Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PC Restarts during video rendering

• 28-07-2005 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭

OK Im a bit stuck looking at this machine...
    P4 3.ghz 1gb ram
    Display adapter Radeon 9200se

While running Nero 6 (All latest updates installed BTW) When creating DVD from Video files the PC restarts at various stages during rendering/transcoding. This varies it could be 5 minutes or 45 minutes.
    Somtimes on restart I get the "Recovered from serious error" Message.
    The last one displayed
    bccode19
    bcp1 00000020
    bcp2 85631b20
    bcp3 85631b50
    bcp4 0a060002
    osver 5_1_2600 sp2

What I have tried so far .....
    Nero with & with out updates
    reinstall Display Adapter
    Updated driver display adapter
    Updated drivers on any hardware where available.
    Tried restoring to good config , but the problem returns as soon as I run nero to create DVD
    The Prob is the same if using Pinnicle also..

What does work...........
    A small video file of 10-15 minutes converts & burns fine.
    DVD copying works fine using pinicle or nero....

Any Ideas would be greatly appriciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

power supply issue there, what make and wattage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭beller b

Hi MP3guy, The Make is Seasonic SS300GS 300w Do you reckon thats the prob??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Man 300 watt sucks, thats your prob. For a 3ghz id recommend at least 400W.

Thats true...Advent cutting corners thats what came with the machine.. I'll Get a PSU tomorrow & let ye know how it goes.. Thanks lads...

Little advice too, don't get Q-Tech. Heard too many of them give in

Cheers might go for something a bit higher..Been talking to this guy & he has a good few USB devices so I should have twigged it anyway.. Thanks again I'll let you know how it goes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭paddy

get memtest as bad memory will also cause resets&crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

I take it its nero vision express that's actually doing the encoding? if so get something else coz that does nothing but crash for me, if the new PSU doesnt solve ur prob then it could be your processor overheating

BTW get a bequiet! PSU from http://www.hitide.ie

I dont think nero (version 6 reloaded) is the problem as DVD shrink works fine.. there have also been a couple of probs with Pinnicle as well.. I rekon the processor is ok it a new enough machine 7-8 months.. 7 or 8 usb devices connected as well, so the PSU could be struggling...

Ok new PSU gone into the machine ,400w ... Converting a full (700mb) AVI file to see how it goes. It 1215 now running 35 minutes so far so good fingers crossed.............

Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh spoke too soon got to about 55 minutes ....didnt restart just switched off & no error message when restarted...............
    The only error showing in the log is..
    Category (50)
    Event ID 4609

Description
    The COM+Event System detected a bad return code during its internal processing. HRESULT was 80007041F from line 44 of d:\qxp_slp\com\com1x\src\events\tier1\eventsystemobi.cpp ..Wgen I follow the link to help & support I get "We're sorry there is no additional information about this issue blah blah blah....
    I don't know if this error has anything to do with it or not but nothing else show up in the log..

Does this make sense to anyone......? PS checked memory thats ok....

Right I have been at this machine now for 10 hours solid...sombody please tell me something new to try before it goes out the window....

I have run every test on it using Norton performance test & Check-it utilities.. Everything passes... The only thing I have noticed is that after it shuts down or restarts it seem to roll back the driver on the display adapter..I have tried uninstall & reinstall of this & have tried with both recent & older drivers ...........Any help would be greatly appriciated.........

Hmm, annoying when you don't know whats up. Could it be your graphics card that is the problem? What temperature is your processor at?

Don't like hearing processor......Where do I find out the temp?

Software out there called Motherboard Monitor 5. You will probably find it on downloads.com

Ok Web, thanks for that.....I think I have the config right ,Its showing CPU temp at 44c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭paddy

Check your ram!! as above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Had a similar problem to this before which was due to the processor overheating; it only had stock cooling on. But on restart I got a message something like "The System was shut down to prevent thermal damage to the CPU" a bigger heatsink and fan cured the problem but a temporary solution which worked for me was to leave the cover off the machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

his CPU is running at 44c, thats fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭rancheros

paddy wrote:
    get memtest as bad memory will also cause resets&crashes.

check this out, my pc used to turn on and of by itself and it turned out to be faulty memory

Hmm...this is strange, download this: http://mersenne.org/gimps/p95v2413.zip

This is to test how stable your rig is, do a stress test(options, torture test, select in place large FFT's) , a completely stable system should not fail even after hours, see how long you go without failing, thats if you fail.

rancheros wrote:
    check this out, my pc used to turn on and of by itself and it turned out to be faulty memory
    I checked the memory thanks rancheros & Paddy....

Hi Markus...can you check that link for me ..just getting the page cannot be displayed..whats the name of the software I google it...Thanks..

hmm..it works ok for me, its called prime 95

Yeah...! got it now, I'll let you know how it goes..Thanks

Hi Markus.. Ok I ran it twice ... It has to be bad because it only lastted about 5 minutes each time...These are the results:
    [Sat Jul 30 16:36:28 2005]
    Compare your results to other computers at http://www.mersenne.org/bench.htm
    That web page also contains instructions on how your results can be included.

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    CPU speed: 3006.55 MHz
    CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 cache size: 16 KB
    L2 cache size: 1024 KB
    L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L2 cache line size: 128 bytes
    TLBS: 64
    Prime95 32-bit version 24.13, RdtscTiming=1
    Best time for 512K FFT length: 16.434 ms.
    Best time for 640K FFT length: 21.152 ms.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 25.581 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 31.293 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 35.461 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 43.800 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 53.098 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 63.497 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 72.460 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 93.693 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 113.545 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 137.932 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 153.898 ms.
    Best time for 58 bit trial factors: 9.131 ms.
    Best time for 59 bit trial factors: 9.162 ms.
    Best time for 60 bit trial factors: 9.201 ms.
    Best time for 61 bit trial factors: 9.154 ms.
    Best time for 62 bit trial factors: 12.810 ms.
    Best time for 63 bit trial factors: 12.908 ms.
    Best time for 64 bit trial factors: 14.922 ms.
    Best time for 65 bit trial factors: 14.901 ms.
    Best time for 66 bit trial factors: 14.697 ms.
    Best time for 67 bit trial factors: 14.833 ms.
    Quitting GIMPS after current work completes.
    Compare your results to other computers at http://www.mersenne.org/bench.htm
    That web page also contains instructions on how your results can be included.

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    CPU speed: 3006.97 MHz
    CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 cache size: 16 KB
    L2 cache size: 1024 KB
    L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L2 cache line size: 128 bytes
    TLBS: 64
    Prime95 32-bit version 24.13, RdtscTiming=1
    Best time for 512K FFT length: 16.321 ms.
    Best time for 640K FFT length: 21.006 ms.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 25.561 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 31.341 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 35.632 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 43.525 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 57.586 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 76.062 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 77.433 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 114.330 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 131.064 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 141.818 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 167.009 ms.
    Best time for 58 bit trial factors: 9.106 ms.
    Best time for 59 bit trial factors: 9.260 ms.
    Best time for 60 bit trial factors: 9.213 ms.
    Best time for 61 bit trial factors: 9.158 ms.
    Best time for 62 bit trial factors: 12.914 ms.
    Best time for 63 bit trial factors: 12.962 ms.
    Best time for 64 bit trial factors: 14.817 ms.
    Best time for 65 bit trial factors: 15.222 ms.
    Best time for 66 bit trial factors: 15.192 ms.
    Best time for 67 bit trial factors: 15.228 ms.

This is a little over my head tbh.. Any idea what this refers to??? Thanks again

Does this software do any video rendering? Keep the temperature monitor opened during the stresses and monitor temperature. Maybe you just read 44c when computer was doing nothing

Yes the rendering can run for 20-60 minutes.. In face it will complete a small video file without any probs. Ill try keeping an eye on the temp... After this Its down to stripping the machine dow to basics & try add bits 1 by 1....(Not something I look forward to)

beller b wrote:
    Yes the rendering can run for 20-60 minutes.. In face it will complete a small video file without any probs. Ill try keeping an eye on the temp... After this Its down to stripping the machine dow to basics & try add bits 1 by 1....(Not something I look forward to)
    ah well, not a major job. I do it all the time :)

Want to do this one for me? lol
    Anyway ran the stress test again... Temp stayed steady at 42 but this time the test stopped insted of the machine shutting down..
    This is where it stopped:
    Test 1,4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024k FFT lenght
    [Sat Jul 30 17:45:39 2005]
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.49609375, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

That tells me that your system is pretty un stable, prime tests cpu and memory, as you've done mem test i'd say your cpu is buggered, maybe its not getting enuf voltage, or maybe its getting too much.

Oh I love good news...Think I'll try the memory again first....theres 2x 512 maybe try each on its own & see what happens...Strange that everything else runs fine....
    Anyway thanks for all the help,really appriciate it..

If your feeling upto the challenge go into the bios and see if you can find an option for CPU voltage or sometimes called vcore, if you find it post what setting its on

Markus, can't fine any of that the only thing I could find was CPU frequency : 200..There seems to be a good few menu intes not highlighted...Tomorow I think I'll just strip the machine back to basics & see can I find any faulty hardware....Thanks

Ok lastestupdate on this.......Been at it most of the weekend & head is wrecked. Swithched around memory & tried each of them individually.Worked once &back to the same...Also shuts down before completing a virus scan..I am now trying a restore of a norton ghost image..I'll port how that works out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Sgtshaft

What is your mainboard? and do u have stock cooling? its sounding like its heat related, your prime95 results are pointing to this so just underclock the CPU to around 10*133 and give prime95 another run and see does it shutdown.

Not sure of the main board? when I go into the bios the main heading is
    Phoenix....
    When I go into cpu or power settings some options are not highlighted..Soem of this is a bit over my head tbh...
    It seems you are right though, the revert using norton ghost has done no good.
    The PSU I replaced has a second fan so that should have improved cooling...
    Could it be the display adapter itself?
    Thanks for the help..

Heat seem to be the problem .. Running for the past couple of hours with the cover off no probs.. The processor seems fine.. Can anybody tell me should the heat sink on the graffix card (radeon 9200) be hot to the touch?

Not really, should be just bareable, thats about 60 degrees celcius, but prime doesnt test the gfx card at all remember

But the main prob is coming from video rendering etc....The cpu is remaining cool & with the case open everything seems ok..Could the heat generated from the grafix card cause the problem if the overall temp in the case be too high..Hard to judge the temp on the heat sink but it would be only bearable for a few seconds if applying pressure with your finger. Thak card seems to be the only area where heat is coming from......With both strips of memory tried seperatly is there any other possibilities??
    Thanks again for your time Markus....
    PS just checked task manager with Nero rendering/transcoding it shows CPU usage between 60-70% would that seem too high for 3 ghz chip?

Hmm... it could be possible that its generating too much heat.. nothing that the computer shouldnt be able to cope with, does ur computer prime ok with the cover off?

Na any cpu should be able to deal with 100 usage for hours, thats in effect what prime does.

I am rendering a few video file to DVD at the moment & thats going fine I will run prime again when if that finishes OK...but what I was wondering was, should video rendering use that amount of the cpu resources ?

Yes, video rendering is one of the most strenuous things you can do to your CPU :)

Theres just over an hour left with nero so we'll see how prime goes then.......

Thanks ...

OK video DVD copleted successfully..Started running prime 95 at 8pm going fine so far,,How long should this run for?

Looking good Prime 95 been running over 75 mins down as far as selftest 640k passed...Grand if I leave the cover off. Heat sink still very hot on grafix card..could keep finger on for about 2-3 seconds max....Still think this could be my problem....any ideas would be appriciated...

You should be able to keep your finger on more than 2 - 3 secs tbh. What you need now is thermal compound. Does mighty

Ran prime with the cover replaced ..passed self test 1024k then got
    test 1 4500 lucas-lehmer iterations of m17432577 using 895k FFT lenght.
    FATEL ERROR: Rounding was .05 expected less than 0.4

Test lasted 15 minutes...
    Does this indicate a problem with grafix card?
    What woud I do with thermal compound, Webmonkey?

its a compound that you place between your heatsink and your processor. It dramatically reduces the heating in my experience.
    Got a guy with PC that was at 70 - 80 degrees C and rubbed some compound onto the chip and it dropped to 40 - 45.
    Only works if you do it correctly. It must cover the whole chip and must be very smooth.
    I'm sure komplett do it, it should be really cheap

Edit: actually can't find anything on komplett. Just to get to understand what it is try looking at http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/reviews/cooling/Thermal_Compound_Comparison_1.html

OK lad problem sorted.......
    1 new Grafix Card Radeon 5500
    1 Big fan fitted into housing...
    Stress 95 running forever..................
    Headaches have gone...sanity has been restored...
    Thanks to everyone for all the help. It was greatly appriciated....