Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism on Boards.ie

• 09-08-2005 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭

From time to time on the Humour Forum there is a great deal of debate regarding (anti) Irish jokes.

In my opinion these jokes are racist i.e. derogatory to the Irish Race.

Due to the proximity of Britain and a common, enforced on us, language we are greatly influenced by their media. We have reached almost a Terry Wogan like trance state where we forget who we actually are. We are Irish, they are British. We are different despite our similarities.

“Paddyism” is a racial stereotype born in Britain over the last hundred years or more. Early caricatures of gorilla like men became the norm in the British press. The “great” British public was lead to believe that they were in some way superior to us. We were classed as sub-human. This anti-Irish sentiment became more prevalent as the conflict in the North worsened. Our whole race was demonised so that what was being done to our fellow Irishmen in the North could be justified as not happening to proper people. Because we were not seen by the powers that be in Britain as a distinct race we gained no protection through their race laws. So we were fair game to be pilloried by every hack and witless comedian who couldn’t come up with something better. It was like slagging the handicapped. We couldn’t fight back. Many of younger posters will be too young to remember much of this. They should do a little research before responding to this post. Any Irish who lived in Britain during the 70s, 80s and early 90s will know what I’m talking about.

Now we are doing this ourselves. We are telling anti-Irish jokes! For shame.

We should put a stop to this on Boards.ie right now. We should afford the same racial protection to ourselves that we afford to other ethnic groups. If these jokes were told about another ethnic group they would be banned and rightly so.

Don’t anybody come and say have a sense of humour. I’d laugh you under the table any day of the week. I have well developed set of chuckle muscles and like a joke as much as the next guy. Some things just aren’t funny.

All responses are welcome. Just think a little before posting knee jerk responses.

I propose that anti-Irish jokes be classed as racist and banned from boards with immediate effect.

Do you feel anti-Irish jokes to be racist? 118 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    20% 24 votes
    Don't know
    76% 90 votes
    Don't care
    3% 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

But...

but...

....they ARE funny

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

If you can't laugh at yourself... laugh at other Paddies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Racism is funny. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

"whacking day was just an excuse to beat up the irish"......

"tis true, but twas all in good fun"

NAME THE REFERENCE PEOPLE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hagar wrote:

All responses are welcome. Just think a little before posting knee jerk responses.

I propose that anti-Irish jokes be classed as racist and banned from boards with immediate effect.

Pfffft! :rolleyes: Ban the Paddy jokes and where does that leave us? I'll tell you where - without Taff jokes, without jokes at the expense of Krauts, Frenchies, Yanks, Polacks, the English. Where will it end?

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Have you ever heard the one about the disabled black irish traveller jew that lives in tallaght?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Knee jerk response my arse, it's this kind of PC twattery that's stopped the healthy flow of racist jokes that were funny. People would tell jokes about [ETHNIC MINORITY HERE] and you would know there was nothing meant by it because they couldn't even tell you where the poor fsckers came from!

Down with political correctness.

Bus full of Kerrymen were going on a Mystery Tour. They all decided to put €10 in a hat and the winner was the man who guessed the destination correctly. Surprisingly enough, the bus driver won!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

clicky

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

"hahahahahahahha...
    what was i laughing at again?
    oh yeah the crippled irishman" :D

Rabies wrote:
    Have you ever heard the one about the disabled black irish traveller jew that lives in tallaght?

ye he was gay aswell wasnt he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Ok, I think you just don't get racist jokes.

In the majority of racist jokes the funny bit is that you're actually laughing at the fact that someone could actually be that racist. That or laughing at the stereotype.
    Hagar wrote:
    “Paddyism” is a racial stereotype born in Britain over the last hundred years or more

Kinda died though, I go to the UK the odd time, there's a few jokes but they don't actually believe we're all blithering idiots. They think we're stupid as mmuch as we think they're all boring toffs

I often find in these "irish" jokes the irish commonly "wins" the joke anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

ye he was gay aswell wasnt he?
    Thats not true. You cannot discriminate a person because of their sexuality. You have issuses. I hope a mod bans you for that post.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

they is teh funny!..but i voted that i dont care because why would i???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

If people can't laugh at themselves then what hope have we got!

Humour people, have humour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kawaii

don't care...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

I really believe that racism is something that we all have to guard against, after all casual racism is still racism.

Sure you think it's a joke, just funny hahah. But at what point do you draw the line? Is it when someone ten feet away makes a racist comment under his breath about someone who can't hear him? Is it when a friend sitting beside you does the same thing? Is it when your friend is openly racist? Or is it when you are?

Just like smoking, racism is not funny, and it's not cool. Sure, all your friends are doing it so why not you too?

How about, because its wrong?

Lets face it, somewhere inside, you know its wrong, face up to it and don't let racism become a problem with you.

Rabies wrote:
    Thats not true. You cannot discriminate a person because of their sexuality. You have issuses. I hope a mod bans you for that post.

ye well you smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Is making fun of my own race now rascist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

yes you filthy racist. Go the hell back home to racist land and stop milking our system.

The only thing i hate more than a racist is a racist in my country...

(i'm in the "No" category by the way. And had to restrain myself from just saying STFU cos i figure that's not constructive and potentially banworthy. Don't be ridiculous. If something is said in good fun it's not racist. It's a joke. If it's meant to offend and express sentiments the speaker actually holds then yes, it's racist, and that's bad. The Irish stereotypes like the ones you see on the simpsons are not serious. Get over it.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I don't think it's an appropriate question - a better question might be whether they're found to be offensive or not. Technically, they are racist, according to the dictionary definitions of 'racism' and 'race'.

Do I find them offensive? Of course not, as long as it's clear they're not told with malice. Whether they're funny or not is irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

What I have seen on boards every now and again are threads like "why are Irish men so ugly" or "Are we the ugliest people on earth?". These sick people are self haters and they sicken me, typing stupid, false trash like that. They also have never been out of the country for very long!

I don't see any problem with racist jokes however, Irish or not. After all a joke is a joke and it's not to be taken seriously!

At the very least its self deprecating, and while being able to laugh at yourself, your life and your situation is something generally positive, laughing at your entire population of countrymen, and not in a good way, can only be, well it can only be bad.

KnowItAll wrote:
    I don't see any problem with racist jokes however, Irish or not. After all a joke is a joke and it's not to be taken seriously!
    Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can break my heart.

That's a seriously flawed arguement, just because people find something funny does not mean another group won't find it offensive, discriminating, derogatory in the extreme, and worst of all racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

Baz_ wrote:
    Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can break my heart.

That's a seriously flawed arguement, just because people find something funny does not mean another group won't find it offensive, discriminating, derogatory in the extreme, and worst of all racist.
    People can and do get offended by anything these days. Like I said a jokes a joke. People tell racist jokes all the time and 99% of the population would not get offended because they know it's a joke and they know what a joke is.

KnowItAll wrote:
    People can and do get offended by anything these days. Like I said a jokes a joke. People tell racist jokes all the time and 99% of the population would not get offended because they know it's a joke and they know what a joke is.
    Well if its that cut and dry for you fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

****ing PC brigade crumbling society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

A considerable amount of classic Irish literature has been at the expense of the Irish. Satire and self-deprecation are really rather distinctive characteristics of our culture. It's quite hard to make any kind of commentary (humourous, informed, or otherwise) on a society without generalisation. But I don't think that's same thing as rascism at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

*yawn*

Isn't there already a thread about this open in Humanities?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

No.

Lighten up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭SparkyLarks

telling a joke in which an ethnic group is made fun of is not racism.
    If someone is continually posting jokes concerning a particular ethnic group then that may be racist behaviour.
    Racism is about beliving that one race is inherentaly superior or inferior to another.

If I tell a joke that a blond is the butt of the joke is that not as bad as telling a joke wher a black/irish/english ect is? No one ever complains

jokes about women drivers are sexist. No one ever complains( cos guy's find them dunny and women have cheaper insurance)

Racism is about treating other races differently, we irish make jokes about ourselves. If we don't make the same jokes about other races then we are being racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Its a tribal thing. Irish aren't going to find the joke offensive if its an irish person saying it to them.
    telling a joke in which an ethnic group is made fun of is not racism.

The way to define a racist joke is to replace the race with "little green men". If the joke is no longer funny then it is most likely racist.
    Racism is about beliving that one race is inherentaly superior or inferior to another.

Which is generally inferred by the joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

This has cropped up in the humanities forum as well, yes its okay to laugh at ourselves isnt it??in general yes but rememeber that anti(insert race) jokes are usually propogated to keeep a racial stereotype going.(e.g.that age old legend that the irish are thick/subhumans & sure what harm if "our boys" kill a few by mistake)
    but heres something-Des bishop is a very succesful comedian here in Ireland & a lot of his act is based on taking the piss out of the irish in a freindly way.
    however i went to see him play in England last year & because the audience were predominantly British his act became a paddy bashing session.
    I was disgusted at this & yet if i hadve opened my mouth i wouldve almost certainly been abused & or assaulted.
    Des bishop seemed to enjoy wallowing in the rabble rousing, but apart from that it was the same stand up act that you'dve seen in vicar st or wherever.
    Ive been to the Uk many times in my life & this was the only time i ever felt my irish accent would get me killed.

im rambling a liitle here - i guess comedy shouldnt be taken out of context i wouldnt wish any harm on your grandmother but an old lady slipping on a banana skin might make me laugh out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,948 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Racism is all about either intent or ignorance. If you're telling a joke deliberately to insult someone based on their race, or you actually believe the joke through ignorance, it's racist. However, in most 'racist' jokes, the person's race is incidental (in particular Paddy the Irishman jokes). The teller knows that X race has a reputation for stupidity/poshness/whatever, but they also are generally aware that it's a ridiculous stereotype.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i tell racist jokes to my black friends. they know they are JOKES so they don't get offended. this PC bs is stupid, sorry "other intelligenced"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

i think if we just try and get all racial sterotypes into one joke then were not picking on anyone in particualr. Like a super insult joke!
    Okay so this wop, and a jig, and a paddy,and a brit bastard, and a chink, and a paki and a..umm..running out of bigoted stereotpyes..uh well they all walk into a bar with sh!t in thier hands and say 'hey, look what we almost stepped in!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

Asok wrote:
    Is making fun of my own race now rascist?

i was gonna say that
    you stupid irish so of a leprechaun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

passive wrote:
    If something is said in good fun it's not racist.

Look at all the c00ns we have strun up , it's like looking at a string curtain.

Now some people might find that amusing and down right funny (KKK - Sotrmfront types) , i dont .

and it could be said in good fun in the right situation.

You can be a racist to your own race, Racist = discriminating someone because of thier race.... it doesn't make reference to your own race.

While i'm not offended by the majority of the "Irish" jokes it does go down to who and in what context it's been said.. but saying that, it doesn't make this Causal Racism right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

A considerable amount of classic Irish literature has been at the expense of the Irish. Satire and self-deprecation are really rather distinctive characteristics of our culture. It's quite hard to make any kind of commentary (humourous, informed, or otherwise) on a society without generalisation. But I don't think that's same thing as rascism at all.

Exactly.The ability to laugh at ourselves is one of our defining characteristics.And now you try and take it away from us.Now all these PC **** are trying to take it away from us.Theyre trying to dilute us and our culture.What a bunch of rascists.Cocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

"whacking day was just an excuse to beat up the irish"......

"tis true, but twas all in good fun"

NAME THE REFERENCE PEOPLE!!!

Kent Brockman, as the crowds riot on paddys day and burn down a British chipper

"Heavy drinking and violent behaviour. Is this what we think of when we think of the Irish?" :D

"LOOK OUT ITCHY, HES IRISH!" Milhouse

"Look at me! Im the prime minister of Ireland!" Homer, drunk and with a beer barrel on his head

All legendary quotes

Now Hagar, piss off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

Listen to any black comedy for example and all he laughs about are other black folks etc. This goes for almost every race, we all like to laugh at each other, and i think that it particularly goes for the Irish. We are a slagging race, ie if a bunch of americans were to listen to a bunch of Irish lads talking they would probably think we were fighting, but thats all part of the Irish wit, we like to slag each other off. So you have to relax about the "anti-Irish" jokes, its all a laugh.
    As for the Brits thinking they are superior to us, you just have to laugh at them for that. Pah! God save the queen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

quick... someone tell me a joke that does not offend anybody or anything... or is not judgemental etc etc etc.....

jokes / humour is almost always making fun of either people animals situations etc etc.... you can always find someone that will take offense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

2 ducks in a pond
    one says "quack"
    the other turns around shocked and says "i was just about to say that"

its not funny but it doesn't offend anyoe except for the ducks the poor innocent ducks
    whats that call "Billism" or would that apply to turtles and platapii too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Tha Gopher wrote:
    "LOOK OUT ITCHY, HES IRISH!" Milhouse
    "Come on, Itchy! Kill that guy!"

//

If we didn't entertain racist jokes at our own expense then how could we look ourselves in the mirror when we tell (or listen to) all those other jokes about the English, Americans, Travelers, Catholics, Protestants, Northsiders, Southsiders, Men, Women, Children, Blondes, Jews, Muslims, Blacks, Chinese, Pakistanis, EasternEuropeans, Iraq, AlQaeda .... and Trekkies.

Take away that and we'll be reduced a future of jokes all of which begin with 'Dya ever notice how ....' or 'A funny thing happened to me on the way to....'.

//

Which reminds me there was once these three construction workers (one Irish) sitting on the scaffolding of a skyscraper 200 meters above street level .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

One thing to note is that, (as far as I know), it has been scientifically shown that one can only laugh if one "likes" the source of the "joke"...ie, you only find a joke funny if you like (and not dislike or hate -) the person who is telling it. For example, if you are the bullied kid in school, and the bully tells a joke that is technically very funny, you still arent going to laugh. In saying that, Im sure there is a neutral, in that the content of the joke constructs that view of the teller. But this shows that humour is, at its most basic quality, a social communicatary tool. Thus, it could be said that jokes that seem "racist", are not necessarily harmless because "when you tell them at the pub with your mates everyone laughs, and whats wrong with that"? It basically comes down to the way the joke is used. The same joke could be said in completely different scenarios, and in turn have completely different effects. Im not saying that those who tell jokes that are "racist", are "racist" (especially if it is their own race), but those that would use the joke in a racist manner are - in that they know the negative impacts towards the listener. That or just plain ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

i hate you, thats not funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Now Hagar, piss off

I put forward a proposition based on a personal opinion.
    Various posters have argued both sides. I've read all posts with interest.
    That's the pupose of these forums, constructive debate.

You on the other hand have had to resort to abuse to try and bolster your side of the arguement.
    Congratulations on your choice of tactics, it's quite advanced for a person your age.

Hagar wrote:
    You on the other hand have had to resort to abuse to try and bolster your side of the arguement.

Yeah whats with that? On another thread yesterday he opened a post of his by calling someone a 'twat' because he didn't agree with their opinion. By all means have a go where warrantedbut I think thats two outta two cases where it wasn't justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Pigman, wasnt your previous account banned for agressive behaviour or something? :D

Im telling it how it is, this isnt real, its more troublemaking than anything. Like the guy on boards who demanded that road signs be translated into Polish and Chinese. As for calling Blub2k4 a twat, if you believe anything you see in a film or read in a book then its all you can expect. To quote Milhouse for a second time in this thread
    "If its in a book, its gotta be true!" :rolleyes:
    Which is pretty much the attitude of much of this forum concerning just about anything written about George Bush, multinational corps yadda yadda yadda.

Its lunacy and deserves all the derision it gets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Pigman, wasnt your previous account banned for agressive behaviour or something? :D

Im telling it how it is, this isnt real, its more troublemaking than anything. Like the guy on boards who demanded that road signs be translated into Polish and Chinese. As for calling Blub2k4 a twat, if you believe anything you see in a film or read in a book then its all you can expect. To quote Milhouse for a second time in this thread
    "If its in a book, its gotta be true!" :rolleyes:
    Which is pretty much the attitude of much of this forum concerning just about anything written about George Bush, multinational corps yadda yadda yadda.

Its lunacy and deserves all the derision it gets

you my "Friend" have a mind like a razor.

Sharp and very Narrow.

Tha Gopher wrote:

I never said I was an angel here but I think I've gotten better over the last while.

I'm just wondering why you're having a go at these guys - whether they're trolling or? not You might think you're doing a service but when you start namecalling you either come out of it looking petulant or like bait so either way you do nobody (including yourself) any favours.