Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whos the hardest nation in the world?

• 05-08-2005 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭

which country has the hardest people?, im talking fights without weapons. My moneys on the New Zealand Maoris or polynesians because of there sheer size and power advantage, I also wacthed a program and it was on about how there skulls are extremely thick and take severe bashes most other people would die of.

Also whos the hardest in the British Isles, English, Irish, Scottish or Welsh.

And please no comments on how childish this is, its just a bit of craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

sheer size and power advantage mean nothing in a fight..

anyway it's the klingons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

Mongolians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Pff jem hadar own the klingons :rolleyes: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Irishstabber

the borg own all them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭madfistbt

Only small people say that, altough its true to a certain extent but if someone whos 6ft 5 and 19 stone solid has the same speed as a guy who is 5ft8 and 12 stone who is going to win? Or shall I put it this way
    Mike Tyson in his prime vs Ricky Hatton in his prime , whod win in a fight?

Or Jonah Lomu vs Johnny Wilkinson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

The Jedi can fly all over the shop though and have all those mad force power yokes, therefore they are the hardest race.

Funny Intergelatic Jokes By The Irish Boards.ie Crew.

Polar Bears Would **** Any Of Them Up Anyway, Now Get Back To The Subject You Intelerable People

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DawnMc

USA I'd guess but then again, I know feck all and thought people from the Netherlands were called Neandertholians!

• Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,600 CMod ✭✭✭✭RopeDrink

The Vatican.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

madfistbt wrote:
    Only small people say that, altough its true to a certain extent but if someone whos 6ft 5 and 19 stone solid has the same speed as a guy who is 5ft8 and 12 stone who is going to win? Or shall I put it this way
    Mike Tyson in his prime vs Ricky Hatton in his prime , whod win in a fight?

Or Jonah Lomu vs Johnny Wilkinson
    im 5 11 if ya call that small :P
    and no i think anybody who knows martial arts says that.
    as for the speed thing that does not matter,its thought and techniqe.
    boxing is not a real fight so i would dismiss that,who would win bruce lee or Mike Tyson?
    my bet species 8472

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Japan has ninjas; it wins by default.

im 5 11 if ya call that small :P
    and no i think anybody who knows martial arts says that.
    as for the speed thing that does not matter,its thought and techniqe.
    boxing is not a real fight so i would dismiss that,who would win bruce lee or Mike Tyson?
    my bet species 8472

I would honestly fancy Mike Tyson, if he got hold of him. .....................Actually thinking maybe not but mike tyson was one mother of an animal. Also why do people always think that people who are more muscley have not got thought, technique or speed. Generally people who are into weights are also into some kind of martial arts or kick boxing, also they have more testosterone. And altough i would never underestimate anyone, I think size does matter when it comes to fights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Guzzler

Overall I'd have to say the NZ/Pacific Islanders. I know many races of people have traditions of fighting but physically them lads are animals! Anyone any views of the softest nation ? Italy, hand down imo. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

Northern Ireland

madfistbt wrote:
    I would honestly fancy Mike Tyson, if he got hold of him. .....................Actually thinking maybe not but mike tyson was one mother of an animal. Also why do people always think that people who are more muscley have not got thought, technique or speed. Generally people who are into weights are also into some kind of martial arts or kick boxing, also they have more testosterone. And altough i would never underestimate anyone, I think size does matter when it comes to fights
    i didnt mean they were less likely to win,just that it doesnt matter that much.i have seen some big mofos fall at tournies and the guy that taught me was like 5ft and tbh talk about a whoopin he could give :eek:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

**** America. Ireland wins hands down. See bottled violence by Minor Threat and you'll know what I mean.

Guzzler wrote:
    Overall I'd have to say the NZ/Pacific Islanders. I know many races of people have traditions of fighting but physically them lads are animals! Anyone any views of the softest nation ? Italy, hand down imo. :D

agree wholeheartedly, some of them really are beasts and just as tough mentally as they are physically. I have a friend from NZ who tells me some mad stories about Maoris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

New Zealand by a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Latvia. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Guzzler

The one worry I have about the NZ crew is that when I was out there I found a good few of them fierce easygoin. I suppose once they'd get a haka going they'd get riled up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

Germany!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Flashling

Ehh...the ninja thing WAS a good point...doesn't karate mean way of the empty hand? So wouldn't they be best without weapons....but then again, pirates! (are they from any country in particular?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,909 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Have to be the Chechen's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Eastern Europeans when they have drink taken.

It's scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Flashling wrote:
    Ehh...the ninja thing WAS a good point...doesn't karate mean way of the empty hand? So wouldn't they be best without weapons....but then again, pirates! (are they from any country in particular?)

Ninjas train in Ninjitsu.
    And the Samurai hailed from Japan, they are hard bastards..
    The whole "Size in a fight" topic was discussed in the Martial Arts thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

madfistbt wrote:
    which country has the hardest people?,
    Ireland as a matter of fact have a reputation for being hard. We're not all Dublin softies in Ireland! :p
    madfistbt wrote:
    im talking fights without weapons. My moneys on the New Zealand Maoris or polynesians because of there sheer size and power advantage, I also wacthed a program and it was on about how there skulls are extremely thick and take severe bashes most other people would die of.
    New Zealands hardest rugby player is Ritchie McCaw and he's not a maori or polynesian.

If you want to see who are the best, hardest fighters you should watch some MMA (mixed martial arts) events like the UFC. That combines boxing with kicking and wrestling and you can use your knees or elbows. Whites (unlike boxing) usually dominate this event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Virus_Inc

From a NZ perspective the maori are a warrior/tribal race. Also they're only really just recently westernised - NZ is an extremely young nation - the Treaty of Waitangi was only signed in 1840 (effectively when NZ became a nation in its own right) and at that stage and a fair while afterwards during the land wars they still lived in their tribal society and most tribes still exist, in a modified way, today but most of their culture still remains. Elements of their tribal nature also shows up in the gangs that form in the inner cities.

They're also fierce cunning warriors - they recognised how effective firearms were and quickly adapted to fighting with them - against each other and the british - as opposed to the likes of the aboriginies in Australia. They were the scourge of the british troops in NZ and greatly feared by axis troops in the first and second world war.

Being of tribal nature they are very family orientated and fiercely loyal (obviously there are always exceptions to the rule but I went to a country school where the majority of the faces were brown). If you are their friend they will look out for you and do anything if you need help and as Guzzler says they are very amenable people when you get to know them. They dont get riled too easily but stay out of their way when they do!

I've known a fair few of them in my time - prolly my best mate in Dublin is a big maori bloke who works as a bouncer - I think it's fair to say that like most races there are always a few bad apples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

KnowItAll wrote:
    Ireland as a matter of fact have a reputation for being hard.
    I heard that as well from some a Maori guy actually. Can't really see why we would have a harder reputation than any other country - perhaps because we don't have a gun culture, so we have to know how to handle ourselves? Or maybe it's just the old stereotype of the drunk red-haired Irishmen fighting over some drink.

Like someone said, some of the Eastern Europeans are angry angry men. Would be much more wary of them.
    KnowItAll wrote:
    We're not all Dublin softies in Ireland! :p
    No comment :rolleyes:
    KnowItAll wrote:
    New Zealands hardest rugby player is Ritchie McCaw and he's not a maori or polynesian.

No, he is probably their most skilfull player, but not much harder than anyone else on the team. Not that I would take him on in a rush though.
    KnowItAll wrote:
    If you want to see who are the best, hardest fighters you should watch some MMA (mixed martial arts) events like the UFC. That combines boxing with kicking and wrestling and you can use your knees or elbows. Whites (unlike boxing) usually dominate this event.

Is that the fighting they do in a caged boxing ring? Universal something or another? - looks savage stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

McCaw is nowhere near being the hardest player in the NZ team. He just doesn't give a fcuk about his body. Jerry Collins would be harder by a good bit.

The Dutch, although generally perceived to be laid back, have some incredibly hard b*stards amongst their ranks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

eoin_s wrote:

Is that the fighting they do in a caged boxing ring? Universal something or another? - looks savage stuff

Ultimate fighting championship. Its always on Bravo. Its great stuff, some brutal and fierce, not to mention skillful, fighting

Johnson wrote:
    McCaw is nowhere near being the hardest player in the NZ team. He just doesn't give a fcuk about his body. Jerry Collins would be harder by a good bit.

Collins is a great example. How about that Trevor Liotta, I think he is Samoan or Tongan. He is just this massive cube of muscle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

eoin_s wrote:
    I heard that as well from some a Maori guy actually. Can't really see why we would have a harder reputation than any other country - perhaps because we don't have a gun culture, so we have to know how to handle ourselves? Or maybe it's just the old stereotype of the drunk red-haired Irishmen fighting over some drink.

Like someone said, some of the Eastern Europeans are angry angry men. Would be much more wary of them.

No comment :rolleyes:

No, he is probably their most skilfull player, but not much harder than anyone else on the team. Not that I would take him on in a rush though.

not sold it yet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

It's gotta be Easter Island.
    Just look at the inhabitants.... hard as nails I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

funny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

eoin_s wrote:
    Collins is a great example. How about that Trevor Liotta, I think he is Samoan or Tongan. He is just this massive cube of muscle.

He's Samoan, and he is indeed very similar to a tank on legs. Not the most mobile of players, but an immovable object of epic proportions. Not sure if I'd class him as "hard" though.

Johnson wrote:
    He's Samoan, and he is indeed very similar to a tank on legs. Not the most mobile of players, but an immovable object of epic proportions. Not sure if I'd class him as "hard" though.

Well, it would be hard to do much damage to him so that would probably count.

eoin_s wrote:
    I heard that as well from some a Maori guy actually. Can't really see why we would have a harder reputation than any other country -
    The Irish dominated bare knuckle boxing in the last century. On a BBC programe earlier this year they profiled the 3 best fighters in the boxing ring (in terms of knocking out their opponents) of all time. Along with Mike Tyson were 2 Irish Americans, John L Sullivan and Jack Dempsey.

Also, what other country has a game like hurling!
    eoin_s wrote:
    He's their number 7. Yes he is skillful but I know no other backrow player who can dominate games like McCaw. You need to be hard to be a number 7 because thats the position where most collisions occur.

eoin_s wrote:
    How about that Trevor Liotta, I think he is Samoan or Tongan. He is just this massive cube of muscle.
    A massive cube of fat is more like! :D

Andrew Sheridan would be a better example.

KnowItAll wrote:
    The Irish dominated bare knuckle boxing in the last century. On a BBC programe earlier this year they profiled the 3 best fighters in the boxing ring (in terms of knocking out their opponents) of all time. Along with Mike Tyson were 2 Irish Americans, John L Sullivan and Jack Dempsey.

Also, what other country has a game like hurling!

This is true - though what's that game like squash only with scoop type rackets? They had it on Jackass once.
    KnowItAll wrote:
    He's their number 7. Yes he is skillful but I know no other backrow player who can dominate games like McCaw. You need to be hard to be a number 7 because thats the position where most collisions occur.

I see what you mean, but he just doesn't strike me as a particularly hard man , more just an excellent player...
    A massive cube of fat is more like!

Yes - but it's hard fat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭weemcd

Lithuanians are hard bastards.

Suppose the same goes for any other eastern european countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

UFC = Ultimate Fighting Championship

Check out PrideFC :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

eoin_s wrote:
    This is true - though what's that game like squash only with scoop type rackets? They had it on Jackass once.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jai_alai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

ziggy67 wrote:
    Don't you watch the movies? Pirates are from the Caribean, i thought everyone knew that. :rolleyes:
    I thought they were from Penzance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The Vietnamese seem pretty tough...

Virus_Inc wrote:
    From a NZ perspective the maori are a warrior/tribal race. Also they're only really just recently westernised - NZ is an extremely young nation - the Treaty of Waitangi was only signed in 1840 (effectively when NZ became a nation in its own right) and at that stage and a fair while afterwards during the land wars they still lived in their tribal society and most tribes still exist, in a modified way, today but most of their culture still remains. Elements of their tribal nature also shows up in the gangs that form in the inner cities.

They're also fierce cunning warriors - they recognised how effective firearms were and quickly adapted to fighting with them - against each other and the british - as opposed to the likes of the aboriginies in Australia. They were the scourge of the british troops in NZ and greatly feared by axis troops in the first and second world war.

Being of tribal nature they are very family orientated and fiercely loyal (obviously there are always exceptions to the rule but I went to a country school where the majority of the faces were brown). If you are their friend they will look out for you and do anything if you need help and as Guzzler says they are very amenable people when you get to know them. They dont get riled too easily but stay out of their way when they do!

I've known a fair few of them in my time - prolly my best mate in Dublin is a big maori bloke who works as a bouncer - I think it's fair to say that like most races there are always a few bad apples.

Nice post. Ive got to say ive always been fascinated with their culture, I admire the way they are (from what Ive been told) gentle giants and very traditional, If your good to them they will show you respect, but get on the wrong side of them and your in trouble. Altough a lot of them dont like white people.

If I owned a nightclub I would employ 50% Maoris and 50% nutter Dubliners for bouncers, Isnt it rare to see maoris in Europe though?, as they are so family orientated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kawaii

The French....

NOT! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It has to be us!

I can't think of any other nation on earth that can remain neutral for 80 years yet still be considered a bunch of tough violent bastards internationally.