Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peeing/Spitting on electric fences....

• 07-08-2005 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭

My brother once p!ssed on an electric fence (unbeknown to him at the time). He lept back in pain and cried a yelp as the shock hit his knob. Pretty foolish in retrospect, but he was 8 or 9 at the time. The sillier thing is, he spat on another electric fence a couple of years later (wondering would it bubble on contact with the fence or something) and the spit was a long dribbly one. Again, conduction between the fence and his body was achieved through a most sensitive bodypart-his lips. Any other silly stories like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

A friend of mine was impotent for a few months after peeing on an electric fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Gordon wrote:
    A friend of mine was impotent for a few months after peeing on an electric fence.
    No way, seriously? Maybe my brother would have been but at 8 yrs old I doubt it would have mattered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

best one was a lad on our site, gets all the power leads ready for the drill for when he will be going up a ladder, it must of taken him 5 mins to setup, so i asked what are ya doing, he says, just getting mains for the drill, and i said sure the drill is cordless, did ya not see the battery.

Oh crap no. :D jesus im getting blind he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

On the walkway down from my old secondary school there was a field beside it with an electric fence. What we used to do was if you were walking down beside someone, grab them then grab the fence. If they were quick enough they would grab someone else, but if they weren't quick enough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

D wrote:
    On the walkway down from my old secondary school there was a field beside it with an electric fence. What we used to do was if you were walking down beside someone, grab them then grab the fence. If they were quick enough they would grab someone else, but if they weren't quick enough...

yeah thats a good one alright. used to do that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Femmy wrote:
    yeah thats a good one alright. used to do that too.

get them to do it in their bare feet, then they will know what a shock is like ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

well i'm an adult now so i dont really do it anymore, but i'll pass your advice onto the younger kids in my area, incase they want to give it a go...

I remember my cousin and I (both city boys) were down on a farm in the country somewhere. My cousin held the fence and exlaimed that it "wasn't sore at all". The farmer said the cattle are on all fours and hit it with their head. My cousin tried this and finally empathised with the cattle :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

One time on a scout hike we came upon a suspicious fence.
    I put my hand on it and wasn't shocked so I started to climb over it. It turned out to be a pulse fence and so while I was in the process of getting over it I was shocked and fell in a heap. After that everyone else timed it and got away unshocked :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Maynooth

murphaph wrote:
    My brother once p!ssed on an electric fence (unbeknown to him at the time). He lept back in pain and cried a yelp as the shock hit his knob. Pretty foolish in retrospect, but he was 8 or 9 at the time. The sillier thing is, he spat on another electric fence a couple of years later (wondering would it bubble on contact with the fence or something) and the spit was a long dribbly one. Again, conduction between the fence and his body was achieved through a most sensitive bodypart-his lips. Any other silly stories like this?

Oh Jesus ha ha....that's so funny. I had no idea that would happen but it makes sense now that I think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I seem to recall this particular thing being systematically debunked on Mythbusters on Discovery Channel.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

i've just held them tbh...i would rather not pee and it hurt...i've gotten way too much of that already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

when i was younger, vis. 12 or so, myself and my similar aged friends were out walking about in the pissing rain around our neighbourhood when we stumbled across a lampost that had the front panel cover removed. as the rain was hitting the live wires inside there as that crackling sound and the occaisional pretty blue flash. e stood looking at it for a minute or two thinking it was cool, when one of the lads made the suggestion of pissing on it. so out with his lad in his hand. there was a massive flash and sparks and he as on his back on the ground unconscious. he got a terrible shock from it. hospitalised and all. wasn't funny at the time, but we all have a god laugh at it now. he actually ended up getting a good 5 figure sum in compensation from it too about 3 or 4 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,575 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I can only imagine the new ESB warning sign! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Now thats the best story ever. Fortunately not Darwin Award winning though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

lol
    one of my friends pissed on an electric fence years ago :D urban n00bs
    very funny though :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

derek27 wrote:
    he actually ended up getting a good 5 figure sum in compensation from it too about 3 or 4 years ago.
    God i hae ****ers who get money for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Yeah, he didn't deserve anything, except a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

ColHol wrote:
    God i hae ****ers who get money for nothing

I wouldn't call the pain he went thru nothing, all beit foolish.

Know a lad who pissed on a fence and got landed on his bak, good few years ago though, same lad ran through a field one night and got tangled in a fence around his legs...him lying on ground wrapped in a fence constantly shocking him...sparks were funny tho.

I often caught a fence with my hand and the feeling of the shock is mad, battery fences not too bad but mains fence are féckers.

Farlz

Farls wrote:
    I often caught a fence with my hand and the feeling of the shock is mad, battery fences not too bad but mains fence are féckers.

We'll take your word for it, but if you want to do a demo I'm sure we'll get a crowd to watch. You might even piss on it for us! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Bodka

Flukey wrote:
    We'll take your word for it, but if you want to do a demo I'm sure we'll get a crowd to watch. You might even piss on it for us! :)

hey flukey, you do know what your name means amongst the gay community ?

Flukey wrote:

hehe...don't mind holding them...didnt mention anything about taking the boyo out to one tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Sparky_S wrote:
    best one was a lad on our site, gets all the power leads ready for the drill for when he will be going up a ladder, it must of taken him 5 mins to setup, so i asked what are ya doing, he says, just getting mains for the drill, and i said sure the drill is cordless, did ya not see the battery.

Oh crap no. :D jesus im getting blind he says.

Well I know this is a bit off topic,but when I worked on sites especially in winter or rainy season.I used to see the electricans/plumbers come up the road with their materials and tools for the houses they were working on.

They could only go so far sometimes in dumper either because of no road or just too much mud/pools of rainwater and they used to load themselfs up with their stuff and it would be falling out of their pockets.So halfway to the house they were working on I would ring them on the mobile. :D

God it used to be so funny to see them having to drop their stuff in the muck to answer phone,but then I would hang up just as they were going to answer.

The look on their face was priceless.Ahh the good auld days.

You horrible person, you. :)

mad m wrote:
    Well I know this is a bit off topic,but when I worked on sites especially in winter or rainy season.I used to see the electricans/plumbers come up the road with their materials and tools for the houses they were working on.

They could only go so far sometimes in dumper either because of no road or just too much mud/pools of rainwater and they used to load themselfs up with their stuff and it would be falling out of their pockets.So halfway to the house they were working on I would ring them on the mobile. :D

God it used to be so funny to see them having to drop their stuff in the muck to answer phone,but then I would hang up just as they were going to answer.

The look on their face was priceless.Ahh the good auld days.

hehe completly OT but good story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I think this song can come in handy for such occasions when you feel you need to relieve yourself on an electric fence.
    When nature's callin'
    Don't be stallin'
    Use your common sense
    Before you let it flow
    Find a place to go
    Just don't whiz on the electric fence

If you're gonna explode
    You can use the commode
    Of igloos, cave dwellings or tents
    No need to explain when you gotta drain
    Just don't whiz on the electric fence

You can swizzle on the sofa
    Piddle in the air
    Tinkle in the toilet
    That's why it is there
    (Toilet flushing)

You can let it rain
    In the breakdown lane
    While waving at ladies and gents
    Just don't whiz on...
    Don't whiz on
    Don't whiz on the electric fence.

No! No! No! No! Wiiiiizzzzz!

laughing
    (electric sounds)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

murphaph wrote:

You know I find this really hard to believe at all. THere is a show on discovery cally Mythbusters where they test out some myths. They tried the myth out that peeing on the third rail would get a shoc. Baiscally you can't get a continus line of pee to carry a current. THey tried everything and concluded it was not possible. I guess if you were very very close to the fence you could do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Alun wrote:
    I seem to recall this particular thing being systematically debunked on Mythbusters on Discovery Channel.

I also saw this. That doesnt really matter if you want it to be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Farls wrote:
    Know a lad who pissed on a fence and got landed on his bak, good few years ago though, same lad ran through a field one night and got tangled in a fence around his legs...him lying on ground wrapped in a fence constantly shocking him...sparks were funny tho.

Ahahahahahahaha :D

i'm getting funny looks here in work, better shut the hell up with the laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

You know I find this really hard to believe at all. THere is a show on discovery cally Mythbusters where they test out some myths. They tried the myth out that peeing on the third rail would get a shoc. Baiscally you can't get a continus line of pee to carry a current. THey tried everything and concluded it was not possible. I guess if you were very very close to the fence you could do it.
    Just checked my Mythbusters archive, and they concluded that urine is perfectly capable of carrying lethal current. The trick is to keep the stream solid. At 'normal' standing height (and using 'standard' length tubing :D ), the stream tends to break into droplets before it reaches the ground, thus it carries no current. By lifting the electrified rail closer to the source, and increasing the diameter of the tube to ensure a solid stream of urine, they comprehensively 'killed' the test dummy.
    They concluded that for all practical purposes the myth was busted, but that it could happen under certain circumstances.

A properly set up and earthed electric fence is specifically designed to complete a circuit through insulating material- hair, clothing, etc. However, it's also designed NOT to send lethal levels of current through the complete circuit. The more powerful mains powered ones will arc current to earth for a distance of up to a half inch or more, depending on the conductivity of the object it's arcing to. This lets them shock hairy cattle and woolly sheep without having to achieve direct contact with the skin. They'll also 'self clean' by burning off vegetation as it grows up around the fence!

An electric fence wire will typically be lifted off the ground, and will thus be closer to the 'source' of the urine. Combine this with its other design features, and it's VERY possible to get shocked through a urine stream by one of these things.
    I, personally, witnessed my own father fall victim to this. He peed off the top of a silage pit onto the electrified barrier below, a distance of some 6 feet or so. He was extremely unhappy with the result, though it gave everyone else a good laugh. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Rovi wrote:
    Just checked my Mythbusters archive, and they concluded that urine is perfectly capable of carrying lethal current. The trick is to keep the stream solid.

Saw the show and you might be missing some of the points they made. I agree the fence is higher and more likely . They couldn't measure a steady stream past 1 inch or less. The 6 feet of your father's "accident" seems extremely unlikely. You would need to be really, really, really close to get a shock from what I saw.
    Rovi wrote:
    However, it's also designed NOT to send lethal levels of current through the complete circuit. The more powerful mains powered ones will arc current to earth for a distance of up to a half inch or more, depending on the conductivity of the object it's arcing to.
    You know the laws of physics can't be denied. Earth is just as attractive to all forms of electrictity is the way I remeber my studies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

The best i can put forward is leaning on a gate which had a charge through it and getting shocked so that my left side went completely numb... one hour of fun and drooling

Saw the show and you might be missing some of the points they made.
    I have that show right here on my computer, and can go through it frame by frame.
    They measured a current of 65mA (milliamps) through urine using 650V.
    They state that 30mA can paralyse your breathing, 65mA can give you a heart attack.

[other info from elsewhere-
    humans can feel 1mA, 10mA can cause severe muscular contractions, and 100mA can cause third degree burns, complete heart stoppage or blockage of the respiratory control center. ie.- death.
    More here.
    Also, the old trick of sticking a PP3 type 9V battery to your tongue gives a current of about 0.1mA.
    ]

Their high speed camera showed the urine stream breaking up into droplets before it connected the rail, so they overcame this by moving the rail closer and increasing the size of the stream. This 'killed' the test dummy.

They also state that there has never been any documented case of this happening in the history of the New York Subway.
    I agree the fence is higher and more likely.
    Thanks.
    They couldn't measure a steady stream past 1 inch or less.
    I can't find any reference anywhere to the distance from 'source' to where the stream starts to break up. Perhaps you can tell me at what point in the episode that they state this?
    The 6 feet of your father's "accident" seems extremely unlikely.
    I'm amazed at your superior knowledge of WHAT I SAW WITH MY OWN EYES! There were three people there, and I'm pretty sure none of them was called 'MorningStar.' I'm the only one of the three still alive, so unless you're my father or the other guy posting from beyond the grave, I'll continue believing what I know I saw, thank you very much. With all due respect. :D
    You would need to be really, really, really close to get a shock from what I saw.
    Agreed, based on what they did and how they did it. Jamie (the one with the moustache) states the distance to the rail was 6 inches, and Adam states 3 inches. Whichever, I'll concede that the distance is improbably short.
    What they didn't do was earth the dummy properly. They set up the live rail on insulating blocks and connected the earth side of the circuit to the railroad track. That's fine, as that's how the system works in real life. However, they made no allowance for bone dry California soil, and the insulating properties of the wooden railroad ties ('sleepers' in this part of the world). They wet the ground and the dummy's feet to improve the circuit, and eventually got it to work. They never investigated the highly lightly possibility that the original mythical victim was standing much closer to or even ON the ground rail.
    You know the laws of physics can't be denied. Earth is just as attractive to all forms of electrictity is the way I remeber my studies
    You may also remember stuff about insulators and resistance. Current will earth itself through the 'path of least resistance.' If that happens to be through a stream of urine, a body, and whatever footwear they're wearing, that's where it's going to go.
    Consider that modern solid state mains powered electric fencers are throwing out 10,000 or more volts, but they're only doing it for an 100,000th of a second or so every one or two seconds. That's why people (and animals) don't drop dead when 500-4000mA is shot through them, the current isn't flowing for long enough to do (permanent) damage.
    What determines the perceived power of the shock is always going to be the ‘highest resistance’ part of the circuit, usually the footwear in the case of humans. REALLY good quality insulating footwear will reduce the shock to practically nothing, while standing barefoot in a puddle and peeing on the wire will give about as good a circuit as it’s probably possible to get, short of hanging on to the 2 contacts on the fencer unit.

I’ll leave it to your imagination what it’s like for livestock with 4 points of contact with the ground (barefoot!) and touching the fence with a wet nose or tongue!

Don’t forget also, that current at these high voltages will ionise the air and jump across gaps in the circuit, so a solid urine stream isn’t even necessary to get the fireworks going.

My brother was very close to the fence when he p!ssed on it. Perhaps only a few inches. I would imagine urine itself would be an excellent conductor given all the salt it contains (remember tha pure H2O does not conduct at all well). The only issue would be getting a solid strea going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I once got electricuted by a swimsuit dryer. Just knocked me back a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Well I know my Dad once successfully deterred a local dog who routinely peed on the wheels of his car by running an electric current through the chassis. Judging by the fact the the dog yelped and jumped over on his back as soon as his stream hit the wheel, then ran off down the road, I think it worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

not a pee related story,

but i did electricute(Sp ?) my self.

was cutting the grass with one of the wonders of the 80's a electric FlyMo.

I even say the cut lead but i got the facts mixed up ( i was 8) and i though that by NOT having runners on i would be fine, so i kicked them off and kept going .. was on my 3rd pass that i got a whack of the Mains .... made me fall over .. the only way i can describe it is you know when your being tickled , but the person just keeps going till it gets sore .. sort of liek that, but with no of the laughs and it's all over your body...

Prob exlaines why up untill June of this year my hair used to grow up and out :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Megatron wrote:
    i though that by NOT having runners on i would be fine, so i kicked them off and kept going ..

LOL! Priceless! I was always getting shocked as a kid, mainly indoors though. Fortunately I seem to have a high resistance. The field next to my house has an electric fence going round it. I hop over sometimes when I want to fly a kite. The electric wire is at just the right height to catch me on the inner thighs and in between my legs as I step over it. It doesn't really hurt but I wouldn't sit there for the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

As a muppet of a kid around 8-10 years old, I wanted to plug something (a radio or something, can't really remember) with a 2-pin euro plug in. Being incredibly smart and clever, I used a stainless steel scissors to stick into the middle pin of the socket to open up the lower two.

That was an interesting experience :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Rovi wrote:
    I have that show right here on my computer, and can go through it frame by frame.

LOL I just love the idea of you sitting in an office somewhere; systematically and repeatedly analysing a video of people pissing!

It's a tough job, but someone's got to do it. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Never got a shock through my bell-end but i did get electrocuted before,
    at the age of about 15 or so a friend of mine dared me that I couldnt handle an electric shock, I never back down from a challenge (and still dont) so I promptly unsccrewed a light bulb and jammed my fingers into the holder socket, that was .... uh ..... fun.

My father on the other hand nearly got killed. We had some workmen on the roof of our kitchen fixing a satallite dish or something, it was a flat old felt roof over the kitchen and downstairs bathroom. Unknown to us, one of the workmen accidently put the leg of his ladder through the roof into the bathroom ceiling. A couple of days later there was heavy rain, my father was in the shower when he realised the light was blinking, and that there was something wierd in the bottom of the light shade (rain water leaking out from outside) so without thinking he reached up towards it ....
    and got blown clean out of the shower by the shock he got from it.

He was afraid to have a shower with the light on for a couple of weeks after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭dawballz

c - 13 wrote:
    ....., I never back down from a challenge (and still dont)..

I bet you won't pee on an electric fence.
    :D:D:D

dawballz wrote:
    I bet you won't pee on an electric fence.
    :D:D:D

Much as I dislike the thought of this, challenge accepted :D
    Not wheres my nearest electric fence ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I bet you couldn't run up and down your street all day, naked.

Gordon wrote:
    I bet you couldn't run up and down your street all day, naked.

Ah the aul' gardai werent exactly the happiest the last time i tried that, i timed out at just under an hour before they caught me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,575 ✭✭✭✭Victor

c - 13 wrote:
    Ah the aul' gardai werent exactly the happiest the last time i tried that, i timed out at just under an hour before they caught me ;)
    Just have two lads on bikes follow you with cattle prods. You'll not slow down then. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

has anyone ever tried sh1tting on an electric fence?