Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Functional Strength and Fitness

• 08-08-2005 9:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,549 ✭✭✭

I'm interested in everyday benefits that people have gained from being strong and/or fit.

Apart from the obvious things such as improved sporting ability, health, looking good, feeling good about yourself etc.

One thing I've noticed since I started doing deadlifts is moving furniture, TVs etc. around has become a doddle. Also, the other day I was doing some gardening which involved moving a rock from one location to another. The rock wasn't very heavy, maybe 90kg or so but thanks to deadlifting I was able to lift it easily and safely. The other fellas with me thought this was amazing - they were actually talking about using a JCB to move the rock before I lifted it :eek:

Other things I can think of - good running or sprinting ability means you're probably going to be able to run away from an attacker or the gardai ;)

Pull ups and chin ups - great for climbing ability. Many people are useless at these because frankly they're too fat and too weak for their weight. If you fall off the side of a cliff and are hanging on by your fingertips, you might be thankful for having good pullup/grip/finger strength :)

I'm not being entirely serious with the last point as it's not something that most people will experience but still I think it shows one possible "real life" application of strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

BrianD3 wrote:
    The rock wasn't very heavy, maybe 90kg or so
    Yeh, sure Superman. Either you're no good at estimating weights or you're just stupid. 90kgs is very heavy from a deadlift, irregular, bulky shape like a rock. FFS, its almost 4 bags of cement.
    BrianD3 wrote:
    The other fellas with me thought this was amazing - they were actually talking about using a JCB to move the rock before I lifted it :eek:

You're my hero....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,549 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Yeh, sure Superman. Either you're no good at estimating weights or you're just stupid. 90kgs is very heavy from a deadlift, irregular, bulky shape like a rock. FFS, its almost 4 bags of cement.
    Tosser. If you think 90 kg is anywhere near a heavy deadlift then think again. Shows how much you know. Why are you even posting here as it's obvious you haven't a ****ing clue what you're talking about. IIRC you're the same stupid bollox that was flaming me on a thread about condom sizes on PI. You were an idiot then and you're an idiot now.

FYI the rock was ~90kg plus I can deadlift 150 kg with a bar two handed or 72 kg with a one handed suitcase deadlift. I'm also improving all the time. Doesn't make me a "superman" or even a decent weight trainer. A decent two handed deadlift is 3x bodyweight which I'm far from achieving. But i'm a lot closer to it than some begruding little wanker like yourself.

Now that I've educated you why don't you shut up and **** off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Blut

Its pretty superficial but I love being able to bench press people as a party trick.

Plus getting appreciative looks when you do things like lift heavy looking chairs with one hand and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

Linoge wrote:

You're my hero....
    ah ha dude ur a sap! and obiously very weak!i no 15year olds who can deadlift that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Easygainer

Hmmm, I dunno. I first lifted a weight when I was 16 and it was a 170kg dl. I have done 240kg as a teen etc but a 90kg rock is very very very difficult, to the extent that I would prob barely be able to lift it.

The largest Atlas stones on WSM are 140kg and they are regular spherical rocks. The first one is, I think, 90 or 100kg. Granted these have to be lifted chest high, but you have to crouch lower (a lot lower) and use your forearms to lever the weight as opposed to using leg and lower back strength.

Perhaps it was 50kg... sounds unimpressive but it is very impressive.

Easygainer wrote:
    Hmmm, I dunno. I first lifted a weight when I was 16 and it was a 170kg dl. I have done 240kg as a teen etc but a 90kg rock is very very very difficult, to the extent that I would prob barely be able to lift it.

The largest Atlas stones on WSM are 140kg and they are regular spherical rocks. The first one is, I think, 90 or 100kg. Granted these have to be lifted chest high, but you have to crouch lower (a lot lower) and use your forearms to lever the weight as opposed to using leg and lower back strength.

Perhaps it was 50kg... sounds unimpressive but it is very impressive.
    Depends on the shape of the rock TBH. A craggy shaped rock (which this one was) with lots of places to get a fingerhold is not difficult at all. And I have to state that I didn't drag it up out of the ground or anything. The rock was just sitting there as a garden ornament, I picked it up, moved it about 10 feet and and put it down again. No big deal and more a test of grip strength than deadlifting ability. And I'm far from being an animal. However my grip and fingers do get a good workout thanks mainly to doing heavy weighted chin ups from a rafter as part of my training.

I would imagine that a smooth spherical object like an atlas stone would be a far different and harder proposition - due mainly to diffculties getting a good grip of the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭defiantshrimp

90 Kg is heavier than most people, i am skeptical that someone could lift an irregular shape like a rock off the ground with little or no effort. If the rock really was 90 Kg congratulations, you've been doing something right!

but its different to lifting a person! with a person you could lift easy enough if you could get the right hand positioning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Women love strong fellas ;)

90kg does sound a lot but you only moved it a small distance and it could of been an easy one to get the arms around. Fair play anyway.

I'm still laughin at the eatin ya gave linoge :D

Being stronger comes in handy when messing about with friends, and of course the auld arm wresting competitions that take place at all good house partys.

If your jobs physical labour its very good, last week i was putting up plaster slabs...came in handy having arms/shoulders that bit stronger to hold up the sheets on the ceiling for screwing.

There is loads of applications, like if your well built its less likely that little farts will start fights with you or that you'll get picked on etc.

Farlz

Farls wrote:
    If your jobs physical labour its very good, last week i was putting up plaster slabs...came in handy having arms/shoulders that bit stronger to hold up the sheets on the ceiling for screwing.
    Yep. And one thing I've noticed is the great functional strength of many builders, handymen, farmers or any guys who's jobs involve manual labour. Very often these guy are not that big or muscular, they have terrible diets, they drink and smoke etc. They have never seen the inside of a gym and wouldn't know what a barbell was if it hit them in the face :D

Yet when it comes to lifting and moving about paving slabs, kerb stones, blocks, metal bars, logs, animals etc. they are feckin amazing. People who have sedentary jobs can be shocked by their ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Came in handy when I had to move one of those big 32" widescreen TV's on my own recently, down narrow stairs. Was able to get a nice grip on it, and keep the back straight and move it without much hassle.

In Regards to farmers etc. I used to work on a mushroom farm, where a 2-3 weekly workout was empting a mushroom house, this entailed lifting a 10lb mushroom bag from the ground and throwing it into a 6 foot high trailer. Not that head, but there are around 1000 bags per house, There'd be 2-3 of us doing it, none of us savages but you'd be surprised the actual strength some of these weak looking country folk have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭joc_06

The best thing i find is picking ppl up. i do a lot of presses and am over 100kg on a pushpress now so i have little trouble picking most people up. I havent got the technique yet to press a person but im working on it.
    Just need a 13st guinea pig. Anyone??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

When people here are saying they can bench press 90kgs etc does that mean you are doing it once or doing 4 x 6 sets with it?

If you are doing full sets with it then I must be piss weak, I do Chest presses with 30 kg barbells (4 x 6) as part of my work out. I find it a bit hard to belive there are so many out there benching something like 90/100kgs

joejoem wrote:
    When people here are saying they can bench press 90kgs etc does that mean you are doing it once or doing 4 x 6 sets with it?

If you are doing full sets with it then I must be piss weak, I do Chest presses with 30 kg barbells (4 x 6) as part of my work out. I find it a bit hard to belive there are so many out there benching something like 90/100kgs

Well most people online quote their 1 rep max and then add 20kg to it.

Im not talking about bench pressing though. I am talking about standing presses, Military presses, push presses like here
    http://exrx.net/WeightExercises/DeltoidAnterior/BBMilitaryPress.html
    100kg is my 1rm, 85kg for reps

I havent bench pressed in ages but last time i did 3x8@90kg. Thats a very small weight tbh. My best 1rm was about 110kg. As soon as the season finishes in a few weeks i'll be on this bigtime. Looking for a 150kg bench, 200kg squat by february 06 as well as some other goals.

joc_06 wrote:

Where has this website been all my life???? This is a great website!

Yes its one of many great websites. Others being:
    bodybuilding.com
    athletes.com
    defrancostraining.com
    charliefrancis.com

BrianD3 wrote:
    Tosser. If you think 90 kg is anywhere near a heavy deadlift then think again. Shows how much you know.
    BrianD3 wrote:
    The other fellas with me thought this was amazing - they were actually talking about using a JCB to move the rock before I lifted it :eek:

Talk about beating yourself with a stick.....
    And if you didn't think it was such a big deal, why did you bother to mention it?
    BrianD3 wrote:
    Why are you even posting here as it's obvious you haven't a ****ing clue what you're talking about. IIRC you're the same stupid bollox that was flaming me on a thread about condom sizes on PI. You were an idiot then and you're an idiot now.

And IIRC you're the same stupid bollox that got banned in that same thread for being an asshole.
    BrianD3 wrote:
    FYI the rock was ~90kg plus I can deadlift 150 kg with a bar two handed or 72 kg with a one handed suitcase deadlift.

Sorry, I forgot that there were handles on rocks.
    BrianD3 wrote:
    But i'm a lot closer to it than some begruding little wanker like yourself.

I'm not begrudging at all, I just am not coming on here saying, "Wow, you're so great, wish I was that strong"
    Are you dissapointed?
    BrianD3 wrote:
    Now that I've educated you why don't you shut up and **** off

You've educated me as to the extent of your arrogance.

When I didn't give you the reply you were looking for you just blew up. Try exercising your mind you child.

When I didn't give you the reply you were looking for you just blew up.
    :rolleyes: No, I blew up because some moron called me stupid, said I can't judge weights and made sarcastic comments about me being a superman and a hero.

If you think I posted this thread to brag or get praise from others about how strong I am you really are a sad bastard. It says a lot about your mindset that you read that into the thread. A jealous, begrudging mindset is what you have.

FWIW I'm one of the weakest regulars on this board and have admitted this on numerous occasions. There are lads here that can lift twice or three times what I can. Yet there's there's never any conflict here. Until you turn up with your 3rd post on this board and start calling me stupid.

I've just looked back at the condom size thread and there's definitely a pattern here. You criticise men who buy large fitting condoms and say they're doing it just to show off and boost their egos. What's the matter Linoge? Jealous of guys that don't a have a pathetically small cock like yourself? As well as being jealous of those who are stronger than you?

Go back to playing with your dolls you pussy.

BrianD3 wrote:
    I've just looked back at the condom size thread and there's definitely a pattern here. You criticise men who buy large fitting condoms and say they're doing it just to show off and boost their egos. What's the matter Linoge? Jealous of guys that don't a have a pathetically small cock like yourself? As well as being jealous of those who are stronger than you?

Yeh, thats right, I'm jealous of people who I don't know, can't see and who could be talking a load of crap anyway. :rolleyes:

The pattern is, you made a stupid comment or statement, I took the piss out of you. The same is done to me and a thousand others on here. Theres no need to get so upset.

Btw, you're calling me begrudging but really, what exactly am I begrudging???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Valehru

Let me please butt into this conversation.

I'm not one to use hyperbole, but this is the finest bullsh1t that I have ever heard. World class toss talk if you will.

Now let me put this in perspective when I say that a division one AIL rugby player, sorry tight head prop, can only benchpress 130 kg. I don't think any of you know the metric system at all. They must be fantasy cyber geek weights that you are lifting BrianD3. You probably never played a sport in your life.

Linoge was right in his assumptions about the impossibility of the weights you are "LIFTING".

Kind Regards.

Bah, I've had enough of you. Muppet. I've posted a complaint about you now anyway.

I'll just tell you something - you don't have a bloody clue about fitness, strength training etc. which after all is what this forum is about.

Prove me wrong by saying what exercises you do, how much you can lift, what your goals are or even just ask for advice if you are a beginner.

Of course you haven't and won't do any of that. Instead you come onto this thread and rather than discussing the topic at hand or saying something constructive your only contribution is to "take the piss" out of me. Same story with the other thread about condoms. Sad and clueless.

Valehru wrote:

I'm not one to use hyperbole, but this is the finest bullsh1t that I have ever heard. World class toss talk if you will.

Now let me put this in perspective when I say that a division one AIL rugby player, sorry tight head prop, can only benchpress 130 kg. I don't think any of you know the metric system at all. They must be fantasy cyber geek weights that you are lifting BrianD3. You probably never played a sport in your life.
    OMG another ****ing comedian.

Frankly I don't give a sh1t what a rugby prop can bench press. I don't even do the bloody exercise myself

Do you know the difference between a deadlift, lifting a rock off the ground and bench press. Why are you bringing up bench presses. What's your purpose here or are you just another troll.

Valehru wrote:

Its possible BrianD3 cant lift that weight and i doubt it but he might be able too. guess we'll never know.
    but that is a bit harsh tbh.

i would regard a 130kg BP as being excellent for an average joe but for a prop thats only barely average. Really the BP isnt a great functional test of strength. Its used extensively in the NFL but its being phased out. It just doesnt account for taller athletes, different positions/requrements.

All AIL players arent exactly top athletes either...

BrianD3 wrote:
    Bah, I've had enough of you. Muppet. I've posted a complaint about you now anyway..

Report me all you like. Read the boards charter. I think you'll see that you've broken more rules than me....
    BrianD3 wrote:
    Of course you haven't and won't do any of that. Instead you come onto this thread and rather than discussing the topic at hand or saying something constructive your only contribution is to "take the piss" out of me. Same story with the other thread about condoms. Sad and clueless.

You're avoiding my question. You didn't want to come back and say "You're begrudging me the fact that I'm so strong and manly, much more so than my friends even". Go on Brian, say it.

You really remind me of someone...

And Brian, just because you started the thread, doesn't give you the right to abuse people who post in it.

joc_06 wrote:
    Its possible BrianD3 cant lift that weight and i doubt it but he might be able too. guess we'll never know.
    Are we talking about 130kg bench presses or the infamous rock here? If it's the former then I can say for sure that i can't do it although I might be able to work up to it when I get my power cage.

If it's the rock - I haven't got the rock to hand but I've just sumo deadlifted 90 kg of loose standard plates stacked on top of each other. Not too difficult. Stack consisted of 2 x 15s at the bottom and 6 X 10s on top of that. I did cheat somewhat in that the bottom most 15 was about an inch off the ground with a smaller (10 kg) plate underneath allowing me to get my fingers onto a "ledge". The rock was easier as the ledge I grabbed was bigger and it was slightly higher up. As I said already it was a craggy rock with loads of places to grip onto. Had it been an atlas stone I would not have been able to do it, no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Valehru wrote:

You obviously have no idea about weight lifting or strength training and are basing all you know on rugby :confused:

Friend I train with benches 135kg twice on his final set, takes 2 spotters and he does the full motion...he's no animal either just has trained for years.

I have trained on/off for 3 years now gettin back into it about right now and i'm not far off 100kg on the bench, i could probably manage 100kg+ once.

Frankly I think your talking your ass, not Brian, do you do weight training yourself? because if you don't then don't start talking about something you have no clue about

Farlz

Valehru wrote:

Linoge was right in his assumptions about the impossibility of the weights you are "LIFTING".

Kind Regards.
    dude what is your point so what if a ail guy can bench 130kg i no a guy who was benching 140kg during senior schools rugby! ur friend isnt all that you know! its a good weight but not the best! plus benching and deadlifting are completly different i can bench 98kg once or twice yet can deadlift 150kg once or twice! completly different muscles! oh and bet you didnt no this on the leinster senior squad there is one guy benching only 120kg! the wea=kest on their team yet i bet he can deadlift much more then that!

My daddy is bigger than your daddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Ok as fun as this was to read - I'd ask that folks take all necessary personal abuse to PM's

Some points would be -

Posts about ability can rile people up - I always found meeting a few people from boards tended to thin out the bull**** and criticism on both sides - maybe you should both go for a drink.

Lifting rocks without handles can be very tough/awkward. Things can seem heavier than they are, I'd have a hard time saying the weight of a rock from a pick up personally.

I have a number of AIL rugby friends, I've trained with a good few of them and have a lot of rugby teams and players train in my gym. Some are not in great shape, but are probably talented players. Some are quite strong, but even still I have never seen one bench as much as myself or any of the other handful of 'lifters'. This isn't ego, but at 16st and above - a 130kg bench is not that impressive for a serious athlete. It's just about borderline for a part timer with some history in my view.

Basically I'm not criticising Rugby players, but the simple fact is - they are Rugby players and not power lifters/strength trainers. Pack players probably have great potential to develop big benches, but most just don't/can't have/get the time to train enough for lifting.

In any case picking a rock off the ground is more about squat/deadlift not bench.

JAK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

This actually could have been a good thread.But instead it turned into a hilarious thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,406 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

What I dont get is why everyone wants to keep moving these benches around?
    It just means that the CountyCouncil has to put them back.
    And as for picking up the deceased, thats just sick, worse than cow tipping imho :eek:

GreeBo wrote:
    What I dont get is why everyone wants to keep moving these benches around?
    It just means that the CountyCouncil has to put them back.
    And as for picking up the deceased, thats just sick, worse than cow tipping imho :eek:

What?