and I would guess it's OK for most of the Hotbird transponders.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I've given up trying to get any of these Lidl dishes as usually they've only got a dozen per shop and the scene outside the shops resembles the fall of Saigon on the morning when they go on sale.

greg-h wrote:
    to see what channles you can get on fta try www.freewebs.com/satellites

there it tells you how to set up the dish etc

it doesn't say what dish size can revceive these though

Sysmod wrote:
    Does anyone have a list of what this model receives:

HERE

http://www.flysat.com/fta.php

---

You are in Gorey. You may be able to get FREEVIEW too. see the terrestrial boards
    www.freeview.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Sat_Down

Help needed lads and lassies. Have the Comag and not a bad job...bit of a luddite though. Managed to rescan and get the Beeb channels back etc but when i scan on hotbird only get the beeb channels as well...any ideas hints...dont fancy moving the dish etc..as already have astra 1 2 etc..all abuse/suggestions welcome

Sat_Down wrote:
    Help needed lads and lassies. Have the Comag and not a bad job...bit of a luddite though. Managed to rescan and get the Beeb channels back etc but when i scan on hotbird only get the beeb channels as well...any ideas hints...dont fancy moving the dish etc..as already have astra 1 2 etc..all abuse/suggestions welcome

You can only receive the hotbird channels if your dish is pointing at hotbird. . You say you have astra1 and 2. Do you have two LNBs or a motorised setup?
    If 2 LNBs you have to add and extra one for hotbird 13e. if motor it must be lined up befor you scan for the channels.
    K

Sat_Down wrote:

A case of the mountain not coming to Mohammed? :D

You'll either have to repress your urges and move the dish or else install a second LNBF with a Diseqc switch.

Thanks for the prompt replies guys but as i said being a luddite..um how come i can receive some channels on hotbird..um at the risk iof being laughed off here..surely if i can get some from hotbird i should be able to get them all..i mean if i had a choice which would be better to point to?

Oh and as im at it what about Eurosport should i be able to get that on astra or wha ?

Sat_Down wrote:
    Oh and as im at it what about Eurosport should i be able to get that on astra or wha ?

If you point at Astra 2 (28.8e) and choose to scan HOTBIRD from the on screen menu, you will see some channels. This is because there are some transponder frequencies that happen to match thoses on Astra2.
    Basically your dish( or LNB on a multi LNB Setup) mush be pointed at Hotbird to get Hotbird channels
    As for Eurosport you can get Eurosport Germany on Astra 1 ( 19.2e)

taung wrote:
    Ireland (and Greece) have recently begun enforcing new EU regulations regarding recycling/disposal of electrical goods. The $99.99 price for the Lidl satellite system includes a €5 recycling/disposal fee.

The Netherlands has had a similar fee for about five years now. But maybe it's not included in the list price, I don't know.

Good to know you can tune in the extra channels without the red button. It makes the possibility of dumping my dodgybox more attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Mossy Monk wrote:
    early as there is usually queues
    Up in Roscra Lidl you can expect sleeping bags huge queues and if the last time was anything to go by, a punch up and the Gardai being called, :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Didn't someone die of a heart attack about 2 years ago in the stampede for dishes in Lidl, Cashel, or is that just a folk-myth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Its very true, not sure if it was cashel though.

waterford wasn't bad at all last time , there was a rule though only one set per person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 marksi

The store in Newtownards had loads of them the last time they sold these in May. I went in two days after the offer started and there was still at least 20 stacked up on a palatte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

I am sure your sick of the lidi sat but does it support DiSEqC 1.2 ?

If you download the manual for the Comag SL65, which this receiver appears to be, it states that it supports Diseqc 1.0, 1.2 and Goto X (Usals).
    http://www.comag-ag.de/software/silvercrest/cmg_SL65_man_EN.pdf

maybe I should set up a stall outside LIDL and sell to the Q :)

The last time they were selling them, I saw one enterprising Romanian guy handing out his telephone number to people in the queue offering to help people align the dishes for a small fee!

Zaphod wrote:
    The last time they were selling them, I saw one enterprising Romanian guy handing out his telephone number to people in the queue offering to help people align the dishes for a small fee!

Fair play to him, enterprise always good to see