Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tans : false, induced or otherwise.

• 08-08-2005 9:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭

About 80% of the people i work with are female, they all seem obsessed with TANS( tanning creams, booths,sunbeds sunbathing etc).
    I know that women are not necessarily out to "impress the blokes" but it seems that for girls on a night out a decent tan is essential so it mustve crossed their minds at somestage that it's seen as attractive.
    while i suppose a girl with a nice tan wouldn't be a bad thing per se, Personally i wouldnt give a fukk either way.

All of my male mates agree that the tone of a womans skin does not seem to be an issue (as opposed to judging someone by the clothes they wear or whatever )
    im not shallow hal by the way but its hard not to make assumptions based on the way someone is dressed
    In fact i'd go so far as to say being tanned to the point of looking like judith chalmers is off putting but on the whole it wouldn't bother me if a girl was as white as snow or had a tan.
    in fact i'd say none but the most superficial of men would find abscence of a tan a problem & even then girls are playing a risky game of averages as they may be judged on the "quality" of their tans.
    Do you think somebody should let women know this.????
    seriously girls dont bother most of us guys dont give a sh-it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I like a woman with a real tan, but more sallow skinned than tanned. Im not that gone on the tangerine look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

I personally hate fake tan. Picture it, you bring a lady home for some ....coffee. Next morning you wake up and half of her is left behind on your bed. Its like shagging a leper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

Kingsize wrote:

I concur very strongly, then again, the girls who apply fake tan probably won't be reading these bulletin boards...

I feel your point in terms of the fact that women don't necessarily do the tan thing especially to impress men needs to be reiterated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭zefer

A nice real tan is sexy I think.
    Have to agree about the fake orange look, not good, not good at all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's all a status thing. Tans used to be considered unattractive as it meant you were common and had to work outside all day.

Then more recently it changed though as it meant that you were wealthy enough to afford expensive holidays abroad to get your tan.

Now with cheap holidays and sun tan beds... it really doesn't matter anymore.

Personally I've always prefered pale and interesting....

That's why my girlfriend is a Brazilian girl... hmmmm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I think the effort women put in for nights out is more to do with impressing their girlfriends than other guys to be honest. Well that's what I've concluded anyway from the hours spent waiting for my ex to get ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

I don't think tanned skin looks right on Irish or English women.

I'm all about the natural finish... guitars, drums, furniture, women etc. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭maggz

I wear fake tan, but i know how to put it on correctly, that you wouldnt know its fake. Its the girls who dont bother putting it on the right way that make it look orange and obvious.

As for the comment about girls who wear fake tan wont be looking at this, that it is a really stupid comment - 90% of girls wear it!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,631 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

maggz wrote:
    I wear fake tan, but i know how to put it on correctly, that you wouldnt know its fake. Its the girls who dont bother putting it on the right way that make it look orange and obvious.

As for the comment about girls who wear fake tan wont be looking at this, that it is a really stupid comment - 90% of girls wear it!!!

It always looks fake and I and probably most fellas can tell instantly if not too drunk.

sometimes it does, but if u do it properly it doesnt. It needs to be subtle, I'd just put a little on to make me look like I've a healthy glow and not an ompa lumpa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I like tanned ladies, they're HOT.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

maggz wrote:
    I'd just put a little on to make me look like I've a healthy glow and not an ompa lumpa

There's nothing particularly healthy looking about tanned skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Kingsize wrote:
    Do you think somebody should let women know this.????

Which would be to incorrectly assume that they're actually 'doing it for us' in the first place.

Personally I don't think 'we' should say anything. If a cross-section of women in 2005 want to look like Oompa Lumpa's then by all means let 'em. It's no skin off my hot chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Truly pointless, unless the cream has another function such as photosyntheticor kevlar-esque properties

...i like normal girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Oompa Loompa doopity doo, I've got another puzzle for you...

A slight tan can be attractive, Willy Wonka factory worker style orange is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

Pigman II wrote:
    Which would be to incorrectly assume that they're actually 'doing it for us' in the first place.

i think it's rather like the way people put plastic bottles full of water on their lawns to but are not quite sure why
    what i was getting to was that some girls must be "doing it for us" & i was just saying why bother?
    These days where most advertising & comedy seems to be soley based on how apparently pointless, useless & crap men are as compared to "girl power" I just thought i'd stumbled on the one pointless thing that modern women indulge in & cannot justify! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Nickibaby*

I always wear fake tan and it looks great, the majority of my friends wear it also. I think it get's rid of that milkbottle/washed out look. It's great for covering up any flaws aswell.

But nothing looks worse than fake tan if it isn't applied properly or when it is wearing off if people don't exfoliate to get rid of it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

maggz wrote:
    90% of girls wear it!!!

really?
    where did you pull that percentage from?
    I wouldn't touch fake tan with a barge pole, I don't see the point of it and I'm sure I'm not the only woman who thinks like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

Nickibaby* wrote:
    I always wear fake tan and it looks great, the majority of my friends wear it also. I think it get's rid of that milkbottle/washed out look. It's great for covering up any flaws aswell.

I agree... I wear a light fake tan now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

i like tanned women but theirs nothing more cheap lookin than a fake tan....

doesnt matter weather your tanned or not anyway skin is skin

Beruthiel wrote:
    really?
    I wouldn't touch fake tan with a barge pole, I don't see the point of it and I'm sure I'm not the only woman who thinks like that.

Just a guess. Most girls I know wear it sometimes - whether its every weekend or just for special occasions, like weddings and the likes. Im not saying everyone wears it, but I suppose 90% of the girls I know do.

As for wearing it for men, I think most girls who wear it just feel they look better with it and it gives them more convidence. I dont think girls actually think "if i wear tan I've more of a chance of scoring"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 dynasty crew

maggz wrote:
    but I suppose 90% of the girls I know do.
    Off the top of my head I'd say 100% of girls I know wear it at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Guys ... ye really are something else, ye complain if women try too hard (too much make up, orange tan - mostly cause its a cheap version - short skirts, tit tops etc) & then ye complain when a girl lets herself go ... I mean there really isn't any winning with ye. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

this has got nothing to do with guys complaining, i'm just wondering what the deal is with tans ( false or otherwise) nobody mentioned any of those other things that youve mentioned afaik.

ravenhead wrote:
    Guys ... ye really are something else, ye complain if women try too hard (too much make up, orange tan - mostly cause its a cheap version - short skirts, tit tops etc) & then ye complain when a girl lets herself go ... I mean there really isn't any winning with ye. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    It's probably better a girl puts in "too much" effort than not enough I suppose. But you're right you can't win, we are gonna complain regardless!!! (not that doesn't work both ways).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Sammyjo

Well I always wear fake tan. I used to do sunbeds when I was younger, but have gotten (a little) sense :) now and just use fake tan. But its mainly for myself that I wear it....im milk bottle white, and have dark hair which makes me look even paler, so fake tan is necessary!! I do think people generally look better with a bit of a tan, but if it isnt done properly then it can look awful!!!! Having said that though I have been known to have my fake tan disasters in my day....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

Kingsize wrote:
    this has got nothing to do with guys complaining, i'm just wondering what the deal is with tans ( false or otherwise) nobody mentioned any of those other things that youve mentioned afaik.

I know that, I'm just making the observation that's all. :p:p - Girls in general feel better with a tan. I on the other hand have sallow skin & don't like to tan too much cause it can make my hands & knees look dirty but in the winter I would put a 'little' on just to give me a glow if I was going somewhere. But I do feel sorry for girls that don't tan naturally cause there is a lot of pressure for other girls to follow this current fashion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭rideordie

yea I dont do fake..fake tan I mean..my skin is naturally dark enough and I dont have to spend that much time in the sun to get a deeper tan.I'm happy..I'm coffe with cream :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Seriously ladies, fake tan always looks crap. There is no such thing as well applied fake tan, it's always obvious from closer than two metres (and even further back at times). It leaves your skin looking patchy, contributes to the "blemishes" which it claims to hide but doesn't and generally leaves ye looking cheap.

But if ye insist on looking like "dancers" from Angels to impress yourselves and your friends, fire away. Just don't kid yourself that it looks good because your friends tell you it does because they wear so much of it themselves that they need to kid themselves it looks well too. For a sex that are so much smarter than us guys in so many ways this is one of them where ye really make us look far more intelligent. :rolleyes:

Give me a fair skinned girl any day over one that'll look forty on her thirtieth birthday or one that'll just look like she needs a hot shower and a good exfoliant all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

maggz wrote:

I would never wear it, a friend of mine used to go nuts if someone pushed her and drink fell on her arms/legs cause it would all streak... why would you even bother? I'll stick with my tan lines in the summer and the pale yellow looking fading tan thing in the winter any day over fake tan....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

personally i dont like tanned skin at all, give me a girl with skin like snow any day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭PersonalJesus

For the definative thread on this topic see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

I wouldn't touch the stuff, although I don't wear any make-up to begin with unless I'm going for the occasional rock-chick look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Mocking Burd

Beruthiel wrote:
    really?

I totally agree Beruthiel. It seems to be a bit of an Irish obsession though, never heard it mentioned much in my years in England.

The most ridiculous thing I've heard of is girls getting false tans done before they jet off to the sun. A friend of mine (who is very fair) is getting a full spray tan before she heads off to Greece. Her excuse is that she won't tan anyway. In this case if the tanning creams had some sun protection properties then I'd understand (a bit), but she'll have to wear a high factor cream also.

Sleepy wrote:
    Seriously ladies, fake tan always looks crap. There is no such thing as well applied fake tan, it's always obvious from closer than two metres (and even further back at times). It leaves your skin looking patchy, contributes to the "blemishes" which it claims to hide but doesn't and generally leaves ye looking cheap.
    I would say girls with a tan do generally look more attractive than pale skin, and I'd say most guys (maybe not but me anyway) don't notice hardly any difference between real tan and a fake tan, unless it's mad obvious. But then again I don't notice anything about a girl, e.g. once this girl was asking me did I notice anything different about her, thought to myself, "oh bollocks", obviously didn't have a clue what she was on about, luckily her friend came over and said how much she loves her new haircut!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I really don't like fake tan. Despite the fact I'm pasty pale...

I'd say most guys (maybe not but me anyway) don't notice hardly any difference between real tan and a fake tan
    May I suggest a trip to the opticians?

Sleepy wrote:

girls dont make passes at blokes who wear glasses (or something)

Who wants passes from girls you can't tell are good looking or not? :p

Sleepy wrote:
    Who wants passes from girls you can't tell are good looking or not? :p

You can still tell if a girls good looking when she wears fake tan. It only changes the colour of their skin?!

Sorry maggz, afaic any girl wearing fake tan looks cheap and tbh, I'm not into tacky women so, yeah, I'd rather pass it up.

I cant argue with your opinion. I do however think that the oompa lumpas out there have given the girls who actually know how to apply their tan a bad name.

Most celebs that men love wear fake tan too, Angelina Jolie, Paris Hilton, J-Lo, Brittney etc.

Its certainly better then exposing your skin to the sun and paying for it a number of years down the line, when you have skin cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

maggz wrote:
    Its certainly better then exposing your skin to the sun and paying for it a number of years down the line, when you have skin cancer.

i completely agree with what you said there
    i would also like to say that i'm not cheap or cheap looking and i do where false tan, its expensive, properly applied and very light
    i wear good classy flatering clothes not tiny little t1t tops or skirts that could pass as belts
    i'm aware that all this makes me sound vain but i'm not, if wearing fake tan gives me a little more confidence because i have extremely pale legs than its my business it doesn't define my character or determine how i look entirely
    it allows me to wear a skirt without worrying and imoh with tights being my other option i think i'll stick to the fake tan

maggz wrote:
    Most celebs that men love wear fake tan too, Angelina Jolie, Paris Hilton, J-Lo, Brittney etc. QUOTE]

last time i checked none of the above looked like they were dipped in dog**** though (with the possible exception of paris hilton ),& i cant quite visualise any of them putting on their own fake tan & making a balls of it either.i dont reckon angelina jolie is too tanned anyway shes often pictured as quite pale,JLO is of hispanic or puerto rican descent & I wouldnt have thought that she needed it.Britney i havent seen in a while but from what i remember is a piece of white trash,which only leaves paris hilton who is orangey enough in my opinion.but if you are trying to say that women want to emulate these celebrities, then surely you would be wearing all the tit tops & short skirts that you so vehemently deny wearing.
    please also bear in mind most celebrity publicity shots are photoshopped /airbrushed beyond recognition.
    which has given rise to celebrity magazines always having a couple of pages of celebs looking rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

yeah - as far as I can see all the girls here claim they have nice fake tan and apply it correctly, unlike the rest of the oompah loompahs out there.

I don't believe it for a second - I bet all the oompah loompahs think the same thing.

But then I don't even like real tans, so who am I to say. Milk white all the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

yeah - as far as I can see all the girls here claim they have nice fake tan and apply it correctly, unlike the rest of the oompah loompahs out there.

I don't believe it for a second - I bet all the oompah loompahs think the same thing.

Well spotted there. I was thinking that myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

But then I don't even like real tans, so who am I to say. Milk white all the way!

women aren't idiots they can tell when they have made a botch of it the only reason you only see oompah loomphas in because you don't notice when it has been properly applied

Just came back from lunch there, saw some girl that I thought was looking well, obviously spent a bit of time getting herself ready this morning, then just noticed, yeah she probably is wearing fake tan, but she still looked hot and I must say I appreciated the time she spent putting it on, gave me something nice to look at for a few moments.
    Sleepy wrote:
    You may.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Baz_

maggz wrote:
    Most celebs that men love wear fake tan too, Paris Hilton,

In fairness now, any man that claims to love paris hilton is not in love with her looks or her fake tan, only good thing about that wrote off yoke is her money, even thats dirty...

Kingsize wrote:
    i dont reckon angelina jolie is too tanned anyway shes often pictured as quite pale.

which proves my point that a lot of women simply wear it for a healthy glow

As for saying that we want to be like these women, I was giving you examples of people everyone is familiar with, not saying we want to be like these celebs.